Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 6/18/2026. Claims 6, 8, 11-12, 14, 17, 19, and 24-29 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended Claim 6 recites “wherein the operations further include searching the SSG thereby summing a set of procedures to dynamically define the interventions and the order of interventions for multiple simultaneously-present failures of the complex aircraft system without the summed set of procedures being limited to predefined cases (emphasis added)”. This is not supported by the Specification as filed, because the Specification contains no discussion of any relationship between searching the SSG and summing any procedures. Paragraph [0067] of the Specification states …”then a set of more elementary procedures can be written that can be summed in order to define the intervention for a complex set of multiple failures, not only to predefined cases”. This is the only mention of summation with respect to the claimed invention in the entire Specification. However, there is no teaching in paragraph [0067], or anywhere else in the Specification, of the summing being performed by searching the SSG as is recited in amended Claim 6.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended Claim 28 recites “wherein automatically searching the updated SSG results in summing a set of procedures on plural aircraft components detected as failed, in a sequence defined by a corresponding sequence of the visited nodes of the updated SSG”. This is not supported by the Specification as filed, because the Specification contains no discussion of any relationship between searching the SSG and summing any procedures, much less in any defined sequence. Paragraph [0067] of the Specification states …”then a set of more elementary procedures can be written that can be summed in order to define the intervention for a complex set of multiple failures, not only to predefined cases”. This is the only mention of summation with respect to the claimed invention in the entire Specification. However, there is no teaching in paragraph [0067], or anywhere else in the Specification, of the summing being performed by searching the SSG, or summing of any set of procedures in any sequence, as is recited in amended Claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6, 8, 11-12, 14, 17, 19, and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the Claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition of Matter?
Independent Claims 6 and 25 recite computer implemented methods. Thus, the claims are to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong One: Does the Claim Recite an Abstract Idea?
Independent Claim 6 recites:
A computer-implemented method for modeling a failure managing framework based on a model having specific elements, and automatically, dynamically determining ontologically-defined procedures comprising interventions and order of interventions to restore operational capability of a complex aircraft system subject to multipoint failure, the method comprising automatically performing, with at least one computer processor connected to at least one memory, operations comprising: [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind]
accessing, in the at least one memory, a stored system state graph (SSG) modeling the complex aircraft system, the stored SSG comprising nodes representing:
(a) state of components of the complex aircraft system,
(b) state of functions of the complex aircraft system, and
(c) mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components;
receiving signals from sensors monitoring the complex aircraft system;
determining component states and function states in response to the received signals, the component states and function states including at least operational states, failed states and unavailable states [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind];
updating the component states and the function states of the nodes of the SSG based on the determined component states and the determined function states, taking into account the mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind]; and
automatically searching the updated SSG to dynamically determine an ontologically-defined procedure comprising interventions and order of interventions to recover functions and operational capability of the complex aircraft system under multiple concurrent failures [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind],
wherein the operations further include searching the SSG thereby summing a set of procedures to dynamically define the interventions and the order of interventions for multiple simultaneously-present failures of the complex aircraft system without the summed set of procedures being limited to predefined cases [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind].
Independent claim 25 recites:
A computer-implemented method for modeling a failure managing framework based on a model having specific elements, and automatically, dynamically determining ontologically-defined procedures comprising interventions and order of interventions to restore operational capability of a complex aircraft system subject to multipoint failure, the method comprising automatically performing [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind], with at least one computer processor connected to at least one memory, operations comprising:
accessing, in the at least one memory, a stored system state graph (SSG) modeling the complex aircraft system, the stored SSG comprising nodes representing:
(a) state of components of the complex aircraft system,
(b) state of functions of the complex aircraft system, and
(c) mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components;
receiving signals from sensors monitoring the complex aircraft system;
determining component states and function states in response to the received signals, the component states and function states including at least operational states, failed states and unavailable states [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind];
updating the component states and the function states of the nodes of the SSG based on the determined component states and the determined function states, taking into account the mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind]; and
automatically searching the updated SSG to dynamically determine an ontologically-defined procedure comprising interventions and order of interventions to recover functions and operational capability of the complex aircraft system under multiple concurrent failures, the ontologically-defined interventions comprising:
(i) turning off and/or disconnecting of a component,
(ii) reset of a component,
(iii) activation of a backup component, and
(iv) real-time reconfiguration of a component during operation [the examiner finds that the foregoing underlined element recites a mental process because it can be performed by in the human mind; it is noted that actually performing the ontologically-defined procedure is not claimed].
Step 2A: Prong Two: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Integrate The Abstract Idea Into a Practical Application?
