Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 05/21/2026, in response to claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 17 and 36-37 rejection from the non-final office action (02/25/2026), by amending claim 1 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The ”a substrate supporting unit” in claim 1, Applicants’ Fig. 1 shows the substrate supporting unit 600 is a stage or a substrate support.
The “a first gas injection unit”, “a second gas injection unit”, and “a third gas injection unit” of claim 1, Applicants’ Figs. 1-3 shows the minimum requirement for each is a gas injector.
The limitations “the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the source gas into the first region to adsorb the source gas onto the substrate, and then inject the first purge gas into the first region to purge the source gas,
the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the reactant gas into the second region to deposit a thin film onto the substrate, and then inject the second purge gas into the second region to purge the reactant gas“ and “the first purge gas purges the source gas remaining in the first region, the second purge gas purges the reactant gas remaining in the second region“ of claim 1,
The “the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the second purge gas, and then, inject a treatment gas as plasma” of claim 10,
“the first gas injection unit and the second gas injection unit are configured to inject the source gas, the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas in order” of claim 8,
“the first gas injection unit and the second gas injection unit are configured to inject the source gas, the first purge gas, the reactant gas, the second purge gas, and a treatment gas in order” of claim 11,
the timing of the injection is not part of the apparatus structure and is considered an intended use of the apparatus, and an apparatus that is capable of such timing of the injection is considered read into the claim. Note also being “configured to” is a design purpose, also not part of the apparatus.
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10, and 11 includes injecting various gases as plasma. An apparatus that is capable of injecting these gases as plasma is considered read into the claim. On the other hands, the other gases not cited in these claims that may or may not have the capability of injecting as plasma. The turning off plasma is also an intended use of the apparatus.
Furthermore, Applicants’ Fig. 2 shows the treatment gas 960 share the same line with the reactant gas 900 and the second purge gas 910, respectively. And Fig. 3 shows the plasma electrode within the chamber, therefore, there is no additional RF circuit for the treatment gas. When an apparatus that is capable of turning the reactant gas (or the second purge gas) and the treatment gas into plasma, it is considered reading into the claim.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Furthermore, the “wherein the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the second purge gas, and then, inject a treatment gas as plasma” of claim 10 (similarly of claim 11), as “a treatment gas supply source connected to one of the reactant gas injection holes and the second purge gas injection holes”, either one the plasma electrode of the reactant gas or the plasma electrode of the purge gas read into these two claims (does not require both).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20070215036, hereafter ‘036) in view of Park et al. (US 20110083735, hereafter ‘735), Subramani et al. (US 20170148626, previously cited, hereafter ‘626), and Yoon et al. (US 20080260940, hereafter ‘940). Note Lee et al. (US 6539891, hereafter ‘891), is an incorporated reference by ‘036.
‘036 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: Apparatus Of Time And Space Co-divided Atomic Layer Deposition (title, includes the claimed “An apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising”):
A multi-wafer ALD apparatus 100 according a preferred embodiment of the invention is shown in FIGS. 2 and 3 ([0041]), "Reaction space" is used to designate a reactor, a reaction chamber ("chamber") ([0034], includes the claimed “a chamber having a process space therein”);
With reference to FIG. 3, vapor is directed into reaction spaces 170, 180, 190, and 200 using gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201, respectively ([0048]), the reaction spaces 170, 180, 190, and 200 are separated by a purged wall defined by vertical risers 163, the purged wall having internal spaces or channels 161 configured to accept purge gas from opening 160 in the cover 130 and direct purge gas to an area (or space) 125 below the reaction spaces through openings 162 (Fig. 2, [0042], 5th sentence, includes the claimed “the process space comprising a first region, a second region spatially apart from the first region, and a third region between the first and second region“),
A substrate support platform 110 is configured to transfer substrates or wafers W1-W4 among the reaction spaces ([0042], 4th sentence), the substrate support platform 110 comprises a rotatable shaft configured to rotate in the direction of the arrow ([0046], includes the claimed “a substrate supporting unit rotatably installed in the chamber, the substrate supporting unit configured to support first and second wafers in the first region and third and fourth wafers in the second region”);
