Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 20190253873) in view of Kim (US 20170366960) in view of Dong (US 20190110186).
Regarding claim 1, 16 and17, Shi teaches a method in a network node for controlling report of a Presence Reporting Area (PRA) status, comprising:
receiving from another network node a message indicating a default PRA status ([0075] S304b. “The PGW sends a PRA location change notification request 2 to the MME by using the SGW, so that the MME receives the PRA location change notification request 2, where the PRA location change notification request 2 carries the identity of the PRA set 2 and is used to instruct the MME to perform PRA location change reporting when the UE enters or leaves any PRA in the PRA set 2 corresponding to the identity of the PRA set 2”); and
refraining from reporting an initial PRA status of a terminal device to the other network node when the initial PRA status is consistent with the default PRA status ([0086] “when a location of the UE changes, the MME detects whether a location of the UE in a PRA changes. If the location changes, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed. If the location does not change, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting does not need to be performed”).
Regarding the newly amended limitation, Shi further teaches “in case of a change in the PRA status ([0085] “S305. The MME determines whether PRA location change reporting needs to be performed. [0086] Specifically, when a location of the UE changes, the MME detects whether a location of the UE in a PRA changes. If the location changes, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed”),
the network node sends a notification of the changed PRA status to the other network node, (See Fig. 3 Step S306; “[0087] S306. If the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed, the MME sends, to the PGW by using the SGW, location change information in a PRA”)
Shi does not teach “sending a Modify Bearer Request having an Information Element (IE) PRA information to the other network node in an event the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status”.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches “sending a Modify Bearer Request having an Information Element (IE) PRA information to the other network node in an event the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status” (“[0013] “When the network entity determines that the UE leaves or enters a predetermined area, transmitting the second message may be performed without receiving the first message”; ([0015] The second message may include .. a Modify Bearer Request message [0019] “the information included in the second message may be expressed by making an information element (IE)”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shi’s teaching of sending PRA to also include Kim’s teaching of sending the Modify Bearer Request in order to comply with the standard by using the standard message in requesting change or updates data.
Kim teaches “sending a Modify Bearer Request with an Information Element (IE) PRA information to the other network node in an event the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status. However, Kim does not explicitly teach sending a Modify Bearer Request without including an Information Element (IE) to the other network node.
In an analogous art, Dong teaches that sending a Modify Bearer Request without an Information Element (IE) to the other network node when there is no change. ([0021] “The 3GPP has agreed that the mobility management node shall include the serving network IE in the modify bearer request transmitted to the SGW only when the serving network has changed.” This “only” condition means the modify bearer request will only include the IE information if there is change and will not include the IE if there is no change.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Dong’s teaching of sending the Modify Bearer Request without IE information when there’s no change to Kim’s Modify Bearer Request and Shi’s PRA because this omitting of the IE will reduce the amount of unnecessary data being sent and subsequently less processing/parsing needed which results in a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 2, Shi, Kim and Dong teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: reporting the initial PRA status to the other network node when the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status (Shi, [0086] “when a location of the UE changes, the MME detects whether a location of the UE in a PRA changes. If the location changes, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed. If the location does not change, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting does not need to be performed”; [0087] S306. If the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed, the MME sends, to the PGW by using the SGW, location change information in a PRA, an identity of the PRA, and an identity of a PRA set to which the PRA corresponding to the identity of the PRA belongs, so that the PGW receives the location change information in the PRA, the identity of the PRA, and the identity of the PRA set to which the PRA corresponding to the identity of the PRA belongs, where the location change information of the UE in the PRA includes information about entering or leaving the PRA by the UE.).
Regarding claim 3, Shi, Kim and Dong teach the method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a Mobility Management Entity (MME) and the other network node is a Serving Gateway (SGW) (Shi, [0087] S306. If the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed, the MME sends, to the PGW by using the SGW, location change information in a PRA, an identity of the PRA, and an identity of a PRA set to which the PRA corresponding to the identity of the PRA belongs, so that the PGW receives the location change information in the PRA, the identity of the PRA, and the identity of the PRA set to which the PRA corresponding to the identity of the PRA belongs, where the location change information of the UE in the PRA includes information about entering or leaving the PRA by the UE”).
Regarding claim 4, Shi, Kim and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the network node is a Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW and is transmitted to a Serving Gateway (SGW) and the default PRA status is indicated in an Information Element (IE) PRA Action (Shi, Fig. 3; Shi teaches PGW and SGW). Kim teaches “the message is a Create Session Response” and status is indicated in an Information Element (IE)” (Shi, “[0154] The MME transmits a Create Session Request message for the PDN connection to the new SGW, and the new SGW allocates S-GW addresses and TEIDs for uplink traffic on S1_U reference point. Information on a protocol option to be used in the S5/S8 interface is also transmitted to the SGW. When the PGW requests location information of the UE, the MME transmits user location information IE (information element) to the SGW by including the user location information IE in the message”).
