DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination
(RCE) filed on 12/23/2025. Claims 27-31, 35-37, 39-44, 46, 48, and 50 are now pending in the present application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 36, 40, 48, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20190254110 A1) hereinafter He, in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20200145921 A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 27, He discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 3: PROCESSOR 340); and
at least one memory (FIG. 3: MEMORY 360) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to perform at least the following:
where first occasions for receiving wake-up signaling (WUS) from a wireless
network are configured for triggering an access to the wireless network, ([0106] “UE data typically arrives in bursts and a UE may be in idle or inactive mode most of time. […] The UE wakes up in each configured DRX cycle to detect if there is a paging indication in idle mode […] [0187] If the UE receives an indication from the WUS (equivalent to “first occasions”) that there is only uplink transmission in the following DRX cycle, the PDSCH core, and most of the hardware accelerators (LDPC decoder, MIMO decoder, and so on) can stay in sleep mode. [0360] a WUS transmission is on a NR cell (WUS cell) and serves as to wake up a UE for cells of both NR gNBs associated with the WUS cell for the purposes of waking up the UE for the next DRX ON period. One efficient UE power saving mechanism known as the UE wakeup mechanism is to trigger the UE for network access from power efficient mode when data arrives in IDLE, CONNECTED and INACTIVE states. […] a network can indicate to the UE to switch from the “network access” mode to the power efficient mode when there is no traffic to deliver”).
However, He does not disclose, and second occasions are configured for triggering system information acquisition, determining, in a radio resource control inactive state, that information comprising the WUS has been received from the wireless network in the first occasion for triggering the access to the wireless network; and triggering, based on the receiving the information comprising the WUS in the first occasion, the access to the wireless network.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHANG discloses, and second occasions are configured for triggering system information acquisition, ([0084] “the UE may check whether the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met (step 807). If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (equivalent to “information acquisition”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.),”),
determining, in a radio resource control inactive state, that information comprising the WUS has been received from the wireless network in the first occasion for triggering the access to the wireless network, ([0010] “[…] The wireless communications device may determine whether the received wake-up signal indicates a wake-up or a non-wake-up condition. [0101] […] the UE may monitor the IDLE INACTIVE WUS in the RRC_IDLE state or in the RRC_INACTIVE state. [0082] The UE may wait until the next configured WUS time window and then wake up the WUS receiver to detect a WUS during the next configured WUS time window (step 802). The UE may then determine whether the WUS indicates a wake-up (step 803). The UE may take different actions depending on the received WUS. [0083] If the received WUS indicates “wake-up”, the UE may ramp-up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized before the beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 804). […] [0077] If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may wake up its main receiver and ramp up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized with gNB timing before the
beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 705)”);
and triggering, based on the receiving the information comprising the WUS in the first occasion, the access to the wireless network, ([0098] “[…] a UE may first use the cell specific WUS to decide whether the UE is under the coverage of a WUS and may therefore operate in WUS notification mode. Then, the UE may monitor the UE specific WUS or the UE group-based WUS to decide on whether to wake up and establish connection with the network. [0084] […] If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (equivalent to “receiving the information comprising the WUS”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.) (step 808). If the WUS carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.), the UE may wake up at the exact timing indicated by the SS/RS information carried in the received WUS to detect and process SS/CSI-RS and/or other DL signals of its serving cell to obtain DL timing/frequency synchronization and perform beam pair link management or beam correspondence (step 809). […] If received signal quality of neighboring cell is better than the current serving cell, then the process to handover (equivalent to triggering “the access”) to the detected target cell may be initiated”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) to incorporate the received WUS, disclosed by ZHANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may continue monitoring the paging occasion while in enhancing battery life (IDLE mode), ZHANG ([0084], [0010], [0101], [0098]).
