DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action in response to amendment filed on 7 July 2025. Claims 5, 6, 12, 15-17, 20-23 and 24-30 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-14 18-19, and 31-37 are currently pending and have been examined.
Withdrawal of Finality
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). Originally numbered claims 24-30 cancelled when applicant filed amendment on 2 May 2022. The originally number of claims mu be preserved through the prosecution. When claims are cancelled the remaining claims must not renumbered. When claim added, they must be numbered by the applicant consecutively beginning with the number nest following the highest number claim previously presented (whether entered or not). When the application is ready for allowance, the examiner, if necessary, will renumber the claims consecutively in the order in which they appear or in such order as may have been requested by applicants. See MPEP 608.01(J) Numbering of Claims [R-08.2012] 37 C.F.R. 1.126 Numbering of claims. Misnumbered claims 24-30 been renumbered should be numbered 31-37. Therefore, appropriation correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13-14 18-19, 23 and 31, 32 and 35 -37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehr et al (US Pub., No., 2020/0062579 A1) in view of Ichikawa et al (US Pub., 2007/0158436 A1) and futher view of Leyva et al (US Pub., 2014/006764A1)
With respect claim 1, Fehr teaches a payment system, comprising:
an interface in communication with the at least one transceiver system, the interface configured to communicate the encoded account data to payment equipment of at least one merchant associated with the gas pump(paragraph [0037], discloses RFID technique in particular on an NFC transmission …, paragraph [0042], discloses information read from the RFID tag 200 by the RFID reader 14 can be stored in .., integrated in the pump nozzle the stored information can be sent via an interface by a transmitter …, and paragraph [0045] discloses driver of the vehicle may be explicitly lined to an (internet) account. The (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data. A connection can be set up between the pump nozzle 12 or the gas pump and the Internet).
Fehr teaches the above elements including a transponder arranged on an interior of a gas tank door of a vehicle (paragraph [0021], discloses the RFID gag 2 may be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle , paragraph [0027], discloses RFID reader integrated in a pump nozzle when the pump nozzle is arranged in the fuel tank opening paragraph [0036], discloses the RFID tags 100 of Fig. 3 and may be mounted on an inner wall of a fuel tank compartment 8 of the vehicle 22, and paragraph [0051], discloses the passive RFID tag is designed to be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle a diction c..)), and at least one transceiver system arranged on or integrated with a gas pump handle or a gas pump nozzle of a gas pump, the at least one transceiver system configured to read (paragraph [0021], discloses the RFID tag 2 may be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle .., an RFID ID reader integrated in a pump nozzle can read the information stored in the RFID tag 2, paragraph [0027], discloses RFID reader integrated in a pump nozzle when the pump nozzle is arranged in the fuel tank opening 10, and paragraph [0029], discloses this means that the RFID reader 14 can send query signals and can receive responses from one or more RFID tags. For this purpose, the active RFID reader 14 can have a radio transceiver that can send a radio signal to an RFID tag and can read the response thereof or the information provided by the RFID tag…)) and a server configured to enable operation of the gas pump data and when the gas pump nozzle is inserted into a gas tank of the gas tank door(paragraph [0045] discloses driver of the vehicle may be explicitly linked to an (internet) account. The (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data. A connection can be set up between the pump nozzle 12 or the gas pump and the Internet.., the payment method can be based on two factor authorization …, and paragraph [0046], discloses the gas pump can trigger a locked request for the ignition of the vehicle in particular after it has begun to pump fuel into the vehicle ).
Fehr failed to teach the corrosinding RFID tag 2 arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle, the transponder comprising encoded account data stored thereon representing at least one payment token; and QR code or bar code mounted on top of the transponder, the QR code or bar code comprising encoded account data representing the at least one payment token; the corrosinding account is encoded account data stored on the transponder or the QR code or bar code when the gas pump nozzle is inserted into a gas tank of the gas tank door; and the corrosinding the payment method can be based on two factor authorization includes authorization message for a transaction with the at least one merchant using the encoded account.
However, Ichikawa teaches QR code or bar code mounted on top of the transponder(abstract, paragraphs [0011], [0013], [0027], [0033]disclose an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label and paragraph [0028], discloses RFID tag buried in the barcode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the RFID tag 2 may be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle of Fehr by adding a feature of incorporating barcode into the RFID tag of Ichikawa in order to ensure sufficiently high durability and communication with a reader (see Ichikawa, paragraph [0011]). Ichikawa failed to teach the corrosinding an RFID tag-incorporating barcode comprising encoded account data representing the at least one payment token.
