DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5 and 10-29 are currently pending. Claims 6-9 are cancelled. Claims 3-5, 12, 13, and 27-29 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. The amended claims do not overcome the previously stated 103 rejections. Therefore, upon further consideration, claims 1, 2, 10, 11, and 14-26 are rejected under the following 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 14, 20, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2011/0300433) in view of Probert et al (US 2021/0143377), and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 209461538 U, machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kim discloses a battery module (battery) comprising:
[lower cover “111a” + upper cover “111b”] (housing);
barriers “117a” (end covers) arranged at two ends of the housing;
a plurality of accommodating cavities arranged in the housing;
a plurality of barriers “117a” (partition plate), each of the plurality of barriers separating two adjacent accommodating cavities;
battery cells “114” (electrode core assemblies) respectively arranged in the accommodating cavities in a first direction and connected in series;
a plurality of sensing wires “116” (sampling wires) electrically connected to the battery cells respectively and extending along the first direction;
wherein the housing is an integral structure extending in the first direction, and, to enclose an internal space of the housing;
the plurality of barriers “117a” (partition plates) are arranged in the housing at intervals, and side circumferences of the barriers are coupled with [lower cover + upper cover] (side walls) of the housing, to divide the internal space of the housing into the plurality of accommodating cavities; and
wherein an accommodating cavity at an end portion of the battery module in the first direction is an end accommodating cavity, and an accommodating cavity in a middle portion of the battery module is a middle accommodating cavity; the end accommodating cavity is surrounded by one of the barriers (end covers), one of the barriers (partition plates), and a part of the housing arranged between the one of the barriers (end covers) and the one of the barriers (partition plates); and the middle accommodating cavity is surrounded by two adjacent barriers (partition plates) and a part of the housing arranged between the two adjacent barriers (partition plates) ([0032],[0042]-[0048] and Fig. 3).
However, Kim does not expressly teach a wire harness channel extending along the first direction and between the end covers, passing through the plurality of partition plates, and disposed between the plurality of partition plates and an inner side wall of the housing, wherein each of the plurality of sampling wires has a first part disposed in the partition plate and a second part extending out of the corresponding partition plate and disposed in the wire harness channel, the wire harness channel is an enclosed channel (claim 1).
Probert et al discloses a wiring harness “32” (plurality of sampling wires) that can be routed across an entire length of open channel “78” (wire harness channel) extending along a first direction and between the [first connector “34” + second connector “36”] (end covers) passing through the plurality of partition plates “76”, and disposed between the plurality of partition plates and an inner side wall of the cover “64” (housing); wherein the wiring harness “32” has a first part disposed in a partition plate “76” and second part disposed in the channel “78”, wherein the channel “78” (wire harness channel) is an enclosed channel by cover “64” ([0059] and Figs. 4 and 5).
[AltContent: textbox (second part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first part)][AltContent: textbox (first direction)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim battery module to include a wire harness channel extending along the first direction and between the end covers, passing through the plurality of partition plates, and disposed between the plurality of partition plates and an inner side wall of the housing, wherein each of the plurality of sampling wires has a first part disposed in the partition plate and a second part extending out of the corresponding partition plate and disposed in the wire harness channel, the wire harness channel is an enclosed channel in order to better utilize the free space for increasing the overall packaging efficiency of the battery module ([0059]).
However, Kim as modified by Probert et al does not expressly teach a first part sealed in the partition plate and a second part sealed in the wire harness channel (claim 1).
Zhang et al teaches the concept of arranging a module sampling line bundle (plurality of sampling wires) in a potting groove “3” (wire harness channel) and potting the module sampling line bundle in the potting groove with adhesive, thereby sealing the module sampling line bundle in the potting groove ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Probert plurality of sensing wires to include a first part sealed in the partition plate and a second part sealed in the wire harness channel in order to prevent the sensing wires from shifting in use, thereby enhancing the sampling reliability of the sensing wires in the whole life cycle of the module (Abstract, [0034]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Kim also discloses a connector “120” that is electrically connected to the plurality of sensing wires to converge the plurality of sensing wires; wherein the connector is fixed to one of the barriers “117a” (end covers) (Fig. 7F);
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Probert et al teaches a wire harness channel that would necessarily pass through the barrier “117a” (end cover) to form sampling holes that are formed on the barrier “117a” (end cover), and the plurality of sensing wires pass through the sampling holes and are converged at the connector.
