DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 13, 16, 30-32, 34, and 36-47 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 16, 32, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40, 42, 43, 45, and 46 are amended.
Claims 2-12, 14, 15, 17-29, 33, and 35 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, 32, and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 discloses “a power headroom report, PSR” in line 8. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend the limitation to “a power headroom report, PHR”.
Claims 16, 32, and 34 disclose similar limitations and are therefore objected for the same reason as indicated above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, 16, 30-32, 34, and 36-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al., (hereinafter Lei), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0195654 (Provisional Support 62/952195 - paragraphs 0057, 0060, 0061, 0064, 0073, 0091, 0100), in view of Sun et al., (hereinafter Sun), U.S. Publication 2020/0145927.
As per claim 1, Lei discloses a method performed by a wireless device [paragraphs 0002, 0022, 0053, 0087, 0124, Abstract, claim 1, a method performed by a wireless device (methods and apparatus related to user equipment (UE) capabilities in wireless communication systems)], the method comprising:
transmitting, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA to a base station [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0062, 0072, 0092, transmitting, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA to a base station (a UE can communicate one or more IEs to a base station through the use of a RACH procedure, e.g., a two-step (2-step))], wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0058, 0062, 0063, 0069, 0080, 0105, wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element. CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device ((reduced capability (redcap) or light UEs); indication of the UE capability is transmitted during the RACH procedure; UE capability may be reduced (Redcap); a MAC control element (MAC-CE) in a message A (msgA) payload of a 2-step RACH)],
Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein: the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 13, Lei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device is the reduced capability wireless device having reduced capabilities compared to a Release 15 new radio, NR, user equipment, UE [fig. 1, paragraphs 0004, 0023, 0055, wherein the wireless device has reduced capabilities compared to a Release 15 new radio, NR, user equipment, UE (telecommunication standard is 5G New Radio (NR); certain types of UEs with reduced capabilities, such as reduced capability (redcap) UEs or low/medium tier UEs; a reduction in UE's capability can include bandwidth reduction, Tx or Rx antenna number reduction, half-duplex FDD, power class reduction, and/or a relaxation of a UE processing timeline or capability)], and the indication that the wireless device is the reduced capability wireless device indicates at least one of
- reduced bandwidth; - reduced number of Rx antennas; - reduced number of Tx antennas; - half duplex frequency division duplex, FDD; - relaxed processing time; - relaxed processing capability [paragraphs 0055, 0065, the reduced capability wireless device types have different number of Rx antennas; or - the reduced capability wireless device types have different bandwidth; or - some of the reduced capability wireless device types are configured for half duplex, HD, frequency division duplex, FDD, and some are not (a reduction in UE's capability can include bandwidth reduction, Tx or Rx antenna number reduction, half-duplex FDD, power class reduction, and/or a relaxation of a UE processing timeline or capability)].
As per claim 16, Lei discloses a method performed by a base station [paragraphs 0002, 0022, 0053, 0100, 0124, Abstract, claim 1, a method performed by a base station (method may be performed by a base station; wireless communications system includes base stations 102, UEs 104)], the method comprising:
receiving, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA from a wireless device [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0062, 0072, 0092, receiving, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA from a wireless device (a UE can communicate one or more IEs to a base station through the use of a RACH procedure, e.g., a two-step (2-step))], wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0058, 0062, 0063, 0069, 0080, 0105, wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element. CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device ((reduced capability (redcap) or light UEs); indication of the UE capability is transmitted during the RACH procedure; UE capability may be reduced (Redcap); a MAC control element (MAC-CE) in a message A (msgA) payload of a 2-step RACH)],
Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein: the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 30, Lei discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
- restricting access for the wireless device based on the indication [paragraphs 0054-0056, restricting access for the wireless device based on the indication (UEs may be restricted to apply certain transmission or reception schemes; indication and/or flexible switching of UE capabilities may be utilized to support coverage recovery, access control)].
As per claim 31, Lei discloses the method of claim16, further comprising:
- scheduling the wireless device based on the indication [paragraphs 0046, 0047, 0056, scheduling the wireless device based on the indication (each IE can be mapped to one set of UE features associated with corresponding UE capabilities, which can be used by a base station for scheduling)].