Regarding claim 5, Shi, Kim and Dong teach the method of claim 1, wherein the network node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity, and the other network node is a Session Management Function (SMF) entity (Shi, “[0010] In an embodiment, the network node may be an AMF entity, and the other network node may be an SMF entity”).
Regarding claim 7, Shi, Kim and Dong teach the method of claim 1, wherein the initial PRA status is initially determined by the network node in response to receiving the message (Shi, Fig. 3; S304a is received in response to S302a and S303a).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, Kim and Dong in view of Ryu (US 20230397155)
Regarding claim 6, Shi, Kim and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) entity and is transmitted to a Session Management Function (SMF) entity, and the default PRA status is indicated in Presence Information (Shi Fig. 3). Shi does not explicitly teach “the message is an Event Exposure Subscribe Request”. In an analogous art, Ryu teaches “the message is an Event Exposure Subscribe Request” ([0246] “for the height-based event notification, the event type may indicate a presence in aera of interest (AOI) report. The “presence in AOI” may be used to get location information if the wireless device moves from the inside of the AOI to the outside of the AOI and vice versa. [0292] The first message may be an event exposure subscribe message. The event exposure subscribe request message may be for event exposure subscribe service provided by the AMF to one or more core network nodes. The second message may be a location reporting control message”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shi’s teaching of reporting presence to incorporate Ruy’s teaching of using the Event Exposure Subscribe Request to communicate and comply with the industry’s standard.
Claim(s) 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 20190253873) in view of Kim (US 20170366960) further in view of Hoffner (US 20200196198) further in view of Dong (US 20190110186)
Regarding claim 8, Shi teaches a method in a network node for controlling report of a Presence Reporting Area (PRA) status, comprising:
transmitting a message indicating a default PRA status, to cause another network node to refrain from reporting an initial PRA status of a terminal device that is consistent with the default PRA status ([0075] S304b. “The PGW sends a PRA location change notification request 2 to the MME by using the SGW.. where the PRA location change notification request 2 carries the identity of the PRA set 2 and is used to instruct the MME to perform PRA location change reporting when the UE enters or leaves any PRA in the PRA set 2 corresponding to the identity of the PRA set 2”; [0086] “when a location of the UE changes, the MME detects whether a location of the UE in a PRA changes. If the location changes, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed. If the location does not change, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting does not need to be performed”).
in case of a change in the PRA status ([0085] “S305. The MME determines whether PRA location change reporting needs to be performed. [0086] Specifically, when a location of the UE changes, the MME detects whether a location of the UE in a PRA changes. If the location changes, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed”), the network node sends a notification of the changed PRA status to the other network node, (See Fig. 3 Step S306; “[0087] S306. If the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed, the MME sends, to the PGW by using the SGW, location change information in a PRA”)
Shi does not teach “receiving a Modify Bearer Request from the other network node having an Information Element (IE) PRA information in an event the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status; and forwarding the Modify Bearer Request to a gateway, the gateway forwards the Modify Bearer Request to a first entity”.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches “receiving a Modify Bearer Request from the other network node having an Information Element (IE) PRA information in an event the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status” (“[0013] “When the network entity determines that the UE leaves or enters a predetermined area, transmitting the second message may be performed without receiving the first message”; ([0015] The second message may include .. a Modify Bearer Request message [0019] the information included in the second message may be expressed by making an information element (IE)). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shi’s teaching of sending PRA to also include Kim’s teaching of sending the Modify Bearer Request in order to comply with the standard by using the standard message in requesting change or updates data.
However, Kim does not teach “the other network node forwards the Modify Bearer Request to a Gateway, the Gateway forwards the Modify Bearer Request to a first entity.”
In an analogous art, Hoffner teaches “the other network node forwards the Modify Bearer Request (Fig. 1C Modify Bearer Request 144) to a Gateway (PGW), the Gateway forwards the Modify Bearer Request to a first entity (PCRF)” (See Fig. 1C [0040] As shown by reference number 144, MME 102-1 may provide a request (e.g., a modify bearer request) to PCRF 114. For example, MME 102-1 may provide a modify bearer request to PGW 110, SGW 110 may provide the modify bearer request to PGW 112, and PGW 112 may provide the modify bearer request to PCRF 114.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shi’s teaching of sending PRA and Kim’s teaching of sending the Modify Bearer Request to also include Hoffner’s teaching of forwarding the Modify Bearer Request from the PGW to the PCRF in order to necessarily allow the PCRF perform its responsibility of enforcing policy and data traffic for individual users.