With reference to FIG. 3, vapor is directed into reaction spaces 170, 180, 190, and 200 using gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201, respectively. Each of the gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 may be a cylindrical tube or, generally, any structure configured to convey gas. As an example, the gas line may be stainless steel gas tubes. Gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 are configured to accept gas (or vapor) from reactant lines 176, 186, 196, and 206 and purge gas lines 177, 187, 197, and 207. Thus, each reaction space communicates with a purge gas source and only one reactant source. Some reaction spaces may be used only for purging. Such reaction spaces may be configured with purge gas lines only, omitting reactant lines. In the illustrated embodiment, reactant lines 176, 186, 196 and 206 meet purge gas lines 177, 187, 197 and 207 at intersection points. In some embodiments, the intersection points are switches 178, 188, 198, and 208 that dictate which of the reactant or purge gas lines is permitted to communicate with the gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 ([0048], includes the claimed “a first gas injection unit for injecting a source gas and a first purge gas, to the first wafer in the first region; a source gas supply source for supplying the source gas to the first gas injection unit; a first purge gas supply source for supplying the first purge gas to the first gas injection unit; a second gas injection unit for injecting a reactant gas and a second purge gas, to the third wafer in the second region; a reactant gas supply source for supplying the reactant gas to the second gas injection unit; a second purge gas supply source for supplying the second purge gas to the second gas injection unit”, and “wherein the source gas and the first purge gas are injectable into the first region by the first gas injection unit, and the reactant gas and the second purge gas are injectable into the second region by the second gas injection unit”);
the reaction spaces 170, 180, 190, and 200 are separated by a purged wall defined by vertical risers 163, the purged wall having internal spaces or channels 161 configured to accept purge gas from opening 160 in the cover 130 and direct purge gas to an area (or space) 125 below the reaction spaces through openings 162 (Fig. 2, [0042], 5th sentence, includes the claimed “a third gas injection unit for injecting a third purge gas into the third region; and a third purge gas supply source for supplying the third purge gas into the third gas injection unit“ and “the third gas injection unit injects the third purge gas into the third region separate the first and second regions“),
the intersection points 368 and 378 are gas switches configured to permit pulsing of the reactant gas from gas inlet passages 366 and 376 while permitting continuous flow from the purge gas inlet passages 367 and 377 ([0051], 4th last sentence), After the first period of time, the pulse of the first reactant gas is terminated. The first reactant gas is then removed from the reaction space 360 with, e.g., the aid of a purge gas. Initiation of purge gas flow may be simultaneous with termination of the flow of the first reactant gas. Purge gas is directed through gas inlet 367, and excess first reactant, reaction by-products and purge gas are permitted to exit the reaction space 360 through the outlet passage 363 (Fig. 4A, [0066], includes the claimed “the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the source gas into the first region to adsorb the source gas onto the substrate, and then inject the first purge gas into the first region to purge the source gas“ and “the first purge gas purges the source gas remaining in the first region“),
Similarly, the pulse of the second reactant gas is terminated after the second period of time. The second reactant gas is then removed from the reaction space 370 with, e.g., the aid of a purge gas. Purge gas is directed through gas inlet 377 and permitted to exit the reaction space 370 through the outlet passage 373. Purging of the reaction spaces 360 and 370 after pulsing with the first and second reactant gases reduces (even eliminates) adsorption of the first and second reaction gases on parts of the substrate support platform 310 (2nd half of [0066], includes the claimed “the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the reactant gas into the second region to deposit a thin film onto the substrate, and then inject the second purge gas into the second region to purge the reactant gas“ and “the second purge gas purges the reactant gas remaining in the second region”).
‘036 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (a first gas injection unit for injecting a source gas and a first purge gas, to the first) and second wafers (in the first region);
(a second gas injection unit for injecting a reactant gas and a second purge gas, to the third) and fourth wafers (in the second region);
(1B) wherein each of the first and second gas injection units comprises first and second electrodes of different electric potentials such that gas passing between the first and second electrodes turns into plasma,
(1C) wherein the third purge gas is injectable in a plasma state,
wherein the third gas injection unit comprises a third electrode unit for converting the third purge gas into plasma,
wherein the third electrode unit is configured with a first electrode and a second electrode having an electric potential difference therebetween, and
wherein plasma is generated by injecting the third purge gas into a region between the first electrode and the second electrode, and the third purge gas in the plasma state forms a curtain purge that divides the first region and the second region.
In regarding to the limitation of 1A:
‘036 has one to one correspondence between gas lines and the wafer in each reaction space.