Claims 6 and 25 each recite the same additional elements. The elements that are not underlined above are the additional elements (i.e., a computer, a computer processor connected to at least one memory, ”accessing, in a memory, a stored system state graph (SSG) modeling the complex aircraft system, the stored SSG comprising nodes representing: (a) state of components of the complex aircraft system, (b) state of functions of the complex aircraft system, and (c) mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components”; and “receiving signals from sensors monitoring the complex aircraft system”).
The examiner submits that each of the following additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the method steps (i.e., the determining, updating, and searching steps) are performed. The computer, computer processor, and memory are merely generic computer hardware to perform the method steps. The accessing and receiving steps are mere gathering of data for use in the abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Amount to Significantly More Than the Abstract Idea?
The examiner submits that the additional elements identified in Step 2A do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements identified in Step 2A are not unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field; and simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, per MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Dependent Claims 8, 11-12, 14, 17, 19, 24, and 26-29 merely recite further details of the mental process, and are also not patent eligible. It is noted that Claim 8 merely very broadly claims use of a known training method for artificial intelligence (see, for example, paragraph [0026] of Chen et al, U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0371481), and therefore cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilmering et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0174612, hereinafter “Wilmering”) in view of Hatami-Hanza (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0113095) and Galivel (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0196974).
Regarding Claim 6, Wilmering teaches a computer-implemented method (onboard computer 206, offboard computer 218) for modeling a failure managing framework based on a model having specific elements (models 210 and 226), and automatically, dynamically determining ontologically-defined procedures comprising interventions and order of interventions to restore operational capability of a complex aircraft system subject to multipoint failure (abstract and paragraph [0002], failure modes and related aircraft maintenance), the method comprising automatically performing, with at least one computer processor (onboard computer 206, offboard computer 218), operations comprising: accessing, in a memory, a system state graph (SSG) modeling the complex aircraft system (Figs. 3-4, graphs; paragraphs [0047]-0050]; graph indicates the state of the system), the stored SSG comprising nodes representing:(a) state of components of the complex aircraft system (paragraph [0049], braking system is a component), (b) state of functions of the complex aircraft system (paragraph [0049], braking is a function), and (c) mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components (paragraph [0049], wheelspeed transducer failure); receiving signals from sensors monitoring the complex aircraft system (paragraphs [0043] and [0049], data regarding the failed tests includes sensor data); determining component states and function states in response to the received signals, the component states and function states including at least operational states, failed states and unavailable states (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]; detected faults include operational states, failed states, and unavailable states of various components and functions, i.e. if a particular component or function is determined to have a particular fault, another component or function is determined not to be the source of the fault, and the faulty component or function may be unavailable); updating the component states and the function states of the nodes of the SSG based on the determined component states and the determined function states, taking into account the mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components (end of paragraph [0048], paragraphs [0058]-[0063], updating the model, which is performed throughout operation of the aircraft); and automatically searching the updated SSG to dynamically determine an ontologically-defined procedure comprising interventions and order of interventions to recover functions and operational capability of the complex aircraft system (Fig. 3, instructions 314, paragraph [0049]), wherein the operations further include searching the SSG to dynamically define the interventions and the order of interventions for failures of the complex aircraft system (Figs. 3-4, graphs are searched to determine interventions and order of interventions, e.g. order may be defined in instructions 216/314).
Wilmering does not specifically teach summing a set of procedures, without the summed set of procedures being limited to predefined cases. However, Hatami-Hanza teaches summing a set of procedures, without the summed set of procedures being limited to predefined cases (paragraphs [0028], [0086], [0089], [0101], and [0110], determining a summation in order to determine an association strength of an ontological subject; association strengths changing based on summation is equated to not being limited to predefined cases). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the summations of Hatami-Hanza to determine how interventions are associated with failures in Wilmering, in order to increase the speed and accuracy of knowledge discovery and investigations (see Hatami-Hanza, paragraph [0007]).
Wilmering does not specifically teach that the aircraft system is under multiple concurrent failures and multiple simultaneously-present failures of the aircraft system. However, the system of Wilmering would monitor the each of plurality of systems of the aircraft (see Fig 1 and paragraph [0042]) during operation and determine failures, and interventions for any detected failures, including simultaneously present failures (see aircraft condition monitoring system, paragraph [0043]). Further, Galivel teaches, in paragraph [0008], that simultaneous failure of systems in an aircraft has been encountered. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to detect simultaneous failures, as taught in Galivel, using the condition monitoring system of Wilmering, because such simultaneous failures have been encountered and may lead to the loss of the aircraft (see Galivel, paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 25, 11, 12, 19, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilmering in view of Parker et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0375520, hereinafter “Parker”) and Galivel.
