Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Nishino (JP-2015144108-A) is used to disclose the atomic-% of the positive electrode active material in amended claim 13.
35 USC 112(b) rejections regarding claim 13-17 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino (JP-2015144108-A) (see translation), and further in view of Harada (JP-2012234772-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 13, Nishino discloses a secondary battery comprising a positive electrode active material for a positive electrode (see e.g., [0016], regarding active material for positive electrode of lithium ion secondary battery), wherein the positive electrode active material has the formula Li1+x(Co(1-a-b-m)NiaAlbMm)1-xO2-(f/2)Ff (see e.g., [0016] of translation and page 2 [2] of original foreign document which shows the formula clearly), wherein the M may be selected from a group including Mg (see e.g., [0017]), which overlaps with the claimed lithium cobalt oxide containing magnesium, aluminum, nickel, and fluorine. Nishino further discloses embodiments wherein M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mg, Ti, and Ze (see e.g., [0018]), which shows that magnesium is of high desirability. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected magnesium as the “M” component in the positive electrode active material to provide an active material that can be used even under high charging voltages, has excellent battery performance such as discharge capacity, average discharge voltage, charge/discharge cycle durability, and safety (see e.g., [0015]).
Nishino discloses in example 18 wherein a surface modification is applied such that in EDX analysis, more Mg was detected on the particle surface (see e.g., [0101]), which overlaps with the claimed peak of magnesium is confirmed in a vicinity of a surface of the positive electrode active material in an EDX measurement.
Nishino discloses the active material with general formula Li1+x(Co(1-a-b-m)NiaAlbMm)1-xO2-(f/2)Ff, and further provides that 0<a≤0.25, 0<b≤0.05, 0≤m≤0.04 (see e.g., [0016]), with further preferences such as 0.05≤a+b+m≤0.3 (see e.g., [0017]). Given this general formula including the further preferences, Nishino discloses the positive active material wherein a number of magnesium atoms in the positive electrode active material is 0.7 % or more and 4 % or less of a number of cobalt atoms, wherein a number of aluminum atoms in the positive electrode active material is 0.1 % or more and 2 % or less of the number of cobalt atoms, wherein a number of nickel atoms in the positive electrode active material is 0.1 % or more and 2 % or less of the number of cobalt atoms. For example, selecting arbitrary numbers within the ranges of Nishino, such as a=0.005, b=0.015, and m=0.03, the resulting formula includes the atomic ratios of Co0.95Ni0.005Al0.015Mg0.03. The atomic ratios of magnesium to cobalt is 0.03/0.95[Wingdings font/0xE0]3.16%, which falls within the claimed range of 0.7% or more and 4% or less. Similarly, an atomic ratio of aluminum to cobalt is 0.015/0.95[Wingdings font/0xE0]1.57%, which falls within the claimed range of 0.1% or more and 2% or less, and an atomic ratio of nickel to cobalt is 0.005/0.95[Wingdings font/0xE0]0.5%, which falls within the claimed range of 0.1% or more and 2% or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selected a positive electrode active material with the ratios of components disclosed by Nishino, such as Co0.95Ni0.005Al0.015Mg0.03, which has been arbitrarily selected within the range, to provide an active material that can be used even under high charging voltages, has excellent battery performance such as discharge capacity, average discharge voltage, charge/discharge cycle durability, and safety (see e.g., [0015]).
Nishino does not explicitly disclose wherein in a section cut toward a center of a particle of the positive electrode active material, at least part of the particle has a surface roughness less than 3 nm. However, Harada teaches that at least part of a positive electrode active material lithium transition metal compound powder particle has a surface roughness of 1.5 nm or less (see e.g., [0011], [0015], [0026]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 3 nm or less. Harada is equivalent analogous art because Harada similarly teaches a lithium transition metal oxide particle with a crystal structure that is heat treated in the overlapping temperature range of 200-900 °C in the overlapping time range of 24 hours of less (see e.g., [0012] of Harada compared with [0065] of Nishino regarding the heat treatment processes), and may further include magnesium and fluorine (see e.g., [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a surface roughness of 1.5 nm or less disclosed by Harada as a property of the positive electrode active material disclosed by Nishino. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a lithium secondary battery having high initial efficient and excellent rate characteristics (see e.g., [0010]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Nishino discloses the secondary battery according to claim 13, however, Nishino is silent as to wherein the surface roughness is a root mean square surface roughness (RMS) in which a standard deviation is calculated. However, Harada teaches that at least part of a positive electrode active material lithium transition metal compound powder particle has a surface roughness of 1.5 nm or less, wherein the surface roughness is a root mean square (RMS) value (see e.g., [0011], [0015], [0026]). A standard deviation can be calculated when provided with an RMS value. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a surface roughness of 1.5 nm or less as an RMS value disclosed by Harada as a property of the positive electrode active material disclosed by Nishino. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a lithium secondary battery having high initial efficient and excellent rate characteristics (see e.g., [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nishino discloses the secondary battery according to claim 13, however, Nishino is silent as to the positive electrode active material having a surface roughness in at least 400 nm of a periphery of the particle. However, Harada teaches that the surface roughness was calculated whereby the trimming range was set to a range sufficiently smaller than the primary particle diameter (about 50-30% in length) (see e.g., [0089]) which is 300-500 nm of a periphery of the particle because the primary particles are preferably 1 um (1000 nm) or less (see e.g., [0036]), which overlaps with the claimed range of at least 400 nm of a periphery of the particle. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a surface roughness in 300-500 nm of a periphery of the particle disclosed by Harada as a property of the positive electrode active material disclosed by Nishino. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to eliminate the influence of the primary particle outer shape as much as possible (see e.g., [0089]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Nishino discloses the secondary battery according to claim 13, however, is silent as to a portable information terminal comprising the secondary battery. However, Harada discloses that lithium secondary batteries may be used in portable devices such as mobile phones (see e.g., [0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the secondary battery discloses by Nishino into a mobile phone because lithium secondary batteries have excellent energy density and power density and are effective in reducing size and weight (see e.g., [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Nishino discloses the secondary battery according to claim 13, however, is silent as to a vehicle comprising the secondary battery according to claim 13. However, Harada discloses that lithium secondary batteries may be used in electric vehicles (see e.g., [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the lithium secondary battery disclosed by Nishino in an electric vehicle because lithium secondary batteries have excellent energy density and power density and are effective in reducing size and weight (see e.g., [0002]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728