DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
The amendments filed 4/20/2026 have been entered.
Priority
The earliest effective filing date afforded the instantly claimed invention has been determined to be 11/08/2019 as to claims 1-6, 8-9, 12, 16-18, 20 and 76-78, based on the filing date of PRO 62/933,225.
However, PRO 62/933,225 does not provide support for the instantly claimed method wherein the vaccine administered is a recombinant vaccine (claim 21), a SARS-CoV2 vaccine (claim 22), or a recombinant SARS-CoV2 vaccine (claim 79).
As to claims 21-22 and 79, the earliest effective filing date has been determined to be 11/06/2020, based on the filing date of PCT/US2020/59519.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/20/2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant traverses the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smith et al (Vaccine 34:4304-4312, 2016; of record) in view of Pearce et al (US 2017/0101624; of record).
As argued by Applicant, “Smith relates to certain small molecule adjuvants to increase the effectiveness of vaccines and discloses in vivo administration of a Toll-like receptor 7/8 (TLR7/8) agonist in combination with a diphtheria toxin antigen” (Applicant Arguments, Page 6). Applicant further argues that “Pearce discloses culturing activated T cells in vitro with a combination of an M1 compound which is a hydrazone, and Mdivi-1 together” (Applicant Arguments, Page 6).
Yet, lacking from Applicant’s summary of the prior art is (1) the teaching in Smith et al that “an effective antigen-specific CD8+ T cell response... is critical for protection against many viral diseases” (Page 2) and, as such, “[s]mall-molecule adjuvants that boost and direct adaptive immunity provide a powerful means to increase the effectiveness of vaccines” (Abstract), and (2) the teaching in Pearce et al of “enhancing T cell longevity and/or T cell function by promoting mitochondrial fusion and/or mitochondrial structural remodeling” (Abstract) wherein, “[i]n a specific embodiment, a compound that inhibits mitochondrial fission may be Mdivi-1” (Paragraph 0027), further teaching that “[i]n yet another aspect, the present disclosure provides a method to improve vaccination strategies” since the “T cells of the disclosure may enhance the activity of vaccines” (Paragraph 0046). Accordingly, based on Smith et al in view of Pearce et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Mdivi-1 along with a vaccine to a subject in need thereof in a dose and schedule configured to increase the effectiveness of said vaccine, with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to do so in the reasonable expectation that administration of Mdivi-1 would enhance T cell longevity and/or T cell function so as to increase the effectiveness of the vaccine.
Nevertheless, as further argued by Applicant, “Pearce does not teach any level of activity for Mdivi-1 in the absence of M1. Accordingly... a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no reasonable expectation that modifying the method of Smith with the Mdivi-1 of Pearce would have... successfully provided the claimed method” (Applicant Arguments, Page 6).
Yet, even assuming arguendo that one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood Pearce et al as requiring administration of Mdivi-1 in combination with an M1 compound to enhance T cell longevity and/or T cell function and, thus, “enhance the activity of vaccines”, the instant claims “comprising administering a B cell metabolic reprogramming agent” embrace the inclusion of additional agents (e.g., an M1 compound).
Applicant next argues “the surprising effects of the claimed methods would not have been readily predicted from the cited references” (Applicant Arguments, Page 6). In particular, Applicant argues that “administration of a Drp1 inhibitor, such as Mdivi-1, to a subject that has been administered a vaccine significantly and substantially enhanced long-term efficacy of the vaccine” as demonstrated by the following:
(a) Example 18 of the Specification which demonstrates that influenza-vaccinated mice treated with Mdivi-1 and then exposed to H1N1 antigen exhibit a “90% survival which was significantly greater than 40% survival for mice treated with vaccine only” (Applicant Arguments, Pages 6-7);
(b) Examples 12 and 20 of the Specification which demonstrate that NP-CPP- or SARS-CoV2-vaccinated mice treated with Mdivi-1 and then exposed to NP-CPP- or SARS-CoV2 antigen exhibit “significantly increased levels for titers of antigen-specific antibodies compared to mice not treated with Mdivi-1” (Applicant Arguments, Page 7); and
(c) Example 22 of the Specification which demonstrates that neo antigen-vaccinated mice treated exposed to pancreatic cancer cells that were treated with Mdivi-1 “had substantially reduced levels of visible metastasis in the lung, and increased levels of survival, compared to mice treated with vaccine alone” (Applicant Arguments, Page 7).
