DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined in this application.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection provided below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10, 11, and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mermoud et al. (US Pub. 20160352764) in view of Lecue et al. (US Pub. 20190213039).
Referring to claim 1, Mermoud discloses A method performed by a first network node for determining application of at least one machine learning model from a plurality of machine learning models in a multi-vendor communications network [figs. 3 and 4; pars. 17, 51, 55, 56, and 76; a computer network comprises a plurality of provider edges (PEs) and client edges (CEs) that communicate via a network backbone; a server is configured as a supervisory and control agent (SCA), and one or more CEs are configured as distributed learning agents (DLAs); the SCA coordinates deployment of machine learning models to target DLAs], the method comprising:
receiving a request from an actor device operating in a target network to enable running a task for the target network on the multi-vendor communications network by using at least one of the machine learning models from the plurality of machine learning models to perform the task [figs. 3 and 4; pars. 55, 84, and 85; the SCA receives a request from a UI process of a client device (via a CE operating in a local network running a target DLA) to select a machine learning model from a machine learning library to perform anomaly detection for the target DLA];
responsive to the request, determining whether the at least one of the machine learning models from the plurality of machine learning models...to perform the task [pars. 76, 83, and 84; the SCA determines the machine learning model to select based on whether the machine learning model was constructed using similar network and traffic characteristics as the target DLA (i.e., how well the machine learning model will perform the anomaly detection)]; and
responsive to the determination, sending a communication to the actor device, wherein the communication comprises information that a machine learning model from the plurality of machine learning models is ready to perform the task or that no machine learning model was found to perform the task [fig. 3; pars. 55, 69, 84, and 85; the SCA sends a message including only an ID of the (already cached) machine learning model to the target DLA].
Mermoud does not appear to explicitly disclose determining whether the at least one machine learning model can be translated to perform the task using a semantic mapping of data for the target network to the at least one of the machine learning models.
However, Lecue discloses determining whether the at least one machine learning model can be translated to perform the task using a semantic mapping of data for the target network to the at least one of the machine learning models [pars. 10, 11, 18, 21, and 24; a model determination platform determines an AI model associated with a source domain to perform a target task for a target domain; the AI model is identified from a set of AI models based on a set of (semantic) mappings, different clusters, and/or a performance measure based on (semantic) features, (semantic) differentiators, the set of mappings, and/or the different clusters; various semantic correspondences between the target domain and the AI model are used to determine how well the AI model will perform the target task (i.e., how well the AI model can be translated to perform the task)].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the selecting of the machine learning model taught by Mermoud so that the machine learning model is selected based on semantic correspondences as taught by Lecue, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate transfer of AI models across different domains [Lecue, par. 10].
Referring to claim 2, Mermoud discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the task comprises one of: a prediction of a key performance indicator; a proposal for at least one property of the target network; a probability for at least one property of the target network; an action on the target network; an improvement of at least one operating parameter of the target network; a classification of data in the target network [pars. 83 and 84; note the anomaly detection]; and an analysis of data in the target network [pars. 83 and 84; note the anomaly detection].
Referring to claim 8, Mermoud discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the at least one machine learning model comprises an exact match for performing the task using the inputs from each description of a network inventory model that apply to performing the task in the target network [par. 84; note the selecting based on the network and traffic characteristics of the target DLA].
Referring to claim 9, Mermoud and Lecue disclose The method of Claim 8, further comprising: in response to determining that no machine learning model comprises an exact match, determining whether at least one machine learning model from the filtered identification of machine learning models comprises a machine learning model that can be translated to perform the task [Mermoud: pars. 61, 76, 84; note the selecting based on the network and traffic characteristics of the target DLA, where the machine learning model can be updated or combined with other machine learning models to perform the anomaly detection; Lecue: pars. 10, 11, 18, 21, and 24, disclosing using semantic correspondences to identify the AI model (i.e., there may not be an exact match)].
Referring to claim 12, Mermoud discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: adapting the at least one machine learning model for performing the task [pars. 61 and 76; the machine learning model can be updated or combined with other machine learning models to perform the anomaly detection].
Contact Information
/Grace Park/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144