DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 23 June 2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Response to Amendment
Independent claim(s) 1 has been amended by applicant' s amendments received 17 November 2025.
Claims 11-20 are newly added.
Claim 7 has been canceled, and therefore the prior objections is/are moot.
Prior objections to the drawings have been overcome by applicant’s amendments received 17 November 2025 and are therefore withdrawn.
Prior objections to the specification have been overcome by applicant’s amendments received 17 November 2025 and are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that a passive optical component such as a Mach-Zehnder interferometer does not meet the requirements of “electro-optic modulation” solely because it does not include an external electric signal) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Requirement of an active modulation, via an external electric signal, is not included within and therefore is narrower than the claim language. As written, the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation of ‘electro-optic modulation’ is modulation which occurs due to optical modulation based on the inherent nature of light being an electromagnetic wave. Additionally, the specification states in [0020] that a Mach-Zehnder Interferometer (MZI) may be used in the system to create the two-path modulation as it is a low cost, simpler design choice, and additionally states in [0024] that an MZI can modulate via voltage, which would meet the requirement of active modulation as argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 14 includes a further limitation on claim 13, wherein “the optical circulator is a micro-crystal optical circulator, and has a terminal face coupled to the silicon photonic chip in an inverted cone structure. ” The specification notes it is manufactured “through a micro-assembly process” ([0025]). Beyond that, information described in the specification about the circulator is well known in the art: that they are non-reciprocal, may be a main component of an optical system, and circulators decrease interference within the system between signals. Micro-crystal circulators are known, as integrated, wafer-scaled circulators are utilized in the art, but the specifics as claimed (a “terminal face”, and “an inverted cone structure”) are specific and implementation would not apparent based on the state of the prior art and lack of direction provided by the inventor. That would mean integration of these would not be predictable, and it is not apparent to the examiner as one skilled in the relevant art the nature of this embodiment, how it is oriented or implemented without undue experimentation on the form, and integration, of the component in this case.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim language of “the external input signal light is frequency modulated continuous laser obtained through triangular modulation.” appears to be incomplete; a suggested correction is “…light is frequency modulated continuous laser light obtained…” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qiu teaches a silicon photonic chip, comprising
a beam splitter module is configured to receive an external input signal light and split the signal light to transmit them to the optical modulation interference module (203) and the light measurement interference module ([0133]; Fig. 1, optical splitter (230) receives source beam from optical isolator (130) and separates towards first coupler (210) and fourth coupler (240));
a light measurement interference module is configured to split the received signal light into a measurement light and a local oscillation light, and then receive a reflected light of a portion of the measurement light to interfere with the local oscillation light to form a measurement interference light after transmitting the measurement light to the outside ( [0133] - [0137]; Fig. 1, first coupler (210) splits light towards second coupler (220) and first phased array (310), where second coupler (220) combines received light and reference light from first coupler (210));
an optical modulation interference module (203) splits the received signal light into a first reference light and a second reference light, and then combines and interferes the first reference light with the second reference light after adjusting the optical phase of the first reference light and/or the second reference light to form a reference interference light ([0141]; Fig. 1, interferometer (500) receives light from fourth coupler (240) and internally splits and recombines and emits to fifth coupler (250));
the light detection module receives the measurement interference light and the reference interference light respectively, and performs photoelectric conversion to output an electrical signal to the outside ([0153], [0170]; Fig. 1, acquisition card (600) samples signals and processes, where signals are incoming from first (212) and second (720) balance detectors),
wherein the optical modulation of the optical modulation interference module (203) comprises one of electro-optic modulation, thermo-optic modulation, or acousto-optic modulation ([0164], where the interferometer may be a Mach-Zehnder interferometer, which functions on electro-optic modulation). .
Qiu does not teach the system being on an integrated chip.
Park teaches a silicon body in which a beam splitter module, a light measurement interference module, an optical modulation interference module (203), and a light detection module are integrated ([0006] - [0007], [0036]; where image sensor capable of transmission and reception, may also include an optical modulator all on a photonic integrated chip.)
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Qiu to incorporate the teachings of Park to utilize a lidar system for a micro mechanical system, which utilizes a shared substrate or body with a reasonable expectation of success. As noted in Park, use of photonic integrated circuits (PIC) as an optical phased array in a lidar system allows for use in various fields such as vehicles, drones and autonomous driving technology, and therefore would have a predictable result with the system of Qiu of reducing the size of the system and therefore increasing practicality ([0002] – [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1.
