DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, 14-21, 33-35, and 38-40 are pending. Claims 20-21, 33-35, and 38-40 are withdrawn. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (US 8993039).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-9, Harrison teaches a soluble dietary fiber (Column 12, Lines 1-2). Harrison teaches that the fiber contains at least 50% oligomers having a DP of at least 3 (Column 7, Lines 52-62), which encompasses the claimed range of Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, and 9. Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Note that Harrison teaches that the composition may contain greater than 50% of oligosaccharides (that is, fiber), which encompasses the claimed range of at least 97% (Column 2, Line 63).
Regarding the limitation of dextrose residues, Harrison teaches that the soluble dietary fiber is made from dextrose (Column 5, Line 28). Since Harrison teaches that the soluble dietary fiber is made from a dextrose starting material which is processed into dextrose residues (Column 5 Line 48) and then processed into oligomers (Column 5, Line 56-Column 6, Line 22), the soluble fiber of Harrison is interpreted to have “at least 99 wt% dextrose residues on a dry solid basis”, as claimed.
Harrison teaches a soluble dietary fiber according to Claim 1 but does not discuss the molecular weight of the claim, the specific linkage pattern of the claim, or the ratio of 6-linked to 4-linked residues.
Regarding the limitation of molecular weight, Harrison does not discuss the molecular weight or polydispersity of the soluble dietary fiber. However, Harrison teaches that molecular weight fractionation can be performed (Column 9, Line 62-Column 10, Line 12) on the product to remove smaller molecular weight species. Harrison additionally teaches a higher molecular weight is desired (Column 5, Lines 15-17). Where Harrison speaks to the effects of molecular weight (e.g., digestibility, Column 9, Line 3), one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the molecular weight to have arrived at the molecular weight as claimed through no more than routine experimentation. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have adjusted the molecular weight of the soluble dietary fiber, since one of ordinary skill would understand that the properties of a polymer are affected by the molecular weight.
Regarding the limitation of the linkage and the ratio of 6-linked to 4-linked residues, Harrison teaches treatment of dextrose (Column 5, Lines 25-29) at 90-100% solids concentration with a combination of phosphoric and hydrochloric acid, followed by heating at a temperature of at least 140 degC for 0.1-15 minutes (Column 6, Lines 60-65). Harrison teaches that the pH is adjusted to 1-2.5 with the acids (Column 6, Line 43). Note that a temperature of “at least” 140 degC encompasses, e.g. 227 degC.
Given that the instant Specification teaches at [118] that a dextrose feed is combined with phosphoric and hydrochloric acid to a pH of 2.2-2.4, followed by condensation to a solids content of 92-96%, and reacted for 2-3 minutes at a temperature of 227 degC to generate the claimed linkage pattern, and the ratio of 6-linked to 4-linked residues, there is an expectation that the product of Harrison have the property of the linkage pattern as claimed. Note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding Claim 10, Harrison teaches that the soluble dietary fiber is made from dextrose (Column 5, Line 28). Since Harrison teaches that the soluble dietary fiber is made from a dextrose starting material which is processed into dextrose residues (Column 5 Line 48) and then processed into oligomers (Column 5, Line 56-Column 6, Line 22), the soluble fiber of Harrison is interpreted to have “at least 99.8 wt% dextrose residues on a dry solid basis”, as claimed.
Regarding Claim 11, Harrison teaches the hydrogenation of oligosaccharides to alcohols as an optional step (Column 2, Line 26 and Column 7, Lines 28-33), thus teaching an embodiment wherein the fiber does not comprise sugar alcohols.
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, Harrison does not discuss the molecular weight or polydispersity of the soluble dietary fiber. However, Harrison teaches that molecular weight fractionation can be performed (Column 9, Line 62-Column 10, Line 12) on the product to remove smaller molecular weight species. Harrison additionally teaches a higher molecular weight is desired (Column 5, Lines 15-17). Where Harrison speaks to the effects of molecular weight (e.g. digestibility, Column 9, Line 3), one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the molecular weight and PDI to have arrived at ratios as claimed through no more than routine experimentation. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have adjusted the PDI of the soluble dietary fiber, since one of ordinary skill would understand that the properties of a polymer are affected by the molecular weight and the distribution of molecular weights.
