DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8, and 21-22), and the species election of HIF1AN in the reply filed on 06/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11,14,17,20, and 24-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed before the mailing date of the non-final first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on page 1. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai et al (Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2018).
Regarding claim 1-2,4-5,and 7, Cai et al teach the use of CRISPR/Cas systems to knockout the HIF1AN gene (referred to as fih ) in zebrafish, which encodes the Factor Inhibiting Hypoxia-inducible factor 1-alpha (FIH-1), a negative regulator of the Hypoxia-Inducible Factor (HIF). (See abstract). Cai et al teach the use of CRISPR/Cas strategy to generate two zebrafish fih mutants, one with an 11-nt deletion in exon 1 of fih and the other mutant having a 14-nt deletion in exon 1 of fih. (See supplementary Fig.S5). Cai et al demonstrate that the expression level of FIH-1 in the second mutant is decreased by more than 70% than in the wild-type.(See supplementary Fig.S5 D). Cai et al further demonstrate that deleting fih in zebrafish increases the expression of the hypoxia-inducible factor (HIFα), wherein the expression level of HIFα in the knockout is higher than the expression level of HIFα in the wild-type. (See supplementary Fig.S6). Cai et al state that “ Using CRISPR/Cas9 to obtain fih-null zebrafish mutants, we noted that the fih deletion makes zebrafish more tolerant of hypoxic conditions than their WT siblings”, demonstrating that FIH-1 is critical for adaptation to acute hypoxia. (See abstract).
Regarding claim 3, It should be noted that Cai et al’s technique employing CRISP/Cas involves the generation of two zebrafish mutants, with the deletion is targeting exon 1 of the fih gene. This differs from instant application, which targets exon 1 of FIH in human genome of mesenchymal cell. ( See experimental example 1 of instant specification). Cai et al disclose an alignment of FIH-1 amino acid sequences between the human and zebrafish. (See supplementary Fig.1). It is noted that the zebrafish fih gene encodes for a 344-amino acid protein that is 79.89% identical to the human HIF1AN/FIH gene. It is clearly obvious that the genetic makeup of the fih gene differs between the two species. Therefore, the design and execution of CRISP-Cas9 for zebrafish would differ from that for humans due to differences in the genome sequences. However, since the strategy of Cai et al involves using CRISPR-Cas9 to mediate nucleotide deletions in exon1 of fih gene in zebrafish, which resulted in more than 70% decrease in FIH-1 expression in the second mutant relative to the wild-type, the engineered gene is presumed to also be lacking one or more of the recited sequences in instant claim. Absent evidence to the contrary and the claim is considered anticipated.
Regarding claim 8, Cai et al also demonstrate that the fih deletion up-regulated several hypoxia-inducible genes in fih null zebrafish exposed to hypoxia including VEGF. (See Figs. 7 and S9). Cai et al do not specifically test for the expression of IL-8 upon fih knockdown; however, the outcome is presumed to be inherent in the teachings of Cai et al since the claimed manipulated cell is anticipated by Cai et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2018), in view of Lee et al ( International Journal of Stem Cells, 2019).
The teachings of Cai et al are set forth above. Cai et al anticipate claims 1-8.
Regarding claim 21-22, Following the discussion of claim 1 above. Cai et al disclose the generation of two mutant zebrafish containing engineered cells, wherein the engineered cells comprising an indel in exon 1 of HIF1AN/FIH, resulting in the knock out HIF1AN in the engineered cells (referred to as fih in Cai et al). Cai et al do not disclose the knockout of HIF1AN in mesenchymal stem cells.
However, Lee et al teach that HIF1, which is negatively regulated by FIH-1, is required to maintain the pluripotency and survival of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) by mediating adaptation to hypoxic conditions. Lee et al also disclose that overexpressing the alpha subunit of HIF 1 (HIF 1α) has the potential to improve the therapeutic efficacy of stem cell transplants, as evidenced by recent prior arts. ( See abstract and conclusions).
Furthermore, LV et al demonstrate that HIF1α improves viability and suppresses apoptosis of bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs). Specifically, LV et al show that MSCs cultured under hypoxia in vitro exhibit higher HIF1α expression and superior growth and survival status. (See Fig.1). LV et al further demonstrate that HIF1α overexpression in MSCs under normoxia pro-moted viability and inhibited apoptosis, while knocking down HIF1α in MSCs cultured under hypoxia suppressed viability and ele-vated apoptosis. ( See Figs.2-3). According to LV et al, “HIF1α may improve viability and suppress apoptosis of MSCs, implying protective effect on MSC survival under hypoxia, and potentially facilitating the application of MSCs in cell therapy.” ( See abstract).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Cai et al, Lee et al, and LV, as there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Because Cai et al demonstrate how to utilize CRISPR/Cas systems to knock out the HIF1AN gene (referred to as fih ) in zebrafish to promote tolerance to hypoxia. Cai et al’s findings clearly demonstrate that HIF1AN gene is critical for cells adaptability to hypoxia conditions. Lee et al teach that HIF1-mediated adaptation to hypoxia is required to maintain the pluripotency and survival of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) under hypoxic conditions. LV et al demonstrate that HIF1α overexpression in MSCs improves survival during hypoxia. Hence, an ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adapt the CRISPR/Cas system disclosed in Cai et al to knock out the HIF1AN in mesenchymal stem cells in order to increase the level of HIF1α.There is a reasonable expectation of success because increasing the level of HIF1α promotes viability and suppresses apoptosis in MSCs.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, and 21-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, and 13,16-19, and 22-24, of copending Application No. 17/792771.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claims are directed to the use of manipulated cells for treating Alzheimer’s disease, wherein the manipulated cells comprising an engineered gene having an
indel in an HIF1AN gene, the indel is located in exon 1 of the HIF1AN gene. The copending claims further teach that the manipulated cells also exhibit a lower expression of FIH-1 and higher expression level of HIFα than in the WT cells.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/FATIMAH KHALAF MATALKAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638