DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of “atropine” or “Atropine sulfate” in the reply filed on 8 October 2025, is acknowledged.
Applicants’ elected species “atropine” and “Atropine sulfate” have prior art.
Therefore, per Markush search practice, the Markush search will not be extended to other species of “muscarinic antagonists” in this Office Action.
The elected species reads on claims 43-44, 51, 53-57, 61, 64-66, 68, 70-72, 77, and 79-81.
Current Status of 17/784,841
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims of 8 October 2025.
Claims 43-44, 51, 53-57, 61, 64-66, 68, 70-72, 77, and 79-81 have been examined on the merits. Claims 43-44, 51, 55-56, 65-66, 68, 70-72, and 80-81 are original. Claims 53-54, 57, 61, 64, 77, and 79 are previously presented.
Priority
The effective filing date is 16 December 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8 October 2025; 7 March 2025; 2 December 2024; 11 June 2024; 16 April 2024; 17 July 2023; and 7 December 2022, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-44, 51, 53-57, 61, 64-66, 68, 70-72, 77, and 79-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
SYDNEXIS (U.S. 2018/0193326 A1, published on 12 July 2018, which is before the instant application’s one year grace period beginning on/about 16 December 2018),
in view of:
ANSEL (Ansel, Howard C., et al. “Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems.” (1999), 7th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, pp. 48-53).
The claims are drawn to an ophthalmic composition comprising muscarinic antagonist, deuterated water, and EDTA stabilizing agent, at various disclosed concentrations, which the artisan routinely varies/optimizes in the medicinal arts.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art:
The prior art reference SYDNEXIS teaches an ophthalmic composition comprising atropine sulfate (Applicants’ elected “muscarinic antagonist) in an amount of from 0.001 wt% to 0.05 wt % [which is within the instant claim 43 range of about 0.001 wt% to about 0.5 wt% and hence teaches this range; it also teaches at least some of the ranges of instant claim 51 and claim 68], deuterated water, at a pH of 4.2 to 7.9, and EDTA as a stabilizing agent. This ophthalmic composition is substantially free of benzalkonium chloride preservative (hence there’s no detectable amount of preservative) [hence teaches instant claims 57 and 77 and 79] (see “Abstract”; page 34 Table 7 “Thermosetting Gel Formulation (Atropine Sulfate)…Atropine Sulfate … 0.001-0.05 (wt%)… pH = 4.2-7.9…Deuterated water q.s. to 100 wt%; para [0003], “muscarinic antagonist comprises atropine…”; also, Table 7 does not explicitly teach inclusion of benzalkonium chloride preservative, whereas other examples teach optional inclusion of benzalkonium chloride preservative; see page 33 Table 1-5). This helps teach instant claim 43.
Furthermore, SYDNEXIS envisions using atropine and atropine sulfate (each are Applicants’ elected species) as “muscarinic antagonists” (see para [0003]-[0004]). This teaches instant claims 44 and 66.
SYDNEXIS teaches further use of citrate buffering agents (see para [0099]), but does not teach the concentration (wt %) of citrate. This helps to teach instant claim 53.
SYDNEXIS teaches use of sodium chloride osmolarity adjusting agent (see para [0363]). This teaches instant claim 54-55 and helps teach instant claim 56.
SYDNEXIS para [0365] teaches the buffering agents of instant claims 54 and 61. SYDNEXIS para [0370] teaches instant claims 54 and 64: HCl, NaOH, CH3COOH, or C6H8O7 pH adjusting agents.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue:
The reference SYDNEXIS does not explicitly teach the following routinely optimized variables: concentration (wt%) range of EDTA within the instant claim 43 range; concentration (wt %) of citrate [instant claim 53]; concentration (wt %) of sodium chloride [instant claim 56]; the ratio concentrations of instant claim 65; the ratios of instant claims 70-72; and the pH ranges of instant claims 80-81.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art:
The artisan is knowledgeable in formulating ophthalmic compositions comprising muscarinic antagonists, deuterated water, and stabilizing agents (EDTA).
