Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the remarks filed 12/17/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 – 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Choi, US20210167381A1 (newly cited) and Ito, US20180212233A1 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches the positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery [0002],
wherein: the positive electrode active material is a lithium metal oxide particle in the form of a secondary particle including a plurality of primary particles [0016], and
the positive electrode active material comprises: a first coating layer positioned on at least part of the primary particle surface (first coating on primary particles)[0024]; and
a second coating layer positioned on at least part of the secondary particle surface (second coating covering secondary particle)[0027]
wherein, the first coating layer contains a first niobium compound that does not contain lithium (formula 2 when a = 0)[0025],
the second coating layer contains a second niobium compound having a different composition from the first niobium compound (formula 3 when a does not equal 0)[0027],
wherein the primary particle on which the first coating layer is positioned, is positioned inside the secondary particle [0083] and the surface of the primary particle excludes the surface of the primary particle exposed to the outer surface of the secondary particle (first coating layer formed on the primary particle and the second coating formed on the secondary particle).
Choi does not teach the second coating layer contains the first niobium compound.
Ito teaches a positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery, wherein: the positive electrode active material is a lithium metal oxide particle including a plurality of primary particles (core (101))[fig. 2], and the positive electrode active material comprises:
a first coating layer positioned on at least part of the primary particle surface (first coating layer (102))[fig. 2]; and a second coating layer (second coating (103)) wherein, the first coating layer contains a first niobium compound [0010], the second coating layer contains the first niobium compound [0013] and a second niobium compound having a different composition from the first niobium compound [0080]
wherein the second coating layer contains the first niobium compound (second layer comprising a combination of metal oxides comprising niobium compounds)[0013]. Further, it is known in the art to combine mixtures of compounds into positive electrode coating layers.
Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching for a second coating layer of Ito which comprises a mixture of metal oxides comprising niobium compounds into the second coating layer of Choi as obvious to try from a limited number of possible solutions (ie. single compound vs mixture).
Regarding claim 2, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1.
Further, Choi teaches wherein: the primary particle on which the first coating layer is positioned is positioned inside the secondary particle (coating on agglomerated primary particles)[0034]
Regarding claim 4, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Further, Ito teaches wherein: at least one of the first niobium compound and the second niobium compound contains an amorphous structure [0060].
Regarding claim 6, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Further, Ito teaches wherein: the second niobium compound is at least one of LiNbO3, Nb2O5, Li3NbO4 and LiNb3O8 [0042].
Regarding claim 7, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Further, Ito teaches wherein: an average thickness of the first coating layer is less than 5 nm [0014]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 8, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Further, Ito teaches wherein: an average thickness of the second coating layer is less than 30 nm [0015]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches the lithium secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material of claim 1; a negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte [0022].
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Choi, US20210167381A1 and Ito, US20180212233A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han, US20220416231A1.
Regarding claim 3, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Combined Choi does not teach wherein: the first niobium compound does not contain lithium.
Han teaches a positive electrode material comprising a lithium oxide primary particle [0002] wherein the primary particle has a coating layer disposed thereon wherein the coating layer comprises at least one of Nb2O5 and NbO [0031]. Further, Han teaches that the coating layer comprising said compounds effectively coats the lithium oxide primary particles and reduces battery deterioration [0037]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the coating material of Han into the electrode material of combined Choi to reduce battery deterioration.
Regarding claim 5, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 3,
Further, Han teaches wherein: the first niobium compound is at least one of Nb2O5, NbO and NbO2 [0031].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Choi, US20210167381A1 and Ito, US20180212233A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Campbell, US20210028448A1.
Regarding claim 9, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Further, Ito teaches wherein: the second niobium compound is LiNbO3 [0042].
Combined Choi does not teach a content of the LiNbO3 is 15.7 at % or more based on the total of the first and second niobium compounds included in the positive active material.
Campbell teaches a positive electrode material comprising a lithium oxide primary particle [0002] wherein the primary particle has a coating layer disposed thereon wherein the coating layer comprises LiNbO3 [0079] wherein a content of the LiNbO3 is 15.7 at % or more based on the total of the first and second niobium compounds included in the positive active material (95% or more)[0108]. Further, Campbell teaches that lithium niobate is preferred as it selectively forms on the surface of the cathode material thereby improving conductivity [0079]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the coating composition of Campbell into the material of combined Choi to improve conductivity.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Choi, US20210167381A1 and Ito, US20180212233A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaneda, US20210280864A1.
Regarding claim 10, combined Choi teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1,
Combined Choi does not teach wherein: a content of niobium in the positive active material is 4,000 ppm or less based on the total of the positive active material
Kaneda teaches a positive electrode material for a lithium secondary battery [0001] wherein the positive electrode material is a lithium metal oxide particle including primary particles agglomerated to form a secondary particle structure [0026] wherein the primary particles and the secondary particles to have a coating layer comprising a niobium compound [0067][0068], wherein: a content of niobium in the positive active material is 4,000 ppm or less based on the total of the positive active material (1000 – 25000 ppm)[table 1]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Kaneda teaches that the niobium concentration within the positive active material within the claimed range increases conductivity while reducing reaction resistance [0062][0063]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the concentration of Kaneda into the active material of combined Choi to increase conductivity and reduce resistance.
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724