DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to the application filed on June 20, 2022 and in response to a Request for Continued Examination filed on October 9, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
The amendment filed October 9, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-28 are currently pending in the application; claims 22-27 are withdrawn; claims 1, 3, and 4 have been amended; claim 28 is new. Claims 1-21 and 28 are hereby examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heijman et al. (WO 2014/123412) in view of Gretsch et al. (EP 1632135), herein after referred to as Heijman and Gretsch, respectively. Both references are listed on the IDS dated June 20, 2022.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Heijman discloses a method of treating a coffee extract (i.e., a beverage ingredient extract) comprising the steps of:
a. subjecting the extract to separation by aroma recovery resulting in a high aromatic coffee extract (i.e., permeate) and a low aromatic coffee extract (i.e., retentate);
b. raising the pH of the retentate to provide a treated beverage ingredient extract retentate;
c. combining the treated retentate with the permeate to generate a recombined ingredient extract (claim 1; Example 1).
Heijman is silent as to explicitly filtering the beverage extract; however, as stated above, Heijman discloses separating the extract via aroma recovery (claim 1). Heijman is also silent as to that the method further comprises an aroma recovery step before step a) in which aroma volatile compounds are removed from the beverage ingredient extract.
Gretsch, in the same field of invention, teaches an aroma recovery method for coffee extracts via ultrafiltration [0039]. Gretsch teaches that the retentate is later used as a matrix for the entrapment of coffee aroma [0048], and therefore, the retentate is considered to be a low aromatic coffee extract and the permeate is considered to be a high aromatic coffee extract. Gretsch also teaches that aroma compounds from the coffee extract are removed prior to filtration via stripping [0052] (i.e., an aroma recovery step before step a) in which aroma volatile compounds are removed from the beverage ingredient extract).
Therefore, where it was known in the art that ultrafiltration was a suitable method for separation via aroma recovery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the ultrafiltration of Gretsch as the aroma recovery method of Heijman, with the reasonable expectation that the method would have yielded predictable results. Additionally, as it was known in the art to treat a beverage ingredient extract, it would have been obvious to have produced the extract as claimed, by modifying the method of Heijman, as Gretsch teaches that it is known in the art to employ an aroma recovery step to a beverage extract prior to filtering the beverage extract.
Regarding claim 2, modified Heijman teaches filtering the extract prior to ultrafiltration in order to remove coarse sediments (i.e., further purifying an extract) (Gretsch: [0050]).
Modified Heijman does not teach that this filtering step is completed after step b), however, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new of unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). See MPEP 2144.04.IV.C.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Heijman teaches that the volatile aroma compounds from the coffee extract are removed prior to filtration via stripping (Gretsch: [0052]) and are encapsulated in the final product with the permeate (i.e., added after step c) (Gretsch: [0053]; [0055]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Heijman is silent as to the filtration being done at a certain temperature and pressure. However, modified Heijman does teach that the initial extract is at room temperature (~25ºC), then frozen until ready to use (Gretsch: [0059]), as well as that the transmembrane pressure during ultrafiltration may vary depending on the clogging of pores, and the feed is only circulated (Gretsch: [0049]). Therefore, it can be considered that the filtration takes place at ambient temperature and pressure, ~25°C and ~1 bar, which falls within the claimed ranges of 20-100°C and 1-3 bar.
Regarding claim 7, modified Heijman teaches that the filtration is carried out by a membrane (Gretsch: [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Heijman teaches that the membrane comprises a size exclusion cut off of 3-100 kDa (Gretsch: [0048]), which encompasses the claimed range of at least 10 kDa. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 9, modified Heijman teaches raising the pH of the retentate to a value of 6-8 (Heijman: claim 9), which overlaps with the claimed range of between 7 and 14, and where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 10, modified Heijman teaches that the pH is raised by treating the retentate with a resin (Heijman: p. 8 lines 15-16).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, modified Heijman is silent as to treating the retentate with a pH-raising means for a period of time in the range of 10 to 180 minutes, modified Heijman teaches that the temperature of the retentate is raised to 150°C (Heijman: claim 1), and modified Heijman is silent as to that the temperature is raised at the same time that the pH is raised.
Heijman does teach that the retentate is treated until the desired pH is reached (Heijman: p. 9) and that the heat treatment is held for 15 minutes (Heijman: claim 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pH change depends on the temperature and duration of the treatment. One of ordinary skill, through no more than routine experimentation would have been able to have arrived at the claimed temperature and duration for treating the retentate. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Additionally, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new of unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). See MPEP 2144.04.IV.C.