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness:
The artisan would view the various concentration limitations of the instant claims drawn to weight percentages (wt %), ratios, and pH ranges as variables the artisan routinely optimizes and hence prima facie obvious in light of the reference SYDNEXIS in view of ANSEL.
The artisan would be expected to routinely optimize concentrations (that include wt %, ratios, and pH ranges) to maximize therapeutic efficacy of the underlying ophthalmic composition. Moreover, the ratios between water and deuterated water are obvious as there is always some water in the solution comprising deuterated water.
The artisan would be motivated to routinely vary the concentrations to maximize therapeutic efficacy of the underlying ophthalmic composition, especially since this is commonly done in the pharmaceutical and medicinal arts (see, for example, page 48 of ANSEL reference, which teaches that physicians routinely change the dosing for each patient based on the particular requirements of the patient). This is especially true since neither the claims nor the Specification indicate how the concentrations (weight percentages, ratios, pH ranges, etc.) are critical.
Moreover, patent law views differences in concentration (herein, the varying ranges of weight percentages, pH ranges, and ratios) as not supporting the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was "unexpectedly good"); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Thus, instant claims 43-44, 51, 53-57, 61, 64-66, 68, 70-72, 77, and 79-81 are rejected as prima facie obvious under 35 USC 103 in light of the teachings of SYDNEXIS in view of ANSEL.
Double Patenting
Claims 43-44, 51, 53-57, 61, 65-66, 68, 70-72, 77, and 79-81 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 9,421,199 B2 in view of ANSEL (Ansel, Howard C., et al. “Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems.” (1999), 7th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, pp. 48-53).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art:
The reference claim 1, drawn to an ophthalmic composition comprising from about 0.001 wt % to about 0.03 wt% (falls within and hence teaches instant claim 43 range of from about 0.001 wt % to about 0.5 wt %) of muscarinic antagonist atropine or atropine sulfate (Applicants’ elected species), deuterated water, and a pH of from about 4.2 to about 7.9, teaches instant claim 43, drawn to similar*.
Reference disclosure teaches EDTA stabilizing agent as an alternative embodiment to be added to the ophthalmic composition of reference claim 1 and others (see reference disclosure col. 30 and Table 7 “Thermosetting Gel Formulation (Atropine Sulfate)” within cols. 63-64).
Furthermore, the citrate buffering agents of reference claim 13 teach the citrate of instant claim 53.
The osmolarity adjusting agent sodium chloride of reference claims 8-9 teach instant claims 54-55.
Reference claim 1 is silent as to preservative thus teaching instant claim 57.
Reference claims 12-13 teach instant claim 61.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
*The reference claims do not explicitly teach the following routinely optimized variables: concentration (wt%) range of EDTA within the instant claim 43 range; concentration (wt %) of citrate [instant claim 53]; concentration (wt %) of sodium chloride [instant claim 56]; the ratio concentrations of instant claim 65; the ratios of instant claims 70-72; and the pH ranges of instant claims 80-81.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
The artisan is knowledgeable in formulating ophthalmic compositions comprising muscarinic antagonists, deuterated water, and stabilizing agents (EDTA).
The artisan would view the various concentration limitations of the instant claims drawn to weight percentages (wt %), ratios, and pH ranges as variables the artisan routinely optimizes and hence prima facie obvious in light of the reference claims, in further view of ANSEL.
The artisan would be expected to routinely optimize concentrations (that include wt %, ratios, and pH ranges) to maximize therapeutic efficacy of the underlying ophthalmic composition. Moreover, the ratios between water and deuterated water are obvious as there is always some water in the solution comprising deuterated water.
The artisan would be motivated to routinely vary the concentrations to maximize therapeutic efficacy of the underlying ophthalmic composition, especially since this is commonly done in the pharmaceutical and medicinal arts (see, for example, page 48 of ANSEL reference, which teaches that physicians routinely change the dosing for each patient based on the particular requirements of the patient). This is especially true since neither the claims nor the Specification indicate how the concentrations (weight percentages, ratios, pH ranges) are critical.
Moreover, patent law views differences in concentration (herein, the varying ranges of weight percentages, pH ranges, and ratios) as not supporting the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was "unexpectedly good"); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Please file a Terminal Disclaimer (TD) to render moot this rejection.
