DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 04/10/2026, claims 2-3 are canceled.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 4-9 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takei (US20070238029A1, published 2007) in view of Shirakawa (US20180120706A1, published 2018).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-9,
Takei teaches the polymer contained in their underlayer coating composition may contain following structural units (A-1) and (B-1) [0020-0023], where the structural unit (B-1) may be structural unit (B-2) [0030-0031], where n may be an integer of 1-6, Y may be a C1-C6 thioalkyl group (reading on the instant formula (1) where X1 is -S- and R1 is a C1-C6 alkyl group), R2 is H or methyl, and R3 is C2-6 alkyl group substituted with at least one hydroxy group, reading on the instant unit structure represented by the instant formula (2) where R2 is H or methyl, Y1 is an ester bond, A1 is a C2-C6 alkylene group, and Z1 is a reactive hydroxy group, reading on instant claim 4.
Takei teaches organic solvents such as ethylene glycol monomethyl ether [0108].
Takei teaches including an acid compound that includes for example sulfonic acid compounds such as p-toluene sulfonic acid, trifluoromethane sulfonic acid, and pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate, etc., and carboxylic acid compounds such as salicylic acid, sulfosalicylic acid, citric acid, benzoic acid, and hydroxybenzoic acid, etc., and so on [0092], reading on the instant crosslinking catalyst, reading on instant claim 5.
Takei teaches further including a crosslinking compound (agent) [0042], reading on instant claim 6.
Takei teaches coating their film forming composition onto a substrate then baking to form a film [0110], coating and baking a photoresist layer [0112], exposing the photoresist film to light [0113], developing the film to form a pattern [0115], and removal of the underlayer coating and processing of the semiconductor substrate are conducted by using the photoresist pattern formed as mentioned above as a protective coating (etching the underlayer film and processing the substrate) [0117], reading on instant claims 7-9.
However, Takei only teaches exposure using actinic rays such as ultraviolet rays, ArF excimer laser beams, and KrF excimer laser beams [0002].
Shirakawa, analogous art, teaches a similar underlayer film forming composition [abstract] comprising of a resin with a pendant hydroxy reactive group and a pendant alkyl group, as well as a crosslinking agent and a crosslinking catalyst [0750, 0068], where they perform an exposure using KrF exposure or EUV exposure [0296].
As both Shirakawa and Takei teach similar underlayer film forming compositions that may be exposed using KrF exposure, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the EUV exposure of Shirakawa as the exposure of Takei would result in a comparable and expected patterning process.
That is, the substitution of the EUV exposure of Shirakawa for the exposure of Takei, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of patterning an underlayer film and processing an underlying substrate, reading on instant claim 1. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Examiner notes that it would be readily envisioned by a person of ordinary skill in the art that the structural unit of formula (A-1) of Takei shown above could be at a terminal of the polymer main chain, as any of the repeating units would be expected to be at a terminal position of the polymer main chain. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the structural unit of formula (A-1) of Takei could be at a terminal of the polymer main chain, as any of the three repeating units would be expected to be at a terminal position of the polymer main chain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/10/2026 with respect to the 102 rejection in view of Nishita and the 102/103 rejection in view of Shirakawa have been fully considered and are persuasive, particularly in view of the new claim amendments. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 regarding the 103 rejection in view of Takei have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The above rejections have been updated accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737