Regarding claim 36, He discloses an apparatus in a wireless network, comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 2: PROCESSOR 225); and
at least one memory (FIG. 2: MEMORY 230) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to perform at least the following:
where first occasions for transmitting wake-up signaling (WUS) are configured for triggering an access by a user equipment to the wireless network, ([0106] “UE data typically arrives in bursts and a UE may be in idle or inactive mode most of time. […] The UE wakes up in each configured DRX cycle to detect if there is a paging indication in idle mode […] ([0187] If the UE receives an indication from the WUS (equivalent to “first occasions”) that there is only uplink transmission in the following DRX cycle, the PDSCH core, and most of the hardware accelerators (LDPC decoder, MIMO decoder, and so on) can stay in sleep mode. [0360] a WUS transmission is on a NR cell (WUS cell) and serves as to wake up a UE for cells of both NR gNBs associated with the WUS cell for the purposes of waking up the UE for the next DRX ON period. One efficient UE power saving mechanism known as the UE wakeup mechanism is to trigger the UE for network access from power efficient mode when data arrives in IDLE, CONNECTED and INACTIVE states. […] a network can indicate to the UE to switch from the “network access” mode to the power efficient mode when there is no traffic to deliver”).
However, He does not disclose, and second occasions are configured for triggering system information acquisition by the user equipment, determining information comprising the WUS meant for the user equipment, which is in a radio resource control inactive state, should be sent in the first occasion configured for triggering the user equipment to perform the access to the wireless network; sending, toward the user equipment, the information comprising the WUS in the first occasion to trigger the user equipment to perform the access to the wireless network; and receiving, in response to sending the information triggering the WUS in the first occasion, an access from the user equipment to the wireless network.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHANG discloses, and second occasions are configured for triggering system information acquisition by the user equipment, ([0084] “the UE may check whether the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met (step 807). If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (“equivalent to “information acquisition”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.),”), determining information comprising the WUS meant for the user equipment, which is in a radio resource control inactive state, should be sent in the first occasion configured for triggering the user equipment to perform the access to the wireless network, , ([0010] “[…] The wireless communications device may determine whether the received wake-up signal indicates a wake-up or a non-wake-up condition. [0101] […] the UE may monitor the IDLE INACTIVE WUS in the RRC_IDLE state or in the RRC_INACTIVE state. [0082] The UE may wait until the next configured WUS time window and then wake up the WUS receiver to detect a WUS during the next configured WUS time window (step 802). The UE may then determine whether the WUS indicates a wake-up (step 803). The UE may take different actions depending on the received WUS. [0083] If the received WUS indicates “wake-up”, the UE may ramp-up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized before the beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 804). […] [0077] If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may wake up its main receiver and ramp up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized with gNB timing before the beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 705)”);
sending, toward the user equipment, the information comprising the WUS in the first occasion to trigger the user equipment to perform the access to the wireless network; and receiving, in response to sending the information triggering the WUS in the first occasion, an access from the user equipment to the wireless network, ([0098] “[…] a UE may first use the cell specific WUS to decide whether the UE is under the coverage of a WUS and may therefore operate in WUS notification mode. Then, the UE may monitor the UE specific WUS or the UE group-based WUS to decide on whether to wake up and establish connection with the network. [0084] […] If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (equivalent to “receiving the information comprising the WUS”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.) (step 808). If the WUS carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.), the UE may wake up at the exact timing indicated by the SS/RS information carried in the received WUS to detect and process SS/CSI-RS and/or other DL signals of its serving cell to obtain DL timing/frequency synchronization and perform beam pair link management or beam correspondence (step 809). […] If received signal quality of neighboring cell is better than the current serving cell, then the process to handover (equivalent to triggering “the access”) to the detected target cell may be initiated”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) to incorporate the received WUS, disclosed by ZHANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may continue monitoring the paging occasion while in enhancing battery life (IDLE mode), ZHANG ([0084], [0010], [0101], [0098]).
Regarding claim 40, He discloses a method, comprising:
where first occasions for receiving wake-up signaling (WUS) from a wireless network are configured for triggering an access to the wireless network, ([0106] “UE data typically arrives in bursts and a UE may be in idle or inactive mode most of time. […] The UE wakes up in each
configured DRX cycle to detect if there is a paging indication
in idle mode […] ([0187] If the UE receives an indication from the WUS (equivalent to “first occasions”) that there is only uplink transmission in the following DRX cycle, the PDSCH core, and most of the hardware accelerators (LDPC decoder, MIMO decoder, and so on) can stay in sleep mode. [0360] a WUS transmission is on a NR cell (WUS cell) and serves as to wake up a UE for cells of both NR gNBs associated with the WUS cell for the purposes of waking up the UE for the next DRX ON period. One efficient UE power saving mechanism known as the UE wakeup mechanism is to trigger the UE for network access from power efficient mode when data arrives in IDLE, CONNECTED and INACTIVE states. […] a network can indicate to the UE to switch from the “network access” mode to the power efficient mode when there is no traffic to deliver”).
