Response to Arguments
Claim rejection under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments: On page of 9 of Remarks, applicant argues that Khanka in view of Oroskar fails to teach the amended claim 1 recited as “ A method performed by a Radio Access Network (RAN) node for handling a communication in a communication network, the method comprising: detecting an upcoming event based on whether a condition is fulfilled or not, the condition being related to a connection between the RAN node and a User Equipment (UE) served by the RAN node and that the connection is to be interrupted, the detected upcoming event comprising one or more of: no potential target exists in a handover; a change of data rate; or a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN; and providing to the UE or an application associated with the UE, an indication of the detected upcoming event, the UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcoming event.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. Applicant has amended the claim to recite “the UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcoming event.” An updated search was conducted and a new reference is applied as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipate by Khanka (US 2021/0099932 A1) in view of Oroskar et al. ( US 9629041 B1) (hereafter “Oroskar”) in further view of Rasanen et al. (US 2018/0332524 A1) (hereafter “Rasanen”).
Regarding claim 1, A method performed by a Radio Access Network, (RAN) node (Khanka, Fig. 5) for handling a communication in a communication network, the method comprising: detecting(UE) served by the RAN node;
(Khanka, Fig. 5, Ref. 512, [0048-0049]; FIG. 5 is an example method 500 of a network site (RAN) instructing a handoff to user equipment. At 502, movement information of the user equipment, such as the user equipment location, speed, direction or other movement information of the user equipment is received by a connected network site that the user equipment is currently connected to. In an example, the user equipment can be connected to the connected network site to access a network, such as a cellular network. The movement information can be provided by the user equipment according to a rate, frequency, or schedule that can be varied by the user equipment or the connected network site. At 504, the quality of the signal between the connected network site and the user equipment can be determined. In an example, the SINR, loudness, or both, of the signal can be an indicator of the quality of the signal between the user equipment and the connected network site. At 506, the location of the user equipment relative to potential network sites, such as other cell towers, can be determined. The relative location of the user equipment and the potential network sites can be evaluated to determine at least one potential site for handoff at 508. At 510, the connected network site can communicate with the potential network site(s) to determine(detecting the quality of the signal between the user equipment and the potential network site(s). Each of the potential network sites can be contacted by the connected network site and provided information regarding the user equipment, such as the resources the user equipment is currently using. In response, the potential network site(s) can provide the connected network site an indication of the potential signal quality of a potential signal between the user equipment and the potential network site(s). The potential network site(s) can listen for the user equipment, such as for transmissions by the user equipment, and can provide to the connected network site an indication of the potential signal quality, such as an SINR, loudness, or both, of the user equipment transmissions received by the potential network sites. At 512, the signal quality information received from the potential network site(s) is evaluated to determine if a handoff of the user equipment to the potential network site should occur(whether the condition is fulfilled or not). The connected network site can compare the quality of signal with the user equipment to the signal quality information provided by the potential network site(s) to determine if the user equipment should initiate a handoff (condition is related to the connection between the RAN and the UE). This process can be repeated to verify or assist with determining a potential network site to which the user equipment can initiate a handoff. For example, the signal quality information received from the potential network site(s) can include multiple signal qualities gathered over a period. When evaluating multiple potential network sites, the connected network site can assess the signal quality of each of the potential network sites to identify or determine the most suitable potential network site for the handoff.)
( Khanka, Fig. 3, [0029]; The potential network sites 330 and 340 can listen for transmissions 316a, 316b by the user equipment 310 and can determine a potential signal quality, such as by measuring or determining an SINR, loudness, or other signal quality metric or measurement of the transmission from the user equipment 310. The transmissions 316a and 316b by the user equipment 310 are not directed to either of the potential network sites 330, 340. Rather, the transmissions 316a, 316b are communications in the uplink to the network site 320 that can also be detected or picked up by the potential network sites 330, 340 (Detecting an upcoming event by RAN))
and providingor an application associated with the UE, an indication of the detected upcoming event. (Khanka, Fig. 5, Ref. 516 [0050]; at 516, the connected network site can transmit an instruction to the user equipment to coordinate the handoff. The instruction can instruct the user equipment listen to the common channel for a message from the potential network site (indication of detected upcoming event). The user equipment then moves to the resource indicated by the potential network site in the message that the user equipment received over the common channel to complete the handoff.)
