DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 17/782,895 filed on June 6th, 2022.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 09/23/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1, 4-8, 12, 15-22, 25, 32-33, 41 and 45 are pending.
Claims 1, 4-8, 12, 15-22, 25, 32-33, 41 and 45 are rejected.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12 – 17 of the Remarks, filed 09/23/2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 22, 41, and 45, and dependent claims 4 – 8, 12, 15 – 21, 25, and 32 – 33, under applied prior art references of record (especially regarding Montojo et al.) in the office action dated 06/24/2025, particularly as regards the amended limitations, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. [US 20210329533 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
It should be noted that the scope of the previous claim 1 has been changed with the current amendment. Adding “detecting first synchronization block (SSB)…” and “the first SSB comprising …and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)” makes it more specific than was previously claimed. Therefore, this amendment changes the scope of the limitation as recited in amended claim 1, and it necessitates a new ground(s) of rejection.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 16, claim 16 recites the limitation “and accessing the first cell further comprises” in Line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The expression “accessing the first cell” used to exist in the claim limitations of claim 1 (upon which claim 16 depends) prior to the current amendment. However, in the current amendment, this “accessing the first cell” limitation has been canceled in the amended claim 1. It is not clear if the “and accessing the first cell further comprises” limitation mentioned in current unamended claim 16 is meant to introduce a concept not previously claimed in claim upon which claim 16 depends. Likewise, the use of the term “further comprises” implies a continuation of a concept that is not currently defined in the preceding claim upon which claim 16 depends (i.e., currently amended claim 1). Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this “and accessing the first cell further comprises” limitation in the claim 16 as currently presented. For the purposes of examination, the claim limitation will be understood as
“16. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the method includes receiving an extended system information message, … and further comprises at least one of: decoding …”.
Claim 17 is also rejected since it depends upon rejected base claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 15, 22, 25, 41, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. [US 20180324686 A1] hereinafter Abedini, and further in view of Kim et al. [US 20210329533 A1] hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Abedini teaches a method of operating a wireless device (Abedini: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9, ¶ 24; UE 104, or 350, or 404, or 702) in a wireless communication network (Abedini: Fig. 1, ¶ 24; wireless communication system), the method comprising:
detecting first synchronization signaling block (SSB) of a first cell on first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36, Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 708, the UE performs a PSS (primary synchronization signal, (i.e., first synchronization signaling of a first cell)) search on a first frequency raster (i.e., first time and frequency resources) from a group of frequency rasters). Thus, when the UE performs a PSS search, and the PSS is comprised within an SSB (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB)), the detection of the PSS is a detection of the SSB), the first SSB comprising at least a first synchronization signal, a second synchronization signal (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 709, the UE performs a search for SSS (secondary synchronization signal (i.e., a second synchronization signal)) / additional PSS on the same frequency raster and upon detecting the PSS and SSS successfully, the UE declares a cell detection on the corresponding frequency raster. Therefore, since the detection of the SSS confirms that the UE correctly detected the PSS according to the PSS hypothesis, then the first synchronization signal comprises a first (PSS) and a second (SSS) synchronization signal) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB));
detecting indication signaling on second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 710, the UE performs a search for SS (synchronization signal (wherein the SS block comprises the physical cell identifier (PCI) which is an indication signaling, ¶ 36)) on a second frequency raster (i.e., second time and frequency resources)), the second time and frequency resources being derived based on the first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the search performed at step 710 is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster (i.e., the second frequency raster is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster)); and
when the indication signaling is detected on the second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the UE declares cell detection (i.e., since the UE declares cell detection, therefore, it must have detected the indication signaling on the second time and frequency resources)):
decoding a first system information message on the PBCH of the first cell (Abedini: ¶ 60; wherein the UE declaring cell detection is after decoding physical broadcast channel (PBCH)), the first system information message indicating time and frequency resources of a first resource set (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the PBCH comprises master information block (MIB) (i.e., the first system information message), which are grouped with the primary synchronization channel (PSCH) (which carries PSS that is used by the UE to determine subframe/symbol timing and physical layer identity) and secondary synchronization channel (SSCH) (which carries SSS that the UE uses to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing) to form an SS block (i.e., a signaling block that comprises the PCI (indication signaling)) and the first resource set is one of the 2, or 4, or 8 resource block (RB) pairs which are configured for the UE).
