DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 11/20/2025 claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-21 are pending. Independent claims 1, 11, and 15 have been amended to include new limitations not presented previously. Claims 4, 8-9, and 17-21 have been amended to correct claim objections and/or additional lack of antecedent basis issues. Claim 10 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments in pages 10-11 of the Remarks dated 11/20/2025, the applicant contends that Cho, Qiao, Bito, and/or Kim fail to teach the newly added limitations "wherein the non-shared wire or the shared wire at each end of the respective battery cell group is configured to connect to either a ground terminal of the operating device of the battery management system or an operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device of the battery management system, and wherein the shared wire located between the adjacent battery cell groups is connected to two switches, one of the two switches controlling a connection to the operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device of the battery management system and another of the two switches controlling a connection to the ground terminal of the operating device of the battery management system". However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, with respect to “the non-shared wire” versus “the shared wire” limitations, the examiner suggests using language such as “direct electrical connection” or “directly electrically connected” in order to differentiate between electrically shared versus directly electrically shared.
Second, with respect to “the non-shared wire or the shared wire” the term “or” is a disjunctive term signifying alternatives, meaning only one of the conditions needs to be met. The examiner suggests using the term “and” instead since this is a conjunctive term meaning all listed conditions must be met.
Third, slight support for the newly added limitations are present in the drawings, however the claim language needs clarity so the elements “non-shared” and “shared” are clear to those reading the claims. Therefore, the examiner objects to the specification, the drawings, and the claims below.
The examiner maintains the 35 USC 103 rejections and rejects the newly added limitations as outlined below.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The claim objections are withdrawn, however, new claim objections are made below due to the newly added limitations.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “the non-shared wire” and “the shared wire” claim limitations are not clearly defined in the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “the non-shared wire” and “the shared wire” claim limitations are not clearly defined in the specification. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the specification to clearly define “the non-shared wire” and “the shared wire”.
Appropriate correction is required and no new matter may be entered. A marked-up copy must be submitted along with the clean copy as outlined in 37 CFR 1.121.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 11, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the non-shared wire” and “the shared wire” limitations are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. For examination purposes these will be interpreted as whether a wire has direct connection or not, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (USPGPN 20160036250), and further in view of Qiao et al. (USPGPN 20190245237) and Bito (Japanese Patent JP-2020031471-A; identified in the applicants Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 7/11/2025).
First, the examiner notes “wherein the battery management system is configured to, based on a location of each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups, sequentially connect each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups for a predetermined time period” is best supported by the applicant in Figs. 3 and 4 of the disclosure. For examination purposes this will be interpreted as a group of battery cells corresponding to a group within a plurality of groups with each group having a connection for a time period followed by the next group (i.e., in sequential order).
With respect to independent claims 1, 11, and 15, Cho teaches a battery apparatus and a method of supplying a voltage (Fig. 1, battery pack 100, see abstract).
Cho teaches a first battery configured to provide a first voltage (Fig. 1, high voltage battery 110 with a high voltage [i.e., first voltage]).
Cho teaches a battery management system configured to manage the first battery (Fig. 1, controller 140 manages the high voltage battery 110 with support from battery monitors 160/165, charging circuit 130, and charging switch 150 as taught in ¶’s [72]).
Cho teaches a second battery configured to provide a second voltage lower than the first voltage (Fig. 1, low voltage battery 120; the voltage of low voltage battery 120 is less than the voltage of high voltage battery 110 [i.e., low voltage < high voltage = second voltage < first voltage]).
Cho teaches the second battery supplies an operating voltage to an operating device of the battery management system (Fig. 1, shows the low voltage battery 120 provides an operating voltage to controller 140 through connected flow paths. ¶ [55] teaches the low voltage battery 120 is used to power an electronic circuit, i.e. including controller 140).
However, Cho fails to explicitly teach a battery pack including a plurality of battery cells, wherein the battery management system is configured to select a battery cell group from among a plurality of battery cell groups including a predetermined number of battery cells connected in series from among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery pack, and wherein the selected battery cell group supplies an operating voltage.
