DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/02/2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The previous art rejections under U.S.C. 103 are maintained. The cancellation of claim 31 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the two separator side surfaces are planer rather than cambered however there are many types of cambered surface as evidenced by Sautya ("4 Types of Camber") of which one is a planer/triangular shape as presented by He. Applicant also argues the separators of He are intended to reduce space and therefore do not provide expansion space, however simply filling in some of the space within the case to reduce electrolyte volume does not limit the ability of the separators to still leave space for cell expansion. As examples of this phenomenon, Fig. 1 of He and Fig. 3 of the instant application both show this configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-28, 32-36, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US20170092911), in view of Christensen (US20140234726) and further in view of Kano (JP2016081761 as cited in IDS dated 1/2/24, reference made to English translation) and further in view of He (CN209389151, as cited in the previous office action, reference made to provided English translation). Supporting evidence by Sautya ("4 Types of Camber").
Regarding claim 24, Nishikawa discloses a battery (i.e., energy storage apparatus) (abstract), comprising:
a housing (11)(i.e., outer case)(Fig. 1), having an accommodating cavity therein (¶[0059] see inside outer case body 100, which is a component of the housing) and a cover plate (200)(i.e. lid body)(¶[0058]);
at least two electrode core sets (300)(i.e. energy storage devices)(¶[0065]), arranged in the accommodating cavity along a first direction (see Fig. 13A and Figure 7 below) and connected in series with each other (¶[0063]), wherein each electrode core set comprises at least one electrode core (i.e., electrode assembly) the at least one electrode core comprises a positive plate (positive electrode), a diaphragm (separator), a negative plate(negative electrode) (¶[0069]; and
separators (121)(i.e. partitioning portions)(see Fig. 7), arranged between two adjacent electrode core sets (¶[0059], each energy storage device 300 is inserted and housed between two neighboring partitioning portions), configured to prevent the two adjacent electrode core sets from contacting with each other, and comprising a first separator(i.e. partitioning portion extending from side wall 113) and a second separator(i.e. partitioning portion extending from side wall 115) (as shown in Fig. 7),
Nishikawa does not disclose wherein the first separator and the second separator are arranged opposite to each other along a second direction, a gap is provided between the first separator and the second separator along the second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to a surface of the cover plate and wherein the at least one electrode core comprises a polymer or solid electrolyte, an expansion space arranged between each of the at least two electrode core sets. wherein each of the first separator and the second separator comprises two separator side surfaces facing the two adjacent electrode core sets and the two separator side surfaces are cambered surfaces.
Kano, related to power storage devices, teaches a first separator (i.e. first partition member 201) and a second separator (i.e. second partition member 301) arranged opposite to each other with a gap between them in the second direction which is perpendicular to a surface of the cover plate (i.e. first case 200) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 in closed state).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the separators of Nishikawa could be arranged in the manner of Kano to provide easy assembly, a simple structure, and the high structural strength(¶[0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the separators of Nishikawa in the manner of Kano to provide easy assembly, a simple structure, and the high structural strength.
Christensen, related to lithium batteries, teaches an electrochemical cell which includes positive plate (positive electrode), a diaphragm (separator), a negative plate (negative electrode) and a solid electrolyte (¶[0028]) to prevent lithium dendrites (¶[0041]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized using the electrochemical cell of Christensen within the energy storage apparatus of Nishikawa would provide the added benefit of preventing lithium dendrites which would reduce cell failure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the electrode cell of Christensen with in the energy storage apparatus of Nishikawa to prevent lithium dendrites and cell failure.
He, related to a lithium-ion battery (¶[0002]), discloses wherein an expansion space(i.e. optimized internal space)(¶[0023]) is arranged between each of the at least two electrode core (2) sets and each of the separators (3 and 4)(first and second bracket (see annotated Figure 1).
Annotated Figure 1 of He
He additionally teaches wherein each of the first separator and the second separator comprises two separator side surfaces facing the two adjacent electrode core sets (see annotated figure 1 above) and the two separator side surfaces are cambered surfaces (see annotated figure 1 above) as supported by Sautya where the two sides form a straight camber. As seen in annotated Figure 1 of He the flat side of the separator leave spaces between the curved cell which provides an expansion space.
