DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an amendment filed on 08/01//2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balutis et al. (US 2019/0250604 Al) and in view of Kamfors et al. (US 10,405,488 B2).
Regarding claim 1 Balutis teaches A mobile robot system (Pg. 7 - Fig. 3 – 10 & See Also Pg. 17 - Fig. 5 – 5002 – “…robot lawnmower.” ) comprising: a plurality of transmitters installed in a boundary region of a driving region to transmit transmission signals; (Pg. 5 – Fig. 2A & See Also Pg. 1 – “the mapping data specifying an area to be mowed and a plurality of locations of beacons positioned within the area to be mowed,” & See Also Fig. 7 (equates to a plurality of transmitters installed in a boundary region of a driving region to transmit transmission signals as the beacons are installed in the mowing region or the boundary region and specify the boundary.)) a communication target element that stores map information of a region including the driving region to provide the map information to a communication target device; (Pg. 24 – [0055] – “The mapping system 600 may store map images or obtain map images from another system.” & See Also Pg. 7 – Fig. 3 (equates to a communication target element that stores map information of a region including the driving region to provide the map information to a communication target device as the mapping system of this art has a map of the area external to the robot and fig 3 shows how it would transmit the map information.)) and a mobile robot that generates first map data for positions of the plurality of transmitters based on a reception result of the transmission signals, (Pg. 23 – [0037] & [0038] – “As shown by the solid lines emanating from the robot lawnmower 10 in FIG. 2B, the robot lawnmower 10 communicates with each of the beacons 810 a-c and the dock 12. Each beacon 810a-c communicates with each of the other beacons and the dock 12 as illustrated by the dashed lines. If WB or UWB signals from WB or UWB beacons 810a-c positioned about a yard are to be used to determine the robot lawnmower's location within the yard, the location of the WB or UWB beacons 81 0a-c can be established by the robot lawnmower” (equates to and a mobile robot that generates first map data for positions of the plurality of transmitters based on a reception result of the transmission signals as the robot land the beacons are in communication and the robot can determine the position of each beacon based on the line of communication as seen from the end of the quote.)) receives second map data for a region corresponding to the driving region from the communication target element to match the first map data and the second map data so as to generate boundary information of the driving region. (Pg. 24 – [0053] – “mapping system 600 generates a map image with a graphic overlay of the perimeter of the area to be mowed. In one particular example, the first geographic reference coordinate is used to identify a common location between the map image and the boundary and the second geographic reference is used to rotationally align the map image with the mapping data.” & See Also Pg. 7 – Fig. 3 (equates to receives second map data for a region corresponding to the driving region from the communication target element to match the first map data and the second map data so as to generate boundary information of the driving region as the mapping system overlays the boundary and second geographic reference to accurately display and generate the driving region as the robot is in communication with the mapping system.)) and receives designation information for a portion corresponding to the driving region on the area information to generate the second map data according to the designation information, (Pg. 27 – [0087] – “The mapping system 600 receives the mapping data from the robot lawnmower 10” & See Also Pg. 27 – [0090] – “the mapping system 600 can generate a map image, by aligning the mapping data to a map image” (equates to receives designation information for a portion corresponding to the driving region on the area information to generate the second map data according to the designation information as the mapping system receives the information from the mobile robot corresponding to its traveling and then in the second quote we see how the mapping system can then generate a map and align its own and the given information thus generating second map data.)) and wherein the mobile robot moves within the driving region based on the generated boundary information. (Pg. 27 – [0084] – “ The user can also block off an area of the lawn that they would like the robot lawmnower to not cover during its current mission or designate an area that should be more thoroughly mowed (by way of slower movement or multiple passes). In some implementations, the boundary of this "keep-out" zone are marked in the grid map as boundary cells, while the cells inside the keep-out zone are marked as non-mowable.” & See Also Pg. 22 – [0028] – “robot lawnmower 10 may alert the user, e.g., to change paths to remain within the confinement of the boundary markers 805 or to move one or more of the boundary markers 805.” (equates to wherein the mobile robot moves within the driving region based on the generated boundary information as each quote shows the robot mower traveling within the boundary as it is controlled to complete its task. )) in which control information related to the control of the mobile robot system is stored, (Pg. 20 – [0007] – “The controller is configured to cause the robot lawnmower to traverse the area starting from the first or second reference point. The operations can include: supplying the mapping data and the first and second geographic coordinates for the first and second reference points to a remote server system of one or more computers;” (equates to in which control information related to the control of the mobile robot system is stored, as the quote shows a controller being able to navigate and control the mobile robot via supplied mapping data and interaction with external computers.) )
Yet Balutis fails to teach wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, wherein the communication target element is a web server, wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, and then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot,
