DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 09/16/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
No claim has been amended.
No new claim has been added and No claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of FAHEEM et al. (US 20200213896 A1 ; hereinafter as “FAHEEM ”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are/is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: Examiner is always open to have an examiner interview should the applicant need further explanation to move this application forward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAHEEM et al. (US 20200213896 A1 ; hereinafter as “FAHEEM ”) in view of ZHU et al. (US 20240259857 A1; hereinafter as “ZHU”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to FAHEEM unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 11, FAHEEM teaches, a network node (see fig. 3: eNodeB 102 ) for applying traffic enhancement to an application between a wireless device (see fig.3. UE 106) and a server (see fig. 3: App Server 620 ) ( see fig. 1 where UE is in communication with eNODEB and App Server using EPC 100: “ UE 106 may be in communication with a wireless network, e.g., a radio access network (RAN), which may include one or more base stations 102 and may provide connection to a core network (CN), such as an evolved packet core (EPC) 100, as shown. The base station in this example embodiment is shown as an eNodeB 102. The UE 106 may communicate in a wireless manner with the base station (eNodeB) 102. In turn, the base station 102 may be coupled to a core network, shown in this example embodiment as an evolved packet core (EPC) 100. As shown, the EPC 100 may include a mobility management entity (MME) 322, a home subscriber server (HSS) 324, and a serving gateway (SGW) 326. The EPC 100 may also include various other devices known to those skilled in the art.
[0057] Operations described herein as being performed by the cellular network may be performed by one or more of the network devices shown in FIG. 3, such as one or more of the base station 102 or the EPC 100, and/or the MME 322, HSS 324, or SGW 326 in the EPC 100, among other possible devices. Operations described herein as being performed by the radio access network (RAN) may be performed, for example, by the base station 102, or by other components of the RAN usable to connect the UE and the CN.
[0058] As shown, a server 620 may be coupled to the network, e.g., to the core network or EPC 100. The server 620 may be configured to provide (send and/or receive) data (or content) through the network 100 and the base station 102 to an application executing on a UE 106 to facilitate the execution of the application. Thus, the server may sometimes be referred to as the application server (or app server). For example, where the application executing on the UE 106 is an online game, the application may be configured to connect to the server 620 during execution of the game, e.g., to receive and display content from the server 620 and provide user input to the server 620. During execution of the application on the UE 106, e.g., during gameplay, it may be desirable to have at least a certain quality of service (QoS) on the connection (or bearer) between the application and the server, so that the user playing the game has a good quality of experience in terms of interacting with the game.
”: [0056]-[0058]),
wherein the application is to be delivered using a Quick User Datagram Protocol (UDP) Internet Connections (QUIC) session (Use QUIC session to deliver service : [0120]) ,
the network node (==eNodeB) comprising:
a processor (see fig. 5: processors : [0066]-[0070) and
non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored instructions, which when executed by the processor (see fig. 5: memory and processors are connected [0066]-[0070]) , is capable of causing the network node to perform:
receiving from the wireless device(==UE ), a request to activate a policy for the application between the wireless device (++UE ) and the server(==APP Server ), wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is beinq requested (“ UE may contain an entity and interface that provides UE applications with a means of requesting and accessing enhanced QoS capabilities”: [0082]; “ UE may contain an entity, e.g., the Policy Entity 632, usable for indicating various applications' QoS-related policies, e.g., for indicating the eligibility for and/or the level of access to enhanced QoS capabilities allocated to various applications. The Policy Entity 632 may be updated by an external server, e.g., the Policy Server 630, which may contain information indicating various applications' access to the enhanced QoS capabilities. The QoS Entity 610 may access or communicate with the Policy Entity 632 in order to validate the request by the app 622 for enhanced QoS functions.”: [0084]; “The QoS Entity 610 may communicate with the cellular network, e.g., the RAN 602, in order to apply and maintain enhanced QoS for the application's communication bearer, e.g., the EPS dedicated bearer. The UE (or the QoS Entity 610 on the UE) and the RAN 602 may perform a QoS negotiation process, which in some embodiments may involve the UE sending an RRC message that indicates a requested QoS configuration or requested QoS parameters to the RAN. Subsequent processes may further establish, maintain, and adjust the QoS configuration of app-related wireless communications. These processes, and generally methods by which the UE 606 and the cellular network may establish and adjust an enhanced QoS configuration, are further detailed below with regard to FIG. 7.”: [0085]).
