DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevenson et al (US 2017/0326815).
Regarding claim 10, Stevenson discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a build platform (Fig. 1 #114 build plate),
an energy beam or an irradiation device (Fig. 1 #120 laser),
a recoater (Fig. 1 #116 recoater arm),
and a controller ([0004] lines 20-24 ---" The laser 120 may be controlled by a computer system including a processor and a memory. The computer system may determine a scan pattern for each layer and control laser 120 to irradiate the powder material according to the scan pattern.),
wherein the apparatus is configured to carry out the selective irradiation of the powder bed according to claim 1 (If a prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of an apparatus claim, then, a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. See MPEP 2114.)
Regarding claim 14, Stevenson teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), and Stevenson teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a control ([0004] lines 20-24 ---" The laser 120 may be controlled by a computer system including a processor and a memory. The computer system may determine a scan pattern for each layer and control laser 120 to irradiate the powder material according to the scan pattern.) or irradiation apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11-13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevenson et al (US 2017/0326815) in view of Jiang et al (CN 106735208), Mark et al (US 2018/0154437) and Hayes et al (US 6,830,643).
Regarding claim 1, Stevenson discloses a method of additive manufacturing of a component comprising:
a) providing a component geometry comprising a hole that represents a hole in the additively manufactured component ([0005] ---"The apparatus 100 is controlled by a computer executing a control program. For example, the apparatus 100 includes a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) executing firmware, an operating system, or other software that provides an interface between the apparatus 100 and an operator. The computer receives, as input, a three dimensional model of the object to be formed. For example, the three dimensional model is generated using a computer aided design (CAD) program. The computer analyzes the model and proposes a tool path for each object within the model. The operator may define or adjust various parameters of the scan pattern such as power, speed, and spacing, but generally does not program the tool path directly.” Examiner considers the hole to be the space where Fig 3 #310 support structure occupies before the support structure is built.),
b) selectively irradiating a powder bed with an energy beam according to said geometry in a layerwise manner, wherein in at least some layers of the component comprising the hole, respective regions which define the hole are irradiated with the energy beam such that a supporting structure is generated in the hole having a lower rigidity than a structure of the component ([0010] lines 2-9 ---"The method includes: (a) irradiating a layer of powder in a powder bed with an energy beam in a series of scan lines to form a fused region; (b) providing a subsequent layer of powder over the powder bed by passing a recoater arm over the powder bed from a first side of the powder bed to a second side of the powder bed; and (c) repeating steps (a) and (b) until the object and at least one support structure is formed in the powder bed.” The structure of the support structure is less rigid because the support structure is defined as a series of rails, which is not a solid object.),
However, Stevenson does not disclose wherein an irradiation pattern for the regions is chosen such that scanning vectors of said pattern overlap with an irradiation pattern for the component by about 100 pm or more; wherein removing the support structure from the component reveals the hole in the additively manufactured component, wherein in the respective regions all the powder therein is irradiated and solidified to form respective unipartite portions of the supporting structure, and wherein the respective unipartite portions fully fill the respective regions.
Nonetheless, Jiang teaches an irradiation pattern for the regions is chosen such that scanning vectors of said pattern overlap with an irradiation pattern for the component by about 100 µm or more (Page 3 para. 9 --- As a preferable solution, the step forming technique parameter in the step S5 comprises: the laser power is 100 to 360 W, scanning speed is 500 to 1800mm/S, the laser overlap is 0.90 to 0.12 mm, paving layer thickness is 0.02 to 0.06 mm, supplementing quantity is 0.03 to 0.08 mm, light compensation coefficient is 0.10 to 0.15.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson by incorporating the scan pattern overlap as taught by Jiang for the benefit of achieving the desired mechanical properties in the build object.
Furthermore, Mark in the same field of endeavor being additive manufacturing, teaches wherein removing the support structure from the component reveals the hole in the additively manufactured component (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson by incorporating the debinding of the support structures as taught by Mark for the benefit of preparing the workpiece for further processing. (Fig. 7 shows the debinding step performed before the sintering step.)
Furthermore, Hayes in the same field of endeavor being additive manufacturing teaches wherein in the respective regions all the powder therein is irradiated and solidified to form respective unipartite portions of the supporting structure (Fig. 2a shows the support #22 to be a solid structure), and wherein the respective unipartite portions fully fill the respective regions (Fig. 2a shows the #22 support to fill the respective support region.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to incorporate the solid support structure filing the support region for the benefit of providing steadiness of hold for the component being formed.
Regarding claim 2, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the supporting structure comprises a volume or relative density in a range between 90% and 94% of that of the structure of the component..
Stevenson does, however, teach that when the three dimensional model is provided to the apparatus, the operator sets the scan parameters for the support structure. The support structure is a series of rails The number of rails contribute to the density of the support structure. Therefore, the density of the support structure is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the built object is adequately supported. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that supports are formed, was disclosed in the prior art by Stevenson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to have the supporting structure comprising a volume or relative density in a range between 90% and 94% of that of the structure of the component.
Regarding claim 3, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Stevenson teaches wherein the hole (Examiner considers the hole to be the space where Fig 3 #310 support structure occupies before the support structure is built.) extends in a direction parallel to a buildup direction of the component (Shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the regions are irradiated at a hatching distance (D) being two to four times a hatching distance (d) chosen for the irradiation of the structure of the component.
Stevenson does, however, teach that the operator may define or adjust various parameters of the scan pattern such as power, speed, and spacing (hatch). Therefore, the hatch is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the object is made with adequate support. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that hatch is chosen based on the object being built, was disclosed in the prior art by Stevenson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to have the regions being irradiated at a hatching distance (D) two to four times a hatching distance (d) chosen for the irradiation of the structure of the component.