Kamfors teaches wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, (Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines 36 -37 – “e.g., map information from web based mapping services)” & See Also Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines 9 – 19 – “In some cases, information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 itself may be extracted from the robotic mower 10 and mated with a remote network terminal or computer. The information stored on the memory 214 may then be extracted and thereby reported for fleet management or other applications. In other cases, the device interface 220 may be configured to wirelessly transmit information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 to a remote computer to enable data processing to be accomplished on the remote computer.” (equates to wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, as the first quote shows how the mapping information can be attained from a web based mapping service and thus is provided on the web.) ) wherein the communication target element is a web server (Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines – 33-37 – “Thus, in some embodiments, the map data 140 may be communicated to an external computer and may 35 be manipulated thereat, or may be correlated to other map information ( e.g., map information from web based mapping services).” (equates to wherein the communication target element is a web server as the quote shows the element being a remote computer which stores mapping information and contains web based mapping acts as a web based server.)) (Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines 9 – 19 – “In some cases, information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 itself may be extracted from the robotic mower 10 and mated with a remote network terminal or computer. The information stored on the memory 214 may then be extracted and thereby reported for fleet management or other applications. In other cases, the device interface 220 may be configured to wirelessly transmit information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 to a remote computer to enable data processing to be accomplished on the remote computer.” & See Also ) wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, (Pg. 13 – [col. 5] – lines 30 – 40 – “In an example embodiment, a robotic vehicle (e.g., a remote-controlled or autonomously operable robotic mower, watering robot, and/or the like) is provided with an onboard positioning module and an object detection module. The positioning module may be configured to enable data related to position and/or orientation information regarding the vehicle to be tracked and/or recorded. The position and/or orientation information may then be stored and/or processed (e.g., by onboard or remote processing and storage equipment) to generate or augment map data associated with a parcel being worked.” (equates to wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot as the quote shows a remote processing unit being capable of processing position information and the beginning of the quote shows how that position information is of the vehicle. )) then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot, (Pg. 14 – Col. 7 – lines 59 – 63 – “the device interface 220 may be any means such as a device or circuitry embodied in either hardware, or a combination of hardware and software that is configured to receive and/or transmit data from/to sensors in communication with the processing circuitry 210” & See Also Pg. 14 – [col. 8 ] – lines 1-6 – “in other embodiments, components of the sensor network ( e.g., including GPS receiver 240, camera 245, and/or accelerometer 250) may be external to the positioning module 200 and the object detection module 202, and the device interface 220 may still provide interface capabilities for interaction with such components” & See Also Pg. 13 – [col. 5] – lines 30 – 40 – “In an example embodiment, a robotic vehicle (e.g., a remote-controlled or autonomously operable robotic mower, watering robot, and/or the like) is provided with an onboard positioning module and an object detection module. The positioning module may be configured to enable data related to position and/or orientation information regarding the vehicle to be tracked and/or recorded. The position and/or orientation information may then be stored and/or processed (e.g., by onboard or remote processing and storage equipment) to generate or augment map data associated with a parcel being worked.” & See Also Pg. 14 – lines 3-4 – “The control circuitry 130 may include processing circuitry 210 that may be configured to perform data processing” & See Also Pg. 13 – lines 20-21 – “In an example embodiment, the robotic mower 100 may include control circuitry 130” (equates to then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot as the first quote shows the ability of the device interface to transmit data to the processing circuitry. The second quote shows that when the devices for positioning are positioned external from the robot that the transmission of data to the robot can still happen. The third quote shows the current position of the robot being detected via external means. The fourth and fifth quote show the processing circuitry through which the position is sent is contained within the robot. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Balutis to include wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, wherein the communication target element is a web server, wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, and then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot, as these limitations allow for positioning and tracking of the robot to be done at a server and thus a site away from the robot doing its work allowing for remote capabilities of positioning ensuring less components are needed on the physical robot to make it work.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, wherein the communication target element is a web server, wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, and then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot as these limitations allow for off vehicle computing and thus reduce the processing power needed on the vehicle for running the ensuing configurations thus a reduced amount of components and price per mobile robot can be attained.