Qiu is silent on the nature of the paths between components.
Park teaches a silicon body comprises optical paths made of optical waveguides for connecting the beam splitter module, the light measurement interference module, the optical modulation interference module (203), and the light detection module ([0006] - [0007], [0038] - [0044]; Fig 1 where integrated modulation, emission, and detection components are connected by waveguides such as (102), (123)).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Qiu to incorporate the teachings of Park to utilize a lidar system for a micro mechanical system, which utilizes a shared substrate or body and includes integrated waveguides with a reasonable expectation of success. As noted in Park, use of photonic integrated circuits (PIC) as an optical phased array in a lidar system allows for use in various fields such as vehicles, drones and autonomous driving technology, and therefore would have a predictable result with the system of Qiu of reducing the size of the system and therefore increasing practicality ([0002] – [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1, wherein
the received signal light is split into the measurement light and the local oscillation light with a ratio of 99:1 in energy ([0147]).
Regarding claim 16, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1, wherein
the external input signal light is frequency modulated continuous laser obtained through triangular modulation ([0062], [0091]; Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1), and further in view of Masini et al. (hereinafter Masini, US 20200209704 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1, wherein the output of the first splitting coupler (202) is optically connected to the input of the optical modulation interference module (203) and the light measurement interference module, respectively ([0133]; Fig. 1, optical splitter (230) receives source beam from optical isolator (130) and separates towards first coupler (210) and fourth coupler (240)).
Qiu, in view of Park, is silent on the specific form of the optical splitter.
Masini teaches a beam splitter, where the beam splitter module comprises a first grating coupler (201) and a first splitting coupler (202);
the first grating coupler (201) is configured to receive the external input signal light, and the output of the first grating coupler (201) is optically connected to the input of the first splitting coupler (202) ([0034]; Fig. 3, where bias light (305C) enters grating coupler (305C) which couples the optical signal into splitter (313));
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Masini to utilize a beam splitter which is comprised of a grating coupler and splitting coupler with a reasonable expectation of success. The beam-splitter of Masini, which compromises a grating coupler and splitting coupler, is intended for use on an integrated single-chip, where the chip also utilizes an interferometer ([0014], [0018], [0026]), similar to the system of Qiu. Therefore, use of the combination of a grating coupler and optical splitter in the system of Qiu would be a simple substitution of two elements, and would have a predictable result of receiving an external signal and splitting said signal to be sent to further optical components such as the sets of couplers as taught by Qiu.
Claim(s) 3-5, 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1), and further in view of Satyan et al. (hereinafter Satyan, US 20190025431 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1, wherein the light measurement interference module comprises a second splitting coupler (205) ([0076]; Fig. 1 first coupler (210)), a fifth grating coupler (209) ([0081]; Fig. 1 second coupler (220)), and a transmitting and receiving grating unit (211) ([0089]; Fig. 1 first (310) and second (320) phased arrays);
the input of the second splitting coupler (205) is optically connected to the output of the first splitting coupler (202), and to one of the inputs of the fifth grating coupler (209) respectively (Fig. 1, where first coupler (210) is connected to an output of third coupler (230) and inputs to second coupler (220));
the output of the fifth grating coupler (209) is optically connected to the input of the light detection module([0081], [0127]; Fig. 1 where second coupler (220) forms first output optical signals sent to the acquisition card (600));
and the transmitting and receiving grating unit (211) is configured to transmit the measurement light and to receive or transmit the reflected light of a portion of the measurement light ([0089]; Fig. 1 where first (310) phased array emits towards a target (400) and second (320) phased array receives return signals from the environment).
Qiu and Park do not explicitly teach use of a circulator in the optical system.
Satyan teaches use of a circulator within a lidar system which also utilizes local oscillator optical paths, a shared transmission and reception pathway, and may include an interferometer. The circulator may be used as an optical module where the output of the second splitting coupler (205) is optically connected to a first port of the optical loop module (3),
a second port of the optical loop module (3) is optically connected to the input of the transmitting and receiving grating unit (211), and a third port of the optical loop module (3) is optically connected to an input of the fifth grating coupler (209) ([0061], [0071] – [0072]; Fig. 5, circulator (530) includes three ports, where a first port includes input from a coupler/splitter (520), a second port connects to the emission(535)/reception(540) optical pathway, and a third port connects to a second coupler (545) where the light is recombined with a local oscillator signal (125)).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Satyan to utilize a circulator within the optical system, where several optical paths and signals are entering and exiting shared components with a reasonable expectation of success. Use of circulators within optical systems is known in the field of lidar, as well as other optical systems, and allows for isolation of signals without allowing for back reflections. Therefore, use of a circulator in the system of Qiu, as taught by Satyan, would have predictable results if inserted between two couplers (Fig. 1, the first and second couplers (210) and (220), respectively) with a third port to and from the transmission/reception (Fig. 1, first and second phased arrays, (310) and (320), respectively), where inputs are specifically directed, feedback is minimized, while allowing for bi-directional transmission in the emission/reception port.