However, Leyva teaches the transponder comprising encoded account data stored thereon representing at least one payment token and the QR code or bar code comprising encoded account data representing the at least one payment token (Figs. 6, 8 , paragraph [0037], discloses payment code may comprise a QR code, a barcode, or any other graphical representation of data, paragraph [0042], discloses a QR reader and payment code my part of transaction application PCD may capture image of payment code .., paragraph [0045], discloses payment code. For example, the payment code 910 may comprise a transaction account number or an alias, expiration date, consumer name, and a card identification number ("CID"). In various embodiments, the payment code810 may comprise additional information such as an alias, astatic security code, a billing address, or any other information, paragraph [0046], discloses gas pump at merchant sore may comprise a payment code and paragraph [0060], discloses accounts, devices, and/or a transponder and reader (e.g. RFID reader) in RF communication with the transponder (which may include a fob), or communications between an initiator and a target enabled by near field communications (NFC).) and in response to receiving an authorization message for a transaction with the at least one merchant using the encoded account (abstract, Figs. 7, 750, 10, 1040, paragraph [0006] discloses transmit an authorization message, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], and [0044]) and the account authorization system may transmit an authorization message to merchant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for RFID tag/transponder and the (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data of Fehr and an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label of Ichikawa with feature of payment code may comprise a QR code, a barcode, or any other graphical representation of data and transmitting authorization of Leyva in order to processing transactions using a dynamic security code and the account authorization system may detect a dynamic security code in the transaction request and determine that the transaction account number and the dynamic security code match (see, Leyva, paragraph [0006]).
With respect to claim 2, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system further comprising: at least one power system(paragraph [0019], discloses a power source)and at least one RFID active receiver(paragraph [0029], discloses active RFID reader.. have a radio transceiver that can send a radio signal to an RFID tag); at least one communication system(paragraph [0027], discloses an RFID or NFC, communication between RFID tag 100,200 and an FRID reader ).
Fehr teaches the above elements including payment account data, or any combination thereof, and communicate the result to at least one merchant's payment equipment which may comprise a point-of-sale, a merchant back-end server, a payment processor server, a bank server, or any combination thereof, and which may serve as an authentication server, an authorization server, or any combination thereof(paragraph [0045], discloses payment service payment method can be based on a two-factor authentication) and RFID tag may be designed to provide the information to the RFID reader in a contactless, in particular encrypted (paragraph [0030]) and Ichikawa teach an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label and (paragraph [0028]). Fehr and Ichikawa failed to teach at least one camera system and a computer system programmed to receive, process, and encrypt at least one payment token's payment account data, at least one communication signal comprising the payment token's.
However, Leyva teaches at least one camera system (paragraph [0042], discloses capture an image of a payment code via camera ..) and a computer system programmed to receive, process, and encrypt at least one payment token's payment account data, at least one communication signal comprising the payment token's (paragraph [0071], discloses a payment gateway may protect transaction account details by encrypting sensitive information ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for payment service payment method can be based on a two-factor authentication of Fehr and for an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label of Ichikawa with payment code capturing and protecting transaction account details by encrypting sensitive information of Leyva in order to provide image capturing feature and encrypting sensitive information (see paragraphs, [0042] and [0071])
With respect to claim 3, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the payment system:
integrates with the gas pump (paragraph [0008], discloses RFID reder coupled to a gas pump); and
Fehr teaches the above elements communicates the payment account data to the at least one merchant's payment equipment located remotely from the gas pump (paragraph [0045], discloses payment process can be performed for a fuel) and RFID tag 2 can be detected by an RFID reader, and information stored in the RFID tag 2 can be read by an RFID reader,(paragraph [0020]) and Ichikawa teach an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label and (paragraph [0028]). Fehr and Ichikawa failed to teach reads payment account data from at the at least one payment token.
However, Leyva reads payment account data from at the at least one payment token(paragraphs [0036]-[0037], discloses scan a payment code ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for RFID tag/transponder and the (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data of Fehr and an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label of Ichikawa with feature of scanning payment code of Leyva in order to processing transactions using a dynamic security code and the account authorization system may detect a dynamic security code in the transaction request and determine that the transaction account number and the dynamic security code match (see, Leyva, paragraph [0006]).
With respect to claim 4, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the at least one merchant's payment equipment comprises a server, a payment processor server, a bank server, or any combination thereof(paragraph [0045], discloses the internet account can store information used for payment processing).