Regarding claim 2 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 1, wherein at least three of the plurality of transmitters are dispersedly installed in the boundary region. (Pg. 23 – [0036] – “These beacons can be placed inside the mowable area (e.g., beacon 810b), on the boundary (e.g., beacon 810a), or outside the boundary (e.g., beacon 810c). These beacons 810 (FIG. 2B)” & See Also Fig. 2b (equates to wherein at least three of the plurality of transmitters are dispersedly installed in the boundary region as the fig. 2b shows 3 beacon in the boundary.))
Regarding claim 5 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 1, wherein the mobile robot converts the first map data and the second map data into first coordinate information and second coordinate information, respectively, in the same coordinate system, (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “receiving at least first and second geographic coordinates for first and second reference points that are within the area and are specified in the mapping data. The mapping data is aligned to a coordinate system of a map image of the area using the first and second geographic coordinates.” (equates to converts the first map data and the second map data into first coordinate information and second coordinate information, respectively, in the same coordinate system as first reference point and second reference point are used to align each data into a common coordinate system.)) and matches the first map data and the second map data using the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information. (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “receiving at least first and second geographic coordinates for first and second reference points that are within the area and are specified in the mapping data. The mapping data is aligned to a coordinate system of a map image of the area using the first and second geographic coordinates.” & See Also Pg. 17 – Fig. 5 – 5004-5006 (equates to matches the first map data and the second map data using the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information as the first and second reference points are each turned into coordinates used for aligning the mapping data as seen from the figure.))
Regarding claim 6 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 5, wherein the mobile robot determines coordinate values corresponding to a position of any one transmitter in the first coordinate information, (Pg. 20 – [0007] – “The operations can include: supplying the mapping data and the first and second geographic coordinates for the first and second reference points to a remote server system of one or more computers; receiving, from the remote server system, one or more suggested positions within the area for the beacons” (equates to determines coordinate values corresponding to a position of any one transmitter in the first coordinate information as first reference coordinate is generated corresponding to the beacons location or the transmitter of this application.)) detects a reference point that matches the coordinate values in the second coordinate information to align the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information based on the coordinate values and the reference point so as to match the first map data and the second map data. (Pg. 23 – [0043] – “The mobile device 502 also receives first and second geographic coordinates for first and second reference points within the area. Then, the mobile device 502 aligns the mapping data to a coordinate system of a map image of the area using the first and second reference points.” & See Also Pg. 20 – [0007] – “The operations can include: supplying the mapping data and the first and second geographic coordinates for the first and second reference points to a remote server system of one or more computers; receiving, from the remote server system, one or more suggested positions within the area for the beacons” (equates to detects a reference point that matches the coordinate values in the second coordinate information to align the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information based on the coordinate values and the reference point so as to match the first map data and the second map data as the reference point of the beacons can be taken in by the mobile device and the coordinate transposition can take place matching each data into a common reference frame.))