Regarding Claims 15, 16, and 17, Harrison teaches a soluble dietary fiber according to Claim 1 but does not discuss the specific linkage pattern of the claim, the ratio of 6-linked to 4-linked residues, or the ratio of alpha to beta anomeric protons.
However, Harrison teaches treatment of dextrose (Column 5, Lines 25-29) at 90-100% solids concentration with a combination of phosphoric and hydrochloric acid, followed by heating at a temperature of at least 140 degC for 0.1-15 minutes (Column 6, Lines 60-65). Harrison teaches that the pH is adjusted to 1-2.5 with the acids (Column 6, Line 43). Note that a temperature of “at least” 140 degC encompasses, e.g. 227 degC.
Given that the instant Specification teaches at [118] that a dextrose feed is combined with phosphoric and hydrochloric acid to a pH of 2.2-2.4, followed by condensation to a solids content of 92-96%, and reacted for 2-3 minutes at a temperature of 227 degC to generate the claimed linkage pattern, the ratio of 6-linked to 4-linked residues, and the ratio of alpha to beta anomeric protons, there is an expectation that the product of Harrison have the property of the linkage pattern as claimed. Note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, Harrison teaches a soluble dietary fiber but does not discuss the glass transition or viscosity of the fiber.
However, Harrison teaches treatment of dextrose (Column 5, Lines 25-29) at 90-100% solids concentration with a combination of phosphoric and hydrochloric acid, followed by heating at a temperature of at least 140 degC for 0.1-15 minutes (Column 6, Lines 60-65). Harrison teaches that the pH is adjusted to 1-2.5 with the acids (Column 6, Line 43). Harrison additionally teaches that molecular weight fractionation is performed (Column 9, Line 62-Column 10, Line 12) on the product, and that molecular weight affects features such as digestibility (Column 9, Line 3).
Given that the instant Specification teaches at [118] that a dextrose feed is combined with phosphoric and hydrochloric acid to a pH of 2.2-2.4, followed by condensation to a solids content of 92-96%, and reacted for 2-3 minutes at a temperature of 227 degC to generate the glass transition and viscosity properties, and additionally where Harrison teaches fractionation of the product to separate products of a desired molecular weight, there is an expectation that the product of Harrison have the property of viscosity and glass transition temperature as claimed. Note that one of ordinary skill would understand that viscosity and glass transition are affected by the molecular weight of the product. Additionally note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson (US 2019/0290675 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-3, Gibson teaches a glycan polymer (which is a fiber, Abstract) which is soluble [0390]. Gibson teaches an embodiment wherein greater than 98% of the polymer is, e.g. DP3-10 [0335] and 100% of the composition is the polymer [0422].
Regarding the limitations of the dextrose residues, Gibson teaches that the polymer is made of 99% glucose subunits, which encompasses dextrose (i.e., D-glucose) subunits [0016-0018 and 0366].
Gibson teaches that the soluble dietary fiber has a molecular weight in the range of, e.g. 1,500, which lies within the claimed range [0349].
Gibson teaches that the polymer comprises a mixture of alpha-and beta-glycosidic bonds [0357], which encompasses the claimed linkage pattern. Gibson additionally teaches that the bonds may be any mixture of glycosidic bonds, including (1,6), (1,4), (1,3), (1,2) [0360], and (2,4) [0363] linkages.
Gibson teaches that the polymer may contain e.g. 100% of glycosidic bonds which are a mixture of (1,4) and (1,6) bonds [0363], which encompasses a ratio of 6-linked and 4-linked glucopyranosyl residues that is at least 2.
Note that while the instant Specification at [38] states that the linkage pattern “can be important to the properties” of the fiber, Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific linkage pattern is for any particular purpose or solves any stated problem. Gibson teaches that linkage patterns affect, e.g. enzymatic digestion [0291], branching [0352] and solubility [0407] in the polymer. One of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the linkage pattern of the fiber to arrive at the linkage pattern as claimed through no more than routine experimentation, and additionally since Gibson teaches that a myriad of possibilities exist for linkage patterns within a glycan polymer [0363].
Note that additionally since Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific linkage pattern is for any particular purpose or solves any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the method disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the art.
Regarding Claim 5, Gibson teaches that the glycan polymer contains greater than 98% of DP3-10 units [0335], which encompasses less than 2% DP1 and DP2 content.
