DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 17 Dec 2025 for application number 17/790,675. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Applicant Arguments/Remarks, and Claims.
Claims 1-10, 12-14, and 16-19 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment; see the Rejection below for prior art mappings and explanations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10, 12-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasser-Faili [hereinafter as Nasser] (US 2016/0197027 A1) in view of Koeck et al. [hereinafter as Koeck] (US 2020/0343344 A1 – relies on filing date of provisional application 62/839,857, filed 29 Apr 2019) further in view of Rogers et al. [hereinafter as Rogers] (US 2010/0052112 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Nasser teaches A method comprising:
forming a GaN-based layer [substrate 701; Fig. 7, para 0106; para 0107 discloses that the substrate may comprise gallium nitride, i.e. GaN] characterized as including GaN in at least a surface region of the GaN-based layer via monolithically integrating or seeding by use of polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles on the GaN-based layer [para 0106 discloses monolithically growing a columnar growth 710 of diamond on 701 via seeding; para 0012 discloses that the diamond layer is polycrystalline]; and
growing the PCD particles under a selected pressure to form a diamond layer section [paras 0080, 0098 discloses growing the diamond layer at a pressure] as part of a semi-conductive structure [701/710] that includes the diamond layer section [710] integrated on or against the surface region of the GaN-based layer [701].
However, Nasser does not explicitly teach the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers as set by the selected pressure.
Koeck teaches the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)] as set by the selected pressure [para 0054 discloses diamond growth, with pressure as a parameter (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser and Koeck before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grain size as disclosed by Koeck into the method of Nasser in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007].
However, Nasser and Koeck do not explicitly teach as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition.
Rogers teaches as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition [para 0044 discloses a diamond growth process using HPHT, i.e. not CVD]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the growing process as disclosed by Rogers into the method of Nasser and Koeck in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007] using known methods, such as HPHT.
In reference to claim 2, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the pressure is selected to set a grain size, associated with sp2 and hydrogen content in the diamond layer section, and the step of growing the PCD particles under the selected pressure follows the step of forming the GaN-based layer by use of PCD particles [since the process of forming PCD particles in Nasser is substantially the same as the process of the instant application, grain size, sp2 and hydrogen content in the diamond layer section would be substantially the same (see MPEP 2112.01(I.), given a particular pressure; notedly, Nasser teaches sp2 characteristics in, for instance, paras 0052-0054 and hydrogen content in paras 0006, 0084, 0098, 0101-0102].
Koeck teaches the selected pressure being controlled in a range from 40 torr to 80 torr to realize the grain size [para 0041 discloses a pressure environment of 60 and 65 Torr, for example, which is in the claimed range (see para 0035 of 62/839,857)].
In reference to claim 3, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the step of forming includes said seeding by use of PCD particles on the GaN-based layer [para 0106 discloses growing a columnar growth 710 of diamond on 701 by seeding].
Koeck teaches the step of growing the PCD particles under the selected pressure, in a range from 60 torr to 80 torr [para 0041 discloses a pressure environment of 60 and 65 Torr, for example, which is in the claimed range (see para 0035 of 62/839,857)], to form the diamond layer section
In reference to claim 4, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the semi-conductive structure [701/710] includes or is a GaN-based FET [para 0081 discloses that the device may be a high-electron mobility transistor (HEMT), a type of FET] and includes the diamond layer section [710], integrated on or against the surface region of the GaN-based layer [701], for spreading heat while the GaN-based FET is being operated [paras 0009, 0027 discloses the diamond layer acts a heat spreader in the semiconductor device].
Rogers and Koeck teach wherein the step of forming does not include use of a chemical vapor deposition [Rogers, para 0044 discloses a diamond growth process using HPHT, i.e. not CVD] to realize a selected grain size in a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers [Koeck, para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
In reference to claim 6, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the semi-conductive structure includes at least one of: a crystal-diamond-based MESFET; and a GaN-based HEMT [para 0081 discloses that the device may be a GaN-based high-electron mobility transistor (HEMT), a type of FET].