Regarding claim 7 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 6, wherein the mobile robot aligns the coordinate values with the reference point, (Pg. 26 – [0070] – “For example, the mobile device 502 can obtain the map image and data associated with the map image that specifies a correspondence between portions of the map image and geographic coordinates. The mobile device can then align the mapping by data” & See Also Pg. 26 – [0079] – “…by having the robot lawnmower 10 communicate its position to the mobile device 502 while it mows the lawn” (equates to wherein the mobile robot aligns the coordinate values with the reference point as the mobile device is doing the aligning between the reference and coordinate value as seen from the first quote, and the robot is in communication the mobile device thus the robot is able to do the aligning.)) and then adjusts at least one of an angle and a ratio of the first coordinate information based on the coordinate values to align the first coordinate information with the second coordinate information. (Pg. 25 - [0059] – “The first reference point in the image coordinate system can be used as the vertex to calculate the angle between the second reference point from the translated robot coordinate system 454 and the second reference point from the image coordinate system 456. This angle can used to rotate all data in the translated data in the image coordinate system” & See Also Pg. 25 – [0058] – “adjust the mapping data by shifting, rotating, and/or scaling the mapping data so that the mapping data is aligned to the coordinate system of the map image 452.” (equates to then adjusts at least one of an angle and a ratio of the first coordinate information based on the coordinate values to align the first coordinate information with the second coordinate information as the first quote shows the adjustment being based on an angle between the data and the mapping information being updated accordingly and the second quote shows the ratio to which the data’s can change to map upon one another through the scaling and then the mapping information being updated accordingly. ))
Regarding claim 9 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 7, wherein the mobile robot detects an actual distance between any two points on the driving region, (Pg. 24 – [0051] – “the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain the first geographic reference coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates). Then, after the robot lawnmower 10 moves to another location in the area that is at least a certain distance from the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain additional geographic reference coordinates.” (equates to wherein the mobile robot detects an actual distance between any two points on the driving region as the robot starts at a point (takes a reference point) and then moves a distance and takes another point and thus can initialize itself within the map and thus determine a distance between the two points within the mapped area. )) detects an estimated distance between coordinates corresponding to the two points, respectively, on the first coordinate information, (Pg. 24 – [0051] – “the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain the first geographic reference coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates). Then, after the robot lawnmower 10 moves to another location in the area that is at least a certain distance from the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain additional geographic reference coordinates…where the location of the reference points is not already specified, the robot lawnmower 10 can send data specifying how the geographic reference coordinates correspond to the mapping data.” (equates to detects an estimated distance between coordinates corresponding to the two points, respectively, on the first coordinate information as the robot is creating the mapping this example and thus measuring a distance between these estimated coordinates in the first coordinate information.)) and measures an adjustment reference based on the actual distance and the estimated distance to reflect the adjustment reference to the first coordinate information so as to adjust a ratio of the first coordinate information. (Pg. 25 – [0059] – “In adjusting the mapping data, the perimeter path 450 is translated to the same coordinate frame as the map image 452. The difference between the first reference point location in the robot coordinate system 454 and the first reference point location in the image coordinate system 456 is calculated. All data within the robot coordinate system 454, including beacon locations 805 and the perimeter path 450, can be shifted by that difference, resulting in translated data.” & See Also Pg. 25 – [0058] – “adjust the mapping data by shifting, rotating, and/or scaling the mapping data so that the mapping data is aligned to the coordinate system of the map image” (equates to measures an adjustment reference based on the actual distance and the estimated distance to reflect the adjustment reference to the first coordinate information so as to adjust a ratio of the first coordinate information as the first quote shows the measuring of the adjustment reference to fix the first coordinate information and the second quote shows how this can also fix the ratio by scaling the data to one another to yield a correct map of the terrain.))
