Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14-16, 18-19 and 21 in the reply filed on 21 September 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden and any search for group I would include the subject matter of group II. This is not found persuasive because burden is not a requirement in a showing of lack of unity of invention. As stated in the restriction filed 22 July 2025, groups I and II lack unity of invention because the shared technical feature of:
a first extraction electrode on the first surface of the dielectric, a second extraction electrode on the second surface of the dielectric, a connection electrode covering an inner wall of the connection via located in the dielectric layer, the first and second extraction electrodes connected to the connection electrode
does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Hurwitz et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2018/0367114). Fig. 1 of Hurwitz shows a connection electrode 26 covering inner walls of a connection via in layer 34, a first extraction electrode eon the first surface of 34 and a second extraction electrode 38 on the second surface of 34.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2010/0230679).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method for forming a conductive via, comprising:
preparing a dielectric layer, and forming a connection via, which extends through the dielectric layer in a thickness direction of the dielectric layer, in the dielectric layer [fig. 15, dielectric 180b, via c2 extending through 180b];
wherein the dielectric layer comprises a first surface and a second surface oppositely arranged in the thickness direction of the dielectric layer [fig 15, 180b has a first surface at the top and a second surface opposite the first touching 180a]; and
forming a connection electrode in the connection via, forming a first extraction electrode on the first surface, and forming a second extraction electrode on the second surface [fig. 9, connection electrode 300 inside 180b, first extraction electrode 82 on first surface, second extraction electrode 300 located within 180a below the connection electrode and on the second surface];
wherein the connection electrode at least covers an inner wall of the connection via, and the first extraction electrode and the second extraction electrode are electrically connected to the connection electrode [fig. 9, 300 covers sidewalls of the connection via in 180a and is electrically connected to the first and second extraction electrodes].
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses the method for forming a conductive via according to claim 1, wherein:
The connection via has a shape comprising a cylinder or an inverted truncated cone [paragraph [0063] teaches the connection via has a reverse taper shape which would be a inverted truncated cone].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Dittmann (US Pat. Pub. 2011/0042132).
Regarding claim 2, while Kim teaches a connection via formed through a dielectric layer they fail to specifically teach using a mechanical drilling process to form said connection via, where the drilling process comprises one of a tungsten carbide, a tungsten-cobalt alloy, a tungsten-titanium-cobalt alloy, a natural diamond and an artificial diamond.
However, Dittmann teaches a substrate with a connection via formed therethrough, the via formed by a drilling process using tungsten carbide [fig. 1a, via 6 formed in substrate 1, paragraph [0056] teaches tungsten carbide drilling].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Dittmann into the method of Kim by forming the connection via using a tungsten carbide drilling process. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing a connection via formation process that does not require metallization steps and produces through holes in one working procedure [Dittmann, paragraph [0005]].
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Min (US Pat. Pub. 2007/0202655).
Regarding claim 4, while Kim teaches a connection via formed through a dielectric layer they fail to specifically teach using a sand-blasting drilling process to form said connection via.
However, Min teaches forming interconnect structures in dielectric layers including forming a connection via in a dielectric layer using a sand-blasting drilling process [figs 5a and 5b, connection via opening 122 formed by sand blasting, paragraph [0017]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Min into the method of Kim by forming the connection via with a sand-blasting drilling process. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing via formation processes that prevent shorting issues and improve functionality [Min, paragraph [0024]].
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Min discloses the method for forming a conductive via according to claim 4, wherein
The forming the connection via, which extends through the dielectric layer in the thickness direction of the dielectric layer, through ha sand-blasting drilling process in the dielectric layer comprises:
Forming high-speed injection beams through a sand-blasting process by using compressed air as power in combination with solid abrasive particles or liquid mixed with the solid abrasive particles, injecting the injection beams onto the first surface or the second surface of the dielectric layer at a high speed, thereby forming the connection via, which extends through the dielectric layer in the thickness direction [paragraph [0018] teaches abrasive particles injected at high speeds using nozzles, which can be interpreted as forming high speed injection beams, to etch the connection via through the dielectric layer]; and
The solid abrasive particles comprise at lest one of carborundum, corundum, calcium carbonate and quartz sand [paragraph [0018] teaches silicon carbide, carborundum is another name for silicon carbide] .
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2018/0068977).
Regarding claim 7, while Kim teaches a connection via formed through a dielectric layer they fail to specifically teach using a laser drilling process to form said connection via.
However, Wang teaches forming a connection via in a dielectric layer utilizing a laser drilling process [fig. 11, openings in 403 formed by laser drilling, paragraph [0096]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the method of Kim by forming the connection via using a laser drilling process. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using a process that is simplified due to a lack of mask usage [Wang, paragraph [0096]].