Regarding claim 15, modified Heijman teaches that multiple filtration operations can be employed (Gretsch: [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Heijman teaches that the beverage ingredient extract comprises a primary extract (PE2) from a primary extraction process of a roast and ground coffee powder (Heijman: Example 1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Heijman teaches that the beverage ingredient extract comprises between 2-10 wt.% soluble solids (Gretsch: [0040]), which encompasses the claimed range of 2-5 wt.%. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 18, modified Heijman teaches that the beverage ingredient extract comprises 15 wt.% soluble solids (Heijman: Example 1).
Regarding claims 19 and 21, modified Heijman teaches that the recombined extract is dried to generate a soluble beverage ingredient powder (Gretsch: [0055]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heijman et al. (WO 2014/123412) in view of Gretsch et al. (EP 1632135) (both listed on the IDS dated June 20, 2022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Silver et al. (WO 2007/011531; cited on PTO-892 dated Dec. 17, 2024), herein after referred to as Silver.
Modified Heijman teaches the method as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, modified Heijman teaches that the ultrafiltration may be carried out multiple times (Gretsch: [0050]) wherein the repeat filters have differing size exclusion cut offs (Gretsch: [0061]-[0063]).
Modified Heijman is silent as to further filtering the permeate at least once after step a) to produce another extract retentate and then combining.
Silver, in the same field of invention, teaches a process for producing a soluble coffee extract comprising subjecting an initial extract to membrane filtration and separation wherein the permeate produced thereof is further processed through another filtration and is then combined with the other extracts (claims 31 and 35). Silver offers the motivation that subjecting the permeate to a second filtration further purifies the extract (p. 10 lines 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the second permeate filtration of Silver into the method of modified Heijman, thereby arriving at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of producing a purer extract and final product.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heijman et al. (WO 2014/123412; listed on the IDS dated June 20, 2022) in view of Scoville et al. (US PG Pub. 2001/0026821), herein after referred to as Scoville.
Heijman discloses a method of treating a coffee extract (i.e., a beverage ingredient extract) comprising the steps of:
a. subjecting the extract to separation by fractionation resulting in a high aromatic coffee extract (i.e., permeate) and a low aromatic coffee extract (i.e., retentate);
b. raising the pH of the retentate to provide a treated beverage ingredient extract retentate;
c. combining the treated retentate with the permeate to generate a recombined ingredient extract,
wherein the method does not include an aroma recovery step (claim 1; Example 1).
Heijman is silent as to explicitly filtering the beverage extract; however, as stated above, Heijman discloses separating the extract via fractionation (claim 1).
Scoville, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of obtaining a coffee concentrate wherein in the process, a coffee extract is fractionated via ultrafiltration using a membrane (i.e., filtering a coffee extract) (Examples 1 and 2: [0077], [0078], [0085]).
Therefore, where it was known in the art that membrane ultrafiltration was a suitable method of fractionation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the membrane ultrafiltration of Scoville as the fractionation method of Heijman, with the reasonable expectation that the method would have yielded predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The prior art rejection has been amended in light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, however, the overall essential prior art rejection has been maintained by the examiner for the following reasons.
Applicant argues that the modification of Heijman and Gretsch would fail to result in a method that comprises the two claimed steps of an initial aroma recovery step and a subsequent filtering step, arguing that the aroma recovery step and claimed filtering step have been equated in the previous office action (remarks, p. 8-9).
This argument is not persuasive. Although the aroma recovery step via ultrafiltration as taught by Gretsch modifies the method of Heijman by using the ultrafiltration as the aroma recovery step, Gretsch also teaches an additional aroma recovery step that is conducted prior to ultrafiltration. Specifically, Gretsch strips a coffee of its aroma compounds [0052] and then removes additional aroma-degrading compounds via ultrafiltration [0039]. Therefore, the prior art does teach two distinct steps of both aroma recovery and filtering. Moreover, there is sufficient motivation to make this modification as set forth above in the rejection.
Applicant argues that new claim 28 is patentable over the proposed combination of Heijman and Gretsch and there is no motivation to modify the prior art method to “not include an aroma recovery step” as claimed (remarks, p. 10). This argument is moot as claim 28 has been rejected under a new prior art combination, which does teach the limitations of the instant claim.
In the absence of any further arguments with regard to the rejections of the additional dependent claims, the rejections of these dependent claims are maintained.
Conclusion
/M.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791