DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and corresponding arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended Claims 45 and 48, which result in the withdrawal of the 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous action.
Examiner agrees with Applicant’s argument that the art of record does not disclose amended Claim 28, and Guen does not disclose a threaded sealing plug (Claim 48), or a magnetic blocking mechanism (Claim 49). After an updated search and consideration, the amended claims remain obvious, but over new art. See action for updated Claims 1, 45, 48, and 49.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 1 recites “the blocking mechanism is configured to close the electrolyte solution guiding hole after electrolyte solution filing or during normal use of the battery.” Examiner requests Applicant change “filing” to “filling” to ensure consistency with the instant invention described in the disclosure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-40 and 45-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynds, US 20150283965 A1, and further in view of Chen et al., CN 205992559 U; Amendola, US 20150010833 A1; and Yi, US 20110300437 A1.
Regarding Claim 28, Lynds discloses a battery (energy storage sub-module 400 [0059], Fig. 3), comprising: a housing (first side plate 412, second side plate 414, and tray 404 [0059, 0064]) and
a plurality of accommodating cavities provided in the housing (tray 404 comprises a plurality of receiving recesses 450 [0064], Fig. 6A; tray 404 disposed between plates 412 and 414 in Figs. 3-5),
wherein two adjacent accommodating cavities of the plurality of accommodating cavities are separated by a partition plate (carrying tray 404 includes raised portion 460 and 462 between adjacent receiving recesses 450 [0065], Figs. 3-7);
a plurality of electrode core assemblies sequentially arranged along a first direction and connected in series (plurality of energy storage devices 402 in series [0063, 0080-0081]; Annotated Fig. 3 to show a first direction consistent with Applicant’s Fig. 1), wherein one electrode core assembly of the plurality of electrode core assemblies is arranged in each of the accommodating cavities ([0063-0066]),
wherein the partition plate (raised portion 460 and 462 of carrying tray 404) is an insulation plate (carrying tray 404 may comprise a polymeric material such as polypropylene [0066]; consistent with polypropylene disclosed as a suitable insulation material at [0080] of the instant specification).
Lynds – Annotated Fig. 3
Lynds does not disclose a first spacer disposed within the housing and arranged between an end of a first electrode core assembly of the plurality of electrode core assemblies disposed in one of the two adjacent accommodating cavities and the partition plate. However, spacers arranged at ends of electrode core assemblies are disclosed by Chen.
Chen discloses a spacer arranged at each end of a battery cell (shell 10 [0052, 0069], Fig. 1), wherein the spacer provides safety improvements such as protecting the battery from scratches, and ensuring a connection between the battery pouch and the electrode tab ([0054]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add Chen’s spacers to each end of Lynds’ electrode core assemblies, in order to protect each electrode core assembly and ensure a connection between the electrode tab and core assemblies.
Chen – Fig. 1 (left) and Fig. 3 (right)
See Examiner’s Annotations to Lynds Fig. 7 for structure of modified Lynds, which would position the spacer of Chen at each end of Lynds’ electrode core assemblies. As Chen discloses the spacer is positioned at the interface of the electrode tab and battery pouch (Chen [0052-0054]), the spacer would be positioned between each electrode core assembly and partition plate:
Lynds – Annotated Fig. 7
Regarding the limitation of a first spacer disposed within the housing, the spacer (Chen, shell 10) is in direct contact with the electrode tab and bare battery cell (Chen, [0052-0054]). In order to establish the structure taught by Chen, Chen’s spacer would be applied to each battery end of Lynds before being inserted into the housing (Lynds, housing comprises side plates 412/414 and tray 404).
Modified Lynds does not disclose the limitation “an electrolyte solution guiding hole is arranged in the partition plate, and the electrolyte solution guiding hole penetrates the partition plate and is configured to link the two adjacent accommodating cavities on two sides of the partition plate, wherein the electrolyte solution guiding hole is configured to allow passage of an electrolyte solution between the two adjacent accommodating cavities when filling the electrolyte solution into the battery.” However, these limitations are taught by Amendola.
Amendola teaches a partition plate for a battery (frame 880 [0353-0359], Fig. 9B), wherein the “frame 880 may include an electrolyte distribution assembly 892 that may be integrally formed into the frame. The electrolyte distribution assembly may include a slot 894 that may allow electrolyte to flow to underlying cells” ([0354]). Amendola teaches the electrolyte distribution assembly provides electrolyte from a central fill point to several accommodating cavities on each side of the assembly, which helps maintain even electrolyte levels across the cells, and can also facilitate the removal of gas bubbles from the cells ([0447-0461], Figs. 10-11B).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to add a liquid guiding hole to each partition plate, wherein the liquid guiding hole connects two adjacent accommodating cavities and allows passage of an electrolyte solution when filling the battery, in the battery of modified Lynds, as Amendola teaches this configuration is effective at centrally distributing and managing electrolyte levels for multiple cells.