However, He does not disclose, and second occasions are configured for triggering system information acquisition, determining, by a user equipment in a radio resource control inactive state, that information comprising the WUS has been received from the wireless network in the first occasion triggering the access to the wireless network; and triggering, by the user equipment and based on the receiving the information comprising the WUS in the first occasion, the access to the wireless network.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHANG discloses and second occasions are configured for triggering system information acquisition, ([0084] “the UE may check whether the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met (step 807). If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (“equivalent to “information acquisition”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.),”), determining, by a user equipment in a radio resource control inactive state, that information comprising the WUS has been received from the wireless network in the first occasion triggering the access to the wireless network, ([0010] “[…] The wireless communications device may determine whether the received wake-up signal indicates a wake-up or a non-wake-up condition. [0101] […] the UE may monitor the IDLE INACTIVE WUS in the RRC_IDLE state or in the RRC_INACTIVE state. [0082] The UE may wait until the next configured WUS time window and then wake up the WUS receiver to detect a WUS during the next configured WUS time window (step 802). The UE may then determine whether the WUS indicates a wake-up (step 803). The UE may take different actions depending on the received WUS. [0083] If the received WUS indicates “wake-up”, the UE may ramp-up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized before the beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 804). […] [0077] If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may wake up its main receiver and ramp up its main receiver and get timing and frequency synchronized with gNB timing before the beginning of the DRX on duration in the DRX cycle (step 705)”); and triggering, by the user equipment and based on the receiving the information comprising the WUS in the first occasion, the access to the wireless network, ([0098] “[…] a UE may first use the cell specific WUS to decide whether the UE is under the coverage of a WUS and may therefore operate in WUS notification mode. Then, the UE may monitor the UE specific WUS or the UE group-based WUS to decide on whether to wake up and establish connection with the network. [0084] […] If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (equivalent to “receiving the information comprising the WUS”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.) (step 808). If the WUS carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.), the UE may wake up at the exact timing indicated by the SS/RS information carried in the received WUS to detect and process SS/CSI-RS and/or other DL signals of its serving cell to obtain DL timing/frequency synchronization and perform beam pair link management or beam correspondence (step 809). […] If received signal quality of neighboring cell is better than the current serving cell, then the process to handover (equivalent to triggering “the access”) to the detected target cell may be initiated”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) to incorporate the received WUS, disclosed by ZHANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may continue monitoring the paging occasion while in enhancing battery life (IDLE
mode), ZHANG ([0084], [0010], [0101], [0098]).
Regarding claim 48, as applied to claim 27 above, ZHANG as included in one of
the references further discloses wherein the second occasion assigned is configured for the user equipment to trigger the system information acquisition at least by performing physical downlink control channel monitoring for paging, ([0003], [0078] “[…] a UE monitors the PDCCH for a grant. Whenever a grant is received 191, the UE starts an Inactive Timer. The UE keeps monitoring the PDCCH 195 until the Inactivity Timer expires 197. [0117] The UE may report a reachability event R1 or event R2 in response to paging from the network. […] the UE may report a reachability event R1 or event R2 when there is a change of tracking area or during an NR RAN notification area update (e.g. when the RAN notification area (aka RAN paging area in support of RRC_INACTIVE state) changes)”) [0084] the UE may check whether the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met (step 807). If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (“equivalent to “information acquisition”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.)”),
wherein the first occasion is one of a plurality of first occasions, and wherein the apparatus, while in the radio resource control inactive state, monitors the first occasion and skips at least one second occasion, ([0100] “The gNB may also configure a UE with a WUS that is valid only for inactive mode operation. […] a UE may only monitor this WUS in the RRC_INACTIVE state […] [0098] […] the UE may monitor the UE specific WUS or the UE group-based WUS to decide on whether to wake up and establish connection with the network. [0084] […] If received signal quality of neighboring cell is better than the current serving cell, then the process to handover to the detected target cell may be initiated. [0114], [0118]- [0122], [0078] “The UE may detect NR-PDCCH (essentially, “the second occasion” to trigger… is performed by performing PDCCH monitoring; thus, as asserted herein, this step is jumped) during the DRX on duration and follow the regular DRX procedures (if forced wake-up criteria has been previously met, this step may be skipped since the received WUS already indicates that no NR-PDCCH will be received by the UE) (step 706)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) to incorporate the received WUS, disclosed by ZHANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may continue monitoring the paging occasion while in enhancing battery life (INACTIVE state), ZHANG ([0098], [0084], [0078]).