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein each battery cell group includes a non-shared wire or a shared wire located at each end of the respective battery cell group including the predetermined number of battery cells connected in series, the non-shared wire or the shared wire being configured to directly connect the respective battery cell group to the battery management system.
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the shared wire located between adjacent battery cell groups is shared by the adjacent battery cell groups and the battery management system is configured to control which battery cell group from the adjacent battery cell groups supplies the operating voltage via the shared wire.
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery management system is configured to, based on a location of each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups, sequentially connect each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups for a predetermined time period.
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the non-shared wire or the shared wire at each end of the respective battery cell group is configured to connect to either a ground terminal of the operating device of the battery management system or an operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device of the battery management system, and wherein the shared wire located between the adjacent battery cell groups is connected to two switches, one of the two switches controlling a connection to the operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device of the battery management system and another of the two switches controlling a connection to the ground terminal of the operating device of the battery management system.
While Cho does not explicitly teach the first battery and second battery are battery packs, Cho does teach the use of a battery pack housing them. The same reason Cho uses a battery pack (packaging) would apply for why to use them separately on the 1st and 2nd battery, to protect them. The redundancy would allow for further protection from the exterior than is already provided, thus improving safety.
Qiao teaches a battery pack (Fig. 1, multi-cell battery pack 102).
Qiao teaches including a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, battery cells C-11-Cmn ).
Qiao teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to select a battery cell group from among a plurality of battery cell groups including a predetermined number of battery cells connected in series from among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery pack (Fig. 1 and ¶’s [29-30], teach BMS 106 controls switching circuit 104 to control each battery cell C-11-Cmn in order to select a proper grouping of battery cells to output a required voltage. Furthermore, it is understood by one of ordinary skill that these battery cell groups may be selected from a predetermined number of battery cells connected in series, see ¶ [16, 29]).
Qiao teaches wherein the selected battery cell group supplies an operating voltage (Fig. 1 and ¶ [30, last sentence], required voltage is provided from terminals 110a-b).
Qiao teaches wherein each battery cell group includes a non-shared wire located at each end of the respective battery cell group including the predetermined number of battery cells connected in series, the non-shared wire being configured to directly connect the respective battery cell group to the battery management system (In Fig. 1 the wires between battery pack 102 and switching circuit 104. Switching circuit 104 is configured to connect the battery cell groups to BMS 106. Annotated Fig. 1 below illustrates a wiring configuration Qiao may achieve).
Qiao teaches wherein the non-shared wire at each end of the respective battery cell group is configured to connect to either a ground terminal of the operating device of the battery management system or an operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device of the battery management system (Fig. 3; the negative electrodes of battery cells Cm1-Cmn are connected through a wire with terminal 302b or the positive electrodes of battery cells C11-C1n are connected through a wire terminal 302a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery management system is configured to, based on a location of each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups, sequentially connect each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups for a predetermined time period.
Bito teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to, based on a location of each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups, sequentially connect each battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups for a predetermined time period (Figs. 1-2; controller 18 is configured to be based on the location of battery modules 11A-11D sequentially connect each battery module 11A-11D for a predetermined time period. One of ordinary skill understands a battery module comprises a grouping of battery cell groups thus each battery module 11A-11D is a cell group. The predetermined time periods of each connection is seen in Fig. 2 and a sequential connection is made based on the location of the battery module 11A-11D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified Cho and Qiao with Bito’s sequential connection of the battery modules based on location. The advantage of this modification being it provides an onboard power supply apparatus that has simple structure and reduced size, facilitates control of the separate relays using one control unit, and ensures improved voltage conversion efficiency when supplying low-voltage electric power and high-voltage electric power without requiring direct-current (DC)-DC converter with large switching loss or voltage conversion loss (in ¶ [07-09] of Bito).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 12, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 11, respectively. Further, Cho teaches wherein the first voltage of the first battery pack is not provided as the operating voltage (Fig. 1, the voltage from battery 110 is not provided as the operating voltage for the controller 140. The voltage from battery 120 is the voltage provided for controller 140).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 14, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 11, respectively. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the operating voltage corresponds to a sum of voltages of the predetermined number of battery cells.
