DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 are canceled. Applicant amended claims 6 and 7 to include “wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of metal-containing particles, wherein the metal-containing particles are mixed in the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer.” Applicant submits that the solid electrolyte particles of Dolle are lithium phosphate (see e.g., Dolle; [0040]). Dolle does disclose that the solid electrolyte particles are lithium phosphates, but more specifically, the particle may be lithium phosphates such as Li1.5 Al0.5 Ge1.5 (PO4 )3 (LAGP), which is a metal-containing particle as claimed. The lithium and aluminum are metals, and thus Dolle provides a metal containing particle. Dolle further discloses the metal-containing solid electrolyte particle is also included in the positive and negative electrode layers (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7). Therefore, Dolle teaches amended claims 6 and 7.
Regarding new independent claim 12 and dependent claims 13-14, as above, Dolle discloses the elements of claim 12 and 13. Goldner is still used to combine with Dolle to teach claim 14, which is using the secondary battery in a vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dolle (US-20130189562-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Dolle discloses a secondary battery comprising: a stacked body in which a positive electrode current collector that is an aggregate of first metal particles (such as copper or stainless steel referred to as second current collector; see e.g., Dolle [0062]-[0066]), a positive electrode active material layer (“MP2”; see e.g., [0016]), a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., [0067]), a negative electrode active material layer (“MP1”; see e.g., [0016]), and a negative electrode current collector layer that is an aggregate of second metal particles (such as copper or aluminum referred to as first current collector; see e.g., [0062]-[0066]) are stacked in this order (see e.g., [0066]),
wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of metal-containing particles (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7, regarding examples wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of Li1.5 Al0.5 Ge1.5 (PO4 )3 or “LAG”),
wherein the metal-containing particles are mixed in the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7, regarding examples which have the same solid electrolyte LAG in the positive and negative electrode layers).
Regarding claim 13, Dolle discloses the secondary battery according to claim 12. Dolle also discloses that the secondary battery can be used in the field of mobile systems (see e.g., Dolle; [0004]) which corresponds to portable information terminals as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolle (US-20130189562-A1), and in further view of Lakshmanan (US-20150357650-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Dolle discloses a secondary battery comprising: a stacked body in which a positive electrode current collector that is an aggregate of first metal particles (such as copper or stainless steel referred to as second current collector; see e.g., Dolle [0062]-[0066]), a positive electrode active material layer (“MP2”; see e.g., [0016]), a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., [0067]), a negative electrode active material layer (“MP1”; see e.g., [0016]), and a negative electrode current collector layer that is an aggregate of second metal particles (such as copper or aluminum referred to as first current collector; see e.g., [0062]-[0066]) are stacked in this order (see e.g., [0066]),
wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of metal-containing particles (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7, regarding examples wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of Li1.5 Al0.5 Ge1.5 (PO4 )3 or “LAG”),
wherein the metal-containing particles are mixed in the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7, regarding examples which have the same solid electrolyte LAG in the positive and negative electrode layers),
Dolle does not specifically teach wherein a surface of each of the first metal particles is coated with TiOxNy, wherein x is larger than zero and less than 2, and wherein y is larger than zero and less than 1.
However, Lakshmanan discloses a titanium oxynitride layer of formula TiOxNy with 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 1.95 and 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 1.4 (see e.g., Lakshmanan [0026], [0008], [0032]), which overlaps with the claimed formula range (of 0 < x < 2, and 0 < y < 1), wherein the titanium oxynitride layer is applied to a carbon powder layer in a fuel cell or battery, and a layer of platinum may be deposited over the titanium oxynitride layer (see e.g., Lakshmanan [0008]). Lakshmanan is analogous in the art of batteries having powder particles (Lakshmanan [0001, 0004, 0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the titanium oxynitride layer of formula TiOxNy with 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 1.95 and 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 1.4 taught by Lakshmanan as a coating layer on each of the first metal particles disclosed by Dolle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a protective film that is conductive or semi-conductive and also has corrosion resistance (see e.g., Lakshmanan [0006]).
