DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 05/02/2026. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1 - 5 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 05/02/2026 with respect to Tomita et al. (US 11726485 B2) in view of Kawano et al. (JP 7280153 B2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Kawano’s distance sensor is used only for collision-avoidance control and does not teach using distance “as a criterion for the selection of a selective edge (‘on the basis of a distance between each of the edges’ as in claim 1).”
However the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kawano discloses a distance sensor that detects distance from the traveling machine body to a ridge (i.e., an edge of the field) and further discloses selection among multiple possible ridge sides based on the vehicle’s current position:
“[0006] According to an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a work vehicle including a traveling machine body, a reception unit configured to acquire position information of the traveling machine body from a positioning satellite, a steering unit configured to perform a steering operation of the traveling machine body, a distance sensor configured to detect a distance from the traveling machine body to a ridge on an end side of a field, and a control unit configured to calculate a work route including an inner peripheral route for work traveling on an inner peripheral side of a field surface and an outer peripheral route for traveling on an outer peripheral side so as to surround the inner peripheral route on the basis of field data indicating an outer shape of the field acquired in advance or the field data acquired by traveling on an outer periphery of the field on which work traveling is performed, and configured to be capable of executing automatic steering control for controlling the steering unit to automatically travel along the work route.”
“[0085] In the step S23, the side surface on which the ridge is closest to the traveling machine body 3 is recognized from the current position of the traveling machine body 3 acquired by the GNSS unit 11 and the field date, the range sensor 54 disposed on the side closest to the ridge from the traveling machine body 3 (planting work machine 6) is selected among the plurality of disposed range sensors 54, the detection value of the selected range sensor 54 is set to be used for the control of the collision avoidance control, and the process proceeds to the step S25.”
“[0010] Fifth, a plurality of the distance sensors are provided at least on front, rear, left, and right sides of the traveling vehicle body so as to be able to detect a distance from a peripheral edge of the traveling vehicle body to a ridge, and the collision avoidance control is configured to use a detection result of the distance sensor disposed at a position closest to a ridge edge based on the field data and the information acquired from the reception unit.”
Kawano therefore teaches both (i) measuring distance from the vehicle position to each of a plurality of ridge/edge locations and (ii) selecting, on the basis of that distance (the “closest” ridge relative to the vehicle’s current position), which edge-related sensor data and control action to apply. The outer-peripheral / headland routes of Kawano are formed relative to these same peripheral edges. The claimed “selective edge” selection “on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position” is suggested by Kawano.
Applicant further argues that paragraphs [0071] and [0072] merely confirm that lateral and angular deviations are within a predetermined tolerance and do not teach minimizing a combination of distance and angle for edge selection.
However the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kawano’s control evaluates both lateral deviation (a distance-related quantity relative to the target route that itself runs parallel to the peripheral edge) and angular deviation between the vehicle’s traveling direction (orientation) and the direction of the work route (i.e., the direction of the edge-aligned route). The control then acts to bring both quantities within tolerance—i.e., to minimize the combination of the two deviations:
“[0071] In the step S8, the control unit 50 confirms whether or not the traveling machine body 3 is performing work traveling in a state where a deviation in the lateral direction between the traveling machine body 3 and the work route (target line) is within a predetermined tolerance (Dtole) based on the position information of the traveling machine body 3 acquired by the GNSS unit 11, and when it is detected that the traveling machine body 3 can perform work traveling on the work route within the predetermined tolerance, the process proceeds to the step S9.”
“[0072] In the step S9, the control unit 50 confirms whether or not the work traveling is performed in a state where the deviation (angle θ) between the traveling direction of the traveling machine body 3 and the direction of the work route (target line) is within a predetermined tolerance (θ tole) based on the position information of the traveling machine body 3, the information of the steering angle sensor 51, and the like, and proceeds to the step S10 when it is detected that the traveling direction of the traveling machine body 3 is within the predetermined tolerance and the work traveling is performed along the direction on the work route.”
“[0074] In step S11, the control unit 50 calculates a correction steering angle θ S for eliminating the deviation (Dtole, θtole) between the traveling machine body 3 and the work route, controls the steering unit (outputs the steering motor 31) so as to correct the steering operation based on the acquired correction steering angle θ S, and then proceeds to step S10.”
