DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Velev and Karampatsis fail to disclose sending a first message to the second network node indicating the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber, thereby synchronizing the second wireless identifier between the first core network and the second network node.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that, using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Karampatsis discloses the UDM retrieving information from the AMF (par. 104, lines 3-4) and sending a first message to the second network node (e.g. HSS) about the information (par. 106, lines 1-4). Thereby synchronizing the first message between the first core network and the second network node (par. 45, lines 13-19; par. 106, lines 1-4). Velev discloses that this information can be a wireless device identifier such as an IMEI (par. 122, lines 9-17; par. 123, lines 7-9). It is known in the field of art for a network node, such as a UDM or HSS, to receive and store data.
In view of the above, the rejection using Velev and Karampatsis is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52-56, 107, 108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2019/0200285) in view of Karampatsis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0153875).
Consider claim 52; Velev discloses a second network node for use in a second core network of a telecommunication network (e.g. UDM/UDR), wherein the second network node is for managing data relating to subscribers of the second core network (e.g. UDM/UDR), wherein the telecommunication network further comprises a first core network having a first network node that is for managing data relating to subscribers of the first core network (e.g. AMF), wherein the data comprises a first wireless device identifier for a first subscriber (e.g. IMEI), wherein the second network node is configured to:
indicating the second wireless device identifier (e.g. IMEI based on a new device) for the first subscriber (par. 122, lines 9-17; par. 123, lines 1-3); and store the second wireless device identifier (e.g. IMEI) for the first subscribers. (par. 123, lines 7-9).
Velev discloses the claimed invention except: receive a first message from the first network node; thereby synchronizing the first message between the first core network and the second network node;
wherein the first network node comprises a home subscriber server (HSS) and the second network node comprises a unified data management (UDM) node, or the first network node comprises a UDM node and the second network node comprises an HSS.
In an analogous art Karampatsis discloses receive a first message from the first network node (par. 106); thereby synchronizing the first message between the first core network (par. 45, lines 13-19) and the second network node (par. 104, lines 3-4; par. 106);
wherein the first network node comprises a home subscriber server (HSS) and the second network node comprises a unified data management (UDM) node, or the first network node comprises a UDM node and the second network node comprises an HSS (par. 106).
It is an object of Velev’s invention to provide a method of mobility management. It is an object of Karampatsis’ invention to provide a method of establishing a connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Velev by including a HSS and UDM, as taught by Karampatsis, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 53, as applied in claim 52; Velev discloses the first message indicates that (i) a wireless device identifier for the first subscriber has changed to the second wireless device identifier; or (ii) the first wireless device identifier for the first subscriber has changed to the second wireless device identifier [e.g. via a new device (par. 122, lines 9-17; par. 123, lines 1-3)].
Consider claim 54, as applied in claim 52; Karampatsis discloses receive an identifier request for the wireless device identifier for the first subscriber from a third network node (e.g. IMS-AS) [it is known in the field of art that 5GS subscription includes a device identifier (par. 97; par. 98, lines 3-6)]; and send the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber to the third network node (e.g. IMS-AS) [it is known in the field of art that 5GS subscription includes a device identifier (par. 98, lines 3-6; par. 141-143)].
Consider claim 55, as applied in claim 54; Karampatsis discloses the third network node is an IP Multimedia Subsystem Application Server, IMS-AS (par. 98, lines 3-6; par. 143).
Consider claim 56, as applied in claim 52; Velev discloses receive a first subscription request from an exposure function, EF, node in the telecommunication network (par. 78), wherein the first subscription request requests notification of changes to the wireless device identifier for the first subscriber (par. 78; par. 122, lines 9-17); and after the change to the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber (par. 122, lines 9-17; par. 123, lines 1-3), notify the EF node of the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber (par. 78).
Consider claim 107, as applied in claim 1; Velev discloses change from the first wireless device identifier to the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber [e.g. a new device that is used with the same subscription profile (par. 122, lines 9-20)]. Velev discloses the claimed invention except: sending the first message to the second network node indicating the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber synchronizes the second wireless device identifier between the first core network and the second network node because the first message notifies the second network node and thus the first network node and the second network node are both aware of the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber.
In an analogous art Karampatsis discloses sending the first message to the second network node indicating the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber [e.g. subscription data (par. 72, lines 1-5; par. 106, lines 1-4)] synchronizes the second wireless device identifier between the first core network and the second network node {this information is synchronized with a core network because it can be retrieved from the core network, such as an AMF, by the UDM/UDR (par. 104, lines 3-4)} because the first message notifies the second network node and thus the first network node and the second network node are both aware of the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber [e.g. subscription data (par. 72, lines 1-5; par. 106, lines 1-4)].
It is an object of Velev’s invention to provide a method of mobility management. It is an object of Karampatsis’ invention to provide a method of establishing a connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Velev by including a HSS and UDM, as taught by Karampatsis, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 108, as applied in claim 37; Velev discloses change from the first wireless device identifier to the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber [e.g. a new device that is used with the same subscription profile (par. 122, lines 9-20)]. Velev discloses the claimed invention except: sending the first message to the second network node indicating the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber synchronizes the second wireless device identifier between the first core network and the second network node because the first message notifies the second network node and thus the first network node and the second network node are both aware of the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber.
In an analogous art Karampatsis discloses sending the first message to the second network node indicating the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber [e.g. subscription data (par. 72, lines 1-5; par. 106, lines 1-4)] synchronizes the second wireless device identifier between the first core network and the second network node {this information is synchronized with a core network because it can be retrieved from the core network, such as an AMF, by the UDM/UDR (par. 104, lines 3-4)} because the first message notifies the second network node and thus the first network node and the second network node are both aware of the second wireless device identifier for the first subscriber [e.g. subscription data (par. 72, lines 1-5; par. 106, lines 1-4)].
It is an object of Velev’s invention to provide a method of mobility management. It is an object of Karampatsis’ invention to provide a method of establishing a connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Velev by including a HSS and UDM, as taught by Karampatsis, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Independent claims 1 and 37 contain patentable subject matter. However, what are the first and second core networks? What are the first and second wireless identifiers? These limitations should all be in the body of the independent claims. Dependent claims 45-47 contain patentable subject matter that will all need to be included in the independent claims.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646