As per claim 32, Lei discloses a wireless device [paragraphs 0002, 0022, 0053, 0087, 0124, Abstract, claim 1, a wireless device (methods and apparatus related to user equipment (UE) capabilities in wireless communication systems)] comprising:
- processing circuitry [fig. 3, 8, paragraph 0043, 0045, 0112, processing circuitry (a controller/processor)] configured to cause the wireless device to transmit, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA to a base station [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0062, 0072, 0092, transmit, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA to a base station (a UE can communicate one or more IEs to a base station through the use of a RACH procedure, e.g., a two-step (2-step))], wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0058, 0062, 0063, 0069, 0080, 0105, wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element. CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device ((reduced capability (redcap) or light UEs); indication of the UE capability is transmitted during the RACH procedure; UE capability may be reduced (Redcap); a MAC control element (MAC-CE) in a message A (msgA) payload of a 2-step RACH)],
- power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the wireless device [fig. 3, 8, paragraphs 0043, 0112, power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the wireless device (a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network; a power supply 818)].
Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein: the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s device with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 34, Lei discloses a base station comprising:
- processing circuitry [fig. 3, 9, paragraphs 0043, 0116, processing circuitry (the base station 310)] configured to receive, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA from a wireless device [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0062, 0072, 0092, receive, as part of 2-step random access, a msgA from a wireless device (a UE can communicate one or more IEs to a base station through the use of a RACH procedure, e.g., a two-step (2-step))], wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device [fig. 5, paragraphs 0056, 0058, 0062, 0063, 0069, 0080, 0105, wherein a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, part of the msgA includes a medium access control, MAC, control element. CE having an indication that the wireless device is a reduced capability wireless device ((reduced capability (redcap) or light UEs); indication of the UE capability is transmitted during the RACH procedure; UE capability may be reduced (Redcap); a MAC control element (MAC-CE) in a message A (msgA) payload of a 2-step RACH)],
- power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the base station [paragraphs 0066, 0100, power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the base station (a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network; a power supply)], wherein the indication that the wireless device is the reduced capability wireless device is included in a medium access control, MAC, subheader [fig. 5, paragraphs 0063, 0069, 0080, 0093, 0105, wherein the indication that the wireless device is the reduced capability wireless device is included in a medium access control, MAC, subheader (a reduced capability or light UE can report its capability; a UE can map information including a UE capability to a dedicated MAC header or sub-header; indicated via, a number of different channels)].
Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein: the MAC CE is a buffer status report, BSR, MAC CE; or the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein: the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s station with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 36, Lei discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE [fig. 2D, paragraphs 0042, 0062, 0069, wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE (PUSCH carries data, and may additionally be used to carry a buffer status report (BSR), a power headroom report (PHR))].
As per claim 37, Lei discloses the method of claim 1, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 38, Lei discloses the method of claim 37, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, paragraphs 0069, 0072, 0079, wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE (PHR MAC CE may include reserved bits 250)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Lei by including a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s station with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 39, Lei discloses the method of claim 16,
wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE [fig. 2D, paragraphs 0042, 0062, 0069, wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE (PUSCH carries data, and may additionally be used to carry a buffer status report (BSR), a power headroom report (PHR))].
As per claim 40, Lei discloses the method of claim 16, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 41, Lei discloses the method of claim 40, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, paragraphs 0069, 0072, 0079, wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE (PHR MAC CE may include reserved bits 250)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Lei by including a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s station with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 42, Lei discloses the wireless device of claim 32,
wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE [fig. 2D, paragraphs 0042, 0062, 0069, wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE (PUSCH carries data, and may additionally be used to carry a buffer status report (BSR), a power headroom report (PHR))].
As per claim 43, Lei discloses the wireless device of claim 32, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s device with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 44, Lei discloses the wireless device of claim 43, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, paragraphs 0069, 0072, 0079, wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE (PHR MAC CE may include reserved bits 250)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Lei by including a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s device with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 45, Lei discloses the base station of claim 34,
wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE [fig. 2D, paragraphs 0042, 0062, 0069, wherein the MAC CE is the BSR MAC CE (PUSCH carries data, and may additionally be used to carry a buffer status report (BSR), a power headroom report (PHR))].
As per claim 46, Lei discloses the base station of claim 34, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, 14, paragraphs 0061, 0068-0070, 0072, 0077, wherein the MAC CE is the PHR MAC CE (power headroom report (PHR) MAC control element (CE) used in transmission power reduction by the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Lei by including wherein the MAC CE is a power headroom report. PSR, MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s station with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
As per claim 47, Lei discloses the base station of claim 46, Lei does not explicitly discloses wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE.
However, Sun teaches wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE [fig. 13, paragraphs 0069, 0072, 0079, wherein the indication uses a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE (PHR MAC CE may include reserved bits 250)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Lei by including a reserved bit in the PHR MAC CE as taught by Sun because it would provide the Lei’s device with the enhanced capability of achieving power reduction [Sun, paragraphs 0024, 0062].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haim et al., U.S. Publication No. 2011/0105173 discloses UL resources can accommodate a PHR MAC control element plus its subheader.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469