It is well settled that a showing of unexpected results is generally sufficient to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Albrecht, 514 F.2d 1389 (CCPA 1975). However, as recognized by the court in In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600 (CCPA 1965), mere arguments are not sufficient to demonstrate unexpected results. Rather, unexpected results must be established by factual evidence by comparing the claimed invention with that of the closest prior art. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175 (CCPA 1979). As discussed by the court in In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699 (Fed. Cir. 1994), “the absence of tests comparing [Applicant’s claimed invention] with those of the closest prior art… constitute mere argument”. In the instant case, Applicant has not compared the claimed invention with the closest prior art. Specifically, the closest prior art relative to Applicant’s elected method under examination is considered to be Keech et al (NEJM 383:2320-2332, published 9/02/2020; of record), which teach increasing the effectiveness of a recombinant severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (rSARS-CoV-2) vaccine comprising administering Matrix-M1 adjuvant. Evidence that Mdivi-1 increases the effectiveness of SARS-CoV-2 vaccine to an unexpected degree when compared to Matrix-M1 adjuvant would be indicative of unexpected results.
However, in potentially providing such evidence, Applicant is further advised that “the objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support”. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029 (CCPA 1980). As such, evidence that Mdivi-1 increases the effectiveness of SARS-CoV-2 vaccine to an unexpected degree when compared to Matrix-M1 adjuvant would be indicative of unexpected results commensurate in scope with a method of increasing the effectiveness of a SARS-CoV-2 vaccine in a subject treated with a SARS-CoV-2 vaccine, comprising administering Mdivi-1 to the subject in a dose and schedule configured to increase the effectiveness of the vaccine. The evidence would not be considered sufficient to support claim 1 in its current form, directed to a method of increasing the effectiveness of any vaccine (without limitation) in a subject, comprising administering any B cell metabolic reprogramming agent (without limitation) to said subject.
For all the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. The rejections of claims are MAINTAINED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12, 16-18, 20 and 76-78 are MAINTAINED rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smith et al (Vaccine 34:4304-4312, 2016; of record) in view of Pearce et al (US 2017/0101624; of record).
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of increasing the effectiveness of a vaccine in a subject, the method comprising administering:
a B cell metabolic reprograming agent (more specifically, Mdivi-1 (claims 2-3 and 76)) to the subject in a dose and scheduled configured to increase the effectiveness of the vaccine; and
the vaccine to the subject.
Smith et al teach that “[o]ne limitation of [vaccine] development has been the inability of conventional vaccines to stimulate an effective antigen-specific CD8+ T cell response, which is critical for protection against many viral diseases” (Page 2) and, as such, “[s]mall-molecule adjuvants that boost and direct adaptive immunity provide a powerful means to increase the effectiveness of vaccines” (Abstract), specifically demonstrating that “pigs vaccinated with antigen comprising the highest dose of adjuvant promoted a 13-fold increase in the percentage of antigen-specific CD3+/CD8+ T cells over pigs vaccinated with antigen alone” (Abstract).
As such, Smith et al teach a method of increasing the effectiveness of a vaccine in a subject comprising administering a small molecule adjuvant and a vaccine to said subject, wherein the small molecule adjuvant is administered in a dose and schedule configured to increase the effectiveness of the vaccine.
However, Smith et al do not teach administration of the B cell metabolic reprograming agent Mdivi-1.
Pearce et al teach “a composition comprising one or more compounds to promote mitochondrial fusion and/or mitochondrial structural remodeling” (Paragraph 0022) – wherein “a compound that promotes mitochondrial fusion may be a compound that inhibits mitochondrial fission” and, “[i]n a specific embodiment, a compound that inhibits mitochondrial fission may be Mdivi-1” (Paragraph 0027) – and “methods of enhancing T cell longevity and/or T cell function by promoting mitochondrial fusion and/or mitochondrial structural remodeling” (Abstract), further teaching that “[i]n yet another aspect, the present disclosure provides a method to improve vaccination strategies” since the “T cells of the disclosure may enhance the activity of vaccines” (Paragraph 0046).
Accordingly, based on Smith et al in view of Pearce et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Mdivi-1 along with a vaccine to a subject in need thereof in a dose and schedule configured to increase the effectiveness of said vaccine, with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to do so in the reasonable expectation that administration of Mdivi-1 would enhance T cell longevity and/or T cell function so as to increase the effectiveness of the vaccine.
As such, claims 1-4 and 76 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 5-6, 9 and 77-78 are drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the dose is between 1.0 – 50.0 mg/kg (claim 5), more specifically about 2.5 mg/kg (claim 6), and/or wherein the B cell metabolic reprogramming agent is administered at least a day, at least 2 days, or a plurality of times in a regular interval after administering the vaccine (claim 9), more specifically wherein the B cell metabolic reprogramming agent is administered at a dose of 2.5 mg/kg at least a day, at least 2 days, or a plurality of times in a regular interval after administering the vaccine (claim 77), and/or wherein the subject is administered with a second dose of the vaccine at least a day after administering the vaccine (claim 78).
