DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4-11,14,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al., (Jin) US 2020/0286938 in view of Machida et al., (Machida) US 2019/0075261.
Regarding claim 1, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element comprising: plural transfer gates (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD)[0124] that distribute and transfer, to plural floating diffusions (FDA-FDD)[0100], signal charge accumulated in a photodiode that photoelectrically converts incident light, wherein at least two of the plural transfer gates (TXGA, TXGD) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to an optical center along an incident direction of the incident light (Center of 700, see FIG. 21); wherein a number of the transfer gates is four (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) [0124], and the four transfer gates are arranged at positions forming vertices of a quadrangle with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident light (see FIG. 21).
Jin differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device a first pair of the plural transfer gates is configured for transfer of signal charge to a first one of the plural floating diffusions, a second pair of the plural transfer gates is configured for transfer of signal charge to a second one of the plural floating diffusions, and the first pair and the second pair are configured for mutually coordinated timing such that the first pair is active when the second pair is inactive, and the first pair is inactive when the second pair is active.
Machida discloses [0429] a device a first pair of the plural transfer gates (TG)(116) is configured for transfer of signal charge to a first one of the plural floating diffusions, a second pair of the plural transfer gates (TG)is configured for transfer of signal charge to a second one of the plural floating diffusions, and the first pair and the second pair are configured for mutually coordinated timing such that the first pair is active when the second pair is inactive, and the first pair is inactive when the second pair is active [0429].
Machida is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Jin. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Machida in the device Jin because it will facilitate transfer of charges [0429], and a device that can be configured to control the sensitivity ratio of the plurality of photoelectric conversion sections by intermittent driving with respect to storing of signal charges of a plurality of photoelectric conversion sections [0017].
Regarding claim 2, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein a number of the transfer gates is four (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) [0124], and the four transfer gates are arranged at positions forming vertices of a quadrangle with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident light (see FIG. 21).
Regarding claim 4, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, further comprising: plural overflow gates (OGA, OGB, OGC, OGD) (see FIG. 21) [0064] that discharge charge overflowing from the floating diffusions, wherein at least two of the plural overflow gates two of (OGA, OGB, OGC, OGD) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident (see FIG. 21).
Regarding claim 5, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein a total number of the transfer gates (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) and the overflow gates (OGA, OGB, OGC, OGD) is an even number (4 each).
Regarding claim 6, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein a total number of the transfer gates (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) and a total number of the overflow gates (OGA, OGB, OGC, OGD) are identical.
Regarding claim 7, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein the optical center (center of 700) is set to one pixel (700) formed by arranging plural unit pixels.
Regarding claim 8, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein the optical center (Center of 700) [0074] is set to a pixel group formed by arranging plural pixels (see FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, further comprising: plural amplification transistors (DX, DG operates as a amplifier) [0060] that read out and amplify the signal charge transferred to the floating diffusions as an electric signal, wherein at least two of the plural amplification transistors (DGA, DGB) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center (center of 700) along the incident direction of the incident.
Regarding claim 10, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, further comprising: plural amplification transistors (DGA, DGB) (see FIG. 21) that read out and amplify the signal charge transferred to the floating diffusions (FDA-FDD) as an electric signal; and plural selection transistors (SELA-SELD)[0064] that turn on or off an output of a voltage signal from the amplification transistors, wherein at least two of the plural selection transistors (SELA, SELD) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident.
Regarding claim 11, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, further comprising: plural reset transistors (RGA, RGB, RGC, RGD) [0064] that turn on or off a discharge of charge accumulated in the floating diffusions (FDA-FDD), wherein at least two of the plural reset transistors (RGA, RGD) (see FIG. 3) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident.
Regarding claim 14, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element comprising: a first semiconductor layer (layer where TG gates are formed)(FIG. 7A) including plural transfer gates (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) that distribute and transfer, to plural floating diffusions (FDA, FDB, FDC, FDD), signal charge accumulated in a photodiode (PD)[0065] that photoelectrically converts incident light, and plural overflow gates (OGA, OGB, OGC, OGD) (see FIG. 21) [0064] that discharge charge overflowing from the floating diffusions; and a second semiconductor layer (FIG.7A, 7B) including plural amplification transistors (DX, DG operates as a amplifier)[0060] that read out and amplify the signal charge transferred to the floating diffusions as an electric signal, plural reset transistors (RGA, RGD) (see FIG. 3) that turn on or off a discharge of charge accumulated in the floating diffusions, and plural selection transistors (SELA-SELD)[0064] that turn on or off an output of a voltage signal from the amplification transistors, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer are stacked in the incident direction of the light (Layers where TG DG are formed), at least two of the plural transfer gates (TGA, TGD) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to an optical center along the incident direction of the incident, at least two of the plural overflow gates (OGA, OGD) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center (center of 700) when viewed from the incident direction of the light, at least two of the plural amplification transistors (DGA, DGB) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident, at least two of the plural reset transistors (RGA, RGC) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center when viewed from the incident direction of the light, and at least two of the plural selection transistors (SELA, SELD) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident; wherein a number of the transfer gates is four (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) [0124], and the four transfer gates are arranged at positions forming vertices of a quadrangle with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident light (see FIG. 21).