Therefore, when the UE detects the SS (comprising the PCI (indication signal)), it is able to access a first cell which entails the UE decoding the PBCH. The PBCH is paired with time and frequency resources (PSCH and SSCH), which individually and/or combined comprise system information, and all together the PBCH, PSCH and SSCH make up the SS block, needed for establishing cell connectivity.
Abedini does not explicitly disclose the indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities, at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities (Kim: ¶ 772 - ¶ 777; wherein in order to indicate to the UE whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices (i.e., a device with specific capabilities) or not before receiving MIB of the UE, the cell may use an LTE PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and/or SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal. Accordingly, the sMTC device is able to find out whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices or not and whether an sMTC-only operation is permitted in the corresponding cell, based on the received cell access-related information).Therefore, indication signaling is sent to the UE using the PSS and/or SSS to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities such as sMTC devices.), at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal (Kim: ¶ 774; wherein a cell may transmit cell access-related information to a UE by using a PSS and/or SSS. Therefore, the cell access-related information (i.e., indication signaling to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities) is sent to the UE using at least a portion of time and frequency resources of the PSS and/or SSS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indication signaling teachings of Kim into the invention of Abedini in order to ensure effective supporting of cell access from a terminal with specific capabilities in a wireless communication system (Kim: ¶ 9-12).
Regarding claim 4, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first system information message is a Master Information Block, MIB (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the PBCH comprises master information block (MIB) (i.e., the first system information message)).
Regarding claim 5, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1,wherein the method further comprises:
searching for another synchronization signaling of another cell if the indication signaling is not detected on the second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 61; wherein when the UE does not detect an SSS according to the PSS hypothesis on the same frequency raster. The UE continues to check the next frequency raster in the list of frequency rasters). It is common that when a UE needs to connect to a cell and it is unable to do so, it will search the next available cell for the parameters it requires to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 7, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1,wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining an identity of the first cell based on at least the indication signaling (Abedini: ¶ 36; wherein the UE determines the physical cell identifier (PCI) by determining the physical layer identity from the PSS (first synchronization signal) carried in the PSCH, and by determining the physical layer cell identity group number from the SSS (second synchronization signal) carried in the SSCH, and wherein the SSCH along with the PBCH and PSCH make up the SS (i.e., the indication signaling) block. Therefore, the identity of the first cell (the PCI) is obtained at least based on the indication signaling (SS)).
Regarding claim 8, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the identity of the first cell is obtained based on the indication signaling and the first synchronization signal (Abedini: ¶ 36; wherein the UE determines the physical cell identifier (PCI) by determining the physical layer identity from the PSS (first synchronization signal) carried in the PSCH, among other things, and wherein the SSCH along with the PBCH and PSCH make up the SS (i.e., the indication signaling) block. Therefore, the identity of the first cell (the PCI) is obtained based on the indication signaling (SS) and the PSS (the first synchronization signal)).
Regarding claim 12, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication signaling is based on one or more m-sequences (Abedini: ¶ 52; wherein an NR-PSS may include a frequency domain-based pure BPSK M sequence having one polynomial base sequence, e.g., Decimal 145 (i.e., g(x)=x.sup.7+x.sup.4+1 is the polynomial used to generate the base M sequences) which is then used to generate three PSS sequences).
Regarding claim 15, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
synchronizing with the first cell based on one of:
a combined processing of the indication signaling and the second synchronization signal (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 – 60, and ¶ 87; wherein step 709 of Fig. 7 which is the processing of the SSS (i.e., the second synchronization signal) and step 710 of Fig. 7 which is the processing of the SS (i.e., the synchronization signal block which comprises the indication signal (PCI)) can be combined as stated in ¶ 87); and
separate processing of the indication signaling and the second synchronization signal.