The simultaneous evaluation and corrective minimization of lateral (distance-related) deviation and angular deviation relative to an edge-aligned work route constitutes teaching of controlling relative to an edge “on the basis of a distance and an angle where a combination of the distance and the angle is minimized.” Kawano further ties this control to headland regions: the collision-avoidance and route-adherence logic is specifically invoked during turning travel “on a headland” (see [0083], [0084], [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita et al. (US 11726485 B2) in view of Kawano et al. (JP 7280153 B2), hereinafter referred to as Tomita and Kawano respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Tomita discloses An autonomous traveling control system capable of creating a headland traveling auxiliary route for allowing a work vehicle to autonomous travel in a headland region formed between a work region for allowing the work vehicle to perform work while autonomously traveling (“An autonomous work vehicle travel system that manages autonomous travel of a work vehicle that travels while working in a work site” See at least [Col.3 line 1-20]),
and a peripheral edge formed from a plurality of edges in a field surrounded by the peripheral edge (“In FIG. 7 , the shape of the area CA to be worked is a deformed quadrangle. As such, there are four sides serving as references for generating the mesh route element set. Here, if the area CA to be worked is a rectangle or a square, there are two sides serving as references for generating the mesh route element set.” [Col.19 Ln 58-64])
wherein the system executes the work vehicle to perform autonomous travel in a headland region (“Then, the autonomous travel controlling unit 511 controls the autonomous travel so as to avoid contact between the ridge and the vehicle when turning in the outer peripheral area SA. Specifically, the autonomous travel is stopped and the harvester 1 is stopped, the type of turning travel is changed (changed from normal U-turn travel to switchback turn travel or α-turn travel), a travel route that does not pass through that area is set, or the like.” [Col.27 ln 35-47])
Tomita does not explicitly teach wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle and an angle formed by each of the edges and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle, where a combination of the distance and the angle to the headland region is minimized.
However, Kawano does teach wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle, where a combination of the distance and the angle to the headland region is minimized (“distance sensor configured to detect a distance from the traveling machine body to a ridge on an end side of a field, and a control unit configured to calculate a work route including an inner peripheral route for work traveling on an inner peripheral side of a field surface and an outer peripheral route for traveling on an outer peripheral side so as to surround the inner peripheral route on the basis of field data indicating an outer shape of the field acquired in advance or the field data acquired by traveling on an outer periphery of the field on which work traveling is performed, and configured to be capable of executing automatic steering control for controlling the steering unit to automatically travel along the work route.” See at least[0006] and “a plurality of the distance sensors are provided at least on front, rear, left, and right sides of the traveling vehicle body so as to be able to detect a distance from a peripheral edge of the traveling vehicle body to a ridge, and the collision avoidance control is configured to use a detection result of the distance sensor disposed at a position closest to a ridge edge based on the field data and the information acquired from the reception unit” [0010]),
and an angle formed by each of the edges (“In the step S9, the control unit 50 confirms whether or not the work traveling is performed in a state where the deviation (angle θ) between the traveling direction of the traveling machine body 3 and the direction of the work route (target line) is within a predetermined tolerance (θ tole) based on the position information of the traveling machine body 3, the information of the steering angle sensor 51, and the like, and proceeds to the step S10 when it is detected that the traveling direction of the traveling machine body 3 is within the predetermined tolerance and the work traveling is performed along the direction on the work route.” [0072])
and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle (“In the step S8, the control unit 50 confirms whether or not the traveling machine body 3 is performing work traveling in a state where a deviation in the lateral direction between the traveling machine body 3 and the work route (target line) is within a predetermined tolerance (Dtole) based on the position information of the traveling machine body 3 acquired by the GNSS unit 11, and when it is detected that the traveling machine body 3 can perform work traveling on the work route within the predetermined tolerance, the process proceeds to the step S9. “ See at least [0071]). Both Tomita and Kawano teach methods for autonomous work vehicle operation. However, Kawano explicitly teaches wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle and an angle formed by each of the edges and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous work vehicle operation method of Tomita to also include wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle and an angle formed by each of the edges and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle, as taught by Kawano, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves autonomous work vehicle operation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kawano, 0010 and 0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 1, comprising: a field information storage unit that stores field information related to the work region and the headland region set inside the field surrounded by the peripheral edge formed from a plurality of the edges ([Fig.6: 101] “The stored data expressing the travel route element set is stored in a storage medium so as to be capable of readout. This stored data includes route identifiers (e.g., route numbers) identifying the travel route elements “ See at least [Col.7 line20-25]);