Regarding claim 5, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the regions are irradiated at a scan speed being greater than a scan speed chosen for the irradiation of the structure of the component.
Stevenson does, however, teach that the operator may define or adjust various parameters of the scan pattern such as power, speed, and spacing (hatch). Therefore, the scan speed is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the object is made with adequate support. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that scan speed is chosen based on the object being built, was disclosed in the prior art by Stevenson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to have the regions being irradiated at a scan speed greater than a scan speed chosen for the irradiation of the structure of the component.
Regarding claim 6, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein a diameter of the hole in the component after the additive manufacturing and before final machining is undersized compared to a target diameter of the hole after the final machining, and wherein the undersize is selected to prevent occurrence of near- wall porosity at an interface of the hole after final machining.
Stevenson does, however, teach that the three dimensional model is generated using a computer aided design (CAD) program. The operator inputs into the computer desired geometry of the object to be built. The operator choses the size of the hole to be built. Therefore, the geometry of the hole is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the object is formed with a hole having the desired geometry and near-wall porosity is prevented. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. a hole is formed in the object based on the object being built, was disclosed in the prior art by Stevenson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to have a diameter of the hole in the component after the additive manufacturing and before final machining being undersized compared to a target diameter of the hole after the final machining.
Regarding claim 8, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Stevenson teaches wherein the regions defining the hole in the as-manufactured and optionally thermally post-treated component are machined ([0044] lines 4-6 ---" The support structure may be removed by mechanical procedures such as twisting, breaking, cutting, grinding, filing, or polishing.”).
Regarding claim 9, Stevenson discloses computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer readable media ([0004] lines 20-24 ---" The laser 120 may be controlled by a computer system including a processor and a memory. The computer system may determine a scan pattern for each layer and control laser 120 to irradiate the powder material according to the scan pattern.)
However, Stevenson does not teach comprising: instructions which, when is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the selectively irradiating of the powder bed according to claim 1.
Nonetheless, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches instructions which, when is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the selectively irradiating of the powder bed according to claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer readable media of Stevenson by incorporating the instructions as taught by Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes for the benefit of providing a software means for defining or adjusting various parameters of the scan pattern such as power, speed, and spacing.
Regarding claim 11, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 4), but does not teach wherein the hatching distance (D) chosen for irradiating the regions is three times the hatching distance (d) chosen for irradiating the structure of the component.
Stevenson does, however, teach that the operator may define or adjust various parameters of the scan pattern such as power, speed, and spacing (hatch). Therefore, the hatch is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the object is made with adequate support. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that hatch is chosen based on the object being built, was disclosed in the prior art by Stevenson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to have the hatching distance (D) chosen for irradiating the regions being three times the hatching distance (d) chosen for irradiating the structure of the component.
Regarding claim 12, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 5), but does not teach herein the scan speed chosen for irradiating the regions is two times greater than the scan speed chosen for irradiating the structure of the component.
Stevenson does, however, teach that the operator may define or adjust various parameters of the scan pattern such as power, speed, and spacing (hatch). Therefore, the scan speed is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the object is made with adequate support. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that scan speed is chosen based on the object being built, was disclosed in the prior art by Stevenson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson to have the scan speed chosen for irradiating the regions being two times greater than the scan speed chosen for irradiating the structure of the component.
Regarding claim 13, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 6), but does not teach wherein the undersize is between 100 µm and 400 µm in diameter.
Nonetheless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have an undersize being between 100 µm and 400 µm in diameter, since applicant has not disclosed that having an undersize between 100 µm and 400 µm in diameter solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with an undersize of any dimension.
Regarding claim 16, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Stevenson teaches further comprising heat treating the component while the supporting structure is disposed within the hole ([0028] lines 5-8 ---" For example, the object 300 and support structure 310 may be subjected to a post-anneal treatment and/or chemical treatment and then subsequently removed from the object 300 and/or build plate.”).
Regarding claim 17, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Hayes teaches wherein the respective unipartite portions collectively form a unipartite supporting structure that fully fills the hole (Fig. 2a shows the #22 support to fill the respective support region.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes to incorporate the solid support structure filing the support region as taught by Hayes for the benefit of providing steadiness of hold for the component being formed.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevenson et al (US 2017/0326815) in view of Jiang et al (CN 106735208), Mark et al (US 2018/0154437), and Hayes et al (US 6,830,643) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Bruck et al (US 2015/0132173).
Regarding claim 7, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein a raw material of the powder bed is a nickel- or cobalt-based superalloy.
Nonetheless, Bruck teaches wherein a raw material of the powder bed is a nickel- or cobalt-based superalloy ([0006] lines 7-8 ---" Superalloys typically include a high nickel or cobalt content.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes by incorporating the powder as taught by Bruck for the benefit of supplying a raw building material that exhibits excellent mechanical strength and resistance to creep at high temperatures.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevenson et al (US 2017/0326815) in view of Jiang et al (CN 106735208), Mark et al (US 2018/0154437), and Hayes et al (US 6,830,643) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Nufer et al (US 5,798,469).
Regarding claim 18, Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein in other layers of the component comprising the hole, powder in respective regions is not irradiated.
Nonetheless, Nufer in the same field of endeavor being additive manufacturing teaches wherein in other layers of the component comprising the hole, powder in respective regions is not irradiated (Fig. 9a #92 non-sinterable layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stevenson in view of Jiang, Mark, and Hayes by incorporating the un-radiated powder in other layers of the component as taught by Nufer for the benefit of supporting and isolating the other sintered regions.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761