Qiao teaches wherein the operating voltage corresponds to a sum of voltages of the predetermined number of battery cells (¶ [09] teaches the required voltage is provided by the reconfigurable battery pack by connecting multiple battery cells in series, i.e. producing a summing of voltages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein a first non-shared wire connected to a negative electrode of a first battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells is connected to the ground terminal of the operating device, and a second non-shared wire connected to a positive electrode of a last battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells is connected to the operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device.
Qiao teaches herein a first non-shared wire connected to a negative electrode of a first battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells is connected to the ground terminal of the operating device (Fig. 3 teaches the negative electrodes of battery cells Cm1-Cmn are connected through a wire with terminal 302b), and a second non-shared wire connected to a positive electrode of a last battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells is connected to the operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device (Fig. 3 teaches the positive electrodes of battery cells C11-C1n are connected through a wire with terminal 302a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 5, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of battery cells of the second battery pack is grouped into the plurality of battery cell groups, and each of the plurality of battery cell groups includes battery cells corresponding to the predetermined number, and wherein the battery management system is configured to select the battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups.
Qiao teaches wherein the plurality of battery cells of the second battery pack is grouped into the plurality of battery cell groups (¶ [29] teaches battery cells C11-Cmn may be grouped into groupings of banks or modules), and each of the plurality of battery cell groups includes battery cells corresponding to the predetermined number (¶ [30] teaches the selected battery cell group corresponds a predetermined selection in order to output the required voltage), and wherein the battery management system is configured to select the battery cell group from among the plurality of battery cell groups (¶ [30] teaches BMS 106 selects grouping of battery cells based on the condition of each individual battery cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 7, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery management system further includes a switching circuit configured to select the plurality of battery cell groups.
Qiao teaches wherein the battery management system further includes a switching circuit configured to select the plurality of battery cell groups (Fig. 1 and ¶ [30] teach switching circuit 104 is used to select from the plurality of battery cell groups).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 8, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of battery cell groups includes a first battery cell group and a second battery cell group, wherein the switching circuit is configured to, in response to selecting the first battery cell group, connect a first non-shared wire connected to a negative electrode of a first battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the first battery cell group to the ground terminal of the operating device.
Cho fails to explicitly teach connect a second non-shared wire connected to a positive electrode of a last battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the first battery cell group to the operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device.
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the switching circuit is configured to, in response to selecting the second battery cell group, connect a first shared wire connected to a negative electrode of a first battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the second battery cell group to the ground terminal.
Cho fails to explicitly teach connect a second shared wire connected to a positive electrode of a last battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the second battery cell group to the operating voltage supply terminal.
Qiao teaches wherein the plurality of battery cell groups includes a first battery cell group and a second battery cell group (¶ [29] teaches n battery cells are arranged in m battery groups), wherein the switching circuit is configured to, in response to selecting the first battery cell group, connect a first non-shared wire connected to a negative electrode of a first battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the first battery cell group to the ground terminal of the operating device (Fig. 3 and ¶’s [35-36] teach that a grouping of battery cells within C¬11-Cmn may be configured into a cell bank with their negative electrodes connected in a wire path to terminal 302b in order to provide the required voltage).
Qiao teaches connect a second non-shared wire connected to a positive electrode of a last battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the first battery cell group to the operating voltage supply terminal of the operating device (Fig. 3 and ¶’s [35-36] teach that a grouping of battery cells within C11-Cmn may be configured into a cell bank with their positive electrodes connected in a wire path to terminal 302a in order to provide the required voltage).
