DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12-13, 15-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,388,658 B1 (Ramaswamy).
Re claim 10, Ramaswamy teaches a transistor array (Fig. 1), comprising a plurality of transistors arranged in an array, each of the plurality of transistors comprising:
a channel region (channel region 20);
a source (source/drain region 18) located at a first end of the channel region;
a drain (source/drain region 22/semiconductor material 12) located at a second end of the channel region, wherein the first end and the second end are opposite ends of the channel region in a first direction (Fig. 1) which is a thickness direction of a wafer forming the channel region;
a gate (gate 24) located on only one side (right side) of the channel region and corresponding to the channel region;
a gate oxide layer (gate insulator 26) located between the channel region and the gate; and
a second isolation layer (dielectric material 77 in contact with gate 24) disposed only on a sidewall of the gate that extends in a second direction (Fig. 2), thereby forming a stacked structure in the first direction, wherein the second isolation layer extends along a third direction, a size of the second isolation layer in the third direction is greater than a size of the channel region in the third direction (Fig. 1 dielectric material 77 fills the void between transistors in each row), the third direction is parallel to a column arrangement direction of the transistor array (Fig. 1 should the column of each transistor are arranged parallel in the third direction), and a length of the second isolation layer along the second direction is equal to a total length of the gate and the gate oxide layer along the second direction (the length of the dielectric material 77 which is in contact with the gate 24 plus a portion of the length equal to the thickness of the gate oxide layer 26 is ‘a length’ of the material reading upon the claim), and wherein the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are perpendicular to each other,
wherein each of the plurality of transistors is an L-shaped transistor (Figs. 1-2), sizes of the first end and the second end in the second direction are different, and wherein the source, the channel region and the drain of the L-shaped transistor form an L-shaped structure (Figs. 1-2).
Re claim 18, Ramaswamy teaches wherein cross-section shapes of the source and the drain parallel to a preset plane are different, and the preset plane is perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 1-2 shows that the drain region 22/12 is a different shape than source 18); and each of the cross-section shapes of the source and the drain comprises any one of a square, a semicircle, a triangle, or any polygon (rectangles are polygons).
Re claim 12, Ramaswamy teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
at least one memory array (array 10) and a plurality of bit lines (digitlines 34) arranged in parallel along the second direction,
wherein each of the at least one memory array comprises the transistor array of claim 10, the third direction intersects with the second direction (Figs. 1-2), and a plane where the third direction and the second direction are located is perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 1-2);
the gate of each of the plurality of transistors arranged in parallel along the third direction is configured to receive a word line voltage (gate 24 are part of wordline 30) and control each of the plurality of transistors to be turned on or off by the word line voltage (this merely states how a transistor works); and
each of the plurality of bit lines is connected to the source or the drain of each of the plurality of transistors arranged in parallel along the second direction, and is configured to perform a read or write operation on each of the at least one memory array when each of the plurality of transistors is turned on (Figs. 1-2 these limitations are a recitation of the nominal operation of transistor selectors in DRAM as is taught in Ramaswamy).
Re claim 13, Ramaswamy teaches wherein each of the at least one memory array further comprises a storage capacitor (capacitor 75), the storage capacitor has one end connected to the drain or the source of the transistor and the other end configured to receive an external electrical signal, and is configured to store data written in each of the at least one memory array (Figs. 1-2 these limitations are a recitation of the nominal operation of transistor selectors in DRAM as is taught in Ramaswamy).
Re claim 15, Ramaswamy teaches wherein each of the at least one memory array further comprises a ferroelectric capacitor (capacitor 75 can be formed with ferroelectric material making it a ferroelectric capacitor), the ferroelectric capacitor comprises an upper electrode (first capacitor electrode 40) , a lower electrode (second capacitor electrode 50) and a ferroelectric material layer (capacitor insulator 46) located between the upper electrode and the lower electrode; the upper electrode of the ferroelectric capacitor is connected to the drain of the transistor (indirectly electrically connected through the intervening layers Figs. 1-2), the lower electrode of the ferroelectric capacitor is connected to the source of the transistor (indirectly electrically connected through the intervening layers Figs. 1-2), and the ferroelectric capacitor is configured to store data written into each of the at least one memory array.
Re claim 16, Ramaswamy teaches wherein when the semiconductor device comprises a plurality of memory arrays, the plurality of memory arrays are connected in parallel or in series (nominal structure of memory arrays Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,388,658 B1 (Ramaswamy) further in view of US 20110039381 A1 (Son).
Re claim 14, Ramaswamy teaches wherein each of the at least one memory array further comprises a bit storage element, such as a static or ferroelectric capacitor, is connected between the bit line and the source of the transistor, or is connected between the bit line and the drain of the transistor, and is configured to adjust a state of data stored in each of the at least one memory array by a bit line voltage provided by the bit line (Col. 5 lines 33-62). However, Ramaswamy does not explicitly teach wherein the bit storage element is an adjustable resistor.
Son teaches a memory array of 1 transistor, 1 bit storage memory core regions wherein the bit storage can be either a capacitor or a variable resistor (phase change variable resistor in PCRAM embodiment [0061]).
It would be obvious at the time of filing the invention to change the invention of Ramaswamy wherein the bit storage element is a variable resistor rather than a capacitor.
The motivation to do so is that Ramaswamy teaches one transistor-one bit storage element memory array having various two terminal bit storage devices (Col. 5 lines 33-62), Son teaches the obviousness of using capacitors or variable resistors in one transistor-one bit storage element memory arrays. Using a variable resistance element for bit storage provides the predictable result of making the memory array non-volatile so that there is no need for regular bit refresh as is necessary with static capacitor bit storage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896