In reference to claim 7, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the semi-conductive structure includes a field-effect transistor [para 0081 discloses that the device may be a GaN-based high-electron mobility transistor (HEMT), a type of FET] being integrated with the GaN-based layer [701] and manifesting a hole-current density in a range from 35 mA/mm to 40 mA/mm [since the structure of Nassar/Koeck is created by the same method as expressed by claims 1 and 7, the structure of Nassar/Koeck is essentially the same as the resulting structure of the instant application; therefore, the same properties of the structure is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I.)].
In reference to claim 8, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein said forming with polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles provides an activation region for said growing the PCD particles [para 0106 discloses nucleation sites, i.e. activation regions, are created for diamond growth].
In reference to claim 10, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein said forming includes seeding by locating the polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles directly on the surface region of the GaN-based layer [Fig. 7, para 0106 discloses diamond growth directly on the substrate via seeding on the substrate surface; para 0107 discloses that the substrate may comprise gallium nitride, i.e. GaN; para 0012 discloses that the diamond layer is polycrystalline].
In reference to claim 12, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Koeck teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles are characterized as having a grain size that is within a range from 650 nanometers to 3.5 microns [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range; since the structure of Nassar/Koeck/Rogers is created by the same method as expressed by claims 1 and 12, the structure of Nassar/Koeck/Rogers is essentially the same as the resulting structure of the instant application; therefore, the same properties of the structure is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
In reference to claim 13, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles are characterized as having a grain size, whereby said growing facilitates the monolithic integration of the semi-conductive structure and a structure including the GaN-based layer [para 0078 discloses growing the diamond layer with grains with a micron scale].
Koeck teaches wherein the polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles are characterized as having a grain size that is within a range from 650 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
In reference to claim 14, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles are characterized as having a grain size, by controlling growth parameters, in terms of pressure, temperature and cooling, during said growing [para 0078 discloses growing the diamond layer with grains with a micron scale; para 0106 discloses CVD diamond growth; the CVD process is known to use temperature and pressure as variables, and has a cooling stage]
Koeck teaches wherein the polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles are characterized as having a grain size that is within a range from 650 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
In reference to claim 16, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, wherein said forming a GaN-based layer [701] includes the step of seeding with polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles on the GaN-based layer [para 0106 discloses growing 710 on 701 via seeding].
In reference to claim 17, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Nasser teaches The method of claim 1, further including a thermo-based pressure step applied to single crystalline diamond [para 0083 disclose the growth of monocrystalline diamond via CVD; CVD is performed under certain temperatures and pressures, i.e. thermo-based pressure step].
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota et al. [hereinafter as Yokota] (US 2006/0112874 A1) in view of Koeck further in view of Rogers.
In reference to claim 1, Yokota teaches A method comprising:
forming a GaN-based layer [substrate 3, which may be GaN; Figs. 2A-2E, para 0044] characterized as including GaN in at least a surface region of the GaN-based layer via monolithically integrating or seeding by use of polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles on the GaN-based layer [diamond layer 1/diamond layer 2; Figs. 2C-2E, paras 0046-0048 disclose monolithically growing diamond layers 1/2; para 0026 discloses oriented diamond nuclei, i.e. seeding]; and
growing the PCD particles under a selected pressure to form a diamond layer section [para 0048 discloses a pressure at 133 hPa or higher, i.e. 99.8 torr or higher] as part of a semi-conductive structure [1/2/3] that includes the diamond layer section [1/2] integrated on or against the surface region of the GaN-based layer [3].
However, Yokota does not explicitly teach the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers as set by the selected pressure and as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition.
Koeck teaches the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)] as set by the selected pressure [para 0054 discloses diamond growth, with pressure as a parameter (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser and Koeck before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grain size as disclosed by Koeck into the method of Nasser in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007].
However, Nasser and Koeck do not explicitly teach as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition.
Rogers teaches as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition [para 0044 discloses a diamond growth process using HPHT, i.e. not CVD]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the growing process as disclosed by Rogers into the method of Nasser and Koeck in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007].