Khanka does not teach the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of: no potential target exists in a handover; a change of data rate; a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar teaches the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of:
(Oroskar, 4: 48- 51, For example, with the handover threshold problem
described above, the base station may detect that served UEs
have been experiencing abrupt loss of connectivity (the connection is to be interrupted), as an example of a system error.)
a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar, FIG. 2, 9: 51- 67p; Block 34; Fig. 2 is next a flow chart depicting operations of a first base station such as base station 16 in line with the discussion above, which would be configured to serve UEs over an air interface and to provide to the UEs a first set of one or more operational parameters useable by the UEs to facilitate operation of the UEs in the wireless communication system. As shown in FIG. 2, at block 32, the first base station detects one or more errors in operation of the wireless communication system (detected upcoming events). And at block 34, in response to the detecting, the first base station automatically (i) requests and receives, from an adjacent second base station, a second set of one or more operational parameters maintained by the second base station, and (ii) substitutes the second set of operational parameters for the first set of operational parameters, so that the first base station is then configured to provide to the UEs served by the first base station the second set of operational parameters rather than the first set of operational parameters.
(Oroskar, 10; 53-65) Again here, the first base station could be an LTE eNodeB of an LTE network, the LTE network could be interconnected with a fallback network, the system parameter message could be a SIB8 message, the first system parameter information could comprise information (e.g., a reference cell identifier) for UEs served by the eNodeB to include in fallback-registration messages that the UEs transmit via the LTE network to the fallback network, the one or more error conditions could comprise one or more instances of failed fallback-registration via the eNodeB, and the second system parameter information could comprise a variation of the information to include in the fallback-registration messages (e.g., a different reference-cell identifier) (change to a target cell belonging to another RAN= Change to a different cell= a change to second base station).
In view of Oroskar, Khanka is modified such that the detected upcoming event comprises a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN .
Khanka and Oroskar are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the process of connectivity in a handover network system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Khanka in the manner described above to include the upcoming event in the handover process as a change to target cell belonging to another RAN to help rectify errors in operation of wireless communication system especially if errors are a result of the base station (RAN ) having one or more incorrect potential parameters. ( Oroskar, 4; 32-45).
Khanka in view of Oroskar does not teach the UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen teaches UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen [0041]; for acquiring the connection information, a sequence of information elements each indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received and processed, the sequence of information elements may be stored for registering at least one route of the at least one communication element, and route information for the at least one communication element may be deduced from the registered at least one route; [0042] an information element of the sequence of information elements indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0043] when processing the acquired connection information, at least one candidate for the following access point may be predicted, or a specific access point for the following access point may be selected (selecting a new route); [0047] the measures to be conducted may be related to at least one of scaling-up of communication resources, scaling-out of communication resources, reserving of communication resources, preparing a handover of a communication connection of the at least one communication element, programming of at least one hardware accelerator, downloading of at least one software accelerator, activating of at least one software accelerator;
Rasanen [0052]; the above described processing may be implemented in a control function or control element of the communication network, the control function being part of at least one of a dedicated server, a virtualized network function, a virtual machine, a mobile edge computing server, a local/regional/centralized server, local/regional/centralized gateway, wherein the at least one communication element may include at least one of a vehicle based communication device.
Rasanen [0060]; the information element indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be sent from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0061] control information indicating a preferred access point ( change in target cell= indication of detected upcoming event) to be selected by the at least one communication element as a following access point when moving in the communication network may be received and processed, and the control information may be considered in an algorithm for selecting a following access point;
In view of Rasanen, Khanka in view of Oroskar is modified such that the vehicle downloads the route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcoming event.Khanka in view of Oroskar and Rasanen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, detecting the upcoming event.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka in view of Oroskar in the manner described above to substitute the UE with the vehicle and apply the method of detecting of an upcoming event to the car industry to introduce efficient service access (Rasanen [0087]).
Regarding claim 2, Khanka in view of Oroskar teaches the limitation of claim 1. Khanka further teaches The method of claim1, wherein the indication is transmitted to the UE(Khanka, Fig. 5, Ref. 516 [0050]; at 516, the connected network site can transmit an instruction to the user equipment to coordinate the handoff. The instruction can instruct the user equipment listen to the common channel for a message from the potential network site user equipment then moves to the resource indicated by the potential network site in the message that the user equipment received over the common channel to complete the handoff.)
Regarding claim 6, A method performed by a User EquipmentUE) (Khanka, Fig. 6) for handling a communication in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving(RAN) node(Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref, 604, [0051]; FIG. 6 is an example process 600 of user equipment handoff as coordinated by a network site. At 602, the user equipment can transmit or provide location information, speed information, direction information, or combination thereof, to the connected network site, such as a cell tower. At 604, optionally, the user equipment can receive a schedule of transmission (indication of detected upcoming) of the movement information, such as location, speed, direction, or combination thereof, from the connected network site (RAN). The schedule of the transmission of the movement information can be updated or revised based, such as by the connected network site based on the prior received movement information. For example, if the user equipment is moving slowly, the schedule can cause the movement information to be less frequently provided than if the user equipment was moving more quickly, since the quality of a signal between the user equipment and the connected network site is likely to change more slowly if the user equipment is moving more slowly.