Regarding Claims 7, 8, and 9, Gibson teaches that the glycan polymer contains greater than 98% of DP3-10 units [0335], which encompasses less than 0.5% DP1 and DP2 content (as in Claim 7), less than 1.0 wt% DP2 (as in Claim 8), and less than 0.50 wt% DP1 (as in Claim 9). Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding Claim 10, Gibson teaches that the polymer is made of “at least” 99% glucose subunits, which encompasses dextrose (i.e., D-glucose) subunits [0016-0018 and 0366].
Regarding Claim 11, Gibson teaches embodiments wherein the glycan subunits do not comprise sugar alcohols [0228].
Regarding Claim 12, Gibson teaches that the soluble dietary fiber has a molecular weight in the range of, e.g. 1,500, which lies within the claimed range [0349].
Regarding Claim 14, Gibson teaches that the polymer is fractionated by molecular weight [0166,0325] but does not discuss the polydispersity.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to have selected any polydispersity, including one of less than 1.8, since polydispersity is known in the art to affect e.g. solubility of a polymer.
Note that since Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific polydispersity is for any particular purpose or solves any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the method disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the art.
Regarding Claim 15, Gibson teaches that the polymer comprises a mixture of alpha-and beta-glycosidic bonds [0357], which encompasses the claimed linkage pattern. Gibson additionally teaches that the bonds may be any mixture of glycosidic bonds, including (1,6), (1,4), (1,3), (1,2) [0360], and (2,4) [0363] linkages.
Note that while the instant Specification at [38] states that the linkage pattern “can be important to the properties” of the fiber, Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific linkage pattern is for any particular purpose or solves any stated problem. Gibson teaches that linkage patterns affect, e.g. enzymatic digestion [0291], branching [0352] and solubility [0407] in the polymer. One of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the linkage pattern of the fiber to arrive at the linkage pattern as claimed through no more than routine experimentation, and additionally since Gibson teaches that a myriad of possibilities exist for linkage patterns within a glycan polymer.
Note that additionally since Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific linkage pattern is for any particular purpose or solves any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the method disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the art.
Regarding Claim 16, Gibson teaches that the polymer may contain e.g. 100% of glycosidic bonds which are a mixture of (1,4) and (1,6) bonds [0363], which encompasses a ratio of 6-linked and 4-linked glucopyranosyl residues that is at least 2.
Note that while the instant Specification at [38] states that the linkage pattern “can be important to the properties” of the fiber, Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific linkage pattern is for any particular purpose or solves any stated problem. Gibson teaches that linkage patterns affect, e.g. enzymatic digestion [0291], branching [0352] and solubility [0407] in the polymer. One of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the linkage pattern of the fiber to arrive at the linkage pattern as claimed through no more than routine experimentation, and additionally since Gibson teaches that a myriad of possibilities exist for linkage patterns within a glycan polymer [0363].
Regarding Claim 17, Gibson teaches a ratio of alpha:beta glycosidic bonds in a ratio of 0.1-1 to 10:1 [0359], which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 18, Gibson does not discuss the glass transition temperature. However, given that Gibson teaches a soluble [0390] glycan polymer (Abstract), which is a soluble dietary fiber, having a fiber content and a DP1 + DP2 content as claimed, there is an expectation that the product of the prior art have the property of glass transition temperature as claimed. Note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding Claim 19, Gibson does not discuss the viscosity. However, given that Gibson teaches a soluble [0390] glycan polymer (Abstract), which is a soluble dietary fiber, having a fiber content and a DP1 + DP2 content as claimed, there is an expectation that the product of the prior art have the property of glass transition temperature as claimed. Note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues (Pages 7-8 of Remarks) that the claimed linkage pattern results in a soluble dietary fiber with different properties, e.g.b viscosity and other rheological properties. Applicant argues that since Gibson and Harrison do not disclose the combination of characteristics required by Claim 1, the advantageous properties are therefore not provided.