Further, the examiner notes that the BRI of the claim is limited to a method “in a network node for controlling report of a PRA status” and comprises the steps of “transmitting”, “receiving”, and “forwarding”. Since this method is limited to the steps performed by “network node”, the claimed functions/steps that are performed by other nodes are irrelevant and non-functional to this method. Thus, the limitation “the gateway forwards the Modify Bearer Request to a first entity” is merely considered an intended use since the claim is clearly limited to “a method in a network node for controlling report of a PRA status” – and it is clear that the gateway and a first entity is another entity different and distinct from the “network node”. For compact prosecution, the above limitation was considered, however it is considered as intended uses and does not carry patentable weight.
Kim teaches “sending a Modify Bearer Request with an Information Element (IE) PRA information to the other network node in an event the initial PRA status is different from the default PRA status. However, Kim does not explicitly teach sending a Modify Bearer Request without including an Information Element (IE) to the other network node.
In an analogous art, Dong teaches that sending a Modify Bearer Request without an Information Element (IE) to the other network node when there is no change. ([0021] “The 3GPP has agreed that the mobility management node shall include the serving network IE in the modify bearer request transmitted to the SGW only when the serving network has changed.” This “only” condition means the modify bearer request will only include the IE information if there is change and will not include the IE if there is no change.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Dong’s teaching of sending the Modify Bearer Request without additional IE information when there’s no change to Kim’s Modify Bearer Request and Shi’s PRA because this omitting of the IE will reduce the amount of unnecessary data being sent and subsequently less processing/parsing needed which results in a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 9, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the message is to further cause the other network node to report an initial PRA status of the terminal device that is different from the default PRA status (Shi, [0086] “when a location of the UE changes, the MME detects whether a location of the UE in a PRA changes. If the location changes, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting needs to be performed. If the location does not change, the MME determines that PRA location change reporting does not need to be performed”).
Regarding claim 10, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the network node is a Policy and Charging Rules Function (PCRF) entity, and the message is a request for starting a PRA reporting event and is transmitted to a Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW) (Shi, See Fig. 3; subscription information S302a sent from PCRF to PGW).
Regarding claim 11, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the network node is a Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW and is transmitted to a Serving Gateway (SGW) and the default PRA status is indicated in an Information Element (IE) PRA Action (Shi, Fig. 3; Shi teaches PGW and SGW). Kim teaches “the message is a Create Session Response” and status is indicated in an Information Element (IE)” (Shi, “[0154] The MME transmits a Create Session Request message for the PDN connection to the new SGW, and the new SGW allocates S-GW addresses and TEIDs for uplink traffic on S1_U reference point. Information on a protocol option to be used in the S5/S8 interface is also transmitted to the SGW. When the PGW requests location information of the UE, the MME transmits user location information IE (information element) to the SGW by including the user location information IE in the message”).
Regarding claim 12, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 10, the other network node is a Mobility Management Entity (MME) (Shi, Fig. 3 MME).
Regarding claim 14, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 1, wherein the network node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity, and the other network node is a Session Management Function (SMF) entity (Shi, “[0010] In an embodiment, the network node may be an AMF entity, and the other network node may be an SMF entity”).
Regarding claim 15, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the initial PRA status is initially determined by the other network node in response to receiving the message (Shi, Fig. 3; S304a is received in response to S302a and S303a).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong in view of Ryu (US 20230397155)
Regarding claim 13, Shi, Kim, Hoffner and Dong teach the method of claim 8, wherein the network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) entity and is transmitted to a Session Management Function (SMF) entity, and the default PRA status is indicated in Presence Information (Shi Fig. 3). Shi does not explicitly teach “the message is an Event Exposure Subscribe Request”. In an analogous art, Ryu teaches “the message is an Event Exposure Subscribe Request” ([0246] “for the height based event notification, the event type may indicate a presence in aera of interest (AOI) report. The “presence in AOI” may be used to get location information if the wireless device moves from the inside of the AOI to the outside of the AOI and vice versa. [0292] The first message may be an event exposure subscribe message. The event exposure subscribe request message may be for event exposure subscribe service provided by the AMF to one or more core network nodes. The second message may be a location reporting control message”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shi’s teaching of reporting presence to incorporate Ruy’s teaching of using the Event Exposure Subscribe Request to communicate and comply with the industry’s standard.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection Dong (US 20190110186).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG L LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646