Amendola – Figs. 9B, 10, and 11B
Modified Lynds does not disclose the claimed “blocking mechanism” which is “configured to close the electrolyte solution guiding hole after electrolyte solution filling or during normal use of the battery.” However, this limitation is taught by Yi.
Yi teaches an electrolyte solution guiding hole for a battery (electrolyte injection hole 32 [0038], Figs. 1-7), wherein a blocking mechanism in the electrolyte solution guiding hole prevents the electrolyte solution from being leaked out of the hole (sealing member 40/140/240/340 [0038-0057]) after electrolyte solution filling or during normal use of the battery ([0052-0057]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a blocking mechanism in each electrolyte solution guiding hole, in the battery of modified Lynds, in order to ensure electrolyte does not leak out of the battery, but also be able to refill the battery with electrolyte when necessary.
Yi – Figs. 1 (left) and 2 (right)
Regarding Claim 29, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the battery further comprises an end cover (Lynds, end caps 482 and 484 [0072], Fig. 3), wherein the end cover fits at an end of the housing along the first direction (Lynds, adjacent to ends 406 and 408 of tray 404 [0072], Figs. 2B and 3), and
a second spacer (Lynds, sealing caps 480 [0070], Fig. 3) is arranged between an end of a second electrode core assembly (see annotated Fig. 3) disposed at and end of the plurality of electrode core assemblies (402) and the end cover (482/484):
Lynds – Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 30, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the battery comprises two first spacers, including the first spacer, respectively arranged at two ends of the first electrode core assembly along the first direction (Chen, spacer 10 at each end of the battery [0069]), and the spacers limit the electrode core assembly along the first direction to a position inside the accommodating cavities (Chen, spacer between electrode tab and pouch [0052-0054]).
Lynds – Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 31, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the housing is an integrated structure extending along the first direction (Lynds, first and second side plates 412 and 414 are fastened together at openings 422 on alignment tabs 420 [0059, 0076-0077], Fig. 3),
a plurality of partition plates including the partition plate are arranged in the housing at intervals (Lynds, raised portion 460 between adjacent receiving recesses 450 [0065, 0102], Figs. 3-7);
a lateral surface of the partition plate (Lynds, raised portion 460/462 of tray 404) fits with the housing (Lynds, first and second side plates may cover or substantially cover the sealed energy storage devices seated in the carrying tray 404 [0073]), and
an internal space of the housing is divided into the plurality of accommodating cavities (Lynds, receiving recesses 450 [0064]).
Regarding Claim 32, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the battery comprises a plurality of partition plates including the partition plate (Lynds, raised portion 460/462 between adjacent receiving recesses 450 [0065, 0102], Figs. 3-7), wherein the housing comprises a plurality of sub-housings arranged along the first direction (Lynds, receiving recesses 450 [0064], four shown in Fig. 6A and [0081]), and a respective partition plate is connected to two adjacent sub-housings (Lynds, raised portion 460 between adjacent receiving recesses 450, protrusion 462 configured to facilitate coupling of the energy storage devices 402 [0065]).
Regarding Claim 33, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the housing is an integrated structure extending along the first direction (Lynds, side plates 412 and 414 are fastened together at openings 422 on alignment tabs 420 [0059, 0076-0077], Fig. 3),
a cell core assembly comprising a separator film (Lynds, insulator sleeve 410 [0070-0071], Fig. 3), and the partition plate arranged in the housing (Lynds, raised portion 460 [0065], “sandwiched” [0077], Fig. 3),
an accommodating cavity (Lynds, receiving recess 450 [0065], Fig. 6A) of the plurality of accommodating cavities is provided inside the separator film (Lynds, [0069-0073]), the partition plate is arranged within the separator film (Lynds, insulator sleeve 410 can have a shape and/or size configured to fit around the energy storage devices 402 and the tray 404 [0069]), and a lateral surface of the partition plate (460/462) fits with the separator film (Lynds, insulator sleeve 410 fits around tray 404, tray 404 includes raised portion 460 and 462 [0065-0069]), and an internal space of the separator film is divided into the plurality of accommodating cavities (Lynds, receiving recesses 450 of tray 410 are located inside insulator sleeve 410 [0069]).