One having ordinary skill in the art would realize optimizing the internal space of the battery with two separator side surfaces facing the two electrode core sets and having cambered surface will improve the consumption of electrolyte by reducing the overall internal space (¶[0019]). Therefore it would have been obvious to have cambered separator surfaces to improve the consumption of electrolyte.
Regarding claim 25, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein the first separator and the second separator are fixedly connected with an inner surface of the housing (¶[0076] connected to bottom wall portion).
Regarding claim 26, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 25, wherein one or more of the first separator and the second separator are integrally formed with the housing (¶[0076] formed integrally).
Regarding claim 27, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein the first separator and the second separator are plate-shaped or mesh-shaped (¶[0076] flat-plate-like).
Regarding claim 28, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein two ends of each of the at least two electrode core sets opposite to each other along the second direction span the gap between the first separator and the second separator (see Fig. 5A where the electrode core sets fill the outer case body in the Y direction)(¶[0099] corresponding Fig. 7 and 5a).
Regarding claim 29, modified Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24 and He further teaches the expansion space has a thickness between the electrode core set and the separator (see annotated figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 30, modified Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 29 and He additionally teaches wherein the thickness of the expansion space increases in a direction from outside to inside of the housing (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 32, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein the separators are made of an insulation material (¶[0061]).
Regarding claim 33, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein an insulation film is arranged between the at least two electrode core sets and the housing (¶[0106]).
Regarding claim 34, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein the housing comprises a housing body (100)(i.e. outer case body) having an end portion with an opening and the cover plate arranged at the opening of the housing body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 35, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 34, wherein grooves are provided on the cover plate (see annotated figure 1) ; conductive connection components (210,220)(i.e. external terminals) are embedded in the grooves (see annotated figure 1); and the conductive connection components are configured to connect the two adjacent electrode core sets in series (¶[0071]).
Figure 1 of Nishikawa
Regarding claim 36, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 35, wherein the conductive connection components are integrally formed with the cover plate (¶0060] mounted on lid body)(see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 41, Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 24, wherein the battery comprises a polymer lithium- ion battery or a solid-state battery (¶[0162] lithium-ion battery).
Regarding claims 42 and 43, Nishikawa discloses an electric vehicle (¶[0055] electric vehicle) , comprising a battery pack(¶[0055] battery pack), wherein the battery pack comprises
a battery (i.e., energy storage apparatus) (abstract), comprising:
a housing (11)(i.e., outer case)(Fig. 1), having an accommodating cavity therein (¶[0059] see inside outer case body 100, which is a component of the housing) and a cover plate (200)(i.e. lid body)(¶[0058]);
at least two electrode core sets (300)(i.e. energy storage devices)(¶[0065]), arranged in the accommodating cavity along a first direction (see Fig. 13A and Figure 7 below) and connected in series with each other (¶[0063]), wherein each electrode core set comprises at least one electrode core (i.e., electrode assembly) the at least one electrode core comprises a positive plate (positive electrode), a diaphragm (separator), a negative plate(negative electrode) (¶[0069]; and
separators (121)(i.e. partitioning portions)(see Fig. 7), arranged between two adjacent electrode core sets (¶[0059], each energy storage device 300 is inserted and housed between two neighboring partitioning portions), configured to prevent the two adjacent electrode core sets from contacting with each other, and comprising a first separator(i.e. partitioning portion extending from side wall 113) and a second separator(i.e. partitioning portion extending from side wall 115) (as shown in Fig. 7),
Nishikawa does not disclose wherein the first separator and the second separator are arranged opposite to each other along a second direction, a gap is provided between the first separator and the second separator along the second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to a surface of the cover plate and wherein the at least one electrode core comprises a polymer or solid electrolyte. but does not disclose an expansion space arranged between each of the at least two electrode core sets. wherein each of the first separator and the second separator comprises two separator side surfaces facing the two adjacent electrode core sets and the two separator side surfaces are cambered surfaces.
