DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 12/15/2025 that has been entered, wherein claims 1,6-11,14 and 16-20 are pending and claims 5, 12-13, 15 and 21-26 are canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer on the substrate” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 22, 24 and 26 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 12/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record in view of Wan et al. (CN 104733593 A ) as cited in the IDS of 3/25/2025 of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), comprising:
a substrate(101) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
a light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) arranged on the first surface, wherein a side of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) facing the second surface is a light-emitting side of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003), and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) comprises:
a first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) arranged on the first surface;
a multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101);
a second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101);
a first electrode(104, ¶0003) arranged on the side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101), separated from the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), arranged on at least one lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), and connected with the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003), wherein a whole of the first electrode(104, ¶0003) is located in a same layer as a whole of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), and a surface of the first electrode(104, ¶0003) away from the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) is flush(¶0003) with a surface of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) away from the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003); and
a second electrode(107, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101) and connected with the second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003);
Lee is not relied on to teach a photoluminescent layer arranged on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layer is arranged corresponding to the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003); and
wherein the substrate(101) and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) constitute a flip LED chip, and a lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) facing away from the first electrode(104, ¶0003) is flush(¶0003) with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003), wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), comprising: a photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) arranged on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) is arranged corresponding to the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033); and wherein the substrate(111) and the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) constitute a flip LED chip(11, ¶0033), and a lateral side of the quantum well light-emitting layer(113, ¶0033) facing away from the first electrode(115, ¶0033) is flush(Fig. 1) with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer(112, ¶0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, to include a photoluminescent layer arranged on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layer is arranged corresponding to the light-emitting structure; and wherein the substrate and the light-emitting structure constitute a flip LED chip, and a lateral side of the quantum well light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrode is flush with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Lee and Wan are not relied on to teach an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Zhang teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1) wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(11, ¶0044) on the substrate(1) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(3, ¶0042) on the substrate(1_. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(11, ¶0044) on the substrate(1) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate, as taught by Zhang, in order to have a quantum dot phosphor layer of different colors which enables a full-color spectrum display(¶0042) and to provide spacing between quantum dot phosphor layer of different colors(¶0044).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) emits a light with a first wavelength, the photoluminescent layer emits a light with a second wavelength, and the first wavelength is shorter than or longer than the second wavelength.
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), wherein the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) emits a light with a first wavelength(blue, ¶0049), the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) emits a light with a second wavelength(red, green or yellow, ¶0048), and the first wavelength(blue, ¶0049) is shorter than or longer than the second wavelength(red, green or yellow, ¶0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting structure emits a light with a first wavelength, the photoluminescent layer emits a light with a second wavelength, and the first wavelength is shorter than or longer than the second wavelength, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 6, but is not relied on to teach the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) emits a blue light or an ultraviolet light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is quantum dots or an organic light-emitting material.
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), wherein the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) emits a blue light(¶0049) or an ultraviolet light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) is quantum dots(¶0034) or an organic light-emitting material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting structure emits a blue light or an ultraviolet light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is quantum dots or an organic light-emitting material, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the light-emitting device further comprises a transparent protective layer, the transparent protective layer is arranged on a side of the photoluminescent layer away from the substrate(101) and covers the photoluminescent layer.
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), wherein the light-emitting device further comprises a transparent protective layer(132, ¶0054), the transparent protective layer(132, ¶0054) is arranged on a side of the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) away from the substrate(111) and covers the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting device further comprises a transparent protective layer, the transparent protective layer is arranged on a side of the photoluminescent layer away from the substrate and covers the photoluminescent layer, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) on the substrate(111) covers an orthographic projection of the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) on the substrate(111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of the light-emitting structure on the substrate, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record, Wan et al. (CN 104733593 A ) as cited in the IDS of 3/25/2025 of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U), as applied to claim 1, above further in view of Akimoto et al. (JP 2001352104 A), of record.
Regarding claim 8, Lee, in view of Wan and Zhang, teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 6, but is not relied on to teach the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) emits a red light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is an up-conversion nanomaterial.
Akimoto teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1) wherein light-emitting structure(1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7,8, ¶0010) emits a red light(¶0027), and a material of the photoluminescent layer(10, ¶0011) is an up- conversion nanomaterial(¶0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting structure emits a red light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is an up-conversion nanomaterial, as taught by Akimoto, in order to provide an low driving voltage inexpensive light emitting diode capable of expressing colors other than monochromatic light(¶0027).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record, Wan et al. (CN 104733593 A ) as cited in the IDS of 3/25/2025 of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U),, as applied to claim 1, above further in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2019/0273179 A1), of record.
Regarding claim 9, Lee, in view of Wan and Zhang, teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns.
Iguchi teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 11), wherein a thickness of the photoluminescent layer(22, 23, ¶0111) is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns(¶0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns, as taught by Iguchi, in order to facilitate production of image display device with improved light emission efficiency and color purities(¶0062).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record, Wan et al. (CN 104733593 A ) as cited in the IDS of 3/25/2025 of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U), as applied to claim 1, above further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20210050093 A) of record.