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Wang discloses the method for forming a conductive via according to claim 7, wherein the forming the connection via, which extends through the dielectric layer in the thickness direction of the dielectric layer, through a laser drilling process on the dielectric layer comprises:
vertically irradiating a laser onto a first surface or a second surface of the dielectric layer by means of a laser device, thereby forming the connection via, which extends through the dielectric layer in the thickness direction of the dielectric layer and the laser device is a continuous laser device or a pulse laser device [Wang, paragraph [0096], pulse laser heating a dielectric layer and etching a hole].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Liang et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2020/0105577).
Regarding claim 10, while Kim teaches a connection via formed through a dielectric layer they fail to specifically teach using patterning process involving a wet or dry etching process.
However, Liang teaches forming a connection via opening in a dielectric layer in which a mask pattern is formed and a wet or dry etching process is performed to form the connection via opening [paragraph [0046]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Liang into the method of Kim by forming the connection via through the dielectric layer using a mask pattern and a wet or dry etching process. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing known etching processes to ensure successful device fabrication.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Barth et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0134497).
Kim fails to teach forming metal films on the first surface and the second surface of the dielectric layer as seed layers by a magnetron sputtering process, electroplating the seed layers to form the connection electrode in the connection via and forming a first extraction electrode on the first surface and a second extraction electrode on the second surface through a patterning process.
However, Barth teaches forming an opening in a dielectric layer, forming a seed layer by magnetron sputtering in the opening, electroplating the seed layer to form the connection electrode in the opening and patterning the layer to form a first and second extraction electrode [figs. 6i, 6j, 6k, opening 250 with seed layer 210 formed thereon, connection electrode 200 formed on the seed layer, layers 200 and 210 patterned, the portions of 200 that extend above and below dielectrics 100 can be considered extraction electrodes, paragraphs [0028 and 0057] teach a seed layer 210, formed by magnetron sputtering, 210 being used in an electroplating process to form 200].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Barth into the method of Kim by forming metal films on the first and second surface of the dielectric layer as a seed layer by magnetron sputtering, electroplating the seed layer to form the connection electrode, patterning the layers to form a first extraction electrode and second extraction electrode. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing via formation processes that improve yield loss [Barth, paragraph [0022]].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0006354).
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to teach forming the connection electrode, the first extraction electrode and the second extraction electrode using a chemical plating process with a chemical plating medium.
However, Wu teaches forming an opening in a dielectric layer and forming an electrode in said opening using an electro-chemical plating process or electroless plating process [fig. 5, 501 forming in openings of 401, paragraph [0023], electro chemical plating would use a chemical plating medium as would electroless plating].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu into the method of Kim by forming the connection electrode, first extraction electrode and second extraction electrode by a chemical plating process using a chemical plating medium. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing a formation process that has a reduced number of steps allowing reduced costs [Wu, paragraph [0013]].
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Das et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2007/0221404).
Regarding claim 15, Kim fails to teach forming the connection electrode, first extraction electrode and second extraction electrode using conductive paste and curving said paste.
However, Das teaches forming an opening in a dielectric layer, forming a connection electrode, first extraction electrode and second extraction electrode using a conductive paste process involving drying and curing said conductive paste [fig. 4, opening in layer 25, filled with conductive paste 41, the paste being thermocured, paragraph [0067] teaches a solvent present in the paste which dries].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Das into the method of Kim by forming the connection electrode, the first extraction electrode and the second extraction electrode by a process in which conductive paste is coated on the connection via and performing a solvent drying and thermocuring process. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing a material with allows excellent conductivity [Das, paragraph [0053]].
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Das teaches the method for forming a conductive via according to claim 15, wherein:
The conductive paste comprises a low-temperature curing type polymer conducive paste or the coating the conductive paste comprises coating the conductive paste by means of any one of screen printing , ink-jet printing and slit coating [Das, paragraph [0057] screen printing or ink jet printing].
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Fukunaga et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2005/0208774).
Regarding claim 18, Kim fails to teach cleaning the dielectric layer with the connection via.
However, Fukunaga teaches cleaning substrates including insulating films prior to forming conductive materials by processes such as electroplating [fig. 3, cleaning process comes before plating].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fukunaga into the method of Kim by performing a cleaning step on the dielectric layer prior to electrode formation. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using cleaning processes to improve the wettability of the surfaces [Fukunaga, paragraph [0023]].
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Fukunaga teaches the method for forming a conductive via according to claim 18, wherein
The cleaning the dielectric layer with the connection via comprises:
Placing the dielectric layer with the connection via into a water tank for cleaning the dielectric layer by means of ultrasonic waves [Fukunaga, paragraph [0207] teaches a processing tank, paragraph [0244] teaches ultrasonic waves] or
Placing the dielectric layer with connection via into a water tank for cleaning the dielectric layer by means of ultrasonic waves and then placing the dielectric layer into a solution containing hydrofluoric acid for chemical corrosion [Fukunaga, paragraph [0342] teaches HF as a solution that can be used].
Conclusion
/JOHN M PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2899