‘735 is an analogous art in the field of ALD … in the multiple substrate processing apparatus of processing a plurality of substrates simultaneously … at least one of a substrate support and a shower head is relatively rotated with respect to the other one during the process ([0051]). ‘735 teaches that FIG. 10B is a cross-sectional view of a shower head assembly 430 of the apparatus 400. Referring to FIGS. 10A and 10B, the multiple substrate processing apparatus 400 includes a processing chamber 410 having a deposition space, into which a plurality of substrates S are loaded, a substrate support 420 which supports the substrates S, a shower head assembly 430 and a separating and venting device (not shown). The separating and venting device may be disposed in or below the shower head assembly 430 ([0078]), The first and second source gas injection holes 431a and 431b are formed in first and second source gas regions SA1 and SA2 and the first and second purge gas injection holes 431c and 431d are formed in first and second purge gas regions PA1 and PA2 ([0079], 3rd sentence), The susceptors 232 mounted on the susceptor support 230 may be four and a semiconductor substrate S may be placed on each susceptor 232 ([0073], 2nd sentence, see Figs. 8 and 9, therefore, each gas regions SA1 and SA2 corresponds to two substrates).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the four gas lines of ‘036 into two gas regions (with two purge regions also) (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘735, for its suitability for ALD process with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
In regarding to the limitation of 1B:
‘036 further teaches that one or more of the reaction spaces may be configured to receive excited species (e.g., ions and radicals) from a remote plasma (or radical) generator ([0056], 2nd last sentence). ‘036 is silent on the details of plasma generator.
‘626 is an analogous art in the field of spatial ALD systems with rotating substrate platens, benefit from a modular plasma source ([0004]). ‘626 teaches that FIG. 6 shows a cross-section of a plasma source assembly 300 in accordance with one or more embodiment of the disclosure. The plasma source assembly 300 shown in FIG. 6 includes a housing 310 with a gas inlet 315 and a front face 312 ([0060]), The plasma source assembly 300 includes an RF hot electrode 320 and at least one return electrode 330 ([0061]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the plasma source assembly 300 of ‘626, as the plasma generator for each reaction space of ‘036 (the limitation of 1B), for its suitability for ALD process with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Applicants previously argue ‘036 use vertical risers 163 to divide the reaction spaces 170-200 and that the amended claim 1 requires division into process regions using only the third purge gas. The examiner disagrees that claim 1 require “only” (or exclusively) the third purge gas as divider, as claim 1 never recites exclusion of additional component such as dividing wall. Furthermore, the purge gas from opening 160 through openings 162 read into the “the third gas injection unit injects the third purge gas into the third region to divide the process space into the first region and the second region“.
Omitting dividing wall is merely an omission of parts.
It has been held that omission of an element with a corresponding omission of function is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Wilson 153 USPQ 740 (CCPA 1967); In re Portz 145 USPQ 397 (CCPA 1965); In re Larson 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); In re Karlson 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963); In re Listen 58 USPQ 481 (CCPA 1943); In re Porter 20 USPQ 298 (CCPA 1934).
Fig. 5 or Fig. 8 of ‘735 shows purge gas does not include a dividing wall. ‘735 also teaches that a purge gas is also supplied to the shower head assembly 320 through gas supply pipes 360c ([0075], Fig. 9A also no dividing wall between reaction gas and purge gas, note 342/324 is vent, not purge. One of the 324 or 342 is a typo).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted purge gas port of ‘735 without a dividing wall, as the purge gas between reaction spaces of ‘036, for its suitability for dividing reaction spaces that preventing mixing of the precursors with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
In regarding to the limitation of 1C:
‘940 is an analogous art in the field of atomic layer depositions (abstract), Rotating the proximity head from side to side allows the ALD cycle to be completed and a thin film being deposited ([0046], similar to rotating the substrate stage). ‘940 teaches that A gas inlet 440 and a vacuum line 465 are coupled to the proximity head 430. The gas inlet 440 supplies reactants and purging gas to process chamber 400. The gas inlet 440 can be coupled to a plurality of containers that store reactants and purging gas. The gas inlet 440 can be coupled to a container 441 that stores a first reactant, such as reactant M described in FIG. 2. The gas inlet 440 can also be coupled to a container 443 that supplies a second reactant, such as reactant B described in FIG. 2. As described above, reactant B can be plasma assisted. Reactant B can be supplied by a reactor 443' that generate plasmarized reactant B … Another alternative is to couple an RF generator 473 to the proximity head 430 to generate plasma. In one embodiment, one electrode is coupled to the RF generator and the other electrode is grounded, during plasma generation (Fig. 4A, [0042]). Reactants M, B, and purge gas P can be plasma enhanced or thermally excited ([0038], 2nd last sentence). In short, there are multiple different second reactant, one corresponds to the treatment gas, all the second reactants and purge gas can form plasma gas.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a second reactant B from 443’ with plasma capability between two electrodes of the proximity head of ‘940 and with purged gas be plasma enhanced, to one of the source gas regions SA1 SA2 of ‘735, and the purge gas of ‘153, and then combined with ‘036, for a common knowledge that plasma reaction is stronger and/or for its suitability for ALD process with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. As ‘036 teaches Time And Space Co-divided Atomic Layer Deposition (title), it would have been obvious to apply the plasma enhanced purge gas to the purge gas from purge gas opening 160 in Fig. 2 of ‘036 for space divided ALD (therefore, curtain purge gas is a plasma gas).