Regarding claim 11, Lee, in view of Wan and Zhang, teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the substrate(101) and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) constitute a micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip.
Kim teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 10) wherein the substrate(220) and the light-emitting structure(110, 120, 130, ¶0044) constitute a micro-LED chip(¶0060) or a mini-LED chip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the substrate) and the light-emitting structure constitute a micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip, as taught by Kim, in order to form display panels that are small, with high response speed, high brightness, and low power consumption(¶0003).
Claims 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record in view of Wan et al. (CN 104733593 A ) as cited in the IDS of 3/25/2025 of record, Kim et al. (KR 20210050093 A) of record, Iguchi et al. (US 2019/0273179 A1) of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), comprising:
a substrate(101) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
a light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) arranged on the first surface, wherein a side of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) facing the second surface is a light-emitting side of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003), and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) comprises:
a first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) arranged on the first surface;
a multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101);
a second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101);
a first electrode(104, ¶0003) arranged on the side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101), separated from the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), arranged on at least one lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), and connected with the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003), wherein a whole of the first electrode(104, ¶0003) is located in a same layer as a whole of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), and a surface of the first electrode(104, ¶0003) away from the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) is flush(¶0003) with a surface of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) away from the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003); and
a second electrode(107, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101) and connected with the second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003).
Lee is not relied on to teach the substrate(101) and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) constitute a flip micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip, ; and
a photoluminescent layer arranged on the second surface,
wherein the photoluminescent layer is arranged corresponding to the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003), a lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) facing away from the first electrode(104, ¶0003) is flush(¶0003) with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003), and a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns, wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101),
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), comprising: a photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) arranged on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) is arranged corresponding to the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033); and wherein the substrate(111) and the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) constitute a flip LED chip(11, ¶0033), and a lateral side of the quantum well light-emitting layer(113, ¶0033) facing away from the first electrode(115, ¶0033) is flush(Fig. 1) with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer(112, ¶0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, to include a photoluminescent layer arranged on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layer is arranged corresponding to the light-emitting structure; and wherein the substrate and the light-emitting structure constitute a flip LED chip, and a lateral side of the quantum well light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrode is flush with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Lee and Wan are not relied on to teach the substrate(101) and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) constitute a flip micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip, ; and a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns, wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Kim teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 10) wherein the substrate(220) and the light-emitting structure(110, 120, 130, ¶0044) constitute a micro-LED chip(¶0060) or a mini-LED chip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the substrate) and the light-emitting structure constitute a micro-LED chip or a mini-LED chip, as taught by Kim, in order to form display panels that are small, with high response speed, high brightness, and low power consumption(¶0003).
Lee, Wan and Kim are not relied on to teach a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns, wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Iguchi teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 11), wherein a thickness of the photoluminescent layer(22, 23, ¶0111) is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns(¶0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns, as taught by Iguchi, in order to facilitate production of image display device with improved light emission efficiency and color purities(¶0062).
Lee, Wan, Kim and Iguchi are not relied on to teach an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Zhang teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1) wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(11, ¶0044) on the substrate(1) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(3, ¶0042) on the substrate(1_. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(11, ¶0044) on the substrate(1) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate, as taught by Zhang, in order to have a quantum dot phosphor layer of different colors which enables a full-color spectrum display(¶0042) and to provide spacing between quantum dot phosphor layer of different colors(¶0044).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 14, but is not relied on to teach the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) emits a light with a first wavelength, the photoluminescent layer emits a light with a second wavelength, and the first wavelength is shorter than or longer than the second wavelength.
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), wherein the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) emits a light with a first wavelength(blue, ¶0049), the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) emits a light with a second wavelength(red, green or yellow, ¶0048), and the first wavelength(blue, ¶0049) is shorter than or longer than the second wavelength(red, green or yellow, ¶0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting structure emits a light with a first wavelength, the photoluminescent layer emits a light with a second wavelength, and the first wavelength is shorter than or longer than the second wavelength, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 16, but is not relied on to teach the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) emits a blue light or an ultraviolet light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is quantum dots or an organic light-emitting material.
Wan teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1), wherein the light-emitting structure(112, 113, 114, ¶0033) emits a blue light(¶0049) or an ultraviolet light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer(12, ¶0034) is quantum dots(¶0034) or an organic light-emitting material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting structure emits a blue light or an ultraviolet light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is quantum dots or an organic light-emitting material, as taught by Wan, in order to solve the problem of insufficient color rendering and secondary absorption of light in existing white light LEDs(¶0008) and to have high color rendering and purity with diverse luminescent colors(¶0006).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record, Wan et al. (CN 104733593 A ) as cited in the IDS of 3/25/2025, of record, Kim et al. (KR 20210050093 A) of record, Iguchi et al. (US 2019/0273179 A1) of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U) as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Akimoto et al. (JP 2001352104 A), of record.