Regarding Claim 25, Wilmering teaches a computer-implemented method (onboard computer 206, offboard computer 218) for modeling a failure managing framework based on a model having specific elements (models 210 and 226), and automatically, dynamically determining ontologically-defined procedures comprising interventions and order of interventions to restore operational capability of a complex aircraft system subject to multipoint failure (abstract and paragraph [0002], failure modes and related aircraft maintenance), the method comprising automatically performing, with at least one computer processor (onboard computer 206, offboard computer 218), operations comprising: accessing, in a memory, a system state graph (SSG) modeling the complex aircraft system (Figs. 3-4, graphs; paragraphs [0047]-0050]; graph indicates the state of the system), the stored SSG comprising nodes representing:(a) state of components of the complex aircraft system (paragraph [0049], braking system is a component), (b) state of functions of the complex aircraft system (paragraph [0049], braking is a function), and (c) mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components (paragraph [0049], wheelspeed transducer failure); receiving signals from sensors monitoring the complex aircraft system (paragraphs [0043] and [0049], data regarding the failed tests includes sensor data); determining component states and function states in response to the received signals, the component states and function states including at least operational states, failed states and unavailable states (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]; detected faults include operational states, failed states, and unavailable states of various components and functions, i.e. if a particular component or function is determined to have a particular fault, another component or function is determined not to be the source of the fault, and the faulty component or function may be unavailable); updating the component states and the function states of the nodes of the SSG based on the determined component states and the determined function states, taking into account the mapped relationships of the components with the functions and/or other components (end of paragraph [0048], paragraphs [0058]-[0063], updating the model, which is performed throughout operation of the aircraft); and automatically searching the updated SSG to dynamically determine an ontologically-defined procedure comprising interventions and order of interventions to recover functions and operational capability of the complex aircraft system (Fig. 3, instructions 314, paragraph [0049], and paragraph [0063], “respective ones of the plurality of diagnosed failure modes” equated to claimed multiple concurrent failures).
Wilmering does not specifically teach the ontologically-defined interventions comprising: (i) physical isolation of a component, (ii) reset of a component, (iii) activation of a backup component, and (iv) real-time reconfiguration of a component during operation. However, Wilmering does teach ontologically-defined maintenance procedures and actions (Fig. 3, instructions 314, paragraphs [0049] and [0063]). Further, Parker teaches a model (paragraph [0023]) that determines interventions comprising (i) physical isolation of a component (paragraph [0032], missing component is physically isolated), (ii) reset of a component (paragraphs [0031]-[0032], reconfiguration, i.e., changing the function of a component, is equated to claimed resetting), (iii) activation of a backup component (paragraph [0031], changing the flight control logic includes activating a backup component to take over a function from another component), and (iv) real-time reconfiguration of a component during operation (paragraphs [0031]-[0032], reconfiguration). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interventions of Parker in the system of Wilmering, in order to quickly apply an appropriate repair action and avoid out of service time (see Parker, paragraph [0004]).
Wilmering does not specifically teach that the aircraft system is under multiple concurrent failures. However, the system of Wilmering would monitor the each of plurality of systems of the aircraft (see Fig 1 and paragraph [0042]) during operation and determine failures, and interventions for any detected failures, including simultaneously present failures (see aircraft condition monitoring system, paragraph [0043]). Further, Galivel teaches, in paragraph [0008], that simultaneous failure of systems in an aircraft has been encountered. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to detect multiple concurrent failures, as taught in Galivel, using the condition monitoring system of Wilmering, because such simultaneous failures have been encountered and may lead to the loss of the aircraft (see Galivel, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering further teaches wherein the nodes of the SSG include any of Function type elements, Component type elements, Degradation type elements, Supports type elements, Trends type elements, Functional Threshold type elements, and Logics type elements (Fig. 3, components and functions; other types given no patentable weight due to “any of”).
Regarding dependent Claim 12, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering further teaches wherein the current states for the elements include any of Loss of Function, Component Reset, Component Isolation, Component Activation, Degradation Reset, Degradation Mitigation, Support Abnormal Use, and Support Depleted (Fig. 3, fault equated to loss of function; other states given no patentable weight due to “any of”).
Regarding dependent Claim 19, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering further teaches wherein the SSG represents an ontological database (Figs. 3-4, it is noted that “ontological database” merely refers to a stored graph that show relations between concepts in a domain, as evidenced by Shi-Nash et al, U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0195854, paragraphs [0059] and [0119]).
Regarding dependent Claim 24, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering further teaches wherein the operations further comprise updating the nodes of the stored SSG based on environment and context to reflect current operational and non-operational state of the nodes (end of paragraph [0048], paragraphs [0058]-[0063], updating the model, which is performed throughout operation of the aircraft).
Regarding dependent Claim 26, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering further teaches wherein automatically searching the updated SSG comprises visiting the updated nodes of the SSG to define an order of plural ontologically-defined interventions (Figs. 3-4, graphs, which are updated during operation, see paragraphs [0058]-[0063], are searched to determine interventions and order of interventions, e.g. order may be defined in instructions 216/314).