Regarding claim 22, Abedini teaches a method of operating a network node (Abedini: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9, ¶ 30; gNodeB (gNB)180, or 310, or 402, or 704, or 950) in a wireless communication network (Abedini: Fig. 1, ¶ 24; wireless communication system), the method comprising:
transmitting first synchronization signaling block (SSB) on first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36, Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the base station 704 (gNB) transmits a PSS 706 to UE and at step 708, the UE performs a PSS (primary synchronization signal, (i.e., first synchronization signaling of a first cell)) search on a first frequency raster (i.e., first time and frequency resources) from a group of frequency rasters). Thus, when the UE performs a PSS search, and the PSS is comprised within an SSB (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB)), the detection of the PSS is a detection of the SSB), the first SSB comprising at least a first synchronization signal, a second synchronization signal (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 709, the UE performs a search for SSS (secondary synchronization signal (i.e., a second synchronization signal)) / additional PSS on the same frequency raster and upon detecting the PSS and SSS successfully, the UE declares a cell detection on the corresponding frequency raster. Therefore, since the detection of the SSS confirms that the UE correctly detected the PSS according to the PSS hypothesis, then the first synchronization signal comprises a first (PSS) and a second (SSS) synchronization signal), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB));
transmitting indication signaling on second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the base station transmits SS to UE and at step 710, the UE performs a search for SS (synchronization signal (wherein the SS block comprises the physical cell identifier (PCI) which is an indication signaling, ¶ 36)) on a second frequency raster (i.e., second time and frequency resources)), the second time and frequency resources being derived based on the first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the search performed at step 710 is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster (i.e., the second frequency raster is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster));
transmitting a first system information message on the PBCH, the first system information message indicating time and frequency resources of a first resource set (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the base station transmits PBCH which comprises master information block (MIB) (i.e., the first system information message), which are grouped with the primary synchronization channel (PSCH) (which carries PSS that is used by the UE to determine subframe/symbol timing and physical layer identity) and secondary synchronization channel (SSCH) (which carries SSS that the UE uses to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing) to form an SS block (i.e., a signaling block that comprises the PCI (indication signaling)) and the first resource set is one of the 2, or 4, or 8 resource block (RB) pairs which are configured for the UE); and
communicating with a wireless device based on the transmitted indication signaling (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the UE declares cell detection (i.e., the node establishes a communication with the UE based on the indication signaling (the PCI)).
Abedini does not explicitly disclose the indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities, at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities (Kim: ¶ 772 - ¶ 777; wherein in order to indicate to the UE whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices (i.e., a device with specific capabilities) or not before receiving MIB of the UE, the cell may use an LTE PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and/or SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal. Accordingly, the sMTC device is able to find out whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices or not and whether an sMTC-only operation is permitted in the corresponding cell, based on the received cell access-related information).Therefore, indication signaling is sent to the UE using the PSS and/or SSS to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities such as sMTC devices.), at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal (Kim: ¶ 774; wherein a cell may transmit cell access-related information to a UE by using a PSS and/or SSS. Therefore, the cell access-related information (i.e., indication signaling to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities) is sent to the UE using at least a portion of time and frequency resources of the PSS and/or SSS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indication signaling teachings of Kim into the invention of Abedini in order to ensure effective supporting of cell access from a terminal with specific capabilities in a wireless communication system (Kim: ¶ 9-12).
Regarding claim 25, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the first system information message is a Master Information Block, MIB (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the PBCH comprises master information block (MIB) (i.e., the first system information message)).