Regarding claim 50, as applied to claim 40 above, ZHANG as included in one of the references further discloses wherein the second occasion assigned is configured for the user equipment trigger the system information acquisition at least by performing physical downlink control channel monitoring for paging, ([0003], [0078] “[…] a UE monitors the PDCCH for a grant. Whenever a grant is received 191, the UE starts an Inactive Timer. The UE keeps monitoring the PDCCH 195 until the Inactivity Timer expires 197. [0117] The UE may report a reachability event R1 or event R2 in response to paging from the network. […] the UE may report a reachability event R1 or event R2 when there is a change of tracking area or during an NR RAN notification area update (e.g. when the RAN notification area (aka RAN paging area in support of RRC_INACTIVE state) changes)”) [0084] the UE may check whether the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met (step 807). If the triggering criteria of forced wake-up is met, the UE may check if received WUS (“equivalent to “information acquisition”) carries SS/RS information (timing and etc.)”), wherein the first occasion is one of a plurality of first occasions, and wherein the user equipment, while in the radio resource control inactive state, monitors the first occasion and skips at least one second occasion, ([0100] “The gNB may also configure a UE with a WUS that is valid only for inactive mode operation. […] a UE may only monitor this WUS in the RRC_INACTIVE state […] [0098] […] the UE may monitor the UE specific WUS or the UE group-based WUS to decide on whether to wake up and establish connection with the network. [0084] […] If received signal quality of neighboring cell is better than the current serving cell, then the process to handover to the detected target cell may be initiated. [0114], [0118]-[0122], [0078] “The UE may detect NR-PDCCH (essentially, “the second occasion” to trigger… is performed by performing PDCCH monitoring; thus, as asserted herein this step is jumped) during the DRX on duration and follow the regular DRX procedures (if forced wake-up criteria has been previously met, this step may be skipped since the received WUS already indicates that no NR-PDCCH will
be received by the UE) (step 706)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) to incorporate the received WUS, disclosed by ZHANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE may continue monitoring the paging occasion while in enhancing battery life (INACTIVE state), ZHANG ([0098], [0084], [0078]).
Claims 28-31, 37, and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20190254110 A1) hereinafter He, in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20200145921 A1), hereinafter ZHANG, further in view of 3GPP TS 38.300 V16.0.0 (2019-12). 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; NR and NG-RAN Overall Description; Stage 2 (Release 16), hereinafter TS 38.300.
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 27 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggering access to the wireless network comprises sending a paging response from the apparatus toward the wireless network.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggering access to the wireless network comprises sending a paging response from the apparatus toward the wireless network, (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2); ("The UE is paged with the I-RNTI." and "If the UE has been successfully reached, it attempts to resume from RRC_INACTIVE, as described in clause 9.2.2.4.1." and "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI,
allocated by the last serving gNB”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2).
Regarding claim 29, as applied to claim 28 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggering the access creates a triggered access to the wireless network comprising one of the following: a radio resource control connection resume procedure; a radio resource control setup request procedure; or a system information acquisition procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggering the access creates a triggered access to the wireless network comprising one of the following: a radio resource control connection resume procedure; a radio resource control setup request procedure; or a system information acquisition procedure, (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2); ("The UE is paged with the I-RNTI." and "If the UE has been successfully reached, it attempts to resume from RRC_INACTIVE, as described in clause 9.2.2.4.1." and "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI, allocated by the last
serving gNB”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2).