Qiao teaches wherein the switching circuit is configured to, in response to selecting the second battery cell group, connect a first shared wire connected to a negative electrode of a first battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the second battery cell group to the ground terminal (Fig. 3 and ¶’s [35-36] teach that an additional grouping of battery cells within C11-Cmn may be configured into an additional cell bank with their negative electrodes connected in a wire path to terminal 302b in order to provide the required voltage).
Qiao teaches connect a second shared wire connected to a positive electrode of a last battery cell among the predetermined number of battery cells in the second battery cell group to the operating voltage supply terminal (Fig. 3 and ¶’s [35-36] teach that an additional grouping of battery cells within C11-Cmn may be configured into an additional cell bank with their negative electrodes connected in a wire path to terminal 302a in order to provide the required voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the switching circuit includes a first switch connected between the first non-shared wire and the ground terminal; a second switch connected between the non-shared second wire and the operating voltage supply terminal; a third switch connected between the first shared wire and the ground terminal; and a fourth switch connected between the second shared wire and the operating voltage supply terminal, and wherein the battery management system is configured to select the first battery cell group by turning on the first switch and the second switch, and select the second battery cell group by turning on the third switch and the fourth switch.
Qiao teaches wherein the switching circuit includes a first switch connected between the first non-shared wire and the ground terminal, a second switch connected between the second non-shared wire and the operating voltage supply terminal, a third switch connected between the first shared wire and the ground terminal, and a fourth switch connected between the second shared wire and the operating voltage supply terminal (Fig. 3 and ¶’s [35-36] teach switches S11-Smn are configured to be connected depending upon the grouping of battery cells C¬11-Cmn and would cause for numerous switching scenarios which would fulfill the switching topology described between battery cells, wires, and terminals 302a/b).
Qiao teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to select the first battery cell group by turning on the first switch and the second switch, and select the second battery cell group by turning on the third switch and the fourth switch (¶ [36] teaches switches S11-Smn are turned on/off to connect/disconnect battery cells C11-Cmn).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 16, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of battery cell groups has a same number of battery cells connected in series.
Qiao teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery cell groups has a same number of battery cells connected in series (In Fig. 1 it is understood by one of ordinary skill the plurality of battery cell groups within battery pack 102 that could be formed using switching circuit 104 could have a same number of battery cells connected in series in order to provide a variety of operating voltages dependent upon actuation of the switches, see ¶ [9-11, 16]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 17, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the shared wire is connected to the two switches that are located in a switching circuit of the battery management system.
Qiao teaches wherein the shared wire is connected to the two switches that are located in a switching circuit of the battery management system (Furthermore, in Fig. 1 it is understood by one of ordinary skill that the reconfigurable switching circuit 104 would arrange a topology in the case battery groupings of battery cells in series wherein the shared wire would be connected to two switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claim 18, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery management system is configured to control an on/off state of the two switches to determine a connection to each of the adjacent battery cell groups.
Qiao teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to control an on/off state of the two switches to determine a connection to each of the adjacent battery cell groups (Further, in Fig. 1 the BMS 106 is configured to control an on/off state of the plurality of the reconfigurable switching circuit 104 to determine a connection of the formed battery cell groups which are adjacent to each other, see ¶ [9-11, 16]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
With respect to dependent claims 19, 20, and 21 Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1, 11, and 15 respectively. However, Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of battery cell groups include a first battery cell group and a second battery cell group, and wherein the battery management system is configured to, when selecting the second battery cell group to supply the operating voltage after selecting the first battery cell group to supply the operating voltage, allow the first battery cell group and the second battery cell group to simultaneously supply the operating voltage during a switching period.
Bito teaches wherein the plurality of battery cell groups include a first battery cell group and a second battery cell group (Fig. 1; battery modules 11A-11D. One of ordinary skill understands each battery module is a group of battery cells).