Alternatively, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘036, in view of ‘735, ‘626, ‘940, Liu et al. (US 20050016956, hereafter ‘956).
In case Applicants argue that ‘940 purge gas P is for the purging between two reactants in timewise mode, not the third purge gas in between two reactants in spatial separation, as the purge gas from opening 160 of ‘036.
‘940 is an analogous art as discussed above.
‘956 is an analogous art in the field of Apparatus For Cycle Time Improvements For Atomic Layer Deposition (title). ‘956 teaches that one may choose to operate the purge in a neutral plasma mode, if the plasma purging has no deleterious effect of the deposited film on the substrate/wafer ([0090], 7th sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted plasma purge to the purge gas to the opening 160 of ‘036 if the plasma purging has no deleterious effect of the deposited film on the substrate/wafer, as taught by ‘956 ([0090], 7th sentence) and then using the two electrode as taught by ‘940 for plasma generation.
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, 17, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘036, ‘735, ‘626, and ‘940 (optionally with ‘956), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Amikura et al. (US 20070272154, hereafter ‘154). Note Lee et al. (US 6539891, hereafter ‘891), is an incorporated reference by ‘036.
‘036 teaches that Each of the gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 may be a cylindrical tube or, generally, any structure configured to convey gas ([0048]) but is silent regarding how the reactant gas and purge gas are supplied and injected into various reaction spaces. ‘735’s purge gas regions PA1 and PA2 are separated from the source gas regions SA1 and SA2. The combination of ‘036, ‘735, ‘626, and ‘940 (optionally with ‘956) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 2: wherein the first gas injection unit comprises:
a plurality of source gas injection holes for injecting the source gas; and
a plurality of first purge gas injection holes for injecting the first purge gas.
Claim 3: wherein the second gas injection unit comprises:
a plurality of reactant gas injection holes for injecting the reactant gas; and
a plurality of second purge gas injection holes for injecting the second purge gas.
‘154 is an analogous art in the field of Shower Head And Film-Forming Device Using The Same (title), for manufacturing a semiconductor integrated circuit ([0002]). ‘154 teaches that The first diffusion chamber 60 is communicated with a source-gas inlet port 66A which is formed in the top plate 54 to supply a source gas into the first diffusion chamber 60. The second diffusion chamber 62 is communicated with a supporting-gas inlet port 66B which is formed in the top plate 54 to supply a supporting gas into the second diffusion chamber 62 (Fig. 1, [0041], last two sentences), As shown in FIG. 2, a plurality of gas jetting orifices 10 are arranged in the form of a lattice in a gas jetting surface 8 which is a lower surface of the showerhead body 56. To be specific, the gas jetting orifices 10 include source-gas jetting orifices 10A for jetting a source gas, first supporting-gas jetting orifices 10B for jetting a supporting gas, and second supporting-gas jetting orifices 10C for jetting a supporting gas ([0042]), O2 gas is used as a supporting gas. However, not limited thereto, an inert gas such as N2 gas, He gas, and Ar gas can be used ([0063], therefore, orifices 10B and 10C are purge gas holes), for the purpose of preventing deposition of an unwanted film around source-gas jetting orifices in a gas jetting surface ([0005]). Note ‘154 purge gas orifices interleaving the source gases, same as Applicants’ Fig. 3.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the showerhead with interleaving processing/reactive gas and purge gas holes of ‘154 as the source gas regions SA1 and SA2 of ‘735 and then combined with ‘036, for the purpose of preventing deposition of an unwanted film around source-gas jetting orifices in a gas jetting surface, as taught by ‘154 ([0005]).