Regarding claim 18, Lee, in view of Wan, Kim, Iguchi and Zhang, teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 16, wherein the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) emits a red light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is an up-conversion nanomaterial.
Akimoto teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1) wherein light-emitting structure(1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7,8, ¶0010) emits a red light(¶0027), and a material of the photoluminescent layer(10, ¶0011) is an up- conversion nanomaterial(¶0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the light-emitting structure emits a red light, and a material of the photoluminescent layer is an up-conversion nanomaterial, as taught by Akimoto, in order to provide an low driving voltage inexpensive light emitting diode capable of expressing colors other than monochromatic light(¶0027).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0059606 A1) of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the manufacturing method(Fig. 1) of a light-emitting device, comprising:
providing a substrate(101), wherein the substrate(101) comprises a first surface and a second surface arranged opposite to each other;
forming a light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) on the first surface, wherein a side of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) facing the second surface is a light-emitting side of the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003), and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) comprises:
a first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) arranged on the first surface;
a multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101);
a second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101);
a first electrode(104, ¶0003) arranged on the side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101), separated from the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), arranged on at least one lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), and connected with the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003), wherein a whole of the first electrode(104, ¶0003) is located in a same layer as a whole of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003), and a surface of the first electrode(104, ¶0003) away from the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) is flush(¶0003) with a surface of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) away from the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003); and
a second electrode(107, ¶0003) arranged on a side of the second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003) away from the substrate(101) and connected with the second semiconductor layer(105, ¶0003).
Lee is not relied on to teach forming a plurality of light-emitting structures(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) on the first surface, wherein a side of the light-emitting structures(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) facing the second surface is a light-emitting side of the light-emitting structures(102, 103, 105, ¶0003), forming a plurality of photoluminescent layers on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layers are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with the light-emitting structures(102, 103, 105, ¶0003); and obtaining a plurality of the light-emitting devices by cutting, wherein the substrate(101) and the light-emitting structure(102, 103, 105, ¶0003) constitute a flip LED chip, and a lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) facing away from the first electrode(104, ¶0003) is flush(¶0003) with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer(102, ¶0003) wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101)
Huang teaches a manufacturing method of a light-emitting device(Fig. 7), comprising:
forming a plurality of light-emitting structures(12, 13, 11, ¶0031) on the first surface, wherein a side of the light-emitting structures(12, 13, 11, ¶0031) facing the second surface is a light-emitting side of the light-emitting structures(12, 13, 11, ¶0031),
forming a plurality of photoluminescent layers(50R, 50G, 50B, ¶0040) on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layers(50R, 50G, 50B, ¶0040) are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence(wherein 50R+50G+50B correspond to one light-emitting structure of 12, 13, 11) with the light-emitting structures(12, 13, 11, ¶0031); and
obtaining a plurality of the light-emitting devices by cutting(¶0041), wherein the substrate(10) and the light-emitting structure(12, 13, 11, ¶0031) constitute a flip LED chip(¶0041), and a lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(13, ¶0031) facing away from the first electrode(30, ¶0035) is flush(Fig. 7B) with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer(12, ¶0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee, to include forming a plurality of light-emitting structures on the first surface, wherein a side of the light-emitting structures facing the second surface is a light-emitting side of the light-emitting structures, forming a plurality of photoluminescent layers on the second surface, wherein the photoluminescent layers are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with the light-emitting structures; and obtaining a plurality of the light-emitting devices by cutting, wherein the substrate and the light-emitting structure constitute a flip LED chip, and a lateral side of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrode is flush with a lateral side of the first semiconductor layer, as taught by Huang, in order to improve the quality of the lamp body and to have an RGB mini-LED structure having smaller size, higher light utilization rate, and precision controlled lighting pattern(¶0050).
Lee and Huang are not relied on to teach an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer on the substrate(101) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate(101).
Zhang teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 1) wherein an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(11, ¶0044) on the substrate(1) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(3, ¶0042) on the substrate(1_. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that an orthographic projection of the photoluminescent layer(11, ¶0044) on the substrate(1) is located within an orthographic projection of the multi quantum well light-emitting layer(103, ¶0003) on the substrate, as taught by Zhang, in order to have a quantum dot phosphor layer of different colors which enables a full-color spectrum display(¶0042) and to provide spacing between quantum dot phosphor layer of different colors(¶0044).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2003/0197169 A1) of record, Huang et al. (US 2022/0059606 A1) of record and Zhang et al. (CN 210897337 U), as applied to claim 19 above, further in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2019/0273179 A1), of record.
Regarding claim 20, Lee, in view of Huang and Zhang, teaches the manufacturing method of the light-emitting device according to claim 19, but is not relied on to teach a thickness of each of the photoluminescent layers is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns.
Iguchi teaches a light-emitting device(Fig. 11), wherein a thickness of the photoluminescent layer(22, 23, ¶0111) is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns(¶0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that a thickness of the photoluminescent layer is greater than 0 microns and less than 200 microns, as taught by Iguchi, in order to facilitate production of image display device with improved light emission efficiency and color purities(¶0062).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892