Regarding claim 41, Abedini teaches a wireless device configured for operation in a radio access network (Abedini: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9, ¶ 24; UE 104, or 350, or 404, or 702), the wireless device comprising processing circuitry (Abedini: Fig. 10, ¶ 84; processing system 1014) configured to:
detect first synchronization signaling block (SSB) of a first cell on first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36, Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 708, the UE performs a PSS (primary synchronization signal, (i.e., first synchronization signaling of a first cell)) search on a first frequency raster (i.e., first time and frequency resources) from a group of frequency rasters). Thus, when the UE performs a PSS search, and the PSS is comprised within an SSB (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB)), the detection of the PSS is a detection of the SSB), the first SSB comprising at least a first synchronization signal, a second synchronization signal (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 709, the UE performs a search for SSS (secondary synchronization signal (i.e., a second synchronization signal)) / additional PSS on the same frequency raster and upon detecting the PSS and SSS successfully, the UE declares a cell detection on the corresponding frequency raster. Therefore, since the detection of the SSS confirms that the UE correctly detected the PSS according to the PSS hypothesis, then the first synchronization signal comprises a first (PSS) and a second (SSS) synchronization signal) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB));
detect indication signaling on second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 710, the UE performs a search for SS (synchronization signal (wherein the SS block comprises the physical cell identifier (PCI) which is an indication signaling, ¶ 36)) on a second frequency raster (i.e., second time and frequency resources)), the second time and frequency resources being derived based on the first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the search performed at step 710 is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster (i.e., the second frequency raster is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster)); and
when the indication signaling is detected on the second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the UE declares cell detection (i.e., since the UE declares cell detection, therefore, it must have detected the indication signaling on the second time and frequency resources)):
decoding a first system information message on the PBCH of the first cell (Abedini: ¶ 60; wherein the UE declaring cell detection is after decoding physical broadcast channel (PBCH)), the first system information message indicating time and frequency resources of a first resource set (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the PBCH comprises master information block (MIB) (i.e., the first system information message), which are grouped with the primary synchronization channel (PSCH) (which carries PSS that is used by the UE to determine subframe/symbol timing and physical layer identity) and secondary synchronization channel (SSCH) (which carries SSS that the UE uses to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing) to form an SS block (i.e., a signaling block that comprises the PCI (indication signaling)) and the first resource set is one of the 2, or 4, or 8 resource block (RB) pairs which are configured for the UE).
Therefore, when the UE detects the SS (comprising the PCI (indication signal)), it is able to access a first cell which entails the UE decoding the PBCH. The PBCH is paired with time and frequency resources (PSCH and SSCH), which individually and/or combined comprise system information, and all together the PBCH, PSCH and SSCH make up the SS block, needed for establishing cell connectivity.
Abedini does not explicitly disclose the indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities, at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities (Kim: ¶ 772 - ¶ 777; wherein in order to indicate to the UE whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices (i.e., a device with specific capabilities) or not before receiving MIB of the UE, the cell may use an LTE PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and/or SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal. Accordingly, the sMTC device is able to find out whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices or not and whether an sMTC-only operation is permitted in the corresponding cell, based on the received cell access-related information).Therefore, indication signaling is sent to the UE using the PSS and/or SSS to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities such as sMTC devices.), at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal (Kim: ¶ 774; wherein a cell may transmit cell access-related information to a UE by using a PSS and/or SSS. Therefore, the cell access-related information (i.e., indication signaling to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities) is sent to the UE using at least a portion of time and frequency resources of the PSS and/or SSS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indication signaling teachings of Kim into the invention of Abedini in order to ensure effective supporting of cell access from a terminal with specific capabilities in a wireless communication system (Kim: ¶ 9-12).
