DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims presented have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUNG et al. (US20190051797A1) in view of KIM et al. (US20170108173A1) and in further view of OH et al. (US20180069150A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig.12B of SUNG teaches an ultraviolet light-emitting device comprising:
a light-emitting structure 120 (para.0043) comprising a plurality of light-emitting portions M11 (Fig.5A, para.0077) disposed on a first conductive type semiconductor layer 121 (para.0028), the plurality of light-emitting portions M11 comprising an active layer 122 (para.0036) and a second conductive type semiconductor layer 123 (para.0036);
a first contact electrode 152 (para.0100) disposed on the first conductive type semiconductor layer 121;
a second contact electrode 162 (para.0028) disposed on the second conductive type semiconductor layer 123;
a first cover electrode 153 (0061) disposed on the first contact electrode 152; and
a second cover electrode 163 (0061) disposed on the second contact electrode 162,
wherein the light-emitting structure 120 comprises an intermediate layer 151 (para.0028) formed in an etched region through which the first conductive type semiconductor layer 121 is exposed,
wherein the intermediate layer 151 comprises a first intermediate region (see annotated Fig.7A) disposed between the plurality of light-emitting portions M11, and a second intermediate region surrounding edges of the first conductive type semiconductor layer 121 and connected to opposite ends of the plurality of first intermediate regions,
wherein the first contact electrode 152 comprises a first sub-electrode 152-1 (Fig.4, para.0082) disposed on the first intermediate region, and a second sub-electrode 152-2 (Fig.4, para.0082) disposed on the second intermediate region (see annotated Fig.7A).
Annotated Fig.7A
SUNG does not teach wherein the first contact electrode comprises a plurality of first splitting regions and the intermediate layer comprises a plurality of second splitting regions, and wherein a spacing distance of the second splitting region is larger than a spacing distance of the first splitting region.
KIM teaches, in Fig.3, wherein the first contact electrode 151,153 (para.0093) comprises a plurality of first splitting regions (see annotated Fig.3) and the intermediate layer 130 (para.0104) comprises a plurality of second splitting regions (see annotated Fig.3), and wherein a spacing distance of the second splitting region is larger than a spacing distance of the first splitting region (see annotated Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include contact electrode 130, with at least second opening 130b, of KIM in the teachings of SUNG because the second opening 130b will expose the second conductive type semiconductor layer 125. The second pad electrode 153 is disposed to fill at least part of the second opening 130b in order to increase a contact area of the second pad electrode 153 and with the shortest distance D1 between the first pad electrode 151 and the second pad electrode 153, the light emitting diode chip 50 can have improved heat dissipation efficiency. (KIM, [para.0116]).
Annotated Fig.3
However, SUNG, as modified by KIM, does not expressly disclose wherein the intermediate layer comprising a lower composition of aluminum than the first conductive type semiconductor layer.
OH teaches, in Fig.11, para.0151, wherein the intermediate layer 124b may have a smaller aluminum composition than the first conductive semiconductor layer 124.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include OH’s the intermediate layer, which has a lower aluminum composition than that of the first conductive semiconductor layer, in the teachings of SUNG, as modified by KIM in order to reduce absorbed light and enhance optical output power because the intermediate layer will serve to absorb light emitted to semiconductor structure (OH, [para.0079, 0151]).
Regarding claim 2, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the second contact electrode 162 (para.0058) comprises a material different from the material of the first contact electrode 152 (para.0058).
Regarding claim 3, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 2, wherein the second contact electrode 162 (para.0058) comprises gold (Au) or rhodium (Rh).
Regarding claim 4, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 1, further comprising a first insulating layer 171 (para.0043) that is formed on the etched region and comprises a first through-hole (see annotated Fig.12B) through which the intermediate layer 151 (para.0100) is exposed, wherein a first spacing region is formed between the intermediate layer 151 and the first through-hole.
Annotated Fig.12B
Regarding claim 5, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 4, wherein the first contact electrode 152 (para.0058) covers an upper portion of the first insulating layer 171 (para.0043), and the first contact electrode 152 is formed in the first spacing region (see annotated Fig.12B) and is in contact with the first conductive type semiconductor layer 121 (para.0028).
Regarding claim 6, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 4, wherein the first insulating layer 171 (para.0043) comprises a second through-hole (see annotated Fig.12B through which the second conductive type semiconductor layer 123 (para.0036) is partially exposed, the second contact electrode 162 (para.0058) is disposed on the second conductive type semiconductor layer 123 exposed through the second through-hole, and a second spacing region is formed being spaced apart from the second through-hole.
Regarding claim 7, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 6, wherein the second cover electrode 163 (para.0061) is extended to an upper portion of the first insulating layer 171 (para.0043), inserted in the second spacing region, and in contact with the second conductive type semiconductor layer 123 (para.0036).
Regarding claim 8, SUNG further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 7, wherein the second spacing region in the region where the second conductive type semiconductor layer 123 (para.0036) is exposed through the second through-hole has higher reflectivity than a region disposed in the first cover electrode 153 (para.0061). It is indicated in paragraph 0036 wherein the active layer 122 may transition to a low energy level as the electrons and holes are recombined, and may generate light having an ultraviolet wavelength and thus higher reflectivity through the second through-hole.
Regarding claim 9, Fig.12B of SUNG teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein a total area of the first contact electrode 152 (para.0058) is larger than that of the first cover electrode 153 (para.0061), and a total area of the second contact electrode 162 (para.0058) is smaller than that of the second cover electrode 163 (para.0061). (see annotated Fig.12B).
Regarding claim 10, Fig.12B of SUNG teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 9, wherein a total area of the intermediate layer 151 (para.0100) is larger than that of the first cover electrode 153 (para.0061).
Regarding claim 11, Annotated Fig.3 of KIM teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first contact electrode 151,153 (para.0093) comprises a plurality of split electrodes 151,153 spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SUNG, KIM and OH teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first cover electrode 153 (SUNG, para.0061) is disposed on the plurality of split electrodes 151,153 (KIM, para.0093).
Regarding claim 13, KIM further teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 12, wherein spaces between the plurality of split electrodes 151,153 (para.0093) are different.
Regarding claim 14 the combination of SUNG, KIM and OH teaches the ultraviolet light-emitting device of claim 11, further comprising an insulating pattern 171 (SUNG, para.0043) disposed in a region where the first contact electrodes 151,153 (KIM, para.0093) are spaced apart from each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT KIPKEMOI. RONO
Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/V.K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2891 /TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891