In reference to claim 3, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Yokota teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the step of forming includes said seeding by use of PCD particles on the GaN-based layer [para 0026 discloses oriented diamond nuclei, i.e. seeding, in growing 1/2 on 3],
Koeck teaches the step of growing the PCD particles under the selected pressure, in a range from 60 torr to 80 torr [para 0041 discloses a pressure environment of 60 and 65 Torr, for example, which is in the claimed range (see para 0035 of 62/839,857)], to form the diamond layer section.
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan (US 2013/0175546 A1) in view of Koeck.
In reference to claim 1, Khan teaches A method comprising:
forming a GaN-based layer [substrate material layer 1306; Fig. 13, para 0105; para 0100 discloses that 1306 may comprise gallium nitride, i.e. GaN] characterized as including GaN in at least a surface region of the GaN-based layer via monolithically integrating or seeding by use of polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles on the GaN-based layer [Fig. 13, paras 0102, 0105 disclose monolithically growing diamond layers 1304/1302; para 0101 discloses that the substrate may be seeded with diamond; para 0030 discloses that the diamond layer is polycrystalline]; and
growing the PCD particles under a selected pressure to form a diamond layer section [para 0102 discloses using CVD to grow the diamond layer; inherently, a particular pressure would be selected] to provide a semi-conductive structure [1306/1304/1302] that includes the diamond layer section [1304/1302] integrated on or against the surface region of the GaN-based layer [1306], and as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition [provisional application 61/583,841, para 0001 discloses a non-CVD process, i.e. HPHT].
However, Khan does not explicitly teach the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers as set by the selected pressure.
Koeck teaches the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)] as set by the selected pressure [para 0054 discloses diamond growth, with pressure as a parameter (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Khan and Koeck before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grain size as disclosed by Koeck into the method of Khan in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007].
In reference to claim 5, Khan and Koeck teach the invention of claim 1.
Khan teaches The method of claim 1, further including oxygen-terminating a surface of the diamond layer section after said step of growing [para 0072 discloses oxygen terminating the surface of the diamond after growth].
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pobedinskas et al. [hereinafter as Pobedinskas] (US 2020/0381331 A1 – relies on foreign application priority date of 28 May 2019) in view of Koeck further in view of Rogers.
In reference to claim 1, Pobedinskas teaches A method comprising:
forming a GaN-based layer [GaN layer 300; Fig. 4, para 0084; Fig. 1, para 0066 discloses forming a Ga-based layer; para 0052 discloses the Ga-based layer may comprise GaN] characterized as including GaN in at least a surface region of the GaN-based layer via monolithically integrating or seeding by use of polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles on the GaN-based layer [polycrystalline diamond layer 410; Fig. 4, para 0084; Fig. 1, paras 0071-0075 disclose seeding and growing a diamond layer on the GaN layer; para 0084 discloses the diamond is polycrystalline diamond]; and
growing the PCD particles under a selected pressure to form a diamond layer section [para 0073 discloses growing the diamond layer using CVD; inherently, the growth would be performed under a certain pressure] to provide a semi-conductive structure [300/410] that includes the diamond layer section [410] integrated on or against the surface region of the GaN-based layer [300].
However, Pobedinskas does not explicitly teach the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers as set by the selected pressure.
Koeck teaches the diamond layer section being characterized as having a grain size within a range from 130 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)] as set by the selected pressure [para 0054 discloses diamond growth, with pressure as a parameter (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Pobedinskas and Koeck before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grain size as disclosed by Koeck into the method of Pobedinskas in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007].
However, Pobedinskas and Koeck do not explicitly teach as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition.
Rogers teaches as realized without requiring use of chemical vapor deposition [para 0044 discloses a diamond growth process using HPHT, i.e. not CVD]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Pobedinskas, Koeck, and Rogers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the growing process as disclosed by Rogers into the method of Pobedinskas and Koeck in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007] using known methods, such as HPHT.
In reference to claim 6, Pobedinskas, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
Pobedinskas teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the semi-conductive structure includes at least one of: a crystal-diamond-based MESFET [para 0056 discloses the device may be a MESFET; the device includes a polycrystalline diamond layer; Fig. 4, para 0084; Fig. 1, paras 0071-0075]; and a GaN-based HEMT.