Regarding claim 45, Abedini teaches a network node configured for operation in a radio access network (Abedini: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9, ¶ 30; gNodeB (gNB)180, or 310, or 402, or 704, or 950), the network node comprising processing circuitry (Abedini: Fig. 10, ¶ 84; processing system 1014) configured to:
transmit first synchronization signaling block (SSB) on first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36, Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the base station 704 (gNB) transmits a PSS 706 to UE and at step 708, the UE performs a PSS (primary synchronization signal, (i.e., first synchronization signaling of a first cell)) search on a first frequency raster (i.e., first time and frequency resources) from a group of frequency rasters). Thus, when the UE performs a PSS search, and the PSS is comprised within an SSB (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB)), the detection of the PSS is a detection of the SSB), the first SSB comprising at least a first synchronization signal, a second synchronization signal (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein at step 709, the UE performs a search for SSS (secondary synchronization signal (i.e., a second synchronization signal)) / additional PSS on the same frequency raster and upon detecting the PSS and SSS successfully, the UE declares a cell detection on the corresponding frequency raster. Therefore, since the detection of the SSS confirms that the UE correctly detected the PSS according to the PSS hypothesis, then the first synchronization signal comprises a first (PSS) and a second (SSS) synchronization signal), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), is logically grouped with the PSCH (i.e., which carries PSS) and SSCH (i.e., which carries SSS) to form a synchronization signal (SS) block (i.e., SSB));
transmit indication signaling on second time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the base station transmits SS to UE and at step 710, the UE performs a search for SS (synchronization signal (wherein the SS block comprises the physical cell identifier (PCI) which is an indication signaling, ¶ 36)) on a second frequency raster (i.e., second time and frequency resources)), the second time and frequency resources being derived based on the first time and frequency resources (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the search performed at step 710 is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster (i.e., the second frequency raster is based at least in part on the PSS on the first frequency raster));
transmit a first system information message on the PBCH, the first system information message indicating time and frequency resources of a first resource set (Abedini: Fig. 2B, ¶ 36; wherein the base station transmits PBCH which comprises master information block (MIB) (i.e., the first system information message), which are grouped with the primary synchronization channel (PSCH) (which carries PSS that is used by the UE to determine subframe/symbol timing and physical layer identity) and secondary synchronization channel (SSCH) (which carries SSS that the UE uses to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing) to form an SS block (i.e., a signaling block that comprises the PCI (indication signaling)) and the first resource set is one of the 2, or 4, or 8 resource block (RB) pairs which are configured for the UE); and
communicate with a wireless device based on the transmitted indication signaling (Abedini: Fig. 7, ¶ 59 - ¶ 60; wherein the UE declares cell detection (i.e., the node establishes a communication with the UE based on the indication signaling (the PCI)).
Abedini does not explicitly disclose the indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities, at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches indication signaling indicating to the wireless device whether the first cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities (Kim: ¶ 772 - ¶ 777; wherein in order to indicate to the UE whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices (i.e., a device with specific capabilities) or not before receiving MIB of the UE, the cell may use an LTE PSS (Primary Synchronization Signal) and/or SSS (Secondary Synchronization Signal. Accordingly, the sMTC device is able to find out whether the corresponding cell supports sMTC devices or not and whether an sMTC-only operation is permitted in the corresponding cell, based on the received cell access-related information).Therefore, indication signaling is sent to the UE using the PSS and/or SSS to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities such as sMTC devices.), at least a portion of second time and frequency resources of the indication signaling being within the first time and frequency resources of the first synchronization signal (Kim: ¶ 774; wherein a cell may transmit cell access-related information to a UE by using a PSS and/or SSS. Therefore, the cell access-related information (i.e., indication signaling to indicate to the UE whether the cell supports wireless devices with specific capabilities) is sent to the UE using at least a portion of time and frequency resources of the PSS and/or SSS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indication signaling teachings of Kim into the invention of Abedini in order to ensure effective supporting of cell access from a terminal with specific capabilities in a wireless communication system (Kim: ¶ 9-12).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al., and Kim et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luo et al. [WO 2021034724 A1] hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 6, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
Abedini in view of Kim teaches the physical cell identifier (PCI) which is an indication signaling, however Abedini in view of Kim does not specifically teach estimating a signal quality of the first cell based on the indication signaling.
Referring to the invention of Luo, Luo teaches estimating a signal quality of the first cell based on the indication signaling (Luo: ¶ 177; wherein the signal quality component 725 may measure a signal quality of a signal from the cell associated with the first cell identifier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined inventions of Abedini and Kim to include the cell/signal quality being measured or estimated based on the cell identifier as taught by Luo, in order for resolving latency involved in an integrated access and backhaul (LAB) network when a physical cell identifier (PCI) associated with a serving cell changes (Luo: ¶ 5).
Thus, it would be obvious to combine the signal quality measurement associated with the cell identifier as taught by Luo, with the indication signaling being the physical cell identifier (PCI) as taught by the combined invention of Abedini and Kim in order to ensure proper cell connectivity. Therefore, the claim limitation “estimating a signal quality of the first cell based on the indication signaling” will obviously be met.
