DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 7/8/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-17 and 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/8/25.
Claims 1-7 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(Prior Rejection Maintained) Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US PGPub 2019/0225968).
The claimed invention is drawn to a composition comprising a class B CpG conjugated to a nanoparticle and a class C CpG conjugated to a nanoparticle. The composition is also part of a pharmaceutical composition with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or diluent and it is in injectable formulation.
Anderson et al. compositions comprising CpG sequences formed into spherical nucleic acid (SNA) structures. [see paragraphs 27-29] The CpG can be from class A, B or C. [see paragraph 33] in order to form the spherical nucleic acids, Anderson et al. teaches that gold nanoparticles can be used as the core of the SNA. [see paragraph 51] Anderson et al. also teach that oligo ethylene glycol and poly T sequences can be part of the oligonucleotide structure. [see paragraph 115] Anderson et al. also teach that their SNA can be delivered via injection. [see paragraph 88] Therefore, Anderson et al. anticipate the instant invention.
Response to arguments:
Applicant presents the following arguments in traversal of the rejection:
Anderson et al. fails to teach a composition comprising two different types of CpG-conjugated nanoparticles, one with Class B CpGs and the other with Class C CpGs.
In response, Anderson et al. teach spherical nucleic acids that comprise class A, B and C CpGs [see paragraph 33] and the formation of gold nanoparticles that comprise these CpGs [see paragraph 51] Anderson et al. also teach that mixtures class A, B and C CpGs are also contemplated [see paragraph 14] and that lipid nanoparticles comprising a mixture of classes A, B and C are contemplated [see claims 18, 19 and 32, paragraphs 14 and 33]. These mixtures would include more tha one nanoparticle possessing Class A, B and C CpGs, which would include the claimed composition. Therefore, Anderson et al. anticipate the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Prior Rejection Maintained) Claim(s) 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. as applied to claims 1, 4, 6 and 7 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, Vol. 8, No. 5).
The claimed composition also comprises CpG is conjugated to different nanoparticles and each CpG has a spacer between the CpG and the nanoparticle. Examples of spacers are a polyT sequence and oligo ethylene glycol or both are used.
The teachings of Anderson et al. are summarized above. However, they do not teach the specific use of polyT or oligo ethylene glycol as spacers between the CpG and the nanoparticle.
Lin et al. teach the development gold nanoparticles which deliver CpG in order to stimulate an immune response. Examples of the gold nanoparticles + CpG are shown in figure 1:
Therefore, Lin et al. teach the use of polyT linkers with or without oligoethylene glycol in order to conjugate a CpG to a gold nanoparticle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compositions taught by Anderson et al. in order to utilize polyT sequences and/or oligo ethylene glycol to link the class B and C CpGs to gold nanoparticles. One would have been motivated to do so, given the suggestion by Anderson et al. that CpGs of class A, B and/or C be immobilized on nanoparticles, including gold nanoparticles. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that polyT and oligo ethylene glycol can be used to immobilize CpG to gold nanoparticles, as taught by Lin et al. Thus the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Response to arguments:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but they are not persuasive:
The deficiencies related to the teachings of Anderson et al. are addressed in the response to the 35 USC 102a1 rejection above. Applicants have not established why one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated by the teachings of Lin et al. to use of polyT or oligo ethylene glycol as spacers between the CpG and the nanoparticles of Anderson et al. Therefore, this rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN P BLUMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671