While FAHEEM teaches, wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is beinq requested
FAHEEM does not expressively teach:
in response to the request to activate the policy for the application, identifying a proxy node that provides the enhancement function; and
transmitting to the wireless device, an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node.
ZHU , in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
in response to the request to activate the policy for the application, identifying a proxy node that provides the enhancement function (UE/Client (==wireless Device in claim) request Multi-Access PDU (MA PDU) Session Connection to UPF (==Network Node in Claim ) : [0067] Aforesaid UPF used this MA PDU Session and apply/provide/identify network rules/Policy to : [0067]; [0064]; “ an MA PDU Session is managed by the SMF 314, and the UE 301, AMF 312, and SMF 314 may follow the procedures discussed in clause 5.32.2 of [R03] when the UE 301 wants to request a new MA PDU Session… The AMF 312 informs the SMF 314 that the UE 301 is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of UP resources on both accesses. The AMF 312 also informs the SMF 314 when an access type becomes unavailable for an established MA PDU Session, and the SMF 314 subsequently notifies the UPF 306 that the access type has become unavailable. ”: [0069]); and
transmitting to the wireless device (==UE/Client ), an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node (==PCF in Fig. 3) (“When an MA PDU Session is established, the network may provide the UE 301 with Measurement Assistance Information (MAI). The MAI assists the UE 301 in determining which measurements should be performed over both accesses 310, as well as whether measurement reports need to be sent to the network. MAI includes the addressing information of a PMF in the UPF 306, and the UE 301 can send PMF protocol messages to the PMF. For a PDU Session of IP type, the MAI contains one IP address for the PMF, one UDP port associated with 3GPP access 310A and another UDP port associated with non-3GPP access 310B. ”: [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FAHEEM to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHU . The suggestion/motivation would be providing Traffic Switching, Steering, and Splitting (ATSSS).: (ZHU ; [0002]).
Regarding claim 1, FAHEEM teaches, a method implemented in a network node (see fig. 4, fig. 6 Relay-Proxy Device 100 or 150 for traffic enhancement to apply to an application between a wireless device (see fig. 6: Client 152) and a server (see fig. 6: Server 154) (aforesaid Relay-Proxy Device “receive a
traffic flow in an encrypted transport protocol on the first interface” from Client; Page 2 lines 9-19 ; page 2 lines 30-35; aforesaid Relay-Proxy Device receives application data 204 which has information about flow priority, transport requirement, background traffic : Page 10 lines 21-27), wherein the application is to be delivered using a Quick User Datagram Protocol (UDP) Internet Connections (QUIC) session (aforesaid Relay-Proxy Device use QUIC protocol between client and service to provide high level of security protection : page 9 lines 6-14), the method comprising: receiving from the wireless device, a request to activate a policy for the application between the wireless device and the server, wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is beinq requested; in response to the request to activate the policy for the application, identifying a proxy node that provides the enhancement function; and
transmitting to the wireless device, an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node (Rest of the claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11).
Regarding claim 16, FAHEEM teaches, A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored instructions for traffic enhancement to apply to an application between a wireless device and a server, wherein the application is to be delivered using a session, and wherein the instructions when executed by a processor of a network node, are capable of causing the network node to perform: receiving from the wireless device, a request to activate a policy for the application between the wireless device and the server, wherein the request includes an identifier of the application and an indication that an enhancement function is beinq requested; in response to the request to activate the policy for the application, identifying a proxy node that provides the enhancement function; and transmitting-to the wireless device, an authorization of traffic enhancement with information of the proxy node. (Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11)..