Claims 16 – 17 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al., and Kim et al., as applied to claims 1 and 22 above, and further in view of Bergman et al. [US PG PUB 20160360551] hereinafter Bergman.
Regarding claim 16 (as best understood), Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1, the first resource set, and accessing the first cell.
Abedini in view of Kim does not specifically teach wherein the method includes receiving an extended system information message, a first control channel, a second control channel, and a first system information block, the first control channel being associated with a subset of the time and frequency resources, the second control channel being associated with a second resource set, wherein accessing the first cell further comprises at least one of:
decoding the extended system information message, wherein the extended system information message carries information specific for wireless devices with the specific capabilities, the specific capabilities including reduced bandwidth;
decoding the first control channel in at least the subset of the time and frequency resources of the first resource set, wherein the subset of the time and frequency resources is derived based on the time and frequency resources of the first resource set;
decoding the second control channel in the second resource set, wherein the time and frequency resources of the second resource set are derived based on the time and frequency resources of the first resource set;
decoding the first system information block based on the first control channel or the second control channel, wherein the first system information block carries information specific for wireless devices with the specific capabilities, the specific capabilities including reduced bandwidth.
Referring to the invention of Bergman, Bergman teaches wherein the method includes receiving an extended system information message (Bergman: ¶ 17 and ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., a first system information block), the system information block comprising information (i.e., an extended system information message)), a first control channel (Bergman: ¶ 20; wherein the time-domain configuration includes a number of repetitions of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the first iteration is a first control channel), a second control channel (Bergman: ¶ 20; wherein the time-domain configuration includes a number of repetitions of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the second iteration is a second control channel), and a first system information block (Bergman: ¶ 17 and ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., a first system information block)), the first control channel being associated with a subset of the time and frequency resources (Bergman: ¶ 19 and ¶ 20; wherein the SIB includes information related to the frequency-domain configuration and the time-domain configuration of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the first control channel is associated with the time and frequency resources available in the first iteration, and the specific resource (i.e., time or frequency resource) needed for the first PDCCH is a subset of the available time and frequency resources), the second control channel being associated with a second resource set (Bergman: ¶ 19 and ¶ 20; wherein the SIB includes information related to the frequency-domain configuration and the time-domain configuration of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the second control channel is associated with the time and frequency resources available in the second iteration (i.e., a second resource set)), and wherein accessing the first cell comprises decoding the first system information block based on the first control channel or the second control channel, wherein the first system information block carries information specific for wireless devices with the specific capabilities, the specific capabilities including reduced bandwidth (Bergman: ¶ 17 - ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., the first system information block) which is configured for UEs having said limited UE bandwidth (i.e., wireless devices with specific capabilities including reduced bandwidth), the system information block comprising information related to a configuration of a common search space of a physical control channel for UEs having said limited UE bandwidth, as well as frequency-domain configuration and time-domain configuration that includes a number of repetitions of the PDCCH (i.e., the first control channel and the second control channel)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access of a first cell teachings of Abedini and Kim, to include decoding SIB specific for reduced bandwidth devices teachings of Bergman in order to allow UEs having a limited (e.g., reduced) bandwidth, such as low-complexity UEs (e.g., Rel-13 MTC devices), to operate in a legacy LTE system with maintained, or improved, performance (Bergman: ¶ 61).
Regarding claim 17 (as best understood), Abedini in view of Kim, and Bergman teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the extended system information message is decoded on time and frequency resources which are derived based on one or both of:
time and frequency resources of the first resource set; and
the first time and frequency resources (Bergman: ¶ 17 and ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., a first system information block), the system information block comprising information (i.e., an extended system information message) and wherein the information is related to the frequency-domain configuration and the time-domain configuration of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the extended system information message is decoded on time and frequency resources which are derived based on a first time and frequency resources).
Regarding claim 33, Abedini in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 22.