Kano, related to power storage devices, teaches a first separator (i.e. first partition member 201) and a second separator (i.e. second partition member 301) arranged opposite to each other with a gap between them in the second direction which is perpendicular to a surface of the cover plate (i.e. first case 200) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 in closed state).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the separators of Nishikawa could be arranged in the manner of Kano to provide easy assembly, a simple structure, and the high structural strength(¶[0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the separators of Nishikawa in the manner of Kano to provide easy assembly, a simple structure, and the high structural strength.
Christensen, related to lithium batteries, teaches an electrochemical cell which includes positive plate (positive electrode), a diaphragm (separator), a negative plate (negative electrode) and a solid electrolyte (¶[0028]) to prevent lithium dendrites (¶[0041]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized using the electrochemical cell of Christensen within the energy storage apparatus of Nishikawa would provide the added benefit of preventing lithium dendrites which would reduce cell failure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the electrode cell of Christensen with in the energy storage apparatus of Nishikawa to prevent lithium dendrites and cell failure.
He, related to a lithium-ion battery (¶[0002]), discloses wherein an expansion space(i.e. optimized internal space)(¶[0023]) is arranged between each of the at least two electrode core (2) sets and each of the separators (3 and 4)(first and second bracket (see annotated Figure 1).
He additionally teaches wherein each of the first separator and the second separator comprises two separator side surfaces facing the two adjacent electrode core sets (see annotated figure 1 above) and the two separator side surfaces are cambered surfaces (see annotated figure 1 above) as supported by Sautya where the two sides form a straight camber. As seen in annotated Figure 1 of He the flat side of the separator leave spaces between the curved cell which provides an expansion space.
One having ordinary skill in the art would realize optimizing the internal space of the battery with two separator side surfaces facing the two electrode core sets and having cambered surface will improve the consumption of electrolyte by reducing the overall internal space (¶[0019]). Therefore it would have been obvious to have cambered separator surfaces to improve the consumption of electrolyte.
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, Christensen, Kano and He as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Matsumoto (US 20040170887).
Regarding claim 37, modified Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 35 and conductive connection components(i.e. electrode terminals) are made of metal (¶[0070] metal-made) and a position where the copper connection piece is electrically connected with the aluminum connection piece is located in the cover plate (see conductive connections in annotated figure 1), but does not disclose they are made from copper and aluminum
However one with ordinary skill in the art would realize electrode terminals are commonly made from copper and aluminum. Applicant is reminded the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). Therefore it would have been obvious to have selected copper and aluminum for the conductive connection components.
Regarding claim 38, modified Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 35 but does not disclose an insulation layer arranged between the conductive connection and the cover plate.
Matsumoto, related to a rechargeable battery (¶[0001]), teaches insulation layer (i.e. insulating plate) is arranged between the conductive connection components(i.e. electrode terminals) and the cover plate(i.e. sealing plate (¶[0015].
One with ordinary skill in the art would realize that constructing the battery with an insulation layer between the conductive connection components and the cover plate provides a component of a safety function that would reduce short-circuits and improve battery safety(¶[0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added an insulation layer between the conductive connection components and the cover plate to improve battery safety.
Regarding claim 39, modified Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 35 but does not disclose a detection circuit that is electrically connected with the at least two electrode core sets and configured to detect a status of the at least two electrode core sets.
However, Matsumoto teaches a detection circuit (Fig. 3) with electrode core sets (114)(i.e. electrode assembly) which detects the temperature status of the battery (¶[0045]).
One with ordinary skill in the art would realize adding a detection circuit to determine the status of the electrode core sets connected in series in the battery of Nishikawa would prevent increase in battery temperature and improve battery safety (¶[0043] dangerous state). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added a detection circuit to improve battery safety.
Regarding claim 40, modified Nishikawa discloses a battery according to claim 39.
Matsumoto further teaches wherein the detection circuit comprises a sampling wire (¶[0043] connected to PTC); and the sampling wire is connected with the conductive connection components (i.e. electrode terminals) (¶[0043] connected to electrode terminal).
One with ordinary skill in the art would realize adding a detection circuit with a sampling wire would prevent excessive increases in battery temperature and improve battery safety (¶[0043] dangerous state). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added a detection circuit to improve battery safety.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 12 February 2026