With respect to claim 7, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system , wherein the at least one power system comprises a solar panel powering a battery(paragraph [0028], discloses rechargeable energy store such as a storage battery).
With respect to claim 8, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the at least one power system comprises a battery(paragraph [0028], discloses rechargeable energy store such as a storage battery).
With respect to claim 9, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system, but filed to teach wherein the at least one camera system comprises a camera, a lighting source, or any combination thereof
However, Levy teaches wherein the at least one camera system comprises a camera, a lighting source, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0042],and [0045] discloses camera). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for payment service payment method can be based on a two-factor authentication of Fehr and for an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label of Ichikawa with camera in order to provide image capturing feature and encrypting sensitive information (see paragraph, [0042]).
With respect to claim 10, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the at least one communication system comprises a near-field communication system, a Wi- Fi® system, a Bluetooth® system, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0027], discloses an FRID or NFC communication between the RFID tag 100,200 and RFID reader) .
With respect to claim 11, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the computer system comprises a single-board computer, a multi-chip processor, a programmed array, a neural net processor, or any combination thereof(paragraph [0045], discloses the internet account can store information used for payment processing).
With respect to claim 13, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the at least one communication signal comprises a RFID signal, Wi-Fi® signal, a Bluetooth® signal, or any combination thereof(paragraph [0017], discloses RFID technique, in particular on an NFC (near field communication) transmission standard. NFC is based on RFID technology and paragraph [0027], discloses an FRID or NFC communication between the RFID tag 100,200 and RFID reader).
With respect to claim 14, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the transponder comprises an RFID tag (Fig7, 24 discloses provide information by means on a passive RFID tag).
With respect to claim 18, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system 1 wherein the at least one payment token is associated with payment account data comprising an arbitrary long alphanumeric value, a credit card number, a debit card number, a biometric, a BIN number, user name, or any combination thereof(paragraph [0045], discloses payment process such as for example credit card data).
With respect claim 19, Fehr teaches a payment system, comprising:
acquiring a pyment token (paragraph [0045], discloses payment process such as credit card…, credit card information obtained thereby a payment process can be performed for fuel );
authenticating the payment token ; and in response to authenticating the payment token enable use of gas pump (paragraph [0045] discloses driver of the vehicle may be explicitly linked to an (internet) account. The (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data. A connection can be set up between the pump nozzle 12 or the gas pump and the Internet.., the payment method can be based on two factor authorization …, and paragraph [0046], discloses the gas pump can trigger a locked request for the ignition of the vehicle in particular after it has begun to pump fuel into the vehicle).
Fehr teaches the above elements including retrieving, with at least one transceiver system arranged on or integrated with a gas pump nozzle or a gas pump handle of a gas pump, and arrange into a gas tank of gas tank door of the vehicle when the gas pump nozzle is inserted into a gas tank of the gas tank door (Fig, 6, paragraph [0021], discloses the RFID gag 2 may be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle , paragraph [0027], paragraph [0027], discloses RFID reader integrated in a pump nozzle when the pump nozzle is arranged in the fuel tank opening, paragraph [0036], discloses the RFID tags 100 may be mounted on an inner wall of fuel tank compartment.., the pump nozzle may be similar to one of the pump nozzle .., filling the vehicle of Fig. 3 and may be mounted on an inner wall of a fuel tank compartment 8 of the vehicle 22, and paragraph [0051], discloses the passive RFID tag is designed to be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle a diction c.. 10, and paragraph [0029], discloses this means that the RFID reader 14 can send query signals and can receive responses from one or more RFID tags. For this purpose, the active RFID reader 14 can have a radio transceiver that can send a radio signal to an RFID tag and can read the response thereof or the information provided by the RFID tag…)) and a server configured to enable operation of the gas pump data and when the gas pump nozzle is inserted into a gas tank of the gas tank door(paragraph [0045] discloses driver of the vehicle may be explicitly linked to an (internet) account. The (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data. A connection can be set up between the pump nozzle 12 or the gas pump and the Internet.., the payment method can be based on two factor authorization …, and paragraph [0046], discloses the gas pump can trigger a locked request for the ignition of the vehicle in particular after it has begun to pump fuel into the vehicle ); and
communicating with the at least one transceiver system, to payment equipment of at least one merchant associated with the gas pump(paragraph [0037], discloses RFID technique in particular on an NFC transmission …, paragraph [0042], discloses information read from the RFID tag 200 by the RFID reader 14 can be stored in .., integrated in the pump nozzle the stored information can be sent via an interface by a transmitter …, and paragraph [0045] discloses driver of the vehicle may be explicitly lined to an (internet) account. The (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data. A connection can be set up between the pump nozzle 12 or the gas pump and the Internet).