Regarding claim 4, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 3.
Qiu does not teach a combined transmission and receiving antenna array.
Park teaches the transmitting and receiving grating unit (211) adopts a single grating ([0014], [0080] - [0082]; Fig. 7, where grating antenna array (700) is a Tx/Rx array)
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu to incorporate the teachings of Park where an integrated photonic chip has a combined transmission and receiving grating with a reasonable expectation of success. The integrated chip of Park, which also splits an initial optical signal into multiple paths, and may also include an optical modulator (such as a Mach-Zehnder interferometer) while it acts as a 3D image sensor utilizes a shared transmission and reception optical path ([0007], [0071]), which is known work in the field. This would have a predictable result when integrated into the system of Qiu of reducing the optical footprint of the system in addition to only requiring one optical phased array for the integrated chip.
Regarding claim 5, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 3.
Qiu as modified teaches use of an optical loop module, but does not teach a plurality of optical paths nor those paths including optical switches and gratings in order to control of a unique path, post optical loop module.
Park teaches a transmitting and receiving grating unit (211) comprises a plurality of optical switches and a plurality of gratings, the plurality of gratings form a grating array
and each optical switch (210) is set in the optical path between each grating and the second port of the optical loop module (3) to control the light transmission of the unique optical path between any grating and the second port of the optical loop module (3) ([0044] – [0048]; Figs. 3A and 7, where each output of the 2 x M switch (104) connects to a 1 x K array (120), where each array includes a grating);
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Qiu to incorporate the teachings of Park where an integrated photonic chip has a plurality of optical switches and gratings suited for transmission and/or reception with a reasonable expectation of success. The integrated chip of Park, which also splits an initial optical signal into multiple paths, and may also include an optical modulator (such as a Mach-Zehnder interferometer) while it acts as a 3D image sensor. The modified system of Qiu, which already utilizes emission and detection arrays (Fig. 1) could integrate the use of optical switches and gratings along individual optical paths within the arrays with a predictable result of being able to control individual emission/reception pathways with optical switches.
Regarding claim 8, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 3, wherein
the light detection module comprises a first balance detector (204) ([0069]; Fig. 1, second balance detector (720) ); and a second balance detector (212) ([0069]; Fig. 1, first balance detector (710) ); correspondingly, the fifth grating coupler (209) is a 2x2 optical coupler ([0047], [0148]; Fig. 1, where the second coupler (220) combines an echo signal and a local oscillator signal and splits them into two equal output signals);
the input of the first balance detector (204) is optically connected to the output of the optical modulation interference module (203) ([0069]; Fig. 1, second balance detector (720) is connected to the interferometer (500) through the fifth coupler (250)),
the input of the 2x2 optical coupler is optically connected to the output of the second splitting coupler (205) and the third port of the optical loop module (3) respectively, and the output of the 2x2 optical coupler is optically connected to the input of the second balance detector (212) ([0047], [0148]; Fig. 1, where the second coupler (220) combines an echo signal from receiver (320) and a local oscillator signal from first coupler (210) and splits them into two equal output signals);
and the first balance detector (204) and the second balance detector (212) convert the received optical signal into an electrical signal for external output ([0167]).
Regarding claim 9, Qiu as modified above teaches a silicon photonic chip-based LiDAR, which comprises a laser module ([0075]; Fig. 1, laser (110)), a signal processing module (6) ([0153], [0172]; Fig. 1, acquisition card (600) and signal processor (800)), and the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1, wherein
the output of the laser module is optically connected to the input of the silicon photonic chip, ) ([0075]; Fig. 1, where laser emission (110) inputs to system at third coupler (230)) and the electrical signal output of the silicon photonic chip is electrically connected to the signal processing module (6) to process and analyze laser measurement information ([0172]).
Qiu and Park does not teach use of a collimator or lens situated where the first phased array emits towards a target.