This argument is not convincing. Where Harrison teaches treatment of dextrose with similar processing parameters are in the instant Specification, the product of Harrison is interpreted to have the linkage pattern (and therefore the product characteristics) as claimed. Where Gibson teaches linkage pattern affects properties such as branching and solubility, and additionally teaches that intramolecular bonds may be a mixture of glycosidic bonds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have adjusted the linkage pattern of Gibson to arrive at the claimed pattern through no more than routine experimentation. Additionally, while Applicant provides comparisons of the instant inventive dietary fiber against commercial fibers at e.g. [123], no information is provided as to the linkage pattern of the comparative fibers. Note that the claimed ratio of 6-linked to 4-linked glucopyranosyl residues encompasses a wide range of possible linkage patterns. Applicant has therefore not demonstrated the criticality of the claimed range.
Applicant additionally argues that Harrison does not disclose a dietary fiber with at least 97% fiber content (Page 9 of Remarks, Section B, i.). Applicant cites Column 2, Lines 21-24 (where Harrison teaches 10-70% fiber) as support. Applicant additionally submits that “edible carbohydrate” of Harrison at Column 2, Lines 55-63 refers to oligosaccharides, and not fiber.
This argument is not convincing. First, note that the claimed fibers are oligosaccharides. Further, one having ordinary skill would additionally have interpreted the oligosaccharide composition of Harrison, which is “slowly digestible or resistant to digestion by the human digestive system” (Column 2, Lines 55-63), as a fiber. Additionally, note that prior art is available for all teachings and not only preferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123.
Applicant additionally argues that Harrison does not disclose a DP1+DP2 content of no more than 3% on a dry solids basis (Page 9 of Remarks, Section B ii.).
This argument is not convincing. Note that prior art is available for all teachings and not only preferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123.
Applicant additionally argues that Harrison does not disclose a molecular weight of 1,000-2,500 g/mol (Page 10 of Remarks, Section B iii). Applicant additionally argues that Harrison teaches towards lower molecular weight.
This argument is not convincing. Where Harrison speaks to the effects of molecular weight, one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the weight average molecular weight to have arrived at the weight as claimed through no more than routine experimentation. Additionally, note that Applicant has not provided a comparative showing of weight average molecular weights to demonstrate criticality.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 11, Section B, iv.) that Harrison does not explicitly disclose the linkage pattern and 6-linked to 4-linked ratio as claimed.
This argument is not convincing. Where Harrison teaches treatment of dextrose with similar processing parameters are in the instant Specification, the product of Harrison is interpreted to have the linkage pattern (and therefore the product characteristics) as claimed.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 12, Section C i.) that Gibson does not disclose the linkage pattern and 6-linked to 4-linked ratio as claimed, and only generally discloses the expected type of bonding present in glycans.
This argument is not convincing. Where Gibson teaches that the linkage pattern affects the properties of the fiber, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to have adjusted the linkage pattern and ratio to arrive at the claimed linkage pattern through no more than routine experimentation. Additionally, note that Applicant has not provided a comparative showing of linkage pattern(s) to demonstrate criticality.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 13, Section C ii.) that Gibson does not disclose the combination of characteristics with the claimed linkage pattern and the claimed ratio.
This argument is not convincing. Prior art is available for all teachings and not only preferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. Additionally, note that Applicant has not provided a comparative showing of linkage pattern(s) or ratios to demonstrate criticality.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 15, Section C) that nothing in Gibson or Harrison suggests a soluble dietary fiber with the claimed combination of characteristics, in particular the low amounts of monomers and dimers and molecular weight.
This argument is not convincing. First, where Harrison teaches treatment of dextrose with similar processing parameters are in the instant Specification, the product of Harrison is interpreted to have the linkage pattern (and therefore the product characteristics) as claimed. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2122.01 I. Applicant has not provided a comparison with the closest prior art, i.e., Harrison or Gibson.
Second, where Gibson teaches linkage pattern affects properties such as branching and solubility, and additionally teaches that intramolecular bonds may be a mixture of glycosidic bonds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have adjusted the linkage pattern of Gibson to arrive at the claimed pattern through no more than routine experimentation.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 16, Section D) that one having ordinary skill would not have arrived at the claimed invention based on Gibson or Harrison, since Gibson or Harrison do not disclose the claimed linkage pattern.
This argument is not convincing. First, there is an expectation that the product of Harrison have the claimed linkage pattern, as discussed above. Second, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2122.01 I. Third, Applicant has not provided a comparative showing of linkage patterns and/or linkage ratios to demonstrate criticality.
Conclusion
/D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791