Regarding Claim 34, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the battery comprises a plurality of partition plates including the partition plate (Lynds, raised portion 460/462 between adjacent receiving recesses 450 [0065, 0102], Figs. 3-7), wherein the housing is an integrated structure extending along the first direction (Lynds, first and second side plates 412 and 414 are fastened together at openings 422 on alignment tabs 420 [0059, 0076-0077], Fig. 3),
a cell core assembly comprising a separator film (Lynds, insulator sleeve 410 [0070-0071], Fig. 3), and the partition plate arranged in the housing (Lynds, raised portion 460 [0065], “sandwiched” [0077]),
an accommodating cavity of the plurality of accommodating cavities (Lynds, receiving recess 450 [0065], Fig. 6A) is provided inside the separator film (Lynds, [0069-0073]),
the separator film comprises a plurality of sub-separator films arranged along the first direction (Lynds, portion of cell balancing device 430 [0099-0105], Fig. 6B; device 430 would be enclosed in the separator film once assembled) and a respective partition plate is connected to two adjacent sub-separator films (Lynds, [0102], Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 35, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses one side of the first spacer (Chen, shell 10) abuts against an end of the first electrode core assembly (Lynds, energy storage devices 402), and the other side of the first spacer abuts against or is fixed to the partition plate (Lynds, raised portion 460, see Lynds Fig. 7 with Examiner’s Annotation).
Lynds – Fig. 7 with Examiner’s Annotation
Regarding Claim 36, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the first spacer includes a through-hole (Chen, tab extension hole 100 [0056], Figs. 3-5) facing the partition plate and configured to accommodate a lead-out member of the first electrode core assembly (Chen, battery tab 40 extends from the tab extension hole 100 [0053-0054], Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 37, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the through-hole runs through a middle portion of the first spacer (Chen, [0056]).
Regarding Claim 38, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the first spacer comprises a first spacer portion (Chen, first housing/shell 102 [0055], Figs. 3 and 4), a first groove (Chen, first notch on first shell 102 [0056]), a second spacer portion (Chen, second housing/shell 103 [0055], Figs. 3 and 4), and a second groove (Chen, second notch on second shell 103 [0056], see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4). Modified Lynds discloses the first spacer portion fits in with and is fixed to the second spacer portion (Chen, various assembly methods [0058]), and the first groove and the second groove are directly opposite to each other to form the through-hole (Chen, tab extension hole 100 [0056]). Modified Lynds discloses the first and second spacer portions create a stable structure to support the battery tab (Chen, [0056]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spacer of modified Lynds to have a first and second spacer portion, and a first and second groove, as disclosed by Chen, in order to create a stable structure to support the battery tab.
Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Chen – Fig. 4 with Examiner’s Annotations
Regarding Claim 39, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses each of the first spacer portion (Chen, 102) and the second spacer portion (Chen, 103) comprise a fitting surface (Chen Annotated Fig. 4, fitting surface defined as lateral surfaces on 102 and 103 that face each other at the center of the spacer), wherein an opening of the first groove is made on the fitting surface of the first spacer portion (Chen Annotated Fig. 4), an opening of the second groove is made on the fitting surface of the second spacer portion (Chen Annotated Fig. 4), the fitting surface of the first spacer portion and the fitting surface of the second spacer portion are directly opposite to each other (Chen Annotated Fig. 4), and the fitting surface of the first spacer portion fits, or is spaced apart from, the second spacer portion, so that the first groove and the second groove form the through-hole (Chen, tab extension hole 100 formed by 102 and 103 [0056]).
Regarding Claim 40, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the first spacer portion is snap-fitted to the second spacer portion (Chen, first shell 102 and the second shell 103 may be snap-fitted to each other [0058]), a clasping hole (Chen, hooked section of first snap 102a [0058]) is made in a non-grooved region of the fitting surface of the first spacer portion, a clasping stud (Chen, second snap 103a [0058]) is arranged in a non-grooved region of the fitting surface of the second spacer portion, and extends in a direction away from the fitting surface of the second spacer portion (Chen, extends towards first spacer 102 in Annotated Fig. 6), and the clasping stud is configured to clasp and be fixed into the clasping hole (Chen, first snap 102a and the second snap 103a are snap-fitted [0058], Annotated Fig. 6).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the spacers of modified Lynds include a snap-fit closure, as disclosed by Chen, in order to provide a simple connection structure that joins the first and second spacers together.
Chen – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding Claim 45, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses the blocking mechanism is held in a blocking mechanism space (Yi, portion of injection hole 32/132/232/332 occupied by insertion portion 43/143/243/343 [0037-0042], Figs. 3 and 5-7), a first position and a second position used to accommodate the blocking mechanism are formed in the blocking mechanism space, when the blocking mechanism is in the first position, the electrolyte solution guiding hole is in the open state (Yi, removing the sealing member 40/140/240/340), and when the blocking mechanism is in the second position, the electrolyte solution guiding hole is in a closed state (Yi, sealing member installed in injection member to seal electrolyte in battery [0053-0057]).
Regarding Claims 46 and 47, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds discloses a plurality batteries (Lynds, plurality of energy storage sub-modules [0008]) may be assembled into a battery module for a vehicle (Lynds, energy storage system configured to power a motor vehicle can include an energy storage module having a plurality of energy storage sub-modules [0034], Lynds Claims 14 and 15).