Claim(s) 9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasser in view of Koeck further in view of Rogers further in view of Mollart et al. [hereinafter as Mollart] (US 2014/0332934 A1).
In reference to claim 9, Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers teach the invention of claim 1.
However, while Nasser teaches etching [paras 0074-0075 disclose an etching step], forming polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles [para 0106 discloses monolithically growing a columnar growth 710 of diamond on 701 via seeding; para 0012 discloses that the diamond layer is polycrystalline], and the GaN-based layer [701], Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, further including etching wherein said forming with polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles provides etching protection to the GaN-based layer.
Nasser and Mollart teach The method of claim 1, further including etching wherein said forming with polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles provides etching protection [Mollart, para 0059 discloses that the polycrystalline CVD diamond layer provides etch protection] to the GaN-based layer [701 of Nasser].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser, Koeck, Rogers, and Mollart before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the etch protection as disclosed by Mollart into the method of Nasser, Koeck, and Rogers in order to obtain a method forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond layer provides etch protection to the GaN layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond layer provides etch protection to the GaN layer to provide the predictable result of creating a better performance semiconductor device due to improved nature of a growth surface [Mollart, para 0063].
In reference to claim 18, Nasser teaches A semi-conductive structure comprising:
a GaN-based layer [substrate 701; Fig. 7, para 0106; para 0107 discloses that the substrate may comprise gallium nitride, i.e. GaN] characterized as including GaN in at least a surface region of the GaN-based layer [701]; and
a diamond layer section [columnar growth 710 of diamond; Fig. 7, para 0106], integrated on or against [710 grown on 701] the surface region of the GaN-based layer [701], and characterized as having been formed by monolithic integration with polycrystalline diamond (PCD) particles [para 0106 discloses monolithically growing a columnar growth 710 of diamond on 701 via seeding; para 0012 discloses that the diamond layer is polycrystalline].
However, Nasser does not explicitly teach having a grain size within a range from 650 nanometers to 350 nanometers.
Koeck teaches having a grain size within a range from 650 nanometers to 350 nanometers [para 0054 discloses grain sizes in the claimed range (see para 0046 of 62/839,857)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser and Koeck before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grain size as disclosed by Koeck into the method of Nasser in order to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method of forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond grain size is a particular size to provide the predictable result of manufacturing improved diamond-based devices having desirable electrical characteristics [Koeck, para 0007].
However, Nasser and Koeck do not explicitly teach:
wherein the GaN-based layer does not manifest damage due to etching of the diamond layer section during growth of diamond in the diamond layer section.
Nasser and Mollart teach wherein the GaN-based layer [701 of Nasser] does not manifest damage due to etching of the diamond layer section during growth of diamond in the diamond layer section [Mollart, para 0059 discloses that the polycrystalline CVD diamond layer provides etch protection].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Nasser, Koeck, and Mollart before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the etch protection as disclosed by Mollart into the method of Nasser and Koeck in order to obtain a method forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond layer provides etch protection to the GaN layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a method forming a diamond layer on a GaN layer, in which the diamond layer provides etch protection to the GaN layer to provide the predictable result of creating a better performance semiconductor device due to improved nature of a growth surface [Mollart, para 0063].
In reference to claim 19, Nasser, Koeck, and Mollart teach the invention of claim 18.
Nasser and Mollart teach The semi-conductive structure of claim 18, wherein the GaN-based layer [701 of Nasser] does not manifest etching damage [Mollart, para 0059 discloses that the polycrystalline CVD diamond layer provides etch protection; this would prevent etch damage of 701 of Nasser], and the diamond layer section includes a surface portion characterized by a density of nanoparticles, higher than 1012 cm-2, to provide a uniform and complete coverage of the surface portion [since the structure of Nassar/Koeck/Mollart is created by the same method as expressed by claims 1 and 7, the structure of Nassar/Koeck/Mollart is essentially the same as the resulting structure of the instant application; therefore, the same properties of the structure is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898