and performing(Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref. 612, [0052]; At 606, the user equipment can receive handoff instructions from the connected network site. The handoff instructions can include instructions to cause the user equipment to wait or search for a message, on the common channel, from a new network site. At 610, the user equipment can receive connection instructions from the new network site. The instructions can include an indication of the resource to which the user equipment initiates a connection. At 612, the user equipment can disconnect from the connected network site and connect to the new site to complete the handoff to the new network site (performing
Khanka does not teach the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of: no potential target exists in a handover; a change of data rate; a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar teaches the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of:
(Oroskar, 4: 48- 51, For example, with the handover threshold problem
described above, the base station may detect that served UEs
have been experiencing abrupt loss of connectivity (the connection is to be interrupted), as an example of a system error.)
a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar, FIG. 2, 9: 51- 67p; Block 34; Fig. 2 is next a flow chart depicting operations of a first base station such as base station 16 in line with the discussion above, which would be configured to serve UEs over an air interface and to provide to the UEs a first set of one or more operational parameters useable by the UEs to facilitate operation of the UEs in the wireless communication system. As shown in FIG. 2, at block 32, the first base station detects one or more errors in operation of the wireless communication system (detected upcoming events). And at block 34, in response to the detecting, the first base station automatically (i) requests and receives, from an adjacent second base station, a second set of one or more operational parameters maintained by the second base station, and (ii) substitutes the second set of operational parameters for the first set of operational parameters, so that the first base station is then configured to provide to the UEs served by the first base station the second set of operational parameters rather than the first set of operational parameters.
(Oroskar, 10; 53-65) Again here, the first base station could be an LTE eNodeB of an LTE network, the LTE network could be interconnected with a fallback network, the system parameter message could be a SIB8 message, the first system parameter information could comprise information (e.g., a reference cell identifier) for UEs served by the eNodeB to include in fallback-registration messages that the UEs transmit via the LTE network to the fallback network, the one or more error conditions could comprise one or more instances of failed fallback-registration via the eNodeB, and the second system parameter information could comprise a variation of the information to include in the fallback-registration messages (e.g., a different reference-cell identifier) (change to a target cell belonging to another RAN= Change to a different cell= a change to second base station).
In view of Oroskar, Khanka is modified such that the detected upcoming event comprises a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN .
Khanka and Oroskar are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the process of connectivity in a handover network system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Khanka in the manner described above to include the upcoming event in the handover process as a change to target cell belonging to another RAN to help rectify errors in operation of wireless communication system especially if errors are a result of the base station (RAN ) having one or more incorrect potential parameters. ( Oroskar, 4; 32-45).
Khanka in view of Oroskar does not teach the UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen teaches UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen [0041]; for acquiring the connection information, a sequence of information elements each indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received and processed, the sequence of information elements may be stored for registering at least one route of the at least one communication element, and route information for the at least one communication element may be deduced from the registered at least one route; [0042] an information element of the sequence of information elements indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0043] when processing the acquired connection information, at least one candidate for the following access point may be predicted, or a specific access point for the following access point may be selected (selecting a new route); [0047] the measures to be conducted may be related to at least one of scaling-up of communication resources, scaling-out of communication resources, reserving of communication resources, preparing a handover of a communication connection of the at least one communication element, programming of at least one hardware accelerator, downloading of at least one software accelerator, activating of at least one software accelerator;
Rasanen [0052]; the above described processing may be implemented in a control function or control element of the communication network, the control function being part of at least one of a dedicated server, a virtualized network function, a virtual machine, a mobile edge computing server, a local/regional/centralized server, local/regional/centralized gateway, wherein the at least one communication element may include at least one of a vehicle based communication device.
Rasanen [0060]; the information element indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be sent from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0061] control information indicating a preferred access point ( change in target cell= indication of detected upcoming event) to be selected by the at least one communication element as a following access point when moving in the communication network may be received and processed, and the control information may be considered in an algorithm for selecting a following access point;
In view of Rasanen, Khanka in view of Oroskar is modified such that the vehicle downloads the route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcoming event.Khanka in view of Oroskar and Rasanen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, detecting the upcoming event.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka in view of Oroskar in the manner described above to substitute the UE with the vehicle and apply the method of detecting of an upcoming event to the car industry to introduce efficient service access (Rasanen [0087]).
Regarding claim 11, The method of claim6, wherein performing communication taking the indication into account comprises adjusting behaviour of the UE based on the indication. ( Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref. 612, [0052]; At 612, the user equipment can disconnect from the connected network site and connect to the new site to complete the handoff to the new network site.)