Regarding claim 11 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 9, wherein the mobile robot detects actual distances between a plurality of any two points, (Pg. 24 – [0051] – “the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain the first geographic reference coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates). Then, after the robot lawnmower 10 moves to another location in the area that is at least a certain distance from the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain additional geographic reference coordinates.” (equates to wherein the mobile robot detects actual distances between a plurality of any two points as the robot takes a first point moves a distance and takes another.)) respectively, detects estimated distances between coordinates corresponding to the plurality of any two points, (Pg. 24 – [0052] – “robot lawnmower 10 or the mobile device 502 can obtain the second geographic reference coordinates at a point at least a certain distance away from the docking station 12 within the area” & See Also Pg. 24 – [0051] – “the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain the first geographic reference coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates). Then, after the robot lawnmower 10 moves to another location in the area that is at least a certain distance from the docking station 12, the robot lawnmower 10 uses the location system 152 to obtain additional geographic reference coordinates.” (equates to respectively, detects estimated distances between coordinates corresponding to the plurality of any two points as the robot takes two points as seen from the second quote and the second quote shows that can be done by a specified distance thus a distance is estimated between each point.)) respectively, and measures a plurality of adjustment references based on a plurality of actual distances and a plurality of estimated distances, (Pg. 20 – [0005] – “…the first and second reference points comprises: displaying instructions to a user to move the mobile device to the first reference point; in response to receiving user input indicating that the mobile device is at the first reference point, determining the first geographic coordinates using the GPS receiver; displaying instructions to the user to move the mobile device to the second reference point; and in response to receiving user input indicating that the mobile device is at the second reference point, determining the second geographic coordinates using the GPS receiver.” (equates to respectively, and measures a plurality of adjustment references based on a plurality of actual distances and a plurality of estimated distances, as the robot is measuring the actual distance between the reference points it gathers and the GPS is gathering the estimated distances at the same locations based on the robot’s coordinates and thus adjustment reference is made between the GPS and robot’s data.)) respectively, so as to reflect the plurality of adjustment references to distances between the coordinates of the first coordinate information, respectively. (Pg. 25 – [0059] – “In adjusting the mapping data, the perimeter path 450 is translated to the same coordinate frame as the map image 452. The difference between the first reference point location in the robot coordinate system 454 and the first reference point location in the image coordinate system 456 is calculated.” & See Also Pg. 24 – [0051] – “This process can be repeated to obtain any number of additional geographic reference coordinates” (equates to respectively, so as to reflect the plurality of adjustment references to distances between the coordinates of the first coordinate information, respectively as the difference between the map image and the actual measured points is calculated thus a plurality of adjustment reference is created as this can be done by any number of points.))
Regarding claim 13 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The mobile robot system of claim 1, wherein the mobile robot allows a matching result to be output and displayed on an outside of the mobile robot or on a control element that controls the mobile robot, (Pg. 26 – [0078] – “For example, the mobile device 502 can display the map image with a graphic overlay illustrating a perimeter of the area to be mowed” & See Also Pg. 25 – [0060] – “perimeter 450 was correctly captured by the robot lawnmower 10 and/or that the perimeter 450 has been correctly aligned to the map image 460.” (equates to wherein the mobile robot allows a matching result to be output and displayed on an outside of the mobile robot or on a control element that controls the mobile robot as the second quote shows the matched map being aligned as detected by the robot and the first quote shows how this map would then be displayed on the control element that controls the mobile robot.)) and generates the boundary information in response to a manipulation on the output display. (Pg. 25 – [0060] – “FIG. 4E depicts an example screenshot of the displayed map image 460 with a user interface element 462 requesting a user to confirm the location of the boundary on the map image. The user can inspect the map image 460 to confirm that the perimeter 450 was correctly captured by the robot lawnmower 10 and/or that the perimeter 450 has been correctly aligned to the map image” (equates to generates the boundary information in response to a manipulation on the output display as the perimeter is generated based on the interaction between the user and the user interface element thus a manipulation on the output display occurred to generate the boundary information.))