Regarding claim 20, Kim also discloses a plurality of bus bars “115” (electrode core connectors), and adjacent battery cells (electrode core assemblies) that are connected in series through the battery cells ([0045]).
Regarding claim 24, Kim also discloses each of the battery cells comprising a positive electrode terminal “114a” (first electrode lead-out member) and a negative electrode terminal “114b” (second electrode lead-out member) used for leading out a current, wherein the positive electrode terminal “114a” and the negative electrode terminal “114b” of the battery cell are respectively arranged at two opposite sides of the battery cell in the first direction; and both the positive electrode terminal “114a” and the negative electrode terminal “114b” are electrically connected to an bus bar ([0045]).
Regarding claim 25, Kim also discloses a battery module that is substantially a cuboid having a length L, a width H, and a thickness D, and wherein the length L is greater than the width H, the width H is greater than the thickness D (Fig. 2).
However, Kim does not expressly teach a length L of the battery is 400 mm to 2500 mm (claim 25).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim battery module to include a length L of the battery module that is 400 mm to 2500 mm because changes in size/proportion was held to have been obvious (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed length of the battery module.
Regarding claim 26, Kim also discloses a [power patterns “122” + sensing patterns “123”] (detection unit), and the detection unit is electrically connected to the sensing wires, and is used for detecting a state of the battery cells ([0051],[0054]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Probert et al and Zhang et al as applied to claim 10, and further in view of He et al (CN 110364863 A, machine translation). Kim also discloses a connector “120” that penetrates through the barrier “117a” (end cover) at the connecting trenches “118a” ([0059] and Fig. 7F).
However, Kim as modified by Probert et al and Zhang et al does not expressly teach a sealing ring that is formed between the at least one of the end covers and the connector or between the housing and the connector (claim 15).
He et al discloses a connector “1” comprising a sealing ring “14” ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Probert/Zhang battery module to include a sealing ring that is formed between the at least one of the end covers and the connector in order to prevent the infiltration of water vapor ([0022]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Probert et al and Zhang et al as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Cheng (CN 209534961 U, machine translation).
However, Kim as modified by Probert et al and Zhang et al does not expressly teach a connector comprising a ceramic sleeve and a plurality of contact pins received in the ceramic sleeve, and each of the contact pins is electrically connected to one of plurality of the sampling wires correspondingly (claim 16).
Cheng discloses a connector comprising a connector housing “1” (ceramic sleeve) and pins “7” (contact pins) that are embedded in the connector shell, wherein the pins are electrically connected to wires “3” ([0024] and Figs. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Probert/Zhang battery module to include a connector comprising a ceramic sleeve and a plurality of contact pins received in the ceramic sleeve, and each of the contact pins is electrically connected to one of the plurality of sensing wires correspondingly in order to improve the safety of the wiring harness and to provide convenience for the maintenance of the line, to save maintenance time, and to improve work efficiency ([0025]).
Claims 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Probert et al and Zhang et al as applied to claims 1 and 10, and further in view of Ceheng et al (CN 102104167 A, cited in IDS).
However, Kim as modified by Probert et al and Zhang et al does not expressly teach a first sampling wire of the plurality of sampling wires is leaded out from the partition plate; and a part of the first sampling wire that is arranged inside the partition plate is electrically connected to a part of the first sampling wire that is arranged outside the partition plate (claim 17); wherein the part of the first sampling wire that is arranged inside the partition plate is a bare metal wire; and the part of the first sampling wire that is arranged outside the partition plate is a conductive wire coated with an insulating layer (claim 18); wherein the first sampling wire is further leaded out from a side circumference of the housing after being leaded out from the partition plate, or the first sampling wire is further leaded out from one of the end covers after being leaded out from the partition plate (claim 19); the partition plates include connection member receiving holes, and the electrode core connectors penetrate through the connection member receiving holes; and a sealing ring is formed between each of the electrode core connectors and each of the connection member receiving holes, and the sealing ring seals a corresponding connection member receiving hole (claim 21).