a positioning unit that acquires a traveling position of the work vehicle as the vehicle position (“The harvester 1 includes a satellite positioning module 80 that outputs positioning data on the basis of a GPS signal from an artificial satellite GS used in GPS (global positioning systems).“ See at least [Col.11 line 57-60]);
an orientation detection unit that acquires a traveling direction of the work vehicle as the vehicle orientation (“The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 calculates directional skew and positional skew between the travel route set by the route setting unit 64 and the vehicle position, generates autonomous steering commands, and outputs the commands to the steering device via the output processing unit 7. The work control unit 52 supplies control signals to the work device group 72 in order to control the operations of operation devices provided in the harvesting section 15, the threshing device 13, the discharge device 18, and so on that constitute the harvester 1. The notification unit 54 generates notification signals (display data, audio data, and so on) for notifying the driver, the monitoring party, or the like of necessary information through the notifying device 73, which is a display or the like.“ See at least [Col.21 line 39-52]);
a determination distance calculation unit that calculates, as a determination distance, a distance between each of the edges and the vehicle position of the work vehicle (“As illustrated in FIG. 7, the mesh route element calculating unit 601 calculates a first straight line set (corresponding to a “first line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the first side S1 of the area CA to be worked by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the first side S1 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1. Likewise, the following are also calculated: a second straight line set (corresponding to a “second line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the second side S2 by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the second side S2 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1; a third straight line set (corresponding to a “third line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the third side S3 by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the third side S3 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1; and a fourth straight line set (corresponding to a “fourth line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the fourth side S4 by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the fourth side S4 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1. In this manner, the first side S1 to the fourth side S4 serve as reference lines for generating the straight line sets serving as the travel route element set. If the positional coordinates of two points on a straight line are known, that straight line can be identified; thus each straight line serving as a travel route element is turned into data indicating a straight line defined by the positional coordinates of the two points on that straight line, and is stored in memory in a predetermined data format. This data format includes a route number serving as a route identifier for identifying that travel route element, as well as a route type, the side of the outer quadrangle serving as a reference, whether the element is untraveled/already traveled, and so on as attribute values of the travel route element.“ See at least [Col.18 line 38-67]);
a determination angle calculation unit that calculates, as a determination angle, an angle formed by each of the edges and the vehicle orientation (“A basic principle by which the U-turn route calculating unit 603 generates a U-turn travel route will be described using FIG. 13. FIG. 13 illustrates a U-turn travel route in which the harvester 1 moves from a travel route element corresponding to the start of the turn, indicated by LS0, to a travel route element indicating the destination of the turn, indicated by LS1. In normal travel, if LS0 is a travel route element in the area CA to be worked, LS1 is typically a travel route element in the outer peripheral area SA (an intermediate straight route), whereas if LS1 is a travel route element in the area CA to be worked, LS0 is typically a travel route element in the outer peripheral area SA (an intermediate straight route). A linear equation (or two points on the straight lines) for the travel route elements LS0 and LS1 are recorded in memory, and the point of intersection between the two (indicated by PX in FIG. 13) and an angle of intersection (indicated by θ in FIG. 13) are calculated from that linear equation. Next, an inscribed circle contacting both the travel route element LS0 and the travel route element LS1, and having a radius equivalent to the minimum turn radius of the harvester 1 (indicated by r in FIG. 13), is calculated. An arc (part of the inscribed circle) connecting the points of contact between the travel route elements LS0 and LS1 with the inscribed circle (indicated by PS0 and PS1 in FIG. 13) corresponds to the turning route. Accordingly, a distance Y to a point of contact between the intersection point PX of the travel route elements LS0 and LS1, and the inscribed circle, is given by: Y=r/(tan(θ/2)) “ See at least [Col.24 line 51-67]);
a headland traveling auxiliary route creation unit that creates a plurality of the headland traveling auxiliary routes arranged side by side at every predetermined width in parallel to the selective edge selected from among a plurality of the edges (“travel route generating device, which generates a travel route for a work vehicle that travels while working in a work site, includes a route managing unit that calculates a travel route element set, the travel route element set being an aggregate of multiple travel route elements constituting a travel route covering an area to be worked in the work site, and stores the travel route element set so as to be capable of readout.“ See at least [Col.5 line 54-60]);