‘891 is one of the incorporated reference of ‘036 (col. 7, lines 2-3).
The combination of ‘036/’891, ‘735, ‘626, ‘940 and ‘154 (optionally with ‘956) further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 6: when a purge gas contains constituent elements of a film material and a reactant gas contains the other constituent elements of the film material and the purge gas does not substantially react with the reactant gas, plasma may be preferably generated synchronously during the supply cycle of the purge gas (‘891, col. 5, lines 14-19), during purge gas supply in the gas supply cycle, the plasma power supply is switched in the order of off, on, and off, thereby is equivalent of supplying a purge gas, a reactant gas and a purge gas, respectively (col. 7, lines 63-66, includes the claimed “ wherein the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the first purge gas as plasma”).
Claim 8: by adopting the interleaving processing gas and purge gas holes of ‘154 to each of the source gas regions SA1, SA2 of ‘735, the combined apparatus includes the claimed “wherein the second gas injection unit comprises a plurality of reactant gas injection holes for injecting the reactant gas and a plurality of second purge gas injection holes for injecting the second purge gas” (similar to claim 3),
By operation the valves (‘891), the combined apparatus is capable of the claimed “the first gas injection unit and the second gas injection unit are configured to inject the source gas, the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas in order”,
‘891 teaches applying plasma to the purge gas as discussed in claims 6-7 rejection above, therefore, includes the claimed “the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the first purge gas as plasma, and the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”,
Furthermore, ‘036 teaches that one or more of the reaction spaces may be configured to receive excited species (e.g., ions and radicals) from a remote plasma (or radical) generator ([0056], 2nd last sentence, also reads into “the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”).
Claims 36-37: one or more of the reaction spaces may be configured to receive excited species (e.g., ions and radicals) from a remote plasma (or radical) generator (‘036, [0056], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein one of the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas is connected to a remote plasma generating device”).
Claim 4: when a purge gas contains constituent elements of a film material and a reactant gas contains the other constituent elements of the film material and the purge gas does not substantially react with the reactant gas, plasma may be preferably generated synchronously during the supply cycle of the purge gas (‘891, col. 5, lines 14-19), during purge gas supply in the gas supply cycle, the plasma power supply is switched in the order of off, on, and off, thereby is equivalent of supplying a purge gas, a reactant gas and a purge gas, respectively (col. 7, lines 63-66, includes the claimed “wherein the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”).
Claim 17: one or more of the reaction spaces may be configured to receive excited species (e.g., ions and radicals) from a remote plasma (or radical) generator ([0056], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein one of the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas is connected to a remote plasma generating device”).
Claims 9-10: Reactants M, B, and purge gas P can be plasma enhanced or thermally excited (‘940, [0038], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the second gas injection unit further comprises a treatment gas supply source connected to one of the reactant gas injection holes and the second purge gas injection holes” of claim 9 and “wherein the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the second purge gas, and then, inject a treatment gas as plasma” of claim 10, note the timing of operation is an intended use of the apparatus).
Claim 11: by adopting the interleaving processing gas and purge gas holes of ‘154 to each of the sources gas regions SA1 SA2 of ‘735, the combined apparatus includes the claimed “the second gas injection unit comprises a plurality of reactant gas injection holes for injecting the reactant gas, a plurality of second purge gas injection holes for injecting the second purge gas” (similar to claim 3),
By adding a second reactant B from 443’ to the proximity head of ‘940, it would have the claimed “and a treatment gas supply source connected to one of the reactant gas injection holes and the second purge gas injection holes”,
The combined apparatus is capable of “the first gas injection unit and the second gas injection unit are configured to inject the source gas, the first purge gas, the reactant gas, the second purge gas, and a treatment gas in order”,
when a purge gas contains constituent elements of a film material and a reactant gas contains the other constituent elements of the film material and the purge gas does not substantially react with the reactant gas, plasma may be preferably generated synchronously during the supply cycle of the purge gas (‘891, col. 5, lines 14-19), during purge gas supply in the gas supply cycle, the plasma power supply is switched in the order of off, on, and off, thereby is equivalent of supplying a purge gas, a reactant gas and a purge gas, respectively (col. 7, lines 63-66, includes the claimed “the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”).
Alternatively, Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘036, in view of Cheon et al. (US 20180269078, hereafter ‘078). Or Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘078, in view of ‘036.
First, rejection based on ‘036 in view of ‘078.
