DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed 7/20/2022 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2019-0077985 A (hereafter referred to as “POSCO”) in view of (a) KR 2009-0127497 A ( hereafter referred to as “DONGBU STEEL CO.”), (b) Apfel (US 2020/039841); (c) EP 3371247 (herein referred to as Auschra), and (d) Zha et al (US 2018/0312711).
Posco discloses an adhesive coating composition for an electrical steel sheet, the composition comprising an acrylic resin (see paragraphs [0029] and [0034]). Posco does not teach the acrylic resin should comprise the resin set forth in Claim 1 wherein polyethylene acrylic includes 70 to 85 wt% of a repeating unit represented by chemical formula 1 and 15 to 30 wt% of a repeating unit represented by chemical formula 2. However, Dongbu Steel Company teaches a composition for surface-treating a metal steel sheet (abstract) comprises an ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer in which 10 to 40 wt% of an acrylic acid is copolymerized (see paragraph [0010] and claims 1-2 and 11). The composition may further comprise 1 to 10 parts silane coupling agents, herein understood to read on the claimed crosslinking agent. The silane coupling agent may be a vinyl-based silane. (see paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the ethylene acrylic acid composition of Dongbu Steel Company in place of the acrylate polymer disclosed in Posco. The motivation for doing so would have been said composition is excellent in corrosion resistance and powder coating property and is environment friendly chromium free.
Neither Posco nor Dongbu Steel Company teaches that the adhesive coating composition should comprise aminoamine-based curing agents. However, Apfel teaches an ethylene butyl acrylate adhesive composition. Apfel teaches such composition may comprise one or more curing agent in amounts from 0.01-20wt% (0028). The amount may be selected based upon the desired structural properties of the adhesive, the desired cured conditions and the like (0028). Suitable curing agents included dicyandiamides (0029)-disclosed by applicant as an amino-amine based curing agent (see specification). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add dicyandiamide as a curing agent to the ethylene acrylic adhesive of Dongbu Steel Company. The motivation for doing so would have been that Apfel teaches such curing agents are typically added to ethylene acrylate adhesive compositions. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the amount of curing agent added to the composition based on the desired structural properties of the adhesive, the desired cured conditions and the like (0028).
Neither Posco nor Dongbu Steel Company teaches that the composition should further comprise vinyltrimethoxy silane. However, Zha teaches a curable acrylate coating composition (abstract) for application to surfaces such as glass and metal (claim 54). Zha teaches such compositions may further comprise adhesion promoters such as vinyltrimethoxy silane (0054) to improve the adhesion of the coating to the substrate. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add vinyltrimethoxy silane to the he ethylene acrylic adhesive of Dongbu Steel Company. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the adhesion of the composition to the metal substrate.
Neither Posco nor Dongbu Steel Company teaches that the adhesive coating composition should comprise a polyether-modified polydimethylsiloxane. However, Auschra teaches polyether-modified polydimethylsiloxane may be added to a coating composition applied to a solid substrate as a defoaming agent and wetting agent (0001) in order to improve the flow of the polymer that forms the coating and reduce the formation of defects (0004) and air bubbles (0005). Said polyether-modified dimethylsiloxanes are typically added in amounts of 0.01-5wt% (0063). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add 0.01-5wt% polyether-modified polydimethylsiloxane to the composition of Posco in view of Dongbu Steel Company. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce defects and air bubbles in the resulting coating.
With regards to claims 2-3, Dongbu Steel Company teaches 012 to 1mol of amine neutralizing agent should be used per mol of the carboxyl group of the ethylene acrylic acid (see paragraphs [0015]-[0017]).
With regards to claim 4, Dongbu Steel Company teaches the amine neutralizing agent may comprise triethylamine (see paragraph [0016]).
With regards to claim 5, , Dongbu Steel Company teaches the composition may contain a pH adjuster but does not teach the claimed range. Said reference further teaches the composition is preferably alkaline. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the pH using a pH adjuster. The motivation for doing so would have been that Dongbu teaches optimization of the composition to an alkaline pH using a pH adjuster is desirable.
With regards to claim 11, the references are silent to the claimed surface tension. However, the examiner takes the position said property is understood to be inherent to the ethylene-acrylic composition taught in Dongbu Steel Company since the composition disclosed therein is compositionally identical to applicant’s claimed composition; thus, said compositions are understood to possess the same physical and chemical properties.
With regards to claim 12, the electrical steel sheet laminate comprising the plurality of electrical steel sheets and the bonding layer corresponds to the electrical steel sheet laminate in Posco (see claim 1).