Regarding dependent Claim 29, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering does not specifically teach wherein the multiple concurrent failures comprise concurrent failures of multiple components. However, the system of Wilmering would monitor the each of plurality of systems of the aircraft (see Fig 1 and paragraph [0042]), which include multiple components, during operation and determine failures, and interventions for any detected failures, including simultaneously present failures (see aircraft condition monitoring system, paragraph [0043]). Further, Galivel teaches, in paragraph [0008], that simultaneous failure of systems in an aircraft has been encountered. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to detect multiple concurrent failures, as taught in Galivel, using the condition monitoring system of Wilmering, because such simultaneous failures have been encountered and may lead to the loss of the aircraft (see Galivel, paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilmering in view of Parker, Galivel, and Chen et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0371481, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering does not specifically teach further including using design reward functions to train artificial intelligence algorithms to perform systems intervention. However, Chen teaches, in paragraph [0026], using design of reward functions to train a neural network. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include design reward training, as taught in Chen, in the system of Wilmering, in order to employ reinforcement learning to train a neural network (see Chen, paragraph [0026]).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilmering in view of Parker, Galivel, and Dixit et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0122656, hereinafter “Dixit”).
Regarding dependent Claim 14, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering does not specifically teach wherein executing of a Top-Down Functional Search includes initiating the Top-Down Functional Search at functional thresholds, and tasking the Top-Down Functional Search with recovering a function that is lost. However, Dixit teaches wherein executing of a Top-Down Functional Search includes initiating the Top-Down Functional Search at functional thresholds, and tasking the Top-Down Functional Search with recovering a function that is lost (model domain knowledge 20; paragraph [0025], anomalies and failure modes equated to function that is lost; paragraphs [0032] and [0036], thresholds). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the search and thresholds of Dixit in the system of Wilmering, in order to identify anomalies and failure modes (see Dixit, paragraph [0025]).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilmering in view of Parker, Galivel, and Chopra et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0147670, hereinafter “Chopra”).
Regarding dependent Claim 17, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 25. Wilmering does not specifically teach wherein the searching includes monitoring state of elements of an aircraft fault management system at a frequency dependent on system dynamics. However, Wilmering does teach use of sensors (paragraph [0043]). Further, Chopra teaches in paragraph [0037] that sensor parameters may be sampled at a particular frequency based on the nature of the parameter and how frequently it changes, which is equated to the frequency depending on system dynamics. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to sample parameters according to particular frequencies, as taught in Chopra, in the system of Wilmering, in order to collect data for parameters that indicate the condition or health of an aircraft (see Chopra, paragraph [0037]).
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilmering in view of Parker, Galivel, and Hatami-Hanza.
Regarding dependent Claim 27, Wilmering in view of Parker and Galivel teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 26. Wilmering does not specifically teach wherein the interventions are not limited to predefined cases. However, Hatami-Hanza teaches wherein the interventions are not limited to predefined cases (paragraphs [0028], [0086], [0089], [0101], and [0110], determining a summation in order to determine an association strength of an ontological subject; association strengths changing based on summation is equated to not being limited to predefined cases). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the summations of Hatami-Hanza to determine how interventions are associated with failures in Wilmering, in order to increase the speed and accuracy of knowledge discovery and investigations (see Hatami-Hanza, paragraph [0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Although there are no prior art rejections for Claim 28, the Examiner cannot comment on their allowability until all the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(b) and 101 are satisfactorily addressed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112(a) rejection of Claim 6, Applicant cites Figures 4A-4J and the associated description at paragraphs [0091]-[0093], which explains an example of what happens when “Pack” indicated Failed and “Bleed2” suffers a leakage, or when the Pack component indicates FAIL and Bleed2 also indicates FAIL. However, the cited portions of the Specification includes no discussion of performing any summation. Summation is briefly mentioned in paragraphs [0066] and [0067] of the Specification, which states that interventions or procedures may be summed. However, no relationship between searching the SSG and summing any procedures is defined anywhere in the Specification.
Regarding the 103 rejection of Claim 25, Applicant argues that Wilmering does not disclose multi-point failure management that was added by amendment to Claim 25. New grounds of rejection based on the Galivel reference are provided for the amended claims. It is recommended that, rather than merely mentioning that there may be multiple simultaneous failures, Applicant amend the claims to define exactly how multiple simultaneous failures are handled using the SSG (as is supported by the Specification as filed). Applicant goes on to argue that Parker does not teach the various component related actions. However, the Examiner disagrees, because the interventions are very broadly claimed. Updated grounds of rejection are provided above.
Regarding the 101 rejections, Applicant argues that the Claims are an improvement to a particular technology, i.e., real time operational intervention and recovery of system functionality. The Examiner disagrees. The Claims are merely broadly linked to data received from an aircraft, and do not include actually performing any operation with respect to the aircraft based on the abstract idea. Updated 101 rejections of the claims are provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA L DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857