an auxiliary route creation edge determination unit that automatically determines the selective edge for which the headland traveling auxiliary routes are created, by evaluating each of the determination distances calculated by the determination distance calculation unit, and each of the determination angles calculated by the determination angle calculation unit (“(A11) If, when traveling through traditional travel, the number of unworked sites, i.e., the number of unworked (untraveled) travel route elements in the travel route element set of the area CA to be worked, has become less than or equal to a predetermined number, the traditional travel is automatically switched to autonomous travel. Additionally, if the harvester 1 is working through spiral travel from the outside toward the inside of an area CA to be worked that is covered by a mesh line set, the travel is switched from spiral travel to linear back-and-forth travel when the surface area of the remaining unworked sites has become small and the number of unworked travel route elements has become less than or equal to a predetermined value. In this case, as described above, a travel route element having the “intermediate straight route” attribute is moved parallel from the outer peripheral area SA to the vicinity of the unworked site in the area CA to be worked, in order to avoid wasteful travel.“ See at least [Col.29 line 64-67 and Col.30 line1-14]);
and a traveling control unit that causes the work vehicle to autonomously travel along the headland traveling auxiliary routes (“Furthermore, the control unit 5 is provided with a travel control unit 51, a work control unit 52, the vehicle position calculating unit 53, and a notification unit 54. The vehicle position calculating unit 53 calculates the vehicle position on the basis of positioning data output from the satellite positioning module 80. Because the harvester 1 is configured to be capable of traveling through both autonomous travel (autonomous steering) and manual travel (manual steering), the travel control unit 51 that controls the vehicle travel device group 71 includes an autonomous travel controlling unit 511 and a manual travel controlling unit 512. The manual travel controlling unit 512 controls the vehicle travel device group 71 on the basis of operations made by the driver. The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 calculates directional skew and positional skew between the travel route set by the route setting unit 64 and the vehicle position, generates autonomous steering commands, and outputs the commands to the steering device via the output processing unit 7. The work control unit 52 supplies control signals to the work device group 72 in order to control the operations of operation devices provided in the harvesting section 15, the threshing device 13, the discharge device 18, and so on that constitute the harvester 1. The notification unit 54 generates notification signals (display data, audio data, and so on) for notifying the driver, the monitoring party, or the like of necessary information through the notifying device 73, which is a display or the like. “ See at least [Col.21 line 26-52]).
Regarding claim 3, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 2, comprising an autonomous traveling cancel unit that cancels the autonomous traveling of the work vehicle by the traveling control unit, wherein in a case where the autonomous traveling of the work vehicle is canceled, the auxiliary route creation edge determination unit newly determines the selective edge on the basis of the determination distance by the vehicle position of the work vehicle and the determination angle by the vehicle orientation after the cancel of the autonomous traveling (“The master harvester 1m continues work travel in the area CA to be worked even while the slave harvester 1s is unloading the harvested crops after deviating from the work travel in the area CA to be worked. However, it was originally assumed that the master harvester 1m would select the travel route element L13 at the point of intersection between the travel route element L42 and the travel route element L13 while traveling along the travel route element L42. However, the travel of the slave harvester is along the travel route element L12 has been canceled due to the departure of the slave harvester is, and thus the travel route element L12 is an unharvested area (untraveled). Accordingly, the route element selecting unit 63 of the master harvester 1m selects the travel route element L12 instead of the travel route element L13. In other words, the master harvester 1m travels to the point of intersection between the travel route element L42 and the travel route element L12, turns left, and travels along the travel route element L12.“ See at least [Col.32 line 19-37]).
Regarding claim 4, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 1, comprising a display unit that displays the headland traveling auxiliary route and the vehicle position of the work vehicle (“The state of the communication terminal 4 can, through an artificial switching operation, be switched to an animated display state indicating autonomous travel routes or traditional travel routes, a state of displaying the above-described parameters/fine adjustments, and so on. This animated display animates the travel trajectory of the harvester 1 traveling along the autonomous travel routes or traditional travel routes, which are travel routes in the autonomous travel or traditional travel in which all of the travel routes have been determined in advance, and displays the animation in the display panel unit of the touch panel 41. Using this animated display, the driver can intuitively confirm the travel routes to be traveled on before the trouble starts.“ See at least [Col.16 line 60-67]).
Regarding claim 5, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 2, comprising an auxiliary route creation edge lock unit that fixes the selective edge, wherein in a case where the auxiliary route creation edge lock unit fixes the selective edge, even when at least any of the determination distance by the vehicle position and the determination angle by the vehicle orientation is changed, the auxiliary route creation edge determination unit does not newly determine the selective edge (“(A2) The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 monitors a relationship (distance) between an outer line position of the field and the vehicle position based on the positioning data. Then, the autonomous travel controlling unit 511 controls the autonomous travel so as to avoid contact between the ridge and the vehicle when turning in the outer peripheral area SA. Specifically, the autonomous travel is stopped and the harvester 1 is stopped, the type of turning travel is changed (changed from normal U-turn travel to switchback turn travel or α-turn travel), a travel route that does not pass through that area is set, or the like. A configuration in which a warning such as “caution, narrow turning area” is provided may also be employed.“ See at least [Col.27 line 35-47]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668