DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In applicant’s reply on 01/30/2026, a new claim was added. Rejection of new claim under 35 U.S.C. 103 can be found below as well as new rejections under 35 U.S.C 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein a rate of increase (A - C)/C x 100 of the packing fraction obtained by dividing a difference (A - C) between the average value A and the average value C by the average value C is 6.5% or less”, while claim 3 recites “an average value A is more than 61.7% and less than 65.0%, and an average value C is more than 56.6% and less than 60.9%”. The ranges of claim 3 do not provide the claimed rate of increase of claim 5. For example, an A value of 61.7% and a C value of 56.6% would have a rate of increase of 9.01 when using the equation of claim 5, which is higher than the claimed rate of change. It appears that only with an A value at the very low end of the claimed range and a C value at the very high end of the claimed range does the rate of increase fall within the claimed range of claim 5. As such it is unclear how a product can have the properties described in claim 3 while also having the rate of change of claim 5.
Further, claim 5 claims a rate of increase of 6.5% or less. This encompasses a rate of increase of 0, which would be no change in packing fraction. As claim 3 claims different packing fractions between areas A and C, it is unclear how these could also have a rate of increase of 0, or no change.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 2008/0292770 A1) in view of Kakizawa (US 2009/0163604 A1) and Shibata2 (US 2009/0175998 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Shibata teaches a solid milk having a solid form (solid milk 0011)
obtained by compression molding a powdered milk (compacting and molding Par. 0018)
and a packing fraction is more than 50% and less than 70% (porosity of 30% to 50% Par. 0019; packing density of 50% to 70%). As packing fraction is 1 minus the porosity, a porosity of 30% to 50% have a 50% to 70% packing fraction.
Shibata does not teach wherein a packing fraction of the solid milk is configured such that an average value A from a surface of the solid milk to a depth of 2 mm is more than 61.7% and less than 65.0%, and an average value C from a depth of 4 mm from the surface of the solid milk to a depth of 6 mm is more than 56.6% and less than 60.9%.
As Shibata teaches the compacting means is not limited and may be performed by well known processes (Par. 0070), one would have been motivated to look to the art for methods of compacting.
Kakizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a multistage compression with at least a precompression and main compression (Par. 0068).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of Shibata with the multistage compression of Kakizawa. One would have been motivated to make this modification to produce a product with small weight variation and high hardness (Kakizawa Par. 0035).
Kakizawa does not teach wherein a packing fraction of the solid milk is configured such that an average value A from a surface of the solid milk to a depth of 2 mm is more than 61.7% and less than 65.0%, and an average value C from a depth of 4 mm from the surface of the solid milk to a depth of 6 mm is more than 56.6% and less than 60.9%.
Shibata2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches slowing down compression speed results in a longer production time but a harder product; while speeding up compression speed enhances manufacturing ability but the same hardness is not achieved (Par. 0063).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of modified Shibata with a faster compression speed for the pre-compresssion and a slower compression speed for the main compression. One would have been motivated to make this modification to have a product which achieves some of the positives of each compression speed (i.e. a faster production time than just using the slow compression but a harder product than just using the fast compression speed).
Shibata2 does not teach wherein a packing fraction of the solid milk is configured such that an average value A from a surface of the solid milk to a depth of 2 mm is more than 61.7% and less than 65.0%, and an average value C from a depth of 4 mm from the surface of the solid milk to a depth of 6 mm is more than 56.6% and less than 60.9%.
Regarding wherein a packing fraction of the solid milk is configured such that an average value A from a surface of the solid milk to a depth of 2 mm is more than 61.7% and less than 65.0%, and an average value C from a depth of 4 mm from the surface of the solid milk to a depth of 6 mm is more than 56.6% and less than 60.9%, as a two step compression with a higher compression speed followed by a lower compression speed is the method applicant uses to obtain the claimed change in packing fraction (Applicant’s Specification Par. 0014), it would be obvious for the combination of references above to result in a product with the same packing fraction configuration as the claimed product.
Regarding claim 5, as a two step compression with a higher compression speed followed by a lower compression speed is the method applicant uses to obtain the claimed rate of increase of the packing fraction (Applicant’s Specification Par. 0012), it would be obvious for the combination of references above to result in a product with the same rate of increase of the packing fraction configuration as the claimed product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 3 filed 01/30/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792