Regarding Claim 48, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds teaches the blocking mechanism is a threaded sealing plug (Yi, threaded sealing member 140 [0050-0053], Fig. 5), and the blocking mechanism space is a sealing hole (Yi, the insertion portion 143 has the same cross-sectional shape as the injection hole 132 to prevent the electrolyte solution from being leaked through the electrolyte solution injection member 130. The outer diameter of the insertion portion 143 may be formed to coincide with the inner diameter of the injection hole 132 [0052]).
Yi – Fig. 5
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lynds as applied to Claim 28 above, and further in view of Asahina et al., US 20030077508 A1.
Regarding Claim 41, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds does not disclose the battery further comprises an electrode core connector. However, an electrode core connector is disclosed by Asahina.
Asahina discloses an electrode core connector (block electroconductive connector 31 [0127-0130], Figs. 28 and 30) arranged in a partition plate (arranged in separation wall 5 [0127]), wherein electrode core assemblies are connected in series by the electrode core connector (electrode plate groups 8 connected in series [0128]), and the electrode lead-out member of the electrode core assembly (lead portions 9a and 9b [0127]) is electrically connected to the electrode core connector (welded together [0127-0130]). Asahina discloses the electroconductive connector mounted through the separation wall and welded to the lead portions provides a reliable connection between the electrode plates of the electrode plate group 8 and the electroconductive connector 31 ([0129]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the electrode core connector of Asahina in each partition of modified Lynds, in order to establish a reliable connection between the electrode lead-out member and the core connector.
Examiner notes the electrode lead-out member running through the through-hole of the spacer was established by modifying reference Chen (Chen, tab 40 can extend from the tab extension hole 100 [0053], Figs. 1-3).
Modified Lynds, by including the electrode core connector of Asahina, would add a core connector at each partition plate, therefore meeting the limitation “the first electrode core assembly and a second electrode core assembly respectively disposed in the two adjacent accommodating cavities are connected in series be the electrode core connector” and “the lead-out member of the first electrode core assembly runs through the through-hole of the first spacer and is electrically connected to the electrode core connector”.
Regarding Claims 42 and 43, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds does not disclose the electrode core connector is threaded in a through hole on the partition plate and sealed (Claim 42). Modified Lynds also does not disclose the electrode core connector and the partition plate are integrally formed (Claim 43). However, these limitations are also disclosed by Asahina.
Asahina discloses the electrode core connector is threaded in a connecting through-hole of the partition plate (“through-hole” in central portion of separation wall 5 to accommodate block electroconductive connector 31 [0127-0130], Figs. 28 and 30), a sealing structure is arranged in the connecting through-hole and the sealing structure is configured to seal the electrode core connector in the connecting through-hole, and seal off the connecting through-hole (contact surfaces are welded [0128-0130]). Asahina also discloses the electrode core connector and the partition plate are integrally formed (a block electroconductive connector 31 is integrally formed with the separation wall 5 [0127]). Asahina discloses the electroconductive connector mounted through the separation wall and welded to the lead portions provides a reliable connection between the electrode plates of the electrode plate group 8 and the electroconductive connector 31 ([0129]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a through hole in the partition plate, and integrally form the electrode core connector and the partition plate, as disclosed by Asahina, in the battery of modified Lynds, in order to enable a more reliable connection between the battery components.
Asahina – Fig. 28 (left) and Fig. 30 (right)
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lynds as applied to Claim 28 above, and further in view Ono et al., US 20170187027 A1.
Regarding Claim 49, modified Lynds discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Lynds does not disclose the blocking mechanism is a sealing element with a magnetic property, and the blocking mechanism is configured to close the electrolyte solution guiding hole under a force exerted on the blocking mechanism by an externally applied magnetic field. However, these limitations are taught by Ono.
Ono teaches a cap 4 for covering an electrolyte solution injection hole for a battery, wherein the cap has a first magnetic body 4B ([0064-0067, 0077-0081], Fig. 5; “sealing element with a magnetic property” met by the body 4B being magnetic). Ono teaches since a magnetic force is used instead of an adhesive to close the hole in the electrolyte solution injection hole, the cap can be easily attached to and detached from the liquid injection hole, can be repeatedly used as means for covering the liquid injection hole, and has a low likelihood of displacement/disengagement due to the magnetic force ([0015, 0033]). The limitation “a force exerted on the blocking mechanism by an externally applied magnetic field” is met by Ono’s teaching of “ a second magnetic body that applies a magnetic force to the first magnetic body, such that a position of the cap that is disposed to cover the liquid injection hole is held by the magnetic force between the first magnetic body and the second magnetic body” ([0013]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a sealing element with a magnetic property, as the blocking mechanism of modified Lynds, in order to attach and detach the cap, while also having a low likelihood of displacement/ disengagement due to magnetic force which secures the cap in place.
Ono – Fig. 5
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721