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 29 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggered access to the wireless network is one of the radio resource control connection resume procedure or the radio resource control setup request procedure, and the sending the paging response from the apparatus toward the wireless network is performed at least via a random access procedure performed by the apparatus.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggered access to the wireless network is one of the radio resource control connection resume procedure or the radio resource control setup request procedure, and the sending the paging response from the apparatus toward the wireless network is performed at least via a random access procedure performed by the apparatus,(see (Fig. 9.2.2.4.1-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1, 9.2.6) ("The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB." and "The random-access procedure is triggered by a number of events: ... - Transition from RRC_INACTIVE").
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts and random-access procedure disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Fig. 9.2.2.4.1-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1, 9.2.6).
Regarding claim 31, as applied to claim 29 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggering the access to the wireless network further comprises triggering a state transition from the radio resource control inactive state to a radio resource control idle state followed by an access attempt by the apparatus using the radio resource control setup request procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggering the access to the wireless network further comprises triggering a state transition from the radio resource control inactive state to a radio resource control idle state followed by an access attempt by the apparatus using the radio resource control setup request procedure,(See Fig. 9.2.1.3-1, 9.2.2.5-3; sections 9.2.1.3, 9.2.2.5) "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI allocated by the last serving gNB and appropriate cause value, e.g., RAN notification area update." and "The gNB sends the RRCRelease which triggers the UE to move to RRC_IDLE." and "The UE requests to setup a new connection from RRC_IDLE").
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by
He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts and the UE requests to setup a new connection from RRC_IDLE, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and move to RRC_IDLE, TS 38.300 (See Fig.9.2.1.3-1, 9.2.2.5-3; sections 9.2.1.3, 9.2.2.5).
Regarding claim 37, as applied to claim 36 above, He as modified by ZHANG
does not disclose wherein the receiving the access from the user equipment to the wireless network comprises receiving a paging response from the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the receiving the access from the user equipment to the wireless network comprises receiving a paging response from the user equipment, (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2); ("The UE is paged with the I-RNTI." and "If the UE has been successfully reached, it attempts to resume from RRC_INACTIVE, as described in clause 9.2.2.4.1." and "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB").
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2).
Regarding claim 41, as applied to claim 40 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggering access to the wireless network comprises sending a paging response from the user equipment toward the wireless network.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggering access
to the wireless network comprises sending a paging response from the user equipment toward the wireless network, (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2), "The UE is paged with the I-RNTI." and "If the UE has been successfully reached, it attempts to resume from RRC_INACTIVE, as described in clause 9.2.2.4.1." and "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB").
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2).
Regarding claim 42, as applied to claim 41 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggering the access creates a triggered access to the wireless network comprising one of the following: a radio resource control connection resume procedure; a radio resource control setup request procedure; or a system information acquisition procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggering the
access creates a triggered access to the wireless network comprising one of the following: a radio resource control connection resume procedure; a radio resource control setup request procedure; or a system information acquisition procedure, (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2) "The UE is paged with the I-RNTI." and "If the UE has been successfully reached, it attempts to resume from RRC_INACTIVE, as described in clause 9.2.2.4.1." and "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB").
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Figs. 9.2.2.4.1-1, 9.2.2.4.2-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1 - 9.2.2.4.2).
Regarding claim 43, as applied to claim 42 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggered access to the wireless network is one of the radio resource control connection resume procedure or the radio resource control setup request procedure, and the sending the paging response from the user equipment toward the wireless network is performed at least via a random access procedure performed by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggered access
to the wireless network is one of the radio resource control connection resume procedure or the radio resource control setup request procedure, and the sending the paging response from the user equipment toward the wireless network is performed at least via a random access procedure performed by the user equipment, (See Fig. 9.2.2.4.1-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1, 9.2.6), "The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB." and "The random-access procedure is triggered by a number of events: ... - Transition from RRC_INACTIVE").
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts and random-access procedure disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and provide the I-RNTI, allocated by the last serving gNB, TS 38.300 (see Fig. 9.2.2.4.1-1; sections 9.2.2.4.1, 9.2.6).