Regarding claim 14 Balutis teaches The mobile robot system of claim 1, wherein the mobile robot stores image data for each process in which the generation of the boundary information is carried out by matching the first map data and the second map data. (Pg. 21 – [0021] – “In some implementations, as a safety measure autonomous use of the robot lawnmower 10 can only be executed once a perimeter has been determined and stored in non-transitory memory of the robot lawnmower 10.” & See Also Pg. 24 – [0055] – “FIG. 4B depicts an example map image 452 of an area to be mowed. A mobile device 502 can obtain the map image 452 from a mapping system 600” & See Also Pg. 26 – [0079] – “…by having the robot lawnmower 10 communicate its position to the mobile device 502 while it mows the lawn” (equates to wherein the mobile robot stores image data for each process in which the generation of the boundary information is carried out by matching the first map data and the second map data as the robot stores perimeter data in its memory, and the second quote shows the mapping data relating to the perimeter is comprising of map images, and the third quote shows how the mobile device receiving the map images is in communication with the robot to store aforementioned data. ))
Regarding claim 15 Balutis teaches A method of generating boundary information in a mobile robot system (Pg. 20 – [0001] – “This invention relates to mapping an area to be mowed by a robot lawnmower” ) that comprises: a plurality of transmitters installed in a boundary region of a driving region to transmit transmission signals; (Pg. 5 – Fig. 2A & See Also Pg. 1 – “the mapping data specifying an area to be mowed and a plurality of locations of beacons positioned within the area to be mowed,” & See Also Fig. 7 (equates to a plurality of transmitters installed in a boundary region of a driving region to transmit transmission signals as the beacons are installed in the mowing region or the boundary region and specify the boundary.)) a communication target element that stores map information of a region including the driving region to provide the map information to a communication target device; (Pg. 24 – [0055] – “The mapping system 600 may store map images or obtain map images from another system.” & See Also Pg. 7 – Fig. 3 (equates to a communication target element that stores map information of a region including the driving region to provide the map information to a communication target device as the mapping system of this art has a map of the area external to the robot and fig 3 shows how it would transmit the map information.)) and a mobile robot that generates first map data for positions of the plurality of transmitters based on a reception result of the transmission signals, (Pg. 23 – [0037] & [0038] – “As shown by the solid lines emanating from the robot lawnmower 10 in FIG. 2B, the robot lawnmower 10 communicates with each of the beacons 810 a-c and the dock 12. Each beacon 810a-c communicates with each of the other beacons and the dock 12 as illustrated by the dashed lines. If WB or UWB signals from WB or UWB beacons 810a-c positioned about a yard are to be used to determine the robot lawnmower's location within the yard, the location of the WB or UWB beacons 81 0a-c can be established by the robot lawnmower” (equates to and a mobile robot that generates first map data for positions of the plurality of transmitters based on a reception result of the transmission signals as the robot land the beacons are in communication and the robot can determine the position of each beacon based on the line of communication as seen from the end of the quote.)) receives second map data for a region corresponding to the driving region from the communication target element to generate boundary information of the driving region based on the first map data and the second map data, (Pg. 24 – [0053] – “mapping system 600 generates a map image with a graphic overlay of the perimeter of the area to be mowed. In one particular example, the first geographic reference coordinate is used to identify a common location between the map image and the boundary and the second geographic reference is used to rotationally align the map image with the mapping data.” & See Also Pg. 7 – Fig. 3 (equates to receives second map data for a region corresponding to the driving region from the communication target element to generate boundary information of the driving region based on the first map data and the second map data as the mapping system overlays the boundary and second geographic reference to accurately display and generate the driving region as the robot is in communication with the mapping system.)) the method comprising: converting the first map data and the second map data into first coordinate information and second coordinate information, respectively; (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “receiving at least first and second geographic coordinates for first and second reference points that are within the area and are specified in the mapping data. The mapping data is aligned to a coordinate system of a map image of the area using the first and second geographic coordinates.” (equates to the method comprising: converting the first map data and the second map data into first coordinate information and second coordinate information, respectively as first reference point and second reference point are used to align each data into a common coordinate system.)) determining coordinate values corresponding to a position of any one transmitter in the first coordinate information; (Pg. 20 – [0007] – “The operations can include: supplying the mapping data and the first and second geographic coordinates for the first and second reference points to a remote server system of one or more computers; receiving, from the remote server system, one or more suggested positions within the area for the beacons” (equates to determines coordinate values corresponding to a position of any one transmitter in the first coordinate information as first reference coordinate is generated corresponding to the beacons location or the transmitter of this application.)) detecting a reference point that aligns with the coordinate values in the second coordinate information; aligning the first map data and the second map data based on the coordinate values and the reference point to match