With regards to claim 13, Posco teaches the bonding layer has a thickness of 0.5 to 40 μm (see claim 4).
With regards to claim 14, Posco teaches a method for producing an electrical steel sheet laminate comprises a step of coating an adhesive coating composition onto a surface of an electrical steel sheet and then curing same, thereby forming an adhesive coating layer, and a step of stacking a plurality of electrical steel sheets which each have the adhesive coating layer formed thereon and then thermally bonding same, thereby forming a thermal bonding layer (see claim 10).
With regards to claim 15, Posco teaches the coating layer is formed by performing curing at 200 to 250℃ (see paragraph [0095]).
With regards to claim 16, Dongbu Steel Company teaches the resin may comprise acrylic acid or methacrylic acid-herein understood to read on the claimed formula 2 wherein R8 is hydrogen.
With regards to claim 17, Dongbu Steel Company teaches the resin may comprise methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate or isopropyl acrylate -herein understood to read on the claimed formula 2 wherein R8 is a linear or branched alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms.
With regards to claim 18, Dongbu Steel Company teaches the acrylic monomers may contain a hydroxyl group include 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate, hydroxypropyl (meth) acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate, or 2-hydroxyamyl (meth)acrylate herein understood to read on the claimed formula 2 wherein R8 is a hydroxyl group.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2019-0077985 A (hereafter referred to as “POSCO”) in view of (a) KR 2009-0127497 A ( hereafter referred to as “DONGBU STEEL CO.”), (b) Apfel (US 2020/039841); (c) EP 3371247 (herein referred to as Auschra) and (d) Zha et al (US 2018/0312711), as applied to claims 1-5 and 11-18 above, and further in view of Daniels et al(Us 6,855,386).
Said references are relied upon as above. Specifically, with regards to claim 19, the examiner notes for ethylene R1 to R4 would be hydrogen and for an acrylate , R5-R7 is hydrogen, but the references do not teach R8 is a carboxy group. However, Daniels teaches adding beta-carboxyethyl acrylate to of (meth)acrylate polymers is a means to increase the hydrophilic character of said polymers and can also enhance the internal or cohesive strength of the (meth)acrylate PSA (col 1, lines 42+). Thus, it would have been obvious to add beta-carboxyethyl acrylate to the acrylic adhesive disclosed in DONGBU STEEL CO. in order to improve its hydrophilic character and enhance its internal or cohesive strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/28/2025 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 103
With regards to the rejection of claims 1-5 and 11-18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Korean Patent Application Publication No. 2019-0077985 (hereinafter referred to as
"POSCO") in view of Korean Patent application Publication No. 2009-0127497 (hereinafter referred to as "DONGBU") and Apfel (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/039841, hereinafter "Apfel") and European Patent Application Publication No. 3371247 (hereinafter referred to as "Auschra") , applicant argues the claim has been amended to require the presence of one or more of vinyltrimethoxy silane and 3-methacryloxypropyl methyldimethoxy silane. Said argument is noted but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant further argues the cited references do not teach or suggest the adhesive coating composition as set forth in the claims which specifies the ratio of Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 within a polyethylene acrylate, as well as the content ratios and types of a crosslinking agent, an aminoamine-based curing agent, and a polyether-modified polydimethylsiloxane. Applicant argues said compositions result in an electrical steel sheet laminate with superior peel adhesive strength, solution stability, and stickiness, as demonstrated in Tables 1 to 3 of the present specification. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the pending claims; the claims encompass many more copolymers than those demonstrated by examples I and 2. Furthermore, the disclosure lacks sufficient details to allow a fully analysis of the examples; for example, it is unclear what formula 1 and formula 2 monomers were utilized, whether there were additional components present in the adhesive, under what conditions the specimens were laminated, what substrates were utilized, etc. Furthermore, said argument is noted but is not persuasive as said comparative example is not representative of the closest prior art.
Applicant further argues, when the type and the content of crosslinking agent are outside of the claimed range, the solution stability and peel adhesive strength were poor. Further, the content of the curing agent is outside of the claimed range, the peel adhesive strength or stickiness was poor. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as applicant has not explained the data an demonstrated the results are commensurate in scope with the pending claims. Applicant has the burden of explaining the data proffered to support an argument of unexpected results.
For the reasons noted above, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the claims remain rejected for the reasons set forth herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US2022/0162455 (Kahn) teaches an olefin, methacrylate copolymer for coating on metallic surfaces.
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787