Claims 43-44, 51, 53-57, 61, 64-66, 68, 70-72, 77, and 79-81 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,201,534 B2 in view of ANSEL (Ansel, Howard C., et al. “Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems.” (1999), 7th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, pp. 48-53).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art:
The reference claims teach an ophthalmic composition comprising atropine or atropine sulfate (Applicants’ elected “muscarinic antagonists”) in an amount of from 0.001 wt% to 0.05 wt % [which is within the instant claim 43 range of about 0.001 wt% to about 0.5 wt% and hence teaches this range; it also teaches at least some of the ranges of instant claim 51 and claim 68], deuterated water, at a pH of 4.2 to 7.9, which teaches instant claim 43, drawn to similar*.
Reference claims do not teach EDTA as stabilizing agent. However, col. 30 and Table 7 (cols. 63-64) do teach EDTA as stabilizing agent.
The reference claim 1 ophthalmic composition is substantially free of benzalkonium chloride preservative (hence there’s no detectable amount of preservative) [hence teaches instant claims 57 and 77 and 79] (see, also, “Abstract”; page 34 Table 7 “Thermosetting Gel Formulation (Atropine Sulfate)…Atropine Sulfate … 0.001-0.05 (wt%)… pH = 4.2-7.9…Deuterated water q.s. to 100 wt%; para [0003], “muscarinic antagonist comprises atropine…”; also, Table 7 does not explicitly teach inclusion of benzalkonium chloride preservative, whereas other examples teach optional inclusion of benzalkonium chloride preservative; see page 33 Table 1-5). This helps teach instant claim 43.
Furthermore, reference claim 1 uses atropine and atropine sulfate (each are Applicants’ elected species) as “muscarinic antagonists”. This teaches instant claims 44 and 66.
Reference claim 9 teaches further use of citrate buffering agents, but does not teach the concentration (wt %) of citrate. This helps to teach instant claim 53.
Reference disclosure col. 3 teaches use of sodium chloride osmolarity adjusting agent. This teaches instant claim 54-55 and helps teach instant claim 56.
Reference claim 9 teaches the buffering agents of instant claims 54 and 61. Reference col. 84 teaches instant claims 54 and 64: HCl, NaOH, CH3COOH, or C6H8O7 pH adjusting agents.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue:
*Reference claims do not teach EDTA as stabilizing agent. However, col. 30 and Table 7 (cols. 63-64) do teach EDTA as stabilizing agent.
The reference claims do not explicitly teach the following routinely optimized variables: concentration (wt%) range of EDTA within the instant claim 43 range; concentration (wt %) of citrate [instant claim 53]; concentration (wt %) of sodium chloride [instant claim 56]; the ratio concentrations of instant claim 65; the ratios of instant claims 70-72; and the pH ranges of instant claims 80-81.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art:
The artisan is knowledgeable in formulating ophthalmic compositions comprising muscarinic antagonists, deuterated water, and stabilizing agents (EDTA).
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness:
The artisan would view the various concentration limitations of the instant claims drawn to weight percentages (wt %), ratios, and pH ranges as variables the artisan routinely optimizes and hence prima facie obvious in light of the reference, in further view of ANSEL.
The artisan would be expected to routinely optimize concentrations (that include wt %, ratios, and pH ranges) to maximize therapeutic efficacy of the underlying ophthalmic composition. Moreover, the ratios between water and deuterated water are obvious as there is always some water in the solution comprising deuterated water.
The artisan would be motivated to routinely vary the concentrations to maximize therapeutic efficacy of the underlying ophthalmic composition, especially since this is commonly done in the pharmaceutical and medicinal arts (see, for example, page 48 of ANSEL reference, which teaches that physicians routinely change the dosing for each patient based on the particular requirements of the patient). This is especially true since neither the claims nor the Specification indicate how the concentrations (weight percentages, ratios, pH ranges) are critical.
Moreover, patent law views differences in concentration (herein, the varying ranges of weight percentages, pH ranges, and ratios) as not supporting the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was "unexpectedly good"); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Please file a Terminal Disclaimer (TD) to render moot this rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable as written.
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625