Bito teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to, when selecting the second battery cell group to supply the operating voltage after selecting the first battery cell group to supply the operating voltage, allow the first battery cell group and the second battery cell group to simultaneously supply the operating voltage during a switching period (Fig. 2; when selecting battery module 11B to supply the operating voltage after selecting the battery module 11A to supply the operating voltage, allow battery module 11A and battery module 11B to simultaneously supply the operation voltage during a switching period 12A to 12B. One of ordinary skill understands voltage supply is simultaneous as seen in the transition between 12A to 12 B in Fig. 2 where no interruption of voltage supply is made (i.e., voltage supply is simultaneous)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified Cho and Qiao with Bito’s sequential connection of the battery modules based on location and allow simultaneous supply of the operation voltage during a switching period. The advantage of this modification being it provides an onboard power supply apparatus that has simple structure and reduced size, facilitates control of the separate relays using one control unit, and ensures improved voltage conversion efficiency when supplying low-voltage electric power and high-voltage electric power without requiring direct-current (DC)-DC converter with large switching loss or voltage conversion loss (in ¶ [07-09] of Bito).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, Qiao, and Bito, and further in view of Kim et al. (USPGPN 20100261048).
With respect to dependent claim 13, Cho teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, Cho teaches supplying the operating voltage to the operating device of the battery management system through the second battery (Fig. 1, shows the low voltage battery 120 provides an operating voltage to controller 140 through connected flow paths. ¶ [55] teaches the low voltage battery 120 is used to power an electronic circuit, i.e. including controller 140).
However, Cho fails to explicitly teach selecting a second battery cell group including a predetermined number of other battery cells from among the plurality of battery cell groups in response to a predetermined time elapsing after selecting the first battery cell group; and supplying the operating voltage through the second battery cell group.
Kim teaches selecting a second battery cell group including a predetermined number of
other battery cells from among the plurality of battery cell groups in response to a predetermined time elapsing after selecting the first battery cell group (¶'s [35, 37] teach at each monitoring interval a battery cell topology reconfiguration event may be triggered wherein one grouped battery cell topology may change to a different group cell topology. ¶ [35] teaches the interval is predetermined/periodic. ¶’s [30-33] teach the possible topology from the grouping of battery cells in a reconfiguration event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified Cho by adding the predetermined time intervals disclosed by Kim. The benefit being a well-designed battery management architecture will provide high reliability, cost-effectiveness, and scalability (in ¶ [06] of Kim).
However, Cho fails to explicitly teach supplying the operating voltage through the second battery cell group.
Qiao teaches supplying the operating voltage to the operating device of the battery management system through the second battery cell group (Fig. 1 and ¶ [30, last sentence], a required voltage from a grouping of battery cells is provided from terminals 110a-b. BMS 160 may determine the amount of grouping of battery cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the battery apparatus and method of Cho and Kim with the plurality of battery cells and configurable switching circuit of Qiao. The advantage of this modification being reducing the cost, complexity, power requirements, and amount of control needed by the BMS in order to dynamically reconfigure the rechargeable cells in the battery pack (in ¶ [18] of Qiao).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following were identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) and/or cited in Foreign Office Actions, however, although these were considered by the examiner they were not used for citation purposes:
WO 2013140605 A1
US 20200048164 A1
US 20170315176 A1
US 20160372969 A1
US 20160339858 A1
US 20160136328 A1
US 20160059712 A1
US 20150372969 A1
US 20150037656 A1
US 20150022110 A1
US 20140062388 A1
US 20140061839 A1
US 20140061267 A1
US 20120043819 A1
US 20100261043 A1
US 20050093512 A1
US 10562474 B2
KR 20200048164 A
KR 20160136328 A
KR 20150022110 A
KR 20140061839 A
KR 101700805 B1
KR 101485665 B1
KR 101193168 B1
JP 2020178486 A
JP 2018026973 A
JP 2017198546 A
JP 2016054635 A
JP 2014054168 A
JP 2013140605 A
JP 2012523670 A
JP 2012151999 A
JP 2010220279 A
JP 2007511199 A
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859