the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information; (Pg. 23 – [0043] – “The mobile device 502 also receives first and second geographic coordinates for first and second reference points within the area. Then, the mobile device 502 aligns the mapping data to a coordinate system of a map image of the area using the first and second reference points.” & See Also Pg. 20 – [0007] – “The operations can include: supplying the mapping data and the first and second geographic coordinates for the first and second reference points to a remote server system of one or more computers; receiving, from the remote server system, one or more suggested positions within the area for the beacons” (equates detecting a reference point that aligns with the coordinate values in the second coordinate information; aligning the first map data and the second map data based on the coordinate values and the reference point to match the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information; so as to match the first map data and the second map data as the reference point of the beacons can be taken in by the mobile device and the coordinate transposition can take place matching each data into a common reference frame.)) and generating boundary information of the driving region according to the matching result. (Pg. 25 – [0060] – “FIG. 4E depicts an example screenshot of the displayed map image 460 with a user interface element 462 requesting a user to confirm the location of the boundary on the map image. The user can inspect the map image 460 to confirm that the perimeter 450 was correctly captured by the robot lawnmower 10 and/or that the perimeter 450 has been correctly aligned to the map image” (equates to generating boundary information of the driving region according to the matching result as the robot captured the boundary information and the map has aligned it’s own measurements with that of the robot. )) and receives designation information for a portion corresponding to the driving region on the area information to generate the second map data according to the designation information, (Pg. 27 – [0087] – “The mapping system 600 receives the mapping data from the robot lawnmower 10” & See Also Pg. 27 – [0090] – “the mapping system 600 can generate a map image, by aligning the mapping data to a map image” (equates to receives designation information for a portion corresponding to the driving region on the area information to generate the second map data according to the designation information as the mapping system receives the information from the mobile robot corresponding to its traveling and then in the second quote we see how the mapping system can then generate a map and align its own and the given information thus generating second map data.)) and wherein the mobile robot moves within the driving region based on the generated boundary information. (Pg. 27 – [0084] – “ The user can also block off an area of the lawn that they would like the robot lawmnower to not cover during its current mission or designate an area that should be more thoroughly mowed (by way of slower movement or multiple passes). In some implementations, the boundary of this "keep-out" zone are marked in the grid map as boundary cells, while the cells inside the keep-out zone are marked as non-mowable.” & See Also Pg. 22 – [0028] – “robot lawnmower 10 may alert the user, e.g., to change paths to remain within the confinement of the boundary markers 805 or to move one or more of the boundary markers 805.” (equates to wherein the mobile robot moves within the driving region based on the generated boundary information as each quote shows the robot mower traveling within the boundary as it is controlled to complete its task. )) in which control information related to the control of the mobile robot system is stored, (Pg. 20 – [0007] – “The controller is configured to cause the robot lawnmower to traverse the area starting from the first or second reference point. The operations can include: supplying the mapping data and the first and second geographic coordinates for the first and second reference points to a remote server system of one or more computers;” (equates to in which control information related to the control of the mobile robot system is stored, as the quote shows a controller being able to navigate and control the mobile robot via supplied mapping data and interaction with external computers.) )
Yet Balutis fails to teach wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, wherein the communication target element is a web server, wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, and then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot,
Kamfors teaches wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, (Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines 36 -37 – “e.g., map information from web based mapping services)” & See Also Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines 9 – 19 – “In some cases, information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 itself may be extracted from the robotic mower 10 and mated with a remote network terminal or computer. The information stored on the memory 214 may then be extracted and thereby reported for fleet management or other applications. In other cases, the device interface 220 may be configured to wirelessly transmit information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 to a remote computer to enable data processing to be accomplished on the remote computer.” (equates to wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, as the first quote shows how the mapping information can be attained from a web based mapping service and thus is provided on the web.) ) wherein the communication target element is a web server (Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines – 33-37 – “Thus, in some embodiments, the map data 140 may be communicated to an external computer and may 35 be manipulated thereat, or may be correlated to other map information ( e.g., map information from web based mapping services).” (equates to wherein the communication target element is a web server as the quote shows the element being a remote computer which stores mapping information and contains web based mapping acts as a web based server.)) (Pg. 16 – Col. 12 – lines 9 – 19 – “In some cases, information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 