Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7 - 9, 13, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi et al (EP 1,742,171 A1, hereinafter Hiroshi)
With respect to claim 1, Hiroshi discloses an IC chip mounting apparatus (e.g. 2 of Fig. 3) comprising: an ejection unit (e.g. 25) configured to eject an adhesive toward a reference position of each antenna of an antenna continuous body (e.g. 21a), the antenna continuous body having a base material (e.g. 21) and plural inlay antennas continuously formed on the base material (e.g. Para 0082);
Hiroshi Fig. 3 does not explicitly discloses a nozzle movable between a first position and a second position, the nozzle being configured to suck an IC chip, when located at the first position, and to place the IC chip on the adhesive at the reference position of each antenna, when located at the second position; a processor determination unit configured to determine whether an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle while the nozzle is moved from the first position to the second position; and a moving machine configured to move the nozzle away from the second position when it is determined by the processor determination unit that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle.
In an analogous art, Fig. 5 and associated text discloses a nozzle (e.g. 31) movable between a first position and a second position (e.g. as shown in Fig.5), the nozzle being configured to suck an IC chip, when located at the first position, and to place the IC chip on the adhesive at the reference position of each antenna, when located at the second position (e.g. Para 0154); a processor determination unit configured to determine whether an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle while the nozzle is moved from the first position to the second position (Para 0295); and a moving machine (e.g. 30 of Fig.5) configured to move the nozzle away from the second position when it is determined by the processor determination unit that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Fig. 5 disclosure such that sheet with IC tags at a low cost is achieved (e.g. Para 0012).
With respect to claim 2, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an image acquisition unit configured to acquire an image of the nozzle when the nozzle is located at a position between the first position and the second position, wherein the processor determination unit is configured to determine whether the IC chip is sucked by the nozzle, based on the image acquired by the image acquisition unit (e.g. Para 0179 …... image).
With respect to claim 3, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a conveyor configured to convey the antenna continuous body on a conveying surface; a nozzle attachment to which the nozzle is attached; and a rotating unit configured to rotate the nozzle attachment, such that the nozzle moves along a circular track on a surface orthogonal to the conveying surface, and a moving direction of the nozzle at the second position matches a conveying direction of the antenna continuous body (e.g. 30 of Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 8, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting method according to claim 7, further comprising acquiring an image of the nozzle when the nozzle is located at a position between the first position and the second position and wherein the determining whether an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle is performed based on the acquired image (e.g. Para 0179 …... image).
With respect to claim 9, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting method according to claim 7 or 8, further comprising: conveying the antenna continuous body on a conveying surface; and rotating a nozzle attachment to which the nozzle is attached, such that (i) the nozzle moves along circular track on a surface orthogonal to the conveying surface, along a circular track, and (ii) a moving direction of the nozzle at the second position matches a conveying direction of the antenna continuous body (e.g. 30 of Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 13, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: a conveyor configured to convey the antenna continuous body on a conveying surface; a nozzle attachment to which the nozzle is attached; and a rotating unit configured to rotate the nozzle attachment, such that (i) the nozzle moves along a circular track on a surface orthogonal to the conveying surface, and (ii) a moving direction of the nozzle at the second position matches a conveying direction of the antenna continuous body (e.g. 30 of Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 16, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting method according to claim 8, further comprising: conveying the antenna continuous body on a conveying surface; and rotating a nozzle attachment to which the nozzle is attached, such that the nozzle moves, on a surface orthogonal to the conveying surface, along a circular track, and a moving direction of the nozzle at the second position matches a conveying direction of the antenna continuous body (e.g. 30 of Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 7, Hiroshi discloses IC chip mounting method comprising:
ejecting, by a dispenser (e.g. 25 of Fig. 3), an adhesive toward a reference position of each antenna of an antenna continuous body (e.g. 21a), the antenna continuous body having a base material (e.g. 21) and plural inlay antennas continuously formed on the base material (e.g. Para 0082); sucking an IC chip, by a nozzle (e.g. 31), when the nozzle is located at a first position.
Hiroshi does not explicitly disclose the nozzle movable between the first position and a second position; determining whether performing a sucking operation for sucking an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle while the nozzle is moved from the first position to the second position; if it is determined that an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle, placing the IC chip by the nozzle on the adhesive at the reference position of each antenna when the nozzle is located at the second position; if it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle, moving the nozzle away from the second position.
In an analogous art, Fig. 5 discloses the nozzle movable between the first position and a second position (e.g. as shown in Fig.5); determining whether an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle while the nozzle is moved from the first position to the second position (e.g. Para 0154); if it is determined that the IC chip is sucked by the nozzle, placing the IC chip by the nozzle on the adhesive at the reference position of a respective antenna when the nozzle is located at the second position; if it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle, moving the nozzle away from the second position (e.g. Para 0117, 0176 - 0178).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Fig. 3 disclosure such that sheet with IC tags at a low cost is achieved (e.g. Para 0012).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues as follows:
Examiner respectfully submits the following:
Hiroshi discloses a processor determination unit configured to determine whether an IC chip is sucked by the nozzle while the nozzle is moved from the first position to the second position (Para 0295); and a moving machine (e.g. 30 of Fig.5) configured to move the nozzle away from the second position when it is determined by the processor determination unit that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle.
Pickup nozzle movement or vertical is with respect to 21a and vertical movement constitute “moving away” from sheet 21a.
Therefore, rejection of the claim 1 maintained.
Allowable Claim(s)
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the steps of claim 19, specifically, steps of claim 19, “performing a sucking operation for sucking an IC chip, by a nozzle, when the nozzle is located at a sucking position; determining whether the IC chip is sucked by the nozzle;
if it is determined that the IC chip is sucked by the nozzle, placing the IC chip by the nozzle on the adhesive at the reference position of a respective antenna when the nozzle is located at a placing position;
if it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle, moving the nozzle to a position that is neither a sucking position or a placing position” in view of all other limitations of claim 19.
Claim Objection
Claims 4 – 6 & 10 - 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14 – 15 & 17 - 18 are allowed by virtue of dependency on claims 4 – 6 & 10 – 12 respectively.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 4, Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “wherein the moving machine moves the nozzle attachment in a width direction of the antenna continuous body, when it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle.”
With respect to claim 5, Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “wherein the moving machine moves the nozzle toward a rotation center of the rotating unit, when it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle.”
With respect to claim 6, Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “wherein a plurality of the nozzle is attached to the nozzle attachment, wherein the processor determination unit is configured to determine whether an IC chip is sucked by each nozzle, and wherein the moving machine moves a nozzle that is determined as not sucking an IC chip, among the plurality of the nozzle”.
With respect to claim 10, Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “wherein, if it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle, the moving the nozzle is performed by moving the nozzle attachment in the width direction of the antenna continuous body.”
With respect to claim 11, Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “wherein, if it is determined that an IC chip is not sucked by the nozzle, the moving the nozzle is performed by moving the nozzle toward a rotation center in moving the nozzle from the first position to the second position.”
With respect to claim 12, Prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “further comprising rotating the nozzle attachment to which a plurality of the nozzle is attached, wherein the determining includes determining whether an IC chip is sucked by each nozzle; and wherein the moving the nozzle includes moving a nozzle that is determined as not sucking an IC chip, among the plurality of the nozzle.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899