Thereby, claim 6 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 7, Dolle discloses a secondary battery comprising: a stacked body in which a positive electrode current collector that is an aggregate of first metal particles (such as copper or stainless steel referred to as second current collector; see e.g., Dolle [0062]-[0066]), a positive electrode active material layer “MP2” (see e.g., [0016]), a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., [0067]), a negative electrode active material layer “MP1” (see e.g., [0016]), and a negative electrode current collector layer that is an aggregate of second metal particles such as copper or stainless steel referred to as first current collector (see e.g., [0062]-[0066]) are stacked in this order (see e.g., [0066]),
wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of metal-containing particles (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7, regarding examples wherein the solid electrolyte layer is an aggregate of Li1.5 Al0.5 Ge1.5 (PO4 )3 or “LAG”),
wherein the metal-containing particles are mixed in the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (see e.g., Dolle; [0089], [0098], [0108], [0119], [0129], [0138], [0147], fig. 7, regarding examples which have the same solid electrolyte LAG in the positive and negative electrode layers),
Dolle does not specifically teach wherein a surface of each of the second metal particles is coated with TiOxNy, wherein x is larger than zero and less than 2, and wherein y is larger than zero and less than 1.
However, Lakshmanan discloses a titanium oxynitride layer of formula TiOxNy with 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 1.95 and 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 1.4 (see e.g., [0026]), which overlaps with the claimed formula range (of 0 < x < 2, and 0 < y < 1), wherein the titanium oxynitride layer is applied to a carbon powder layer in a fuel cell, and a layer of platinum may be deposited over the titanium oxynitride layer (see e.g., [0008]) in order to beneficially protect the carbon powder by imparting corrosion resistance (Lakshmanan [0006, 0008]). In other words, Lakshmanan discloses the titanium oxynitride layer between a carbon active material layer and a platinum metal in an electrochemical cell. Lakshmanan is analogous in the art of batteries having powder particles (Lakshmanan [0001, 0004, 0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the titanium oxynitride layer, of formula TiOxNy with 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 1.95 and 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 1.4 taught by Lakshmanan, between the negative electrode active material layer and the second metal particles of a current collector disclosed by Dolle such that a surface of each of the second metal particles is coated. This film layer is further applicable to Dolle because Lakshmanan discloses the titanium oxynitride film over carbon particles, and similarly, Dolle discloses examples (see e.g., example 1, example 2) that have carbon particles in the negative electrode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a protective film that is conductive or semi-conductive and also has corrosion resistance (see e.g., Lakshmanan [0006]).
Thereby, claim 7 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 8, modified Dolle discloses the element of claim 6 as described above. Dolle also discloses that the secondary battery can be used in the field of mobile systems (see e.g., Dolle [0004]) which include portable information terminals.
Regarding claim 10, modified Dolle teaches the elements of claim 7 as described above. Dolle also teaches that the secondary battery can be used in the field of mobile systems (see e.g., Dolle; [0004]) which include portable information terminals.
Claim(s) 9, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolle (US-20130189562-A1), and Lakshmanan (US-20150357650-A1) as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Goldner (US-6982132-B1, as first cited in the 12/02/2024 rejection of record).
Regarding claim 9, modified Dolle teaches the limitations of claim 6 above but does not explicitly disclose the secondary battery used in a vehicle. However, loading a lithium-ion battery into a vehicle is a well-known technical feature, and is taught by those in the art such as Golder (see e.g., Golder abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dolle by applying it in a vehicle disclosed by Goldner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to exhibit high energy density, high reversible charge capacity, high discharge current and long battery lifetimes to thus be useable in electric vehicle applications (see e.g., Golder abstract), as suggested by Goldner, since the battery of modified Dolle also delivers desirable capacity and cycle stability (per Dolle [0026, 0106]).
Thereby, claim 9 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 11, modified Dolle teaches the limitations of claim 7 above but does not explicitly disclose the secondary battery used in a vehicle.
However, loading a lithium-ion battery into a vehicle is a well-known technical feature, and is taught by those in the art such as Golder (see e.g., Golder abstract). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of modified Dolle by applying it in a vehicle disclosed by Goldner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to exhibit high energy density, high reversible charge capacity, high discharge current and long battery lifetimes to thus be useable in electric vehicle applications (see e.g., Golder abstract), as suggested by Goldner, since the battery of modified Dolle also delivers desirable capacity and cycle stability (per Dolle [0026, 0106]).
Thereby, claim 11 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 14, modified Dolle teaches the limitations of claim 12 above but does not explicitly disclose the secondary battery used in a vehicle. However, loading a lithium-ion battery into a vehicle is a well-known technical feature, and is taught by those in the art such as Golder (see e.g., Golder; abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dolle by applying it in a vehicle disclosed by Goldner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to exhibit high energy density, high reversible charge capacity, high discharge current and long battery lifetimes to thus be useable in electric vehicle applications (see e.g., Golder abstract), as suggested by Goldner, since the battery of modified Dolle also delivers desirable capacity and cycle stability (see e.g., Dolle; [0026, 0106]).
Thereby, claim 14 is rendered obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728