DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of
International Application No. PCT/US20/62658, filed 12/01/2020, which claims the priority benefit of PRO Application No. 62/942,378, filed 12/02/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2025, and 12/30/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of claims
Claims 4, 18, 25-26, 48-49, 59, 60, and 77-90 are pending in this application. Claims 4, 18, 26, and 77 are amended. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 10-17, 19-24, 27-47, 50-58, and 61-76 are cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer. Claims 49 and 86-90 are currently withdrawn as being directed to non-elected species from the Office Action dated 01/15/2025. Claims 4, 18, 25-26, 48, 59, 60, and 77-85 are currently under examination.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/30/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
The obviousness rejection below is repeated from the 10/01/2025 Office Action and modified in order to address the most recent amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, 18, 25, 26, 49, 59, 60, and 77-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer (WO 2014/025960 A1).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating or managing newly diagnosed multiple myeloma cancer, comprising orally administering to a patient in need (i) a therapeutically effective amount of 1.0-1.6 mg Compound A or A-S in combination with (ii) a proteasome inhibitor (bortezomib, carfilzomib, marizomib (salinosporamide A), ixazomib) and 10-40 mg dexamethasone wherein compound A or A-S is administered in an amount of about 1.0-1.6 mg, once daily for a 21 or 28 day cycle for 1-9 cycles.
Schafer et al. teach the compound of formula I (3-(4-((4-(morpholino methyl)benzyl)oxy) -l-oxoisoindolin-2-yl)piperidine-2,6-dione in a method of treating cancer, including refractory cancer [0038]. Schafer also discloses the (S) version of the compound of formula I as formula I-S ((S)-3-(4-((4- (morpholinomethyl)benzyl)oxy)-l-oxoisoindolin-2-yl)piperidine-2,6-dione) may be used in place of formula I and is structurally equivalent to compound A-S of the instant claims [0039]. Schafer teaches embodiments in which the therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount is about 0.1, about 0.2, about 0.5, about 1, about 2 mg per day [00266]. Schafer also teaches that a compound of formula I is administered in an amount of 0.5-50 mg per day [00267]. Schafer discloses a method of treatment in an embodiment for multiple myeloma [0044].Schafer also teaches an embodiment wherein a second active agent is a proteasome inhibitor of bortezomib, salinosporamide A, and carfilzomib [0246]. Schafer also teaches an embodiment where the compound of formula I is administered for 21 days followed by seven days rest in a 28 day cycle [00183]. Schafer teaches oral administration of formula I [00289]. Schafer Discloses “[t]he combined use of the compound of Formula I, or an enantiomer or a mixture of enantiomers thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, hydrate, co-crystal, clathrate, or polymorph thereof, provided herein and transplantation therapy provides a unique and unexpected synergism.” [00334]. Schafer also discloses an embodiment in which a newly diagnosed multiple myeloma is treated with a compound of formula I [00343]. Schafer teaches an embodiment in which formula I is administered with dexamethasone to a subject with various stages of multiple myeloma. Schafer also discloses an embodiment in which the proteasome inhibitor is bortezomib [00246]. Schafer teaches that the second active agent is administered intravenously or subcutaneously once or twice daily ranging from 1-1,000 mg with the specific amount of the second active agent depending on the specific agent used, the type of disease being treated or managed, the severity and stage of disease, and the amount of the compound of Formula I provided herein and any optional additional active agents concurrently administered to the patient [00290]. Schafer also teaches an embodiment in which a combination treatment of formula I and a second active ingredient are administered to a patient for a period of 1-24 cycles [00350]. Schafer also discloses "The combined use of the compound provided herein and conventional therapy may provide a unique treatment regimen that is unexpectedly effective in certain patients. Without being limited by theory, it is believed that the compound of Formula I may provide additive or synergistic effects when given concurrently with conventional therapy" [00329].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to administer a combination therapy of a compound of formula I and I-S with a proteasome inhibitor and dexamethasone to a patient with a newly diagnosed multiple myeloma in need thereof following the teachings of Schafer because Schafer discloses embodiments wherein a compound of formula I or I-S is administered in combination with dexamethasone and bortezomib in the dose ranges, cycles and duration of treatment as in the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, the applicants disclosed compounds of compound A and A-S are equivalent to the prior art disclosed by Schafer as shown below.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer a
combination therapy of a compound of formula I and I-S with dexamethasone and the
proteasome inhibitor of bortezomib in a dose regimen of 1.0-1.6 mg of formula I and I-S, 10-40
mg dexamethasone and an effective amount of bortezomib in 21-28 day cycles for 1-9 cycles
following Schafer because of the beneficial additive or synergistic effects of the disclosed
compounds on patients when administered concurrently with conventional cancer therapy and
would have naturally arrived at the instantly claimed methods. Therefore the invention as a
whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time
the instant application was filed based on the current record as evidenced by the reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Claim 4 is nonobvious over Schafer at least because D1 (Schafer WO2014/025960A1) does not explicitly state "wherein the compound is administered in an amount of about l.0 mg, about l.3 mg, or about l.6 mg" as recited in the instant claim (emphasis added).
Claim 4 is drawn to treating multiple myeloma by administering about l.0 mg, about l.3 mg, or about l.6 mg of compound A with a proteasome inhibitor. Schafer teaches that a compound of formula I is administered in an amount of 0.5-50 mg per day [00267] Schafer also discloses embodiments in which the therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount is about 0.1, 0.2, 0.5, 1, or about 2 mg per day [00266]. As disclosed by Schafer, the compound of formula I and compound A of the instant claims share the same chemical structure. The amount of about l.0 mg, about l.3 mg, or about l.6 mg compound A administered in claim 4 is rendered obvious by Schafer’s teaching of administering 0.5-50 mg of formula I per day and more specifically about 1 to 2 mg per day. See MPEP 2144.05
Applicant also argues synergistic and clinically significant efficacies exhibited by the compound specifically at about 1 mg, 1.3 mg, or 1.6 mg are surprising and could not have been predicted based on the reference cited by the Office.
Schafer discloses “The combined use of the compound of Formula I, or an enantiomer or a mixture of enantiomers thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, hydrate, co-crystal, clathrate, or polymorph thereof, provided herein and transplantation therapy provides a unique and unexpected synergism.” [00334] Furthermore, as disclosed above, a dose of 1 mg formula I is disclosed by Schafer. A skilled artisan following the teachings of Schafer would have found it obvious to try a 1 mg dose of formula I in a combination multiple myeloma therapy with a proteasome inhibitor for administration to a patient in need thereof following the disclosures of Schafer.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to try a 1 mg dose of formula I for administration in a combination multiple myeloma therapy with a proteasome inhibitor as taught by Schafer because Schafer disclosed the combined use of formula I and a second conventional therapy wherein a second active agent is a proteasome inhibitor (bortezomib, salinosporamide A, and carfilzomib) to be unexpectedly effective in certain patients. Schafer also disclosed “Without being limited by theory, it is believed that the compound of Formula I may provide additive or synergistic effects when given concurrently with conventional therapy.” Therefore the synergistic and clinically significant efficacies exhibited by the compound of formula I in the specific amounts of about 1 mg, 1.3 mg, or 1.6 mg were suggested by the Schafer reference cited by the Office. Even if Applicants result were considered to be unexpected in view of the prior art, the instant claims are not commensurate in scope with the alleged unexpected results. See MPEP 716.02, particularly 716.02(d).
Conclusion
All claims are rejected, no claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623