‘036 teaches some limitations of claim 1 and does not teach the other limitations of claim 1 as discussed in item 1 above.
‘078 is an analogous art in the field of SUBSTRATE TREATMENT DEVICE AND SUBSTRATE TREATMENT METHOD (title). ‘078 teaches that Referring to FIGS. 2A and 3, a substrate treatment device 100 according to the first embodiment of the present invention includes a process chamber 110, a chamber lid 115, a substrate supporting part 120, and a gas distribution unit 130 ([0061]), The chamber lid 115 supports the gas distribution unit 130 and includes a plurality of module installation part 115a to 115d which the gas distribution unit 130 is inserted into and is installed in. In this case, the plurality of module installation part 115a to 115d may be provided in the chamber lid 115 and may be spaced apart from each other in units of 90 degrees to be symmetric about a center point of the chamber lid 115 in a diagonal direction ([0063], Fig. 2A shows six substrates W, therefore, two of the gas distribution units corresponds to two substrates), The chamber lid 115 may include 2N (where N is a natural number) number of module installation parts which are symmetric about the center point ([0064], therefore, two distribution units and six substrates, each distribution unit corresponds to three substrates W), The gas distribution unit 130 includes first to fourth gas distribution modules 130a to 130d that are respectively inserted into and installed in the first to fourth module installation parts 115a to 115d provided in the chamber lid 115 and spatially separate and distribute the first and second gases to first to fourth gas distribution areas which are spatially separated from each other and are defined on the substrate supporting part 120 ([0083]), he first gas distribution module 130a is inserted into and installed in the first module installation part 115a overlapping the first gas distribution area defined on the substrate supporting part 120 and downward distributes the first gas, which has become plasmatic, to the first gas distribution area. To this end, the first gas distribution module 130a includes a ground frame 210, a ground partition wall member 220, a plurality of insulation members 230, and a plurality of plasma electrode members 240 ([0085], note the “230” T-shape electrode connected to the power supply 140 should be labeled as “240”), The plurality of gas supply holes 216 pass through the top plate 210a and respectively communicate with the plurality of gas distribution spaces 212. Each of the plurality of gas supply holes 216 is coupled to an external gas supply means (not shown) through the gas supply pipe and is supplied with the first gas through the gas supply pipe from the gas supply means (not shown) ([0089]), The second gas distribution module 130b is inserted into and installed in the second module installation part 115b overlapping the second gas distribution area which is defined on the substrate supporting part 120 to be spatially separated from the above-described first gas distribution area, and downward distributes the second gas, which has become plasmatic, to the second gas distribution area. To this end, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the second gas distribution module 130b includes a ground frame 210, a ground partition wall member 220, a plurality of insulation members 230, and a plurality of plasma electrode members 240, and the above-described descriptions are applied to the elements. By using such elements, the second gas distribution module 130b is electrically connected to the plasma power supply unit 140 through a feeder cable to generate plasma in the gas distribution space 212 according to the plasma power supplied from the plasma power supply unit 140, makes the second gas supplied to the gas distribution space 212 plasmatic, and downward distributes the plasmatic second gas to the second gas distribution area ([0100]), The third gas distribution module 130c is inserted into and installed in the third module installation part 115c overlapping the third gas distribution area which is defined on the substrate supporting part 120 to be spatially separated from the above-described second gas distribution area, and downward distributes the first gas, which has become plasmatic, to the third gas distribution area. To this end, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the third gas distribution module 130c includes a ground frame 210, a ground partition wall member 220, a plurality of insulation members 230, and a plurality of plasma electrode members 240, and the above-described descriptions are applied to the elements. By using such elements, the third gas distribution module 130c is electrically connected to the plasma power supply unit 140 through a feeder cable to generate plasma in the gas distribution space 212 according to the plasma power supplied from the plasma power supply unit 140, makes the first gas supplied to the gas distribution space 212 plasmatic, and downward distributes the plasmatic first gas to the third gas distribution area ([0101]), Referring to FIG. 6, except for the kind of a gas distributed from each of the first to fourth gas distribution modules 130a to 130d, a substrate treatment device according to a modification embodiment of the first embodiment of the present invention is the same as the substrate treatment device illustrated in FIG. 2A. Hereinafter, therefore, only the kind of a gas distributed from each of the first to fourth gas distribution modules 130a to 130d will be described ([0125]), The first gas distribution module 130a is supplied with the above-described first gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic first gas to the first gas distribution area ([0126]), The second gas distribution module 130b is supplied with a third gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes a plasmatic third gas PG3 to the second gas distribution area. In this case, the third gas may be a purge gas for purging the above-described first and second gases. The third gas is for purging a first gas, which remains without being deposited on the substrate W, and/or a second gas which remains without reacting with the first gas, and may consist of at least one kind of gas of nitrogen (N.sub.2), argon (Ar), xenon (Ze), and helium (He). ([0127]), The third gas distribution module 130c is supplied with the above-described second gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic second gas to the third gas distribution area ([0128]), The fourth gas distribution module 130d is supplied with the third gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic third gas PG3 to the fourth gas distribution area ([0129]), for the purpose of controlling quality of the thin film ([0016]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have r e-arranged the four gas lines of ‘036 into two gas regions (with two separation gas regions also) (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘078, for its suitability for process with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, to have added the plasma electrodes of Fig. 3 of ‘078, to each of the gas lines 177, 187, 197, and 207 (the limitations of 1B and 1C), as taught by ‘078, for the purpose of controlling quality of the thin film ([0016]).