Khanka does not teach the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of: no potential target exists in a handover; a change of data rate; a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar teaches the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of:
(Oroskar, 4: 48- 51, For example, with the handover threshold problem
described above, the base station may detect that served UEs
have been experiencing abrupt loss of connectivity (the connection is to be interrupted), as an example of a system error.)
a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar, FIG. 2, 9: 51- 67p; Block 34; Fig. 2 is next a flow chart depicting operations of a first base station such as base station 16 in line with the discussion above, which would be configured to serve UEs over an air interface and to provide to the UEs a first set of one or more operational parameters useable by the UEs to facilitate operation of the UEs in the wireless communication system. As shown in FIG. 2, at block 32, the first base station detects one or more errors in operation of the wireless communication system (detected upcoming events). And at block 34, in response to the detecting, the first base station automatically (i) requests and receives, from an adjacent second base station, a second set of one or more operational parameters maintained by the second base station, and (ii) substitutes the second set of operational parameters for the first set of operational parameters, so that the first base station is then configured to provide to the UEs served by the first base station the second set of operational parameters rather than the first set of operational parameters.
(Oroskar, 10; 53-65) Again here, the first base station could be an LTE eNodeB of an LTE network, the LTE network could be interconnected with a fallback network, the system parameter message could be a SIB8 message, the first system parameter information could comprise information (e.g., a reference cell identifier) for UEs served by the eNodeB to include in fallback-registration messages that the UEs transmit via the LTE network to the fallback network, the one or more error conditions could comprise one or more instances of failed fallback-registration via the eNodeB, and the second system parameter information could comprise a variation of the information to include in the fallback-registration messages (e.g., a different reference-cell identifier) (change to a target cell belonging to another RAN= Change to a different cell= a change to second base station).
In view of Oroskar, Khanka is modified such that the detected upcoming event comprises a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN .
Khanka and Oroskar are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the process of connectivity in a handover network system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Khanka in the manner described above to include the upcoming event in the handover process as a change to target cell belonging to another RAN to help rectify errors in operation of wireless communication system especially if errors are a result of the base station (RAN ) having one or more incorrect potential parameters. ( Oroskar, 4; 32-45).
Claims 3-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanka in view of Oroskar in further view of Rasanen, in further view of Wei et al. (US 2023/0354121 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Khanka in view of Oroskar in further view of Rasanen teaches the method of claim1, wherein the indication is transmitted (Khanka, Fig. 5, Ref. 516 [0050]; at 516, the connected network site can transmit an instruction to the user equipment to coordinate the handoff).
Khanka does not teach wherein the indication is transmitted to a Core Network (CN) node.
Wei teaches wherein the indication is transmitted to a Core Network (CN) node (Wei, Fig. 4, Ref. 418 [0049]; In order to notify the core network 276 of the change of serving cell (and, more particularly, of serving infrastructure equipment), the target infrastructure equipment 372 may send a Path Switch Request message 418 to the core network 276, in response to which, the core network 276 subsequently transmits data 420 for the communications device 270 to the target infrastructure equipment 372 instead of the source infrastructure equipment 272.)
In view of Wei, Khanka is modified such that the invention includes the core network and the indication of detected upcoming event of handover is transmitted to the core network (CN).
Khanka and Wei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka in the manner described above for the base (RAN) to
transmit the notification of handover to the core network if the system included the core to allow the
handover process by directing the user connection from the first station to the second (target) station.
Regarding claim 4, Khanka in view of Oroskar teaches the limitation of claim 1. Khanka teaches the method (Khanka, Fig. 5, Ref. 516 [0050]; at 516, the connected network site can transmit an instruction to the user equipment to coordinate the handoff. The instruction can instruct the user equipment listen to the common channel for a message from the potential network site (indication of detected upcoming event). The user equipment then moves to the resource indicated by the potential network site in the message that the user equipment received over the common channel to complete the handoff.)
Khanka does not teach the indication is transmitted using a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message.
Wei teaches wherein the indication is transmitted using a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message. (Wei, Fig. 4, Ref. 412, [0046-0047]; The parameters may include communications resources, identity, and configuration parameters to be used by the communications device 270 in the target (second) cell 320. The parameters are forwarded to the communications device 270 (Indication transmitted to the UE), in an RRC reconfiguration message 412. In response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message 412, the communications device 270 accesses the new cell, for example using a random access procedure 414.)
In view of Wei, Khanka is modified such that the indication of detected upcoming event of
handover, sent from the user to RAN, include Radio Resource Control (RRC) message.
Khanka and Wei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka in the manner described above for the user to send the
notification message indicating the upcoming handover to RAN by RRC to permit the user to
communication with the base station.
Regarding claim 7,Khanka in view of Oroskar in further view of Rasanen teaches limitation of claim 6. Khanka teaches the method claim 6, wherein the indication is received from the RAN node. ( Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref. 604; At 604, optionally, the user equipment can receive a schedule of transmission (indication of) of the movement information, such as location, speed, direction, or combination thereof, from the connected network site (RAN).
Khanka does not teach receiving indication using a Radio Resource Control
Wei teaches receiving indication using a Radio Resource Control(Wei, Fig. 4, Ref. 412, [0111]; The first infrastructure equipment 272 then transmits the RRC reconfiguration message 412 to the communications device 270, instructing the communications device 270 to perform the handover to the target cell 310 and to contact the second infrastructure equipment 372, for example by means of a random access procedure 414.)