itself may be extracted from the robotic mower 10 and mated with a remote network terminal or computer. The information stored on the memory 214 may then be extracted and thereby reported for fleet management or other applications. In other cases, the device interface 220 may be configured to wirelessly transmit information associated with the positioning module 200 and/or the object detection module 202 to a remote computer to enable data processing to be accomplished on the remote computer.” & See Also ) wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, (Pg. 13 – [col. 5] – lines 30 – 40 – “In an example embodiment, a robotic vehicle (e.g., a remote-controlled or autonomously operable robotic mower, watering robot, and/or the like) is provided with an onboard positioning module and an object detection module. The positioning module may be configured to enable data related to position and/or orientation information regarding the vehicle to be tracked and/or recorded. The position and/or orientation information may then be stored and/or processed (e.g., by onboard or remote processing and storage equipment) to generate or augment map data associated with a parcel being worked.” (equates to wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot as the quote shows a remote processing unit being capable of processing position information and the beginning of the quote shows how that position information is of the vehicle. )) then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot, (Pg. 14 – Col. 7 – lines 59 – 63 – “the device interface 220 may be any means such as a device or circuitry embodied in either hardware, or a combination of hardware and software that is configured to receive and/or transmit data from/to sensors in communication with the processing circuitry 210” & See Also Pg. 14 – [col. 8 ] – lines 1-6 – “in other embodiments, components of the sensor network ( e.g., including GPS receiver 240, camera 245, and/or accelerometer 250) may be external to the positioning module 200 and the object detection module 202, and the device interface 220 may still provide interface capabilities for interaction with such components” & See Also Pg. 13 – [col. 5] – lines 30 – 40 – “In an example embodiment, a robotic vehicle (e.g., a remote-controlled or autonomously operable robotic mower, watering robot, and/or the like) is provided with an onboard positioning module and an object detection module. The positioning module may be configured to enable data related to position and/or orientation information regarding the vehicle to be tracked and/or recorded. The position and/or orientation information may then be stored and/or processed (e.g., by onboard or remote processing and storage equipment) to generate or augment map data associated with a parcel being worked.” & See Also Pg. 14 – lines 3-4 – “The control circuitry 130 may include processing circuitry 210 that may be configured to perform data processing” & See Also Pg. 13 – lines 20-21 – “In an example embodiment, the robotic mower 100 may include control circuitry 130” (equates to then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot as the first quote shows the ability of the device interface to transmit data to the processing circuitry. The second quote shows that when the devices for positioning are positioned external from the robot that the transmission of data to the robot can still happen. The third quote shows the current position of the robot being detected via external means. The fourth and fifth quote show the processing circuitry through which the position is sent is contained within the robot. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Balutis to include wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, wherein the communication target element is a web server, wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, and then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot, as these limitations allow for positioning and tracking of the robot to be done at a server and thus a site away from the robot doing its work allowing for remote capabilities of positioning ensuring less components are needed on the physical robot to make it work.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the map information is a commercial map provided on a web, wherein the communication target element is a web server, wherein the communication target element determines a current position of the mobile robot, and then transmits area information corresponding to the current location from the map information to the mobile robot as these limitations allow for off vehicle computing and thus reduce the processing power needed on the vehicle for running the ensuing configurations thus a reduced amount of components and price per mobile robot can be attained.
Regarding claim 16 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The method of claim 15, wherein the converting step converts the first map data and the second map data into the first coordinate information and the second coordinate information, respectively, in the same coordinate system. (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “receiving at least first and second geographic coordinates for first and second reference points that are within the area and are specified in the mapping data. The mapping data is aligned to a coordinate system of a map image of the area using the first and second geographic coordinates.” (equates to wherein the converting step converts the first map data and the second map data into first coordinate information and second coordinate information, respectively, in the same coordinate system as first reference point and second reference point are used to align each data into a common coordinate system.))
Regarding claim 17 Balutis- Kamfors teaches (Balutis teaches the following limitations:) The method of claim 15, wherein the matching step aligns the coordinate values with the reference point, (Pg. 26 – [0070] – “For example, the mobile device 502 can obtain the map image and data associated with the map image that specifies a correspondence between portions of the map image and geographic coordinates. The mobile device can then align the mapping by data” & See Also Pg. 26 – [0079] – “…by having the robot lawnmower 10 communicate its position to the mobile device 502 while it mows the lawn” (equates to wherein the mobil