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, FAHEEM in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHU teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the authorization of traffic enhancement is transmitted with a lifetime indicating a period during which the enhancement function is available to use (time is valid : [0144], [0148]; [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FAHEEM to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHU . The suggestion/motivation would be providing Traffic Switching, Steering, and Splitting (ATSSS).: (ZHU ; [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, FAHEEM in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAHEEM teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the information of the proxy node (==Policy Server in Fig. 7) to provide the enhancement function includes one or more of the following: a global identifier or a common name of the proxy node, a certificate of the proxy node, an Internet Protocol (IP) address and/or port of the proxy node, and an indication of one or more functions that are provided by the proxy node (QoS Policy Update from Policy Server to UE : “ the Policy Entity 632 may be (or may have been) updated by an external server, e.g., the Policy Server 630, which may perform policy control, i.e., may control authentication and authorization regarding various applications' access to the enhanced QoS capabilities. For example, as shown at 748, the Policy Entity 632 and Policy Server 630 may perform or may routinely perform a “QoS Policy Update” procedure, whereby the Policy Entity may be configured with information indicating access to enhanced QoS capabilities allocated to one or more applications.” :[0096]).
Regarding claim 4, FAHEEM in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAHEEM teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the network node (==eNodeB ) performs a network assistance application function (NAAF), and the identification of the proxy node (==Policy Server ) comprises: transmitting a policy activation request message to a policy control function (PCF) upon receiving the request to activate the policy, wherein the policy activation request message includes the application identifier and the indication to request the enhancement function; and receiving a policy activation response message from the PCF, wherein the policy activation response message includes the information of the proxy node to provide the enhancement function (see fig. 7 “ For example, as shown at 748, the Policy Entity 632 and Policy Server 630 may perform or may routinely perform a “QoS Policy Update” procedure, whereby the Policy Entity may be configured with information indicating access to enhanced QoS capabilities allocated to one or more applications.”: : [0086]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 9, FAHEEM in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAHEEM teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the proxy node notifies a network resource function (NRF) a list of enhancement functions the proxy node performs ( “ a latency-sensitive app on the UE may desire a high level of QoS, or high QoS, for certain app-related communications conducted over a network. Embodiments detailed further below relate to devices and methods for achieving adaptive, enhanced QoS for UE applications that perform wireless communications with QoS requirements.”: [0065]; “ FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating example relationships between various UE and/or network and other entities usable for providing enhanced quality of service (QoS) for certain wireless communications of a latency-sensitive application. It is noted that FIG. 6 merely illustrates relationships among certain example UE-side and networked or external entities and should not be construed to narrow the scope or spirit of the subject matter described herein, and that various other embodiments of such systems and methods are possible.”{0071]).
Regarding claim 10, FAHEEM in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAHEEM teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (see fig. 3: UE ).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 8, 15 , 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAHEEM in view of ZHU and further in view of in view of Yu et al. (US 20220248479 A1; hereinafter as “Yu”, which has a foreign application priority dated October 25, 2019)
Regarding claim 8, FAHEEM in view of ZHU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAHEEM in view of ZHU does not expressively disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein the network node establishes a protocol data unit (PDU) session with the wireless device prior to receiving the request to activate the policy.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the method of claim 1, wherein the network node (==SMP in Fig. 5) establishes a protocol data unit (PDU) session with the wireless device (==Terminal Device in fig. 5) prior to receiving the request to activate the policy (“Step S501: A terminal device registers with a 5GC network and establishes a PDU session.”: [0099]-[0101], before at “Step S504: The terminal device sends a first request message to the SMF network element.”: [0119]; [0126]-[0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FAHEEM and ZHU to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yu . The suggestion/motivation would provide flexible multi-PDU session to reduce occupation of a computing resource of the terminal device. (Yu; [0007], [0013]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411