Fehr failed to teach the corrosinding RFID tag 2 arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle, the transponder comprising encoded account data stored thereon representing at least one payment token; and QR code or bar code mounted on top of the transponder, the QR code or bar code comprising encoded account data representing the at least one payment token; the corresponding account is encoded account data stored on the transponder or the QR code or bar code when the gas pump nozzle is inserted into a gas tank of the gas tank door; and the corresponding the payment method encrypted payment information the interface configured to communicate the encoded account data
However, Ichikawa teaches QR code or bar code mounted on top of the transponder(abstract, paragraphs [0011], [0013], [0027], [0033]disclose an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label and paragraph [0028], discloses RFID tag buried in the barcode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the RFID tag 2 may be arranged at a fuel tank opening of the vehicle of Fehr by adding a feature of incorporating barcode into the RFID tag of Ichikawa in order to ensure sufficiently high durability and communication with a reader (see Ichikawa, paragraph [0011]). Ichikawa failed to teach the corrosinding an RFID tag-incorporating barcode comprising encoded account data representing the at least one payment token and the corresponding the payment method encrypted payment information the interface configured to communicate the encoded account data
However, Leyva teaches the encoding account data stored thereon representing at least one payment token and the QR code or bar code comprising encoded account data representing the at least one payment token (Figs. 6, 8 , paragraph [0037], discloses payment code may comprise a QR code, a barcode, or any other graphical representation of data, paragraph [0042], discloses a QR reader and payment code my part of transaction application PCD may capture image of payment code .., paragraph [0045], discloses payment code. For example, the payment code 910 may comprise a transaction account number or an alias, expiration date, consumer name, and a card identification number ("CID"). In various embodiments, the payment code810 may comprise additional information such as an alias, astatic security code, a billing address, or any other information paragraph [0046], discloses gas pump at merchant sore may comprise a payment code and paragraph [0060], discloses accounts, devices, and/or a transponder and reader (e.g. RFID reader) in RF communication with the transponder (which may include a fob), or communications between an initiator and a target enabled) Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for RFID tag/transponder and the (Internet) account can store information used for a payment process, such as for example credit card data of Fehr and an RFID tag-incorporating barcode label of Ichikawa with feature of payment code may comprise a QR code, a barcode, or any other graphical representation of data of Leyva in order to processing transactions using a dynamic security code and the account authorization system may detect a dynamic security code in the transaction request and determine that the transaction account number and the dynamic security code match (see, Leyva, paragraph [0006]).
With respect to claim 31, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the server is further configured to end the transaction when the gas pump nozzle is replaced on the gas pump(paragraph [0026], discloses a pump nozzle for dispensing fuel can be introduced and paragraph [0046], discloses the fuel tank of the vehicle 22 has been duly locked again after the filling process ).
With respect to claim 32, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 19 , furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system further comprising ending a transaction when the gas pump nozzle is replaced on the gas pump(paragraph [0026], discloses a pump nozzle for dispensing fuel can be introduced and paragraph [0046], discloses the fuel tank of the vehicle 22 has been duly locked again after the filling process ).
With respect to claim 35, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system further comprising e
further comprising a housing including the at least one transceiver system, the housing adapted to mechanically interface with the gas pump to power the transceiver system (paragraphs [0007], [0027], [0057] and [0064] discloses the RFID reader integrated in the pump nozzle , a pump nozzle for dispensing a fuel and an RFID reader, integrated in the pump nozzle, having a wirelessly rechargeable energy store).
With respect to claim 36 , Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment system wherein the at least one transceiver system comprises a power system adapted to power the transceiver, and wherein the transceiver system comprises an electrical interface to provide power from the gas pump to the transceiver system, and wherein the power system comprises a back-up power system adapted to provide power to the transceiver in response to failure of the electrical interface(paragraph [0019], discloses passive RFID tag 2 can obtain the energy for sending response using electromagnetic radiation from its surroundings, paragraph [0020], discloses the integrated circuit an collect power from a radio frequency signal sent by an RFID reder .., number of antennas designed to receive and send radio frequency signals , paragraph [0027], discloses the information stored in the RFID tag can be read by an RFID reader integrated in a gas pump nozzle and paragraph [0029], discloses transceiver that can sed a radio signal to an RFED tag and can read the response or information).
