DETAILED ACTION
The office action is non-final due to a new ground of rejection in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/20/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 2/20/206 has been entered. Claims 39, 42-45, 48-51, 53-55, 57 and 58 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-10 with respect to claims 39, 45, 51 and 55 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US PGPub 2019/0007976).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39, 42-45, 48-51, 53-55, 57 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US PGPub 2019/0007976).
Regarding claims 39 and 45, Lee teaches a method performed by a reduced capability (RedCap) wireless device (WD) (Lee, see paragraph 0022, The specific type of UE may be one of low-end UEs, low-cost UEs, machine type communication (MTC) devices, device to device communication (D2D) devices, low-cost MTC devices and low-cost D2D devices) capable of using a random access preamble to report that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraph 0087, If the UE is the specific type of UE, at step S110, the MAC layer of the UE performs the NB random access procedure by transmitting a random access preamble to the eNB. The random access preamble may contain a random access preamble ID dedicated to the specific type of UEs, which is selected from a set of random access preamble IDs included in the NB random access configuration) and a random access message 3 to report that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraph 0090, at step S140, the UE transmits an RRC connection request message to the eNB. If the UE is the specific type of UE, the UE may transmit the RRC connection request message to the eNB through a limited bandwidth based on the scheduling information included in the NB random access response. The RRC connection request message may indicate the eNB that the UE is the specific type of UE, e.g. low-end or low-cost device), the method comprising:
obtaining an indication of how to report that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0083 and 0085, At step S100, an eNB broadcasts random access configurations via system information to a UE. the second random access configuration may be a narrowband (NB) random access configuration. The NB random access configuration may also contain radio resources used by the NB random access procedure, such as a set of random access preamble IDs, time/frequency resource for the NB random access procedure, and RA-RNTI2 used for the NB random access procedure); and
based on the indication, reporting that it is a RedCap WD using at least one of the random access preamble and the random access message 3 (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0087 and 0090, If the UE is the specific type of UE, at step S110, the MAC layer of the UE performs the NB random access procedure by transmitting a random access preamble to the eNB. The random access preamble may contain a random access preamble ID dedicated to the specific type of UEs, which is selected from a set of random access preamble IDs included in the NB random access configuration. at step S140, the UE transmits an RRC connection request message to the eNB. If the UE is the specific type of UE, the UE may transmit the RRC connection request message to the eNB through a limited bandwidth based on the scheduling information included in the NB random access response. The RRC connection request message may indicate the eNB that the UE is the specific type of UE, e.g. low-end or low-cost device).
Regarding claims 42 and 48, Lee teaches comprising:
reporting that it is a RedCap WD using both the random access preamble and the random access message 3 (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0087 and 0090, If the UE is the specific type of UE, at step S110, the MAC layer of the UE performs the NB random access procedure by transmitting a random access preamble to the eNB. The random access preamble may contain a random access preamble ID dedicated to the specific type of UEs, which is selected from a set of random access preamble IDs included in the NB random access configuration. at step S140, the UE transmits an RRC connection request message to the eNB. If the UE is the specific type of UE, the UE may transmit the RRC connection request message to the eNB through a limited bandwidth based on the scheduling information included in the NB random access response. The RRC connection request message may indicate the eNB that the UE is the specific type of UE, e.g. low-end or low-cost device).
Regarding claims 43 and 49, Lee teaches wherein the indication is obtained via system information base one (SIB 1) (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0083 and 0085, At step S100, an eNB broadcasts random access configurations via system information to a UE. the second random access configuration may be a narrowband (NB) random access configuration. The NB random access configuration may also contain radio resources used by the NB random access procedure, such as a set of random access preamble IDs, time/frequency resource for the NB random access procedure, and RA-RNTI2 used for the NB random access procedure).
Regarding claims 44 and 50, Lee teaches wherein the indication is obtained via random access channel configuration (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0083 and 0085, At step S100, an eNB broadcasts random access configurations via system information to a UE. the second random access configuration may be a narrowband (NB) random access configuration. The NB random access configuration may also contain radio resources used by the NB random access procedure, such as a set of random access preamble IDs, time/frequency resource for the NB random access procedure, and RA-RNTI2 used for the NB random access procedure).