Jin differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device a first pair of the plural transfer gates is configured for transfer of signal charge to a first one of the plural floating diffusions, a second pair of the plural transfer gates is configured for transfer of signal charge to a second one of the plural floating diffusions, and the first pair and the second pair are configured for mutually coordinated timing such that the first pair is active when the second pair is inactive, and the first pair is inactive when the second pair is active.
Machida discloses [0429] a device a first pair of the plural transfer gates (TG)(116) is configured for transfer of signal charge to a first one of the plural floating diffusions, a second pair of the plural transfer gates (TG)is configured for transfer of signal charge to a second one of the plural floating diffusions, and the first pair and the second pair are configured for mutually coordinated timing such that the first pair is active when the second pair is inactive, and the first pair is inactive when the second pair is active [0429].
Machida is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Jin. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Machida in the device Jin because it will facilitate transfer of charges [0429], and a device that can be configured to control the sensitivity ratio of the plurality of photoelectric conversion sections by intermittent driving with respect to storing of signal charges of a plurality of photoelectric conversion sections [0017].
Regarding claim 17, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein at least two of the plural transfer gates (TGA-TGD) transfer the accumulated signal charge to one of the floating diffusions (FDA-FDD).
Regarding claim 18, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein one of the plural transfer gates TGA-TGD) transfers the accumulated signal charge to one of the floating diffusions (FDA-FDD).
Regarding claim 19, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element comprising: an on-chip lens (130) arranged on a side of the photodiode (PD) on which the light is incident on the photodiode.
Regarding claim 20, Jin shows in FIG. 1A-21, a ranging module comprising: the light receiving element (610, 620); a light emitting unit (640) [0116] that emits irradiation light whose brightness changes periodically; and a light emission control unit (630) [0116] that controls irradiation timing of the irradiation light.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Machida as applied to claims 1,2,4-11, 14, 17-20, and further in view of Gu et al., (Gu) US 2021/0365704.
Regarding claim 13, Jin in view of Machida shows in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element.
Jin in view of Machida differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device having a light-shielding film that performs shielding in such a manner that a range of light incident on the photodiode is a preset range.
Gu discloses a light-shielding film (111) [0104] that performs shielding in such a manner that a range of light incident on the photodiode is a preset range [0032, 0132].
Gu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Jin in view of Machida. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Gu in the device of Jin in view of Machida because it will reduce the yield of the device [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21,22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant argues that: "Jin does not disclose grouping the four transfer gates into two specific pairs, each pair being dedicated to transferring signal charge to a respective floating diffusion, and operating those paired gates with mutually coordinated timing." The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Jin shows in FIG. 21, grouping the four transfer gates into two specific pairs, and each pair being dedicated to have a respective floating diffusion. Machida [0429] a device a first pair of the plural transfer gates (TG)(116) is configured for transfer of signal charge to a first one of the plural floating diffusions, a second pair of the plural transfer gates (TG)is configured for transfer of signal charge to a second one of the plural floating diffusions, and the first pair and the second pair are configured for mutually coordinated timing such that the first pair is active when the second pair is inactive, and the first pair is inactive when the second pair is active [0429]. Thus, Jin modified by Machida will teach that each pair being dedicated to transferring signal charge to a respective floating diffusion, and operating those paired gates with mutually coordinated timing because Jin teaches a structure where transfer transistors are grouped and they each have their respective floating diffusion. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Machida in the device Jin because it will facilitate transfer of charges [0429], and a device that can be configured to control the sensitivity ratio of the plurality of photoelectric conversion sections by intermittent driving with respect to storing of signal charges of a plurality of photoelectric conversion sections [0017].
Next, the Applicant argues that Machida does not disclose or suggest modifying a four-gate, quadrangular arrangement such that each diagonal or opposing pair of gates corresponds to a respective floating diffusion, and those diagonally arranged gate pairs are alternately driven in synchrony with optical-center-based symmetry. As explained above, Jin modified by Machida will teach the limitation above. That is, Jin teaches in FIG. 1A-21, a light receiving element, wherein a number of the transfer gates is four (TXGA, TXGB, TXGC, TXGD) [0124], and the four transfer gates are arranged at positions forming vertices of a quadrangle with respect to the optical center along the incident direction of the incident light (see FIG. 21).
Additionally, Applicant argues that Machida does not disclose or suggest modifying a four-gate, quadrangular arrangement such that each diagonal or opposing pair of gates corresponds to a respective floating diffusion, and those diagonally arranged gate pairs are alternately driven in synchrony with optical-center-based symmetry. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Jin teaches a four-gate, quadrangular arrangement such that each diagonal or opposing pair of gates corresponds to a respective floating diffusion. As for the other limitation: "those diagonally arranged gate pairs are alternately driven in synchrony with optical-center-based symmetry," Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Lastly, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813