With respect to claim 37, Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claims 19 furthermore, Fehr teaches the payment further comprising powering the transceiver system based on the transceiver system mechanically interfacing with the gas pump
(paragraph [0027], discloses the information stored in the RFID tag can be read by an RFID reader integrated in a gas pump nozzle and paragraph [0029], discloses transceiver that can sed a radio signal to an RFED tag and can read the response or information).
Claim(s) 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehr et al (US Pub., No., 2020/0062579 A1) in view of in view of Ichikawa et al (US Pub., 2007/0158436 A1) and futher view of Leyva et al (US Pub., 2014/0067674A1) and futher view of Gaudin et al (US Pub., 2022/0230160 A1) and futher view of DeLine (US Patent No., 7, 948,376 B2)
With respect to claim 33 Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva, teaches elements of claim 19. Fehr teaches the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump (paragraph [0015], discloses a pump nozzle having an RFID reader), Ichikawa teaches the RFID-incorporating bar code label (paragraph [0013]), and Leyva teaches camera (paragraph [0042], discloses capturing payment code via a camera).
Fehr failed to teach th camera system arranged on or integrated onto corresponding the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump, the camera system configured to scan the encoded account data from the QR code or bar code, Ichikawa failed to teach camera system arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump, the camera system configured to scan the encoded account data from the QR code or bar code is the corresponding RFID-incorporating bar code and the corresponding camera that capturing payment code via a camera is arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump.
However, Gaudian teaches the payment further comprising a camera system and the camera system configured to scan the encoded account data from the QR code or bar code (paragraph [0078], discloses the vehicle payment application may instruct the camera within the vehicle head unit to carputer an image of the financial card, and paragraph [0086], discloses a camera located within the vehicle head unit or other portion of the vehicle may capture image of area surrounding the vehicle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one or more RFID tags 100 mounted on an inner wall of the fuel tank compartment of Fehr, the RFID-incorporating bar code of Ichikawa and capturing payment code via a camera of Leyva with camera that carputer an image of the financial card Gaudian in order to capture and import the financial card from another application (see Gaudian, paragraph [0126]).
Fehr, Ichikawa and Gaudian teach the above elements, but failed to teach the corrosinding camera is arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump.
However, DeLine teaches camera is arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump(Col. 2, lines 34-36, discloses cameras in an attempt to obtain information about customer’s account and Col. 15, lines 1-13, discloses camera integrated into the nozzle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one or more RFID tags 100 mounted on an inner wall of the fuel tank compartment of Fehr with camera that carputer an image of the financial card Gaudian and mobile device is used to capture an image of barcode that is visible on the service of a substrate of Sharma with camera integrated into the nozzle of DeLine in order to obtain customers’ account information (see DeLine, Col. 2, lines 34-36).
With respect to claims 34 , Fehr in view of Ichikawa and futher view of Leyva teaches elements of claim 19, Fehr teaches the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump (paragraph [0015], discloses a pump nozzle having an RFID reader), Ichikawa teaches the RFID-incorporating bar code label (paragraph [0013]), and Leyva teaches camera (paragraph [0042], discloses capturing payment code via a camera).
Fehr failed to teach th camera system arranged on or integrated onto corresponding the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump, the camera system configured to scan the encoded account data from the QR code or bar code, Ichikawa failed to teach camera system arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump, the camera system configured to scan the encoded account data from the QR code or bar code is the corresponding RFID-incorporating bar code and the corresponding camera that capturing payment code via a camera is arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump retrieve payment token.
However, Gaudian teaches the payment further comprising a camera system and the camera system configured to scan the encoded account data from the QR code or bar code (paragraph [0078], discloses the vehicle payment application may instruct the camera withing the vehicle head unit to carputer an image of the financial card, and paragraph [0086], discloses a camera located within the vehicle head unit or other portion of the vehicle may capture image of area surrounding the vehicle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one or more RFID tags 100 mounted on an inner wall of the fuel tank compartment of Fehr, the RFID-incorporating bar code of Ichikawa and capturing payment code via a camera of Leyva with camera that carputer an image of the financial card Gaudian in order to capture and import the financial card from another application (see Gaudian, paragraph [0126]). Fehr, Ichikawa and Gaudian teach the above elements, but failed to teach the corrosinding camera is arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump.