As stated by MPEP 2144.05, “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical” (see also In re Aller (220 F.2d 454 (CCPA): “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation…” Indeed, as further discussed by the court, “[s]uch experimentation is no more than the application of the expected skill of the [ordinarily skilled artisan] and failure to perform such experiments would, in our opinion, show a want of the expected skill”; see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2005): “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” and “[o]nly if the ‘results of optimizing a variable’ are ‘unexpectedly good’ can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range” (quoting In re Antonie (559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977))).
In the instant case, the concentration of active agent as well as the dosing regimen of said agent in combination with vaccine is clearly a result-effective variable. Accordingly, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal dose and regimen of Mdivi-1 and vaccine to administer in order to best achieve the desired results.
As such, claims 5-6, 9 and 77-78 are also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 8, 12, 16-18 and 20 are drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein:
the B cell metabolic reprogramming agent is an immune enhancer for the vaccine (claim 8);
the effectiveness of the vaccine is enhanced by, e.g., increasing a memory B cell population in the subject (claim 12), more specifically wherein the B cell population comprises IgG cells (claim 16), and/or by increasing a TFh cell population in the subject after a rechallenge (claim 17);
the dose and schedule is sufficient to increase antigen-specific antibody titers at least 50% in the subject compared to a subject not receiving the B cell metabolic reprogramming agent after administering the vaccine or a rechallenge (claim 18); and/or
the dose and schedule are sufficient to prevent decreased oxygen consumption of mitochondria in IgG cells in the subject (claim 20).
As stated in In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw (562 F2d 1252 (CCPA 1977)), “[w]here… the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product” (see also In re Fitzgerald 619 F2d 67 (CCPA 1980): the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on”). This is especially true in cases where the newly discovered, inherent limitation is claimed functionally rather than structurally. For example, in In re Kubin (561 F.3d 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2009)), discussing claims drawn to an isolated nucleic acid molecule encoding a polypeptide “wherein the polypeptide binds CD48”, the court stated that there is “no obligation to predicate [an] obviousness finding on factual findings regarding a prior art teaching of [the polypeptide’s] binding to the CD48 protein” – the limitation is “not an additional requirement imposed by the claims on the [polypeptide], but rather a property necessarily present in” the polypeptide. As stated by the court in Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344 (Fed. Cir. 2012), “[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation – no matter how obvious – to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property” (discussing claims drawn to methods of administering a active agent “wherein upon oral administration… an initial serum concentration of the [active agent] greater than about 0.1 µg / ml is obtained at any time within about 30 minutes after administration” and further noting that “[t]he initial blood serum concentration resulting from administering [the active agent] is an inherent property of the formulation, and an obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by administering it to a patient and claiming the resulting serum concentrations”).
In the instant case, the claimed and prior art product, Mdivi-1, are identical. As such, absent evidence to the contrary, it is asserted that that Mdivi-1 is an immune enhancer for the vaccine and its administration would necessarily enhance the effectiveness of the vaccine, increase antigen-specific titers, and prevent decreased oxygen consumption of mitochondria in IgG cells as claimed. As stated in In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381 (CCPA 1963), “[f]rom the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable”.
As such, claims 8, 12, 16-18 and 20 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 21-22 and 79 are MAINTAINED rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smith et al (Vaccine 34:4304-4312, 2016; of record) in view of Pearce et al (US 2017/0101624; of record) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-9, 12, 16-18, 20 and 76-78 above, in further view of Keech et al (NEJM 383:2320-2332, published 9/02/2020; of record).
Claims 21-22 and 79 are drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the vaccine comprises a recombinant vaccine (claim 21), more specifically a SARS-CoV2 vaccine (claim 22), even more specifically a recombinant SARS-CoV2 vaccine (claim 79).
Neither Smith et al nor Pearce et al teach administration of a recombinant SARS-CoV2 vaccine.
Yet, as taught by Keech et al, NVX-CoV2373 is a recombinant severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (rSARS-CoV-2) nanoparticle vaccine” (Background) wherein “[t]he addition of adjuvant resulted in enhanced immune responses, was antigen dose-sparing, and induced a T helper (Th1) response” (Results).
In view of all of the foregoing, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Mdivi-1 along with NVX-CoV2373 to a subject in need thereof in a dose and schedule configured to increase the effectiveness of said vaccine, with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to do so in the reasonable expectation that administration of Mdivi-1 would enhance T cell longevity and/or T cell function (as taught by Pearce et al) so as to increase the effectiveness of the vaccine (as taught by Smith et al and Keech et al).
As such, claims 21-22 and 79 are also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No new ground(s) of rejection are presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611