DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Responsive to the amendment filed 18 July 2025 claims 3 and 8-17 are amended and claims 1-2 and 4-7 are cancelled. Claims 3 and 8-17 are currently under examination.
Status of Previous Rejections
Responsive to the amendment filed 18 July 2025 new grounds of rejection are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 9287028 B2 (hereinafter “Urata”).
Regarding claim 1, Urata teaches an Fe-based nano crystalline alloy (see title). Urata teaches that the alloy includes Fe, B, P and Cu (See SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION and claim 1). Urata teaches that the alloy includes 79-86 at% of Fe (see SUMMARY or claim 1). Urata does not mention intent to include other alloying elements, teaching that these are impurities and limited (see cols 3-7). The composition of Urata matches the claimed composition.
Urata teaches that the amorphous alloy is heat treated to generate nanocrystals (See cols 8-9 and Examples 1-15 and Comparative Examples 1-4). Urata teaches that nanoclusters are formed containing Cu (See col 5., first paragraph). The microstructure of the alloy of Urata matches that of the claim.
Urata further teaches examples of the alloy (see Examples 1-15 and Comparative Examples 1-4). For just one such example, Urata teaches Example 3, which includes Fe84.8B10P4Cu1.2 (see Table 1). Urata teaches that the alloy is heat treated to 425 C for 10 minutes (see Table 2).
Regarding an average concentration of boron in a region of 90% Fe among regions, Urata does not teach average concentration of boron in a region as claimed. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 8, Urata teaches Example 3, which includes Fe84.8B10P4Cu1.2 (see Table 1). The composition of Urata falls entirely within the claimed ranges, anticipating the ranges. Applicant is directed to MPEP 21313.03.
Regarding claim 9, Urata teaches Example 3, which includes Fe84.8B10P4Cu1.2 (see Table 1). The Example 3 value of B/P would be 10/4 = 2.5 inherently.
Regarding claim 10, Urata does not teach a density of clusters in any region. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way (see Examples 1-15 and Comparative Examples 1-4). The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 11, Urata does not teach an average of a P concertation in a region in which a Fe concentration is 90% or greater. Urata is silent as to this feature. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 12, Urata does not teach an average of a P concertation in a region in which a Fe concentration is 80% or greater. Urata is silent as to this feature. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 13, Urata does not teach a proxigram as claimed. Urata does not endeavor to describe a proxigram of a region in which a boundary with Fe concentrations of 80% and Cu of 1.25% or more. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 14, Urata does not teach a proxigram as claimed. Urata does not endeavor to describe a proxigram of a region in which a boundary with Fe concentrations of 80% and P/B concentration has a local minimum and local maximum as claimed. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 15, Urata does not teach a proxigram as claimed. Urata does not endeavor to describe a proxigram of a region in which a boundary with Fe concentrations of 80% and P/B concentration is 1.0 or greater. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 16, Urata does not teach a proxigram as claimed. Urata does not endeavor to describe a proxigram of a region in which a boundary with Fe concentrations of 80% and P/B concentration has a local minimum and local maximum as claimed. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Regarding claim 17, Urata does not teach a size of the copper clusters within a region of 2.3% Cu concentration. Urata teaches that a size of clusters in general is 10 nm or smaller (see col 5) but is silent with regard to the size of clusters specifically within regions of 2.3% Cu or more. However, Urata teaches in Example 3 that the same composition claimed is processed in the same way, to have the same microstructure as is claimed. The properties not disclosed by the prior art would have been inherently present in the alloy of Urata. Other examples of Urata are also believed to meet the limitations, such as Examples 7 thru 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112. In response no rejections are made under 35 USC 112 at this time.
Applicant argues that the prior art cited (“Makino”) requires the presence of Silicon. Applicant has amended claim 3 in order to require that the alloy consists of Fe, B, Cu, and P. In response, no rejections are made over Makino at this time. The arguments are considered moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1759