Regarding claims 51 and 55, Lee teaches a method performed by a network node (Lee, see figure 8, an eNB), the method comprising:
providing an indication for how reduced capability (RedCap) wireless devices (WDs) are to report that they are RedCap WDs (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0083 and 0085, At step S100, an eNB broadcasts random access configurations via system information to a UE. the second random access configuration may be a narrowband (NB) random access configuration. The NB random access configuration may also contain radio resources used by the NB random access procedure, such as a set of random access preamble IDs, time/frequency resource for the NB random access procedure, and RA-RNTI2 used for the NB random access procedure);
receiving reporting from a RedCap WD that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see paragraph 0022, The specific type of UE may be one of low-end UEs, low-cost UEs, machine type communication (MTC) devices, device to device communication (D2D) devices, low-cost MTC devices and low-cost D2D devices), wherein the RedCap WD is capable of using a random access preamble to report that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraph 0087, If the UE is the specific type of UE, at step S110, the MAC layer of the UE performs the NB random access procedure by transmitting a random access preamble to the eNB. The random access preamble may contain a random access preamble ID dedicated to the specific type of UEs, which is selected from a set of random access preamble IDs included in the NB random access configuration) and a random access message 3 to report that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraph 0090, at step S140, the UE transmits an RRC connection request message to the eNB. If the UE is the specific type of UE, the UE may transmit the RRC connection request message to the eNB through a limited bandwidth based on the scheduling information included in the NB random access response. The RRC connection request message may indicate the eNB that the UE is the specific type of UE, e.g. low-end or low-cost device), wherein the reporting uses at least one of the random access preamble to report that it is a RedCap WD and the random access message 3 to report that it is a RedCap WD (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0087 and 0090, If the UE is the specific type of UE, at step S110, the MAC layer of the UE performs the NB random access procedure by transmitting a random access preamble to the eNB. The random access preamble may contain a random access preamble ID dedicated to the specific type of UEs, which is selected from a set of random access preamble IDs included in the NB random access configuration. at step S140, the UE transmits an RRC connection request message to the eNB. If the UE is the specific type of UE, the UE may transmit the RRC connection request message to the eNB through a limited bandwidth based on the scheduling information included in the NB random access response. The RRC connection request message may indicate the eNB that the UE is the specific type of UE, e.g. low-end or low-cost device).
Regarding claims 53 and 57, Lee teaches wherein the reporting uses both the random access preamble and the random access message 3 (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0087 and 0090, If the UE is the specific type of UE, at step S110, the MAC layer of the UE performs the NB random access procedure by transmitting a random access preamble to the eNB. The random access preamble may contain a random access preamble ID dedicated to the specific type of UEs, which is selected from a set of random access preamble IDs included in the NB random access configuration. at step S140, the UE transmits an RRC connection request message to the eNB. If the UE is the specific type of UE, the UE may transmit the RRC connection request message to the eNB through a limited bandwidth based on the scheduling information included in the NB random access response. The RRC connection request message may indicate the eNB that the UE is the specific type of UE, e.g. low-end or low-cost device).
Regarding claim 54, Lee teaches wherein the indication is provided via at least one of system information bae one (SIB1) and random access channel configuration (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0083 and 0085, At step S100, an eNB broadcasts random access configurations via system information to a UE. the second random access configuration may be a narrowband (NB) random access configuration. The NB random access configuration may also contain radio resources used by the NB random access procedure, such as a set of random access preamble IDs, time/frequency resource for the NB random access procedure, and RA-RNTI2 used for the NB random access procedure).
Regarding claim 58, Lee teaches wherein the indication is provided via at least one of SIB1 and random access channel configuration (Lee, see figure 8 and paragraphs 0083 and 0085, At step S100, an eNB broadcasts random access configurations via system information to a UE. the second random access configuration may be a narrowband (NB) random access configuration. The NB random access configuration may also contain radio resources used by the NB random access procedure, such as a set of random access preamble IDs, time/frequency resource for the NB random access procedure, and RA-RNTI2 used for the NB random access procedure).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443