However, DeLine teaches camera is arranged on or integrated with the gas pump handle or the gas pump nozzle of the gas pump or a different gas pump(Col. 2, lines 34-36, discloses cameras in an attempt to obtain information about customer’s account and Col. 15, lines 1-13, discloses camera integrated into the nozzle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one or more RFID tags 100 mounted on an inner wall of the fuel tank compartment of Fehr with camera that carputer an image of the financial card Gaudian and mobile device is used to capture an image of barcode that is visible on the service of a substrate of Sharma with camera integrated into the nozzle of DeLine in order to obtain customers’ account information (see DeLine, Col. 2, lines 34-36).
The following prior arts are on the record:
Fehr et al (US Pub., No., 2020/0062579 A1) discloses an apparatus comprises a passive RFID tag designed to provide information identifying at least one fuel compatible with a vehicle.
Reynders (US Pub., 2017/0171178 A1) discloses a system and method are described for an Internet of Things (IoT) gas pump or charging station implementation. For example, one embodiment of a system comprises: an automotive Io T device to be integrated within a vehicle of a user; an IoT service comprising IoT device authentication and management logic to authenticate the identity of the automotive IoT device integrated within the vehicle; an Internet of Things (IoT) hub to be communicatively coupled to a gas pump or charging station, the IoT hub to establish a communication channel with the IoT service, the IoT hub further comprising a local wireless communication interface to establish a local wireless communication channel with the automotive IoT device, the automotive IoT device to establish a secure communication channel with the IoT service through the IoT hub; the IoT service to authenticate the automotive IoT device and responsively transmit a command to the IoT hub authorizing use of the gas pump or charging station.
Gaudin et al (US Pub., 2022/0230160 A1) discloses a method includes determining a fuel amount; providing navigation directions; determining a vehicle arrival; transmitting a fuel purchase request; controlling a tank cover; receiving fuel; detecting that a tank is full; and transmitting a stop fueling request. A computer system includes a processor configured to: determine a fuel amount; provide navigation directions; determine a vehicle arrival; transmit a fuel purchase request; cause a pump to provide fuel; control a tank cover; detect that a tank is full; and transmit a stop fueling request
Hammad et al (US Pub., 2012/0209749 A1) discloses the SNAP MOBILE PAYMENT APPARATUSES, METHODS AND SYSTEMS ("SNAP") transform real-time-generated merchant-product Quick Response codes via SNAP components into virtual wallet card-based transaction purchase notifications. In one embodiment, the SNAP obtains a snapshot of a QR code presented on a display screen of a point-of-sale device from a mobile device.
Wilson et al (US Pub., 2017/0073211 A1) discloses a payment system apparatus configured to install with a merchant's non-payment equipment, comprising one or more payment tokens, a transceiver system and a housing, within which the transceiver system is installed, configured to install physically, electrically, wirelessly, or any combination thereof, with the merchant's non-payment equipment.
Sharma et al (US Pub., 2013/0048714 A1) discloses embodiments of the invention facilitate payment transactions by integrating the image capture and image processing capabilities of certain mobile devices with the card-based payment transaction infrastructure. In some embodiments, a camera contained in a mobile device is used to capture an image of a barcode that is visible on the surface of a substrate
DeLine (US Patent No., 7,948,376 B2) discloses a fuel dispenser comprising a housing, a fuel dispensing apparatus mounted within the housing, control electronics operatively connected to the fuel dispensing apparatus, at least one display mounted in the housing and operatively coupled to the control electronics, and a nozzle operatively coupled to the fuel dispensing apparatus and the fuel dispensing apparatus control electronics, the nozzle configured to produce electromagnetic signals.
Ichikawa et al (US Pub., 2007/0158436 A1) discloses an RFID tag-incorporating bar code label having sufficiently high durability even when the label is attached to a tire and capable of reliable communication with a reader. A dipole antenna type RFID tag 14 is interposed and fixed between a first sheet member 11 whose front surface is printed with a bar code 13 and a second sheet member 12 having an adhesive layer formed on the rear surface, thus fabricating an RFID tag-incorporating bar code label 10 having an RFID tag buried in the central portion of a bar code
Leyva et al (US Pub., 2014/006764A1) discloses systems and methods for processing payments using a dynamic security code are provided. An account authorization system may generate a plurality of dynamic security codes and transmit the plurality of dynamic security codes to a portable consumer device. The portable consumer device may generate a payment code comprising a transaction account number and a dynamic security code.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejection filed on 7 July 2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13-14 18-19, 23 and 31-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682