Regarding claim 44, as applied to claim 42 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the triggering the access to the wireless network further comprises triggering a state transition from the radio resource control inactive state to a radio resource control idle state followed by an access attempt by the user equipment using the radio resource control setup request procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.300 discloses wherein the triggering the access to the wireless network further comprises triggering a state transition from the radio resource control inactive state to a radio resource control idle state followed by an access attempt by the user equipment using the radio resource control setup request procedure, (See Fig. 9.2.1.3-1, 9.2.2.5-3; sections 9.2.1.3, 9.2.2.5); ("The UE resumes from RRC_INACTIVE, providing the I-RNTI allocated by the last serving gNB and appropriate cause value, e.g., RAN notification area update." and "The gNB sends the RRCRelease which triggers the UE to move to RRC_IDLE." and
"The UE requests to setup a new connection from RRC_IDLE”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to incorporate the UE RRC_INACTIVE resume attempts and the UE requests to setup a new connection from RRC_IDLE, disclosed by TS 38.300. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to resume from RRC_INACTIVE and move to RRC_IDLE, TS 38.300 (See Fig.9.2.1.3-1, 9.2.2.5-3; sections 9.2.1.3, 9.2.2.5).
Claims 35, 39, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20190254110 A1) hereinafter He, in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20200145921 A1), hereinafter ZHANG, further in view of WANG et al. (US 20220225274 A1), hereinafter WANG.
Regarding claim 35, as applied to claim 27 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the information comprises one or more of the following: downlink control information; downlink control information including a wake-up indication; a certain downlink control information format; a wake-up indication; a defined wake-up signal; a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the apparatus; or physical layer signaling.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses wherein the information comprises one or more of the following: downlink control information; downlink control information including a wake-up indication; a certain downlink control information format; a wake-up indication; a defined wake-up signal; a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the apparatus; or physical layer signaling,([0008] “a first access device determines a first resource, where the first resource is used to carry a first wake-up signal, the first wake-up signal is used to indicate a first terminal device to detect downlink control information used to schedule a paging message, and the downlink control information is carried on a first paging occasion resource; the first access device sends the first wake-up signal to the first terminal device on the first resource; and the first access device sends, on the first paging occasion resource, the downlink control information used
to schedule the paging message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to include the downlink control information, disclosed by WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use the downlink control information to schedule the paging message, WANG ([0008]).
Regarding claim 39, as applied to claim 36 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the information comprises one or more of the following: downlink control information; downlink control information including a wake-up indication; a certain downlink control information format; a wake-up indication; a defined wake-up signal; a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the user equipment; or physical layer signaling.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses wherein the information comprises one or more of the following: downlink control information; downlink control information including a wake-up indication; a certain downlink control information format; a wake-up indication; a defined wake-up signal; a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the user equipment; or physical layer signaling,([0008] “a first access device determines a first resource, where the first resource is used to carry a first wake-up signal, the first wake-up signal is used to indicate a first terminal device to detect downlink control information used to schedule a paging message, and the downlink control information is carried on a first paging occasion resource; the first access device sends the first wake-up signal to the first terminal device on the first resource; and the first access device sends, on the first paging occasion resource, the downlink control information used
to schedule the paging message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to include the downlink control information, disclosed by WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use the downlink control information to schedule the paging message, WANG ([0008]).
Regarding claim 46, as applied to claim 40 above, He as modified by ZHANG does not disclose wherein the information comprises one or more of the following: downlink control information; downlink control information including a wake-up indication; a certain downlink control information format; a wake-up indication; a defined wake-up signal; a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the user equipment; or physical layer signaling.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses wherein the information comprises one or more of the following: downlink control information; downlink control information including a wake-up indication; a certain downlink control information format; a wake-up indication; a defined wake-up signal; a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the user equipment; or physical layer signaling, ([0008] “a first access device determines a first resource, where the first resource is used to carry a first wake-up signal, the first wake-up signal is used to indicate a first terminal device to detect downlink control information used to schedule a paging message, and the downlink control information is carried on a first paging occasion resource; the first access device sends the first wake-up signal to the first terminal device on the first resource; and the first access device sends, on the first paging occasion resource, the downlink control information used to schedule the paging message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the WUS, disclosed by He ([0187], [0360]) as modified by ZHANG to include the downlink control information, disclosed by WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use the downlink control information to schedule the paging message, WANG ([0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 27, 36, and 40; and dependent claims 48 and 50 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to GILBERT GRANT whose telephone number is (703)756-1136. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday - Thursday.
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GILBERT M. GRANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642