Abedini in view of Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises transmitting an extended system information message, a first control channel, a second control channel, and a first system information block, the first control channel being associated with a subset of the time and frequency resources of the first resource set, the second control channel being associated with a second resource set and at least one of:
the extended system information message carries information specific for wireless devices with the specific capabilities, the specific capabilities including reduced bandwidth;
the first control channel is transmitted in at least the subset of the time and frequency resources of the first resource set, wherein the subset of the time and frequency resources is derived based on the time and frequency resources of the first resource set;
the second control channel is transmitted in the second resource set, wherein the time and frequency resources of the second resource set are derived based on the time and frequency resources of the first resource set; and
time and frequency resources on which the first system information block is transmitted are indicated by the first control channel or the second control channel, and wherein the first system information block carries information specific for wireless devices with reduced bandwidth.
Referring to the invention of Bergman, Bergman teaches transmitting an extended system information message(Bergman: ¶ 17 and ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., a first system information block), the system information block comprising information (i.e., an extended system information message)), a first control channel (Bergman: ¶ 20; wherein the time-domain configuration includes a number of repetitions of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the first iteration is a first control channel), a second control channel (Bergman: ¶ 20; wherein the time-domain configuration includes a number of repetitions of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the second iteration is a second control channel), and a first system information block (Bergman: ¶ 17 and ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., a first system information block)), the first control channel being associated with a subset of the time and frequency resources (Bergman: ¶ 19 and ¶ 20; wherein the SIB includes information related to the frequency-domain configuration and the time-domain configuration of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the first control channel is associated with the time and frequency resources available in the first iteration, and the specific resource (i.e., time or frequency resource) needed for the first PDCCH is a subset of the available time and frequency resources), the second control channel being associated with a second resource set (Bergman: ¶ 19 and ¶ 20; wherein the SIB includes information related to the frequency-domain configuration and the time-domain configuration of the physical downlink control channel. Thus, the second control channel is associated with the time and frequency resources available in the second iteration (i.e., a second resource set)), and time and frequency resources on which the first system information block is transmitted are indicated by the first control channel or the second control channel, and wherein the first system information block carries information specific for wireless devices with reduced bandwidth (Bergman: ¶ 17 and ¶ 24; wherein a UE receives (i.e., decodes), from a network node, a system information block (i.e., the first system information block) which is configured for UEs having said limited UE bandwidth (i.e., wireless devices with reduced bandwidth), the system information block comprising information related to a configuration of a common search space of a physical control channel for UEs having said limited UE bandwidth, as well as frequency-domain configuration and time-domain configuration that includes a number of repetitions of the PDCCH (i.e., the first control channel and the second control channel)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access of a first cell teachings of Abedini and Kim, to include decoding SIB specific for reduced bandwidth devices teachings of Bergman in order to allow UEs having a limited (e.g., reduced) bandwidth, such as low-complexity UEs (e.g., Rel-13 MTC devices), to operate in a legacy LTE system with maintained, or improved, performance (Bergman: ¶ 61).
Claims 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al., Kim et al., and Bergman et al., as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kuang et al. [US PG PUB 20200128585] hereinafter Kuang.
Regarding claim 18, Abedini in view of Kim and Bergman teaches the method of claim 16.
Abedini in view of Kim and Bergman do not explicitly teach wherein the time and frequency resources of the subset of the first resource set has a narrower bandwidth than a bandwidth of the time and frequency resources of the first resource set.
Referring to the invention of Kuang, Kuang teaches wherein the time and frequency resources of the subset of the first resource set has a narrower bandwidth than a bandwidth of the time and frequency resources of the first resource set (Kuang: ¶ 59; wherein the frequency range (bandwidth) of a first control resource set is narrower than the frequency range (bandwidth) of a second control resource set. Thus, when a subset of the first resource set is selected, the frequency resources of the subset will have a narrower bandwidth than the bandwidth of the entire time and frequency resources of the first resource set).
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the frequency bandwidth teachings of the Kuang invention into the frequency resource teachings of the combined Abedini, Kim, and Bergman inventions in order to enable the UEs with different capabilities to access the control resource sets, reducing the UE power consumption and the like (Kuang: ¶ 59).
Regarding claim 19, Abedini in view of Kim and Bergman teaches the method of claim 16.
Abedini in view of Kim and Bergman do not explicitly teach wherein the time and frequency resources of the second resource set