Satyan teaches a beam collimator, where the beam collimator module (4) is set on a side of the exit of the measurement light of the silicon photonic chip and allows the silicon photonic chip to be placed in the focal plane of the beam collimator module (4) ([0071]; Fig. 8, collimator lens (870) which is situated at position in system associated with exit of output beam and entrance of reflected signal.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Satyan to incorporate a lens adjacent to an emitter/receiver and between the system and an object in the environment with a reasonable expectation of success. Situating a lens in such a location will have a predictable result, as noted by Satyan, of being used to expand and/or collimate an output beam being directed towards an environment for scanning purposes, and this allows for a specific beam size/shape to be emitted into the environment from a scanner such as a lidar ([0071]) .
Regarding claim 10, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip-based LiDAR according to claim 9, wherein
the laser module comprises a laser (101) ([0075]; Fig. 1, laser (110)) and an isolator (102), and the laser (101) is optically connected to the silicon photonic chip via the isolator (102) ([0166]; Fig. 1, where isolator (130) is arranged between laser (110) and third coupler (230)); and the output of the laser (101) is frequency modulated continuous laser ([0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1.
Qiu is silent on the material of the detector.
Satyan teaches a light detection module comprises a Ge detector ([0104]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Satyan to incorporate a Ge detector with a reasonable expectation of success. Germanium or germanium-silicon detectors are well known in the art of ranging systems, and inclusion would be a simple substitution of two elements with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1) and Satyan et al. (hereinafter Satyan, US 20190025431 A1), and further in view of Fish (US 8965155 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 3.
Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, does not teach that all optical pathways attached to a loop module will have individual grating couplers.
Fish teaches an optical isolator with a second grating coupler (206), a third grating coupler (207), and a fourth grating coupler (208);
the optical loop module (3) is optically connected to the second splitting coupler (205), the transmitting and receiving grating unit (211) and the fifth grating coupler (209) respectively through the second grating coupler (206), the third grating coupler (207) and the fourth grating coupler (208) (Col. 3 line 38 - Col. 4, line 20, Col. 5 line 60-Col. 6, line 2; Fig. 4A, where each waveguide (410, 415, and 460) have a grating coupler shown as a 2D grating coupler, where two couplers are crossed at 90 degrees, (420) and coupler (470)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, to incorporate the teachings of Fish to utilize grating couplers with all waveguides within an optical system, specifically in and around a loop module (circulator) with a reasonable expectation of success. Integration of the isolator and grating couplers as taught by Fish into the system of Qiu would have the predictable results of controlling light pathways within an optical system, such as along waveguides entering or exiting a circulator (Fish, Col. 1 lines 19-25) so that it does not back feed into components such as lasers, as well as allows the system to maintain a minimal footprint (Fish, Col. 5 lines 40-59.)
Regarding claim 13, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 6.
Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, does not teach that the loop module specifically utilizes a circulator.
Fish teaches the optical loop module (3) further comprises an optical circulator; wherein a first port of the optical circulator is optically connected to the second grating coupler (206) to form the first port of the optical loop module (3), a second port of the optical circulator is optically connected to the third grating coupler (207) to form the second port of the optical loop module (3), a third port of the optical circulator is optically connected to the fourth grating coupler (208) to form a third port of the optical loop module (3) (Col. 5, lines 18-32; Figs. 7A, 7B where circulator includes at least 3 ports, and isolator (700) is that of Fig. 4A where waveguides (410, 415 and 460) are connected through grating couplers).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, to incorporate the teachings of Fish to utilize grating couplers with all waveguides within an optical system, specifically in and around a loop module (circulator) with a reasonable expectation of success. Integration of the isolator and grating couplers as taught by Fish into the system of Qiu would have the predictable results of controlling light pathways within an optical system, such as along waveguides entering or exiting a circulator (Fish, Col. 1 lines 19-25) so that it does not back feed into components such as lasers, as well as allows the system to maintain a minimal footprint (Fish, Col. 5 lines 40-59.)
Regarding claim 14, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 13.
Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, does not teach specifics about the loop module.
Fish teaches an optical circulator which is a micro-crystal optical circulator (Col. 2, lines 49-62, where the circulator, waveguides and gratings, included in embodiments of the invention, “utilize optical structures created by processes in the wafer fabrication foundry”.)