Secondly, rejection based on ‘078 in view of ‘036.
‘078 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: Referring to FIG. 6, except for the kind of a gas distributed from each of the first to fourth gas distribution modules 130a to 130d, a substrate treatment device according to a modification embodiment of the first embodiment of the present invention is the same as the substrate treatment device illustrated in FIG. 2A. ([0125], includes the claimed “An apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising”):
Referring to FIGS. 2A and 3, a substrate treatment device 100 according to the first embodiment of the present invention includes a process chamber 110, a chamber lid 115, a substrate supporting part 120, and a gas distribution unit 130 ([0061], includes the claimed “a chamber having a process space therein”),
The first gas distribution module 130a is supplied with the above-described first gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic first gas to the first gas distribution area (Fig. 6, [0126], includes the claimed “the process space comprising a first region”), The third gas distribution module 130c is supplied with the above-described second gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic second gas to the third gas distribution area ([0128], includes the claimed “a second region spatially apart from the first region”), The second gas distribution module 130b is supplied with a third gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes a plasmatic third gas PG3 to the second gas distribution area. In this case, the third gas may be a purge gas for purging the above-described first and second gases. The third gas is for purging a first gas, which remains without being deposited on the substrate W, and/or a second gas which remains without reacting with the first gas, and may consist of at least one kind of gas of nitrogen (N2), argon (Ar), xenon (Ze), and helium (He). ([0127]), The fourth gas distribution module 130d is supplied with the third gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic third gas PG3 to the fourth gas distribution area ([0129], 130b and 130d, together, is the claimed “and a third region between the first and second region”);
a substrate supporting part 120 ([0061], Fig. 6 shows six substrates W, includes the claimed “a substrate supporting unit rotatably installed in the chamber, the substrate supporting unit configured to support first and second wafers in the first region and third and fourth wafers in the second region”);
The first gas may be a source gas including a thin film material which is to be deposited on the substrate W. The source gas may contain silicon (Si), titan group element (Ti, Zr, Hf, etc.), aluminum (Al), etc. ([0081], the gas distribution module of Fig. 3 for the first gas reads into the claimed “a first gas injection unit for injecting a source gas and a first purge gas to the first and second wafers in the first region; a source gas supply source for supplying the source gas to the first gas injection unit”);
the second gas may consist of a reactant gas that reacts with the source gas to allow a thin film material contained in the source gas to be deposited on the substrate W. For example, the reactant gas may consist of at least one kind of gas among nitrogen (N2), oxygen (O), nitrogen dioxide (N2O), and ozone (O3) ([0082], the gas distribution module of Fig. 3 for the second gas reads into the clamed “a second gas injection unit for injecting a reactant gas to the third and fourth wafers in the second region; a reactant gas supply source for supplying the reactant gas to the second gas injection unit”);
The third gas is for purging a first gas, which remains without being deposited on the substrate W, and/or a second gas which remains without reacting with the first gas, and may consist of at least one kind of gas of nitrogen (N2), argon (Ar), xenon (Ze), and helium (He) ([0127]), a thin film material is deposited on each of the plurality of substrates W, disposed on the substrate supporting part 120 which is rotating, by reaction between the plasmatic first and second gases PG1 and PG2 which are spatially separated from each other and are distributed from each of the first to fourth gas distribution modