DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 02/04/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
No claim has been amended.
No new claim has been added and No claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of MEENAN et al. (US 20200314208 A1 ; hereinafter as “MEENAN ”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are/is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: Examiner is always open to have an examiner interview should the applicant need further explanation to move this application forward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEENAN et al. (US 20200314208 A1 ; hereinafter as “MEENAN ”) in view of ZHU et al. (US 20240259857 A1; hereinafter as “ZHU”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to MEENAN unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 11, MEENAN teaches,
A network node (==proxy server 120 in fig. 1) for applying traffic enhancement to an application between a wireless device (==client Device 110 ) and a server (==Original Server 140 which support QUIC), wherein the application is to be delivered using a Quick User Datagram Protocol (UDP) Internet Connections (QUIC) session (application running at Original service is used at the client device : [0003]; [0024]), the network node (==proxy server 120 in fig. 1) comprising:
a processor and non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored instructions, which when executed by the processor (fig. 7), is capable of causing the network node to perform:
receiving from the wireless device, a request to activate a policy for the application between the wireless device and the server (see fig. 1 Proxy Server/Network Device is receiving a REQUESTs from the Client Device 110: “proxy server receiving a set of requests for a network resource and the constituent content items and the prioritization of responses with the requested content item”: [0005]; proxy server (==network node) receives REQUESTs from CLIENT DEVICE: [0012]; see fig. 2: Receive REQUEST for a set of content items :[0019] ),
wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is being requested (see fig. 2: “ At operation 201, the proxy server receives a request for a network resource associated with a set of content items. For example, referencing FIG. 1, the proxy server 120 receives a request for a content item 135 of a domain of the origin server 140 from the client device 110. For instance, the request may be an HTTP/S GET request (==identifier of the application). In the example of FIG. 1, the request is for a network resource that includes the content item 135. The requested content item can be any type of content item (e.g., images, audio, applications or similar content items). The request is processed by a first request process 115 of the proxy server 120. For example, the request from the client device 110 is processed by the request process 115. In an embodiment, the proxy server 120 receives the request because a DNS request for the hostname returns an IP address of the proxy server 120 instead of the origin server 140.”[0019]);
in response to the request to activate the policy for the application (prioritization items at PRIOTZATION MODULE “.. The prioritization module can re-order the content items retrieved from the cache and the origin server from a default order that can be set by the client device (e.g., a browser can request a specific prioritization), the origin server, or the default configuration of the requested network resource. The prioritization module can re-order the individual bytes of the content items in addition to the content items as a whole. For example, multiple images can be interleaved or higher priority content items or portions thereof can be inserted into a response stream during transmission of lower priority content items.”: [0022]-[0023]; see fig. 3: [0026]-[0027]),
identifying a proxy node (== different Proxy Server : [0020]) that provides the enhancement function ( “proxy server 120 transmits the request for the file to a different server (e.g., a different proxy server that may have the file cached).: [0020] “a domain of the content items can include specific prioritization scheme information where the domain attempts to manage the prioritization of the responses for the content items.”: [0027]; NOTE: identified Priority items “ At operation 307, if there was not any priority information from the domain of the content items handled be the origin server, then the prioritization module determines a prioritization scheme that is based on the configured prioritization scheme of the proxy server that can be modified in some cases to accommodate some priority preferences from the client device (e.g., from the browser) .”: [0028] ; “ The prioritization module can also observe the content items they are returned from the origin server and sent to the client devices to track performance and inform the prioritization of future requests. Client devices can also provide feedback on the efficacy of the prioritization schemes to enable further optimization of the prioritization scheme.”: [0029].
MEENAN does not expressively teach:
transmitting to the wireless device, an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node.
ZHU , in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
transmitting to the wireless device (==UE/Client ), an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node (==PCF in Fig. 3) (“When an MA PDU Session is established, the network may provide the UE 301 with Measurement Assistance Information (MAI). The MAI assists the UE 301 in determining which measurements should be performed over both accesses 310, as well as whether measurement reports need to be sent to the network. MAI includes the addressing information of a PMF in the UPF 306, and the UE 301 can send PMF protocol messages to the PMF. For a PDU Session of IP type, the MAI contains one IP address for the PMF, one UDP port associated with 3GPP access 310A and another UDP port associated with non-3GPP access 310B. ”: [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MEENAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHU . The suggestion/motivation would be providing Traffic Switching, Steering, and Splitting (ATSSS).: (ZHU ; [0002]).
Regarding claim 1, MEENAN teaches, a method implemented in a network node for traffic enhancement to apply to an application between a wireless device and a server wherein the application is to be delivered using a Quick User Datagram Protocol (UDP) Internet Connections (QUIC) session , the method comprising: receiving from the wireless device, a request to activate a policy for the application between the wireless device and the server, wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is being requested; in response to the request to activate the policy for the application, identifying a proxy node that provides the enhancement function; and transmitting to the wireless device, an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node. (Rest of the claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11).
Regarding claim 16, MEENAN teaches, A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored instructions for traffic enhancement to apply to an application between a wireless device and a server, wherein the application is to be delivered using a session, and wherein the instructions when executed by a processor of a network node, are capable of causing the network node to perform: receiving from the wireless device, a request to activate a policy for the application between the wireless device and the server, wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is being requested; in response to the request to activate the policy for the application, identifying a proxy node that provides the enhancement function; and transmitting-to the wireless device, an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node. (Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11)..
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, MEENAN in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHU teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the authorization of traffic enhancement is transmitted with a lifetime indicating a period during which the enhancement function is available to use (time is valid : [0144], [0148]; [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MEENAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHU . The suggestion/motivation would be providing Traffic Switching, Steering, and Splitting (ATSSS).: (ZHU ; [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, MEENAN in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, MEENAN teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the information of the proxy node to provide the enhancement function includes one or more of the following: a global identifier or a common name of the proxy node, a certificate of the proxy node, an Internet Protocol (IP) address and/or port of the proxy node, and an indication of one or more functions that are provided by the proxy node (IP address : [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 4, MEENAN in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHU teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the network node performs a network assistance application function (NAAF), and the identification of the proxy node comprises: transmitting a policy activation request message to a policy control function (PCF) upon receiving the request to activate the policy, wherein the policy activation request message includes the application identifier and the indication to request the enhancement function; and receiving a policy activation response message from the PCF, wherein the policy activation response message includes the information of the proxy node to provide the enhancement function (PCF: [0175]; “ The PCF 1458 provides policy rules to CP function(s) to enforce them, and also supports unified policy framework to govern network behavior (similar to PCRF in 4G systems). The PCF 1458 may communicate with the AMF 1462 via an N15 reference point. The PCF 1458 may communicate with the AF 1464 via an N5 reference point, and with the SMF 1460 via an N7 reference point.”: [0183]).
Regarding claim 9, MEENAN in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHU teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the proxy node notifies a network resource function (NRF) a list of enhancement functions the proxy node performs (provide a resource Universal Resource Indicator (URI) : [0096]-[0098]; [0144]-[0145]).
Regarding claim 10, MEENAN in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, MEENAN teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (client is UE : “ Each client device 110 is a computing device (e.g., laptop, workstation, smartphone, mobile phone, tablet, gaming system, set top box, wearable device, Internet of Things (IoT) device, etc.) that is capable of transmitting and/or receiving network traffic. Each client device may execute a client network application such as a web browser, native application, or other application that can access network resources (e.g., web pages) that are associated with or include a set of content items (e.g., images, word processing documents, PDF files, movie files, music files, or other computer files). In the example embodiment of FIG. 1, a single client device and proxy server are illustrated for sake of clarity and conciseness. However, one skilled in the art would understand that a proxy server can service any number of client devices and that any number of proxy servers may be present in a network such as a distributed to service network resource requests.”: [0013]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 8, 15 , 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEENAN in view of ZHU and further in view of in view of Yu et al. (US 20220248479 A1; hereinafter as “Yu”, which has a foreign application priority dated October 25, 2019)
Regarding claim 8, MEENAN in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, MEENAN in view of ZHU does not expressively disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein the network node establishes a protocol data unit (PDU) session with the wireless device prior to receiving the request to activate the policy.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the method of claim 1, wherein the network node (==SMP in Fig. 5) establishes a protocol data unit (PDU) session with the wireless device (==Terminal Device in fig. 5) prior to receiving the request to activate the policy (“Step S501: A terminal device registers with a 5GC network and establishes a PDU session.”: [0099]-[0101], before at “Step S504: The terminal device sends a first request message to the SMF network element.”: [0119]; [0126]-[0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MEENAN and ZHU to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yu . The suggestion/motivation would provide flexible multi-PDU session to reduce occupation of a computing resource of the terminal device. (Yu; [0007], [0013]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411