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, to incorporate the teachings of Fish to utilize a circulator as a loop module, where the circulator is wafer-scaled and integrated, with a reasonable expectation of success. Integration of the isolator and grating couplers as taught by Fish into the system of Qiu would have the predictable results of controlling light pathways within an optical system, such as along waveguides entering or exiting a circulator (Fish, Col. 1 lines 19-25) so that it does not back feed into components such as lasers, as well as allows the system to maintain a minimal footprint (Fish, Col. 5 lines 40-59.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1) and Satyan et al. (hereinafter Satyan, US 20190025431 A1), and further in view of Kuse et al. (hereinafter Kuse, US 20210294180 A1).Regarding claim 17, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 8.
Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, does not explicitly discuss what errors are being corrected by the balanced detectors.
Kuse teaches systems and methods for precision control of micro-resonator based frequency combs, and that reference interference light which is transmitted into the first balance detector and photoelectrically detected by the first balance detector to form an electrical signal configured to correct a nonlinear error of the external input signal light ([0094], where reference interferometers with known delays can be used to monitor, which can include nonlinear error correction caused by the FMCW amplitude modulation).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, to incorporate the teachings of Kuse to identify that one source of error which can be corrected by balanced detectors is due to nonlinear errors of the external input signal, with a reasonable expectation of success. As Kuse notes and references, mitigating these errors helps to improve resolution and accuracy of FMCW LIDAR systems ([0094]), and thus would have a predictable result of improving the accuracy of the system of Qiu as modified by Park and Satyan.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1), and further in view of Kuse et al. (hereinafter Kuse, US 20210294180 A1).Regarding claim 18, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 1, where
the reference interference light has a preset frequency difference ([0141], [0164], where the interferometer has a secondary arm with a given, or known, delay, and is utilized in processing).
Qiu, in view of Park, does not explicitly discuss that the errors being corrected are nonlinear.
Kuse teaches systems and methods for precision control of micro-resonator-based frequency combs, and where the reference interference light is used to correct a nonlinear error of the external input signal light inherited by the measurement interference light ([0094], where reference interferometers with known delays can be used to monitor, which can include nonlinear error correction caused by the FMCW amplitude modulation).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park, to incorporate the teachings of Kuse to identify that one source of error which can be corrected by balanced detectors is due to nonlinear errors of the external input signal, with a reasonable expectation of success. As Kuse notes and references, mitigating these errors helps to improve resolution and accuracy of FMCW LIDAR systems ([0094]), and thus would have a predictable result of improving the accuracy of the system of Qiu as modified by Park.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1), and further in view of Paniccia (US 20210140768 A1).Regarding claim 19, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 11.
Qiu, in view of Park, does not teach specifics about the materials optical waveguides are formed from.
Paniccia teaches the state of the art at the time of filing, and that integrated, on-chip waveguides are commonly made of SiO2, SiON or SiN ([0007], [0015], integrated optical waveguides can be made of SiO2 or SiON).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, to incorporate the teachings of Paniccia that integrated waveguides within a PIC may be formed from SiO2 or SiON, with a reasonable expectation of success. Paniccia stands as reference that utilization of silicon-based photonics components in integrated systems is known work in this field, with predictable variations known to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (hereinafter Qiu, CN 109031338A) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20210067251 A1), and further in view of Fish (US 8965155 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Qiu as modified above teaches the silicon photonic chip according to claim 11.
Qiu, in view of Park, does not teach specifics about the circulator being connected via integrated waveguides.
Fish teaches the optical loop module (3) is connected to the second splitting coupler (205), the fifth grating coupler (209) and the transmitting and receiving grating unit (211) through on-chip waveguides respectively (Col. 2, lines 49-61, where circulator/isolators are connected to other components on the wafer via waveguides (410, 415, 460)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Qiu, in view of Park and Satyan, to incorporate the teachings of Fish to utilize a circulator as a loop module, where the circulator is wafer-scaled and integrated, with a reasonable expectation of success. Integration of the isolator and waveguides as taught by Fish into the system of Qiu would have the predictable results of controlling light pathways within an optical system, such as along paths entering or exiting a circulator (Fish, Col. 1 lines 19-25) so that it does not back feed into components such as lasers, as well as allows the system to maintain a minimal footprint (Fish, Col. 5 lines 40-59.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khalil et al. (US 20160282184 A1) teaches an integrated detector chip, which utilizes multiple interferometers, optical splitters and combiners, a light source and a plurality of detectors.
Fujiwara (US 5657405 A) teaches an optical fiber sensor which can measure displacement using a compact structure, including use of a laser diode and optical isolator, a frequency modulation circuit and fiber couplers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645