Ceheng et al discloses a metal separator “7” (electrode core connectors) and a sealing ring “5” that is placed on the metal separator to seal the corresponding opening of the partition plate between pole groups “4a”, “4b”, “4c” (adjacent electrode core assemblies), wherein the positive terminal of pole group “4a” is connected to the separator “7” through tab “6” and the negative terminal of pole group “4b” is connected to the separator “7” through tab “6”, wherein the terminal connections are internal to the metal separators (partition plate) which would necessitate a first sensing wire of the sensing wires that is lead out from the partition plate; and a part of the first sensing wire that is arranged inside the partition plate that is electrically connected to a part of the first sensing wire that is arranged outside the partition plate; wherein the part of the first sensing wire that is arranged outside of the partition plate is inherently insulated to prevent short circuit ([0025] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Probert/Zhang battery module to include a first sampling wire of the sampling wires is leaded out from the partition plate; and a part of the first sampling wire that is arranged inside the partition plate is electrically connected to a part of the first sampling wire that is arranged outside the partition plate; wherein the part of the first sampling wire that is arranged inside the partition plate is a bare metal wire; and the part of the first sampling wire that is arranged outside the partition plate is a conductive wire coated with an insulating layer; wherein the first sampling wire is further leaded out from one of the end covers after being leaded out from the partition plate; the partition plates include connection member receiving holes, and the electrode core connectors penetrate through the connection member receiving holes; and a sealing ring is formed between each of the electrode core connectors and each of the connection member receiving holes, and the sealing ring seals a corresponding connection member receiving hole in order to provide a battery module that is small in size, can easily ensure the consistency between the battery cells, and has no exposed connecting elements ([0006]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Probert et al and Zhang et al as applied to claim 20, and further in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0127350).
However, Kim as modified by Probert et al and Zhang et al does not expressly teach a partition plate that is an injection-molded member, and a corresponding electrode core connector and a corresponding sampling wire that are integrally injection-molded with the partition plate (claim 22).
Lee et al discloses a barrier wall “150” (partition plate) that is formed in one piece by an injection molding method ([0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Probert/Zhang battery module to include a partition plate that is an injection-molded member, and a corresponding bus bar and a corresponding sensing wire that are integrally injection-molded with the partition plate in order to facilitate the fabrication of the battery module by utilizing a method that is well known in the art for forming engineering plastic materials into a single piece ([0092]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Probert et al and Zhang et al as applied to claim 20, and further in view of Sakae et al (JP 2011210480 A, machine translation). In addition, Kim also discloses sensing wires “116” that are connected to each bus bar “115” ([0047]).
However, Kim as modified by Probert et al and Zhang et al does not expressly teach each of the electrode core connectors comprising a copper connection piece and an aluminum connection piece, the copper connection piece is connected to the aluminum connection piece at a position in the partition plate, and one of the plurality of sampling wires is electrically connected to the aluminum connection piece (claim 23).
Sakae et al discloses a busbar (electrode core connector) comprising a positive electrode connection portion (aluminum connection piece) that is made of aluminum that is connected to a negative electrode connection (copper connection piece) that is made of copper ([0009],[0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Probert/Zhang battery module to include each of the bus bars comprising a copper connection piece and an aluminum connection piece, the copper connection piece is connected to the aluminum connection piece at a position in the partition plate, and one of the plurality of sensing wires is electrically connected to the aluminum connection piece in order to suppress the electrical corrosion at the terminal joint and the associated increase in electrical resistance, thereby improving the reliability of the bus bar ([0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “in Zhang, as shown in FIG. 2, the individual sampling wires converge and are bundled together as the sampling bundle that runs in a second direction (e.g., an up-down direction), and this sampling bundle is sealed in the potting groove 3, which likewise extends in the up-down direction. As such, in Zhang, the potting groove 3 is not disposed along the first direction (e.g., left-right direction), and it is disposed within the bracket 2 along the side walls of the bracket. Thus, the potting groove 3 does not constitute the wire harness channel, since it is not disposed along the first direction, does not pass through the partition plates (e.g., the side walls of the bracket), nor is disposed between the partition plates and the housing, as recited in
amended claim 1”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Zhang is relied upon for teaching the concept of potting (sealing) a module sample line bundle (sampling wires) in a potting groove (wire harness channel). Since Probert already teaches a wire harness channel that is disposed along the first direction and passes through partition plates and is disposed between the partition plates and the housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to apply the teachings of Zhang to the Kim/Probert battery module to seal the first part and the second part of the sampling wires in order to prevent the sensing wires from shifting in use, thereby enhancing sampling reliability of the sensing wires in the whole life cycle of the module (Abstract, [0034]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/26/2026