In view of Wei, Khanka is modified such that the indication of detected upcoming event of
handover, sent from the user to RAN, include Radio Resource Control (RRC) message.
Khanka and Wei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka in the manner described above for the user to send the
notification message indicating the upcoming handover to RAN by RRC to permit the user to
communication with the base station.
Claims 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanka in view of
Oroskar in further view of Rasanen, in further view of Moosavi et al. (US 2020/0084683 A1) (Moosavi).
Regarding claim 8, Khanka in view of Oroskar in further view of Rasanen teaches all limitation of claim 6. teaches the method of claim6, wherein the UE is informed of the indication( Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref. 604; At 604, optionally, the user equipment can receive a schedule of transmission (indication of) of the movement information, such as location, speed, direction, or combination thereof, from the connected network site (RAN))
Khanka does not teach an Operating System(OS), over an application programming interface
Moosavi teaches an Operating System, (OS), over an application programming interface(Moosavi, Fig. 18, Ref. 1823, Ref. 1825, [0192]; RAM 1817 may be configured to interface via bus 1802 to processing circuitry 1801 to provide storage or caching of data or computer instructions during the execution of software programs such as the operating system, application programs, and device drivers. ROM 1819 may be configured to provide computer instructions or data to processing circuitry 1801. For example, ROM 1819 may be configured to store invariant low-level system code or data for basic system functions such as basic input and output (I/O), startup, or reception of keystrokes from a keyboard that are stored in a non-volatile memory. Storage medium 1821 may be configured to include memory such as RAM, ROM, programmable read-only memory (PROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), magnetic disks, optical disks, floppy disks, hard disks, removable cartridges, or flash drives. In one example, storage medium 1821 may be configured to include operating system 1823, application program 1825 such as a web browser application, a widget or gadget engine or another application, and data file 1827. Storage medium 1821 may store, for use by UE 1800, any of a variety of various operating systems or combinations of operating systems.)
In view of Moosavi, Khanka is modified such that the indication message of upcoming handover is sent via the operation system.
Khanka and Moosavi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, handover communication method.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka to include operation system to allow the user to have the provide the computer instructions and data to send/ receive the notification from the other sources ( RAN).
Regarding claim 10, Khanka in view of Oroskar in further view of Rasanen teaches all limitation of claim 6. Khanka teaches the methodclaim6, wherein the indication of the detected upcoming event is received by the UE. ( Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref. 604, [0052]; At 606, At 606, the user equipment can receive handoff instructions from the connected network site. The handoff instructions can include instructions to cause the user equipment to wait or search for a message, on the common channel, from a new network site. At 610, the user equipment can receive connection instructions from the new network site. The instructions can include an indication of the resource to which the user equipment initiates a connection.)
Khanka does not teach the indication received by a Client Application of the UE.
Moosavi teaches the indication received by a Client Application of the UE. Handover resource information as used above may be for instance provided in a handover request acknowledge message.
(Moosavi, Fig. 20, [0214]; Communication system 2100 further includes UE 2130 already referred to. Software 2131 includes client application 2132. Client application 2132 may be operable to provide a service to a human or non-human user via UE 2130, with the support of host computer 2110. In host computer 2110, an executing host application 2112 may communicate with the executing client application 2132 via OTT connection 2150 terminating at UE 2130 and host computer 2110. In providing the service to the user, client application 2132 may receive request data from host application 2112 and provide user data in response to the request data. OTT connection 2150 may transfer both the request data and the user data. Client application 2132 may interact with the user to generate the user data that it provides.) (Moosavi [0154]; For example, the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message includes a transparent container to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the handover. The container includes a new cell radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI) and target eNB security algorithm identifiers for the selected security algorithms. The container may also include a dedicated random access channel (RACH) preamble and possibly some other parameters i.e. access parameters, system information blocks (SIBs), etc. If RACH-less HO is configured, the container includes timing adjustment indication and optionally a pre allocated uplink grant. The HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may also include radio network layer (RNL)/transport network layer (TNL) information for the forwarding tunnels, if necessary.)
In view of Moosavi, Khanka is modified such that the indication message of upcoming handover is sent to the client application of the user.
Khanka and Moosavi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, handover communication method.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka to include client application in providing the services to the user because the client application may receive request data from host application and provide user data in response to the requested data which result in an efficiency during the handover procedure from one link toward the target link (Moosavi [0214]).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanka in view of
Oroskar in further view of Rasanen, in further view of Chen (WO 2019219753 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Khanka teaches the method ( Khanka, Fig. 6, Ref. 604; At 604, optionally, the user equipment can receive a schedule of transmission (indication of detected upcoming event) of the movement information, such as location, speed, direction, or combination thereof, from the connected network site (RAN).
Khanka does not teach receiving the indication from a Server Application
Chen teaches receiving the indication from a Server Application ( Chen, Fig. 4,
Ref. 410, page 10, [0008]; Step 410: The AMF notifies the AF that the UE is reachable through a N2
notification procedure, or Path Switch Request. Step 412: The AF sends downlink data to the UE or
informing the UE of the upcoming event.)(Chen, Fig. 4, Ref. 412, page 2, [0008] ; Server (SCS) /
Application Server (AS)) may request notification when a UE
wakes up or is expected to wake up from its power saving state, to send the downlink data to the UE
when the UE becomes reachable. Similar approaches may be considered for the 5G Core Network
(5GC). Extended buffering is not recommended for UEs using very long sleep durations. Regarding
architectural requirements, in addition to the common requirements in clause 4 of TR 23.724 [1], the
following architecture requirements are to be supported for high latency communication in the 5G
system: Send downlink data to UEs at the earliest possible opportunity when the UEs are applying
power saving functions ( if the downlink data is received as the earliest as possible, the downlink data
can be treated as the indication from the server), followed by subsequent return to power saving
state when the data has been delivered.)
In view of Chen, Khanka is modified such that the invention includes the server that sends the
notification of upcoming handover to the user.
Khanka and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field
of endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khanka in the manner described above to add the server to the
structure of the invention and allows the notification of upcoming handover to be sent to the user for
the purpose of power saving of the device which result in a low latency (Chen, page 7).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oroskar in view of
Chen in further view of Rasanen.
Regarding claim 13, Oroskar teaches the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of:
(Oroskar, 4: 48- 51, For example, with the handover threshold problem
described above, the base station may detect (detected upcoming event) that served UEs
have been experiencing abrupt loss of connectivity (the connection is to be interrupted), as an example of a system error.)
no potential target exists in a handover;
a change of data rate;
a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar, FIG. 2, 9: 51- 67p; Block 34; Fig. 2 is next a flow chart depicting operations of a first base station such as base station 16 in line with the discussion above, which would be configured to serve UEs over an air interface and to provide to the UEs a first set of one or more operational parameters useable by the UEs to facilitate operation of the UEs in the wireless communication system. As shown in FIG. 2, at block 32, the first base station detects one or more errors in operation of the wireless communication system (detected upcoming events). And at block 34, in response to the detecting, the first base station automatically (i) requests and receives, from an adjacent second base station, a second set of one or more operational parameters maintained by the second base station, and (ii) substitutes the second set of operational parameters for the first set of operational parameters, so that the first base station is then configured to provide to the UEs served by the first base station the second set of operational parameters rather than the first set of operational parameters.
(Oroskar, 10; 53-65) Again here, the first base station could be an LTE eNodeB of an LTE network, the LTE network could be interconnected with a fallback network, the system parameter message could be a SIB8 message, the first system parameter information could comprise information (e.g., a reference cell identifier) for UEs served by the eNodeB to include in fallback-registration messages that the UEs transmit via the LTE network to the fallback network, the one or more error conditions could comprise one or more instances of failed fallback-registration via the eNodeB, and the second system parameter information could comprise a variation of the information to include in the fallback-registration messages (e.g., a different reference-cell identifier) (change to a target cell belonging to another RAN= Change to a different cell= a change to second base station).
Oroskar does not teach a method performed by a Server Application (SA) node for
handling a communication in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving (701), from
a Core Network, (CN) node, an indication of a detected upcoming event affecting a service provided to a
User Equipment, (UE) served by the SA node; and providing
indication into account or informing the UE of the upcoming event.
Chen teaches a method performed by a Server Application (SA) node for
handling a communication in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving (701), from
a Core Network, (CN) node, an indication of a detected upcoming event affecting a service provided to a
User Equipment, (UE) served by the SA node; (Chen, Fig. 4, Ref. 410; ; Page 10,
[0008]; Step 410: The AMF (receiving from a core network) notifies the AF ( As described in Chen, page
10, [002] as i.e., Service Capability Server (SCS) / Application Server (AS)) that the UE is reachable
through a N2 notification procedure, or Path Switch Request.)
and providing
the upcoming event ( Chen, Fig. 4, Ref. 410, page 10, [0008];
Step 410: The AMF notifies the AF that the UE is reachable through a N2
notification procedure, or Path Switch Request. Step 412: The AF sends downlink data to the UE or
informing the UE of the upcoming event.)
In view of Chen, Oroskar is modified such that the method of the handling of communication performed
by a Server application.
Oroskar and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field
of endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oroskar in the manner described above to include the server
Application for handling the communication by receiving the indication of an upcoming detected event
(handover) from the network and transmitting the indication to the user.
Oroskar in view of Chen does not teach the UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen teaches UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen [0041]; for acquiring the connection information, a sequence of information elements each indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received and processed, the sequence of information elements may be stored for registering at least one route of the at least one communication element, and route information for the at least one communication element may be deduced from the registered at least one route; [0042] an information element of the sequence of information elements indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0043] when processing the acquired connection information, at least one candidate for the following access point may be predicted, or a specific access point for the following access point may be selected (selecting a new route); [0047] the measures to be conducted may be related to at least one of scaling-up of communication resources, scaling-out of communication resources, reserving of communication resources, preparing a handover of a communication connection of the at least one communication element, programming of at least one hardware accelerator, downloading of at least one software accelerator, activating of at least one software accelerator;
Rasanen [0052]; the above described processing may be implemented in a control function or control element of the communication network, the control function being part of at least one of a dedicated server, a virtualized network function, a virtual machine, a mobile edge computing server, a local/regional/centralized server, local/regional/centralized gateway, wherein the at least one communication element may include at least one of a vehicle based communication device.
Rasanen [0060]; the information element indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be sent from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0061] control information indicating a preferred access point ( change in target cell= indication of detected upcoming event) to be selected by the at least one communication element as a following access point when moving in the communication network may be received and processed, and the control information may be considered in an algorithm for selecting a following access point;
In view of Rasanen, Oroskar in view of Chen is modified such that the vehicle downloads the route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcoming event. Oroskar in view of Chen and Rasanen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, detecting the upcoming event.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Oroskar in view of Chen in the manner described above to substitute the UE with the vehicle and apply the method of detecting of an upcoming event to the car industry to introduce efficient service access (Rasanen [0087]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oroskar in view of Chen in
further view of Rasanen, in further view of Khanka .
Regarding claim 14, Oroskar in view of Chen in further view of Rasanen teaches limitation of claim 13.
Oroskar in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 13, receiving the indication of a detected
upcoming event.
(Chen, Fig. 4, Ref. 410; ; Page 10, [0008]; Step 410: The AMF (receiving from a core network) notifies
the AF ( As described in Chen, page 10, [002] as i.e., Service Capability Server (SCS) / Application
Server (AS)) that the UE is reachable through a N2 notification procedure, or Path Switch Request.)
Oroskar in view of Chen does not teach transmitting the indication of the detected upcoming event, to
the UE.
Khanka teaches transmitting the indication of the detected upcoming event, to the UE. (Khanka, Fig. 5,
Ref. 516 [0050]; at 516, the connected network site can transmit an instruction to the user equipment
to coordinate the handoff. The instruction can instruct the user equipment listen to the common
channel for a message from the potential network site (indication of detected upcoming event). The
user equipment then moves to the resource indicated by the potential network site in the message
that the user equipment received over the common channel to complete the handoff.)
In view of Khanka, Oroskar in view of Chen is modified such that the method of the handling of
communication performed by a Server application.
Oroskar in view of Chen and Khanka are analogous art to the claimed invention because they
are in the same field of endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oroskar in view of Chen in the manner described above to include
the server Application for handling the communication by receiving the indication of an upcoming
detected event (handover) from the network and transmitting the indication to the user upon receipt of
the indication.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Oroskar in view of Chen in further view of Rasanen.
Regarding claim 12, Wei teaches a method performed by a Core Network, (CN) node
for handling a communication in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving, from a Radio Access Network(RAN) node(Wei, Fig. 4, Ref. 402, [0042-0043]; Initially, the communications device 270 is being served in the first cell 310 associated with the first infrastructure equipment 272 acting as a source infrastructure equipment. The communications device 270 has an RRC connection in the first cell 310 with the first infrastructure equipment 272. Data 402 is transmitted to or from the core network 276 from or to the communications device 270, via the source infrastructure equipment 272. The source infrastructure equipment 272 determines in process 404 that the communications device 270 should, in future, be served in a different cell. This determination may be based on measurements on signals transmitted by the communications device 270 and received at the first infrastructure equipment 272 (not shown in FIG. 4), and/or based on measurement reports transmitted by the communications device 270, such as measurement report 403. The measurement reports 403 may comprise indications of the results of measurements performed by the communications device 270 on signals transmitted by the first infrastructure equipment 272, and/or of measurements performed by the communications device 270 on signals transmitted by the other infrastructure equipment, such as the second infrastructure equipment 372)
(UE) served by the RAN node; ( Wei, Fig. 4, Ref. 402, [0042]; Data 402 is transmitted to or from the core network 276 from or to the communications device 270, via the source infrastructure equipment 272 (RAN)).
Wei does not teach the connection is to be interrupted and the detected upcoming event comprises one or more of the following: the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of: no potential target exists in a handover; a change of data rate; a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar teaches the connection is to be interrupted and the detected event comprising one or more of:
(Oroskar, 4: 48- 51, For example, with the handover threshold problem
described above, the base station may detect that served UEs
have been experiencing abrupt loss of connectivity (the connection is to be interrupted), as an example of a system error.)
a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN;
Oroskar, FIG. 2, 9: 51- 67p; Block 34; Fig. 2 is next a flow chart depicting operations of a first base station such as base station 16 in line with the discussion above, which would be configured to serve UEs over an air interface and to provide to the UEs a first set of one or more operational parameters useable by the UEs to facilitate operation of the UEs in the wireless communication system. As shown in FIG. 2, at block 32, the first base station detects one or more errors in operation of the wireless communication system (detected upcoming events). And at block 34, in response to the detecting, the first base station automatically (i) requests and receives, from an adjacent second base station, a second set of one or more operational parameters maintained by the second base station, and (ii) substitutes the second set of operational parameters for the first set of operational parameters, so that the first base station is then configured to provide to the UEs served by the first base station the second set of operational parameters rather than the first set of operational parameters.
(Oroskar, 10; 53-65) Again here, the first base station could be an LTE eNodeB of an LTE network, the LTE network could be interconnected with a fallback network, the system parameter message could be a SIB8 message, the first system parameter information could comprise information (e.g., a reference cell identifier) for UEs served by the eNodeB to include in fallback-registration messages that the UEs transmit via the LTE network to the fallback network, the one or more error conditions could comprise one or more instances of failed fallback-registration via the eNodeB, and the second system parameter information could comprise a variation of the information to include in the fallback-registration messages (e.g., a different reference-cell identifier) (change to a target cell belonging to another RAN= Change to a different cell= a change to second base station).
In view of Oroskar, Wei is modified such that the detected upcoming event comprises a change to a target cell belonging to another RAN.
Wei and Oroskar in view of Khanka are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, the process of connectivity in a handover network system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wei in the manner described above to include the describe the upcoming event in the handover process as a change to a target cell in another RAN to help rectify errors in operation of wireless communication system especially if errors are a result of the base station (RAN ) having one or more incorrect potential parameters. ( Oroskar, 4; 32-45).
Wei in view of Oroskar does not teach transmitting
detected upcoming event, towards a Server Application, node associated with the UE.
Chen teaches transmitting
event, towards a Server Application, node associated with the UE. (Chen, Fig. 4. Ref. 410; Page 10,
[0008]; Step 410: The AMF notifies the AF ( As described in Chen, page 10, [002] as i.e., Service
Capability Server (SCS) / Application Server (AS)) that the UE is reachable through a N2 notification
procedure, or Path Switch Request.)
In view of Chen, Wei in view of Oroskar is modified such that the indication of detected
upcoming event of Handover, which involves informing the core network about the switching the
communication toward the target base station, is transmitted to a server application.
Wei in view of Oroskar and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in
the same field of endeavor, handover method in communication network.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wei in view of Oroskar in the manner described above to add the
server to the structure of the invention and allows the notification of upcoming handover to be sent to
the server to allow the server to be aware of the upcoming handover towards the new network which
causes the server to take the appropriate action in moving toward the new network.
Wei in view of Oroskar in view of Chen does not teach the UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen teaches UE comprising a vehicle and the vehicle at least one of downloading route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcominq event.
Rasanen [0041]; for acquiring the connection information, a sequence of information elements each indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received and processed, the sequence of information elements may be stored for registering at least one route of the at least one communication element, and route information for the at least one communication element may be deduced from the registered at least one route; [0042] an information element of the sequence of information elements indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be received from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0043] when processing the acquired connection information, at least one candidate for the following access point may be predicted, or a specific access point for the following access point may be selected (selecting a new route); [0047] the measures to be conducted may be related to at least one of scaling-up of communication resources, scaling-out of communication resources, reserving of communication resources, preparing a handover of a communication connection of the at least one communication element, programming of at least one hardware accelerator, downloading of at least one software accelerator, activating of at least one software accelerator;
Rasanen [0052]; the above described processing may be implemented in a control function or control element of the communication network, the control function being part of at least one of a dedicated server, a virtualized network function, a virtual machine, a mobile edge computing server, a local/regional/centralized server, local/regional/centralized gateway, wherein the at least one communication element may include at least one of a vehicle based communication device.
Rasanen [0060]; the information element indicating a route point of the at least one communication element may be sent from an access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected, and may comprise an identification element of the access point to which the at least one communication element is currently connected; [0061] control information indicating a preferred access point ( change in target cell= indication of detected upcoming event) to be selected by the at least one communication element as a following access point when moving in the communication network may be received and processed, and the control information may be considered in an algorithm for selecting a following access point;
In view of Rasanen, Wei in view of Oroskar is modified such that the vehicle downloads the route information and selecting a new route based on the indication of the detected upcoming event.Khanka in view of Oroskar and Rasanen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, detecting the upcoming event.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Wei in view of Oroskar in the manner described above to substitute the UE with the vehicle and apply the method of detecting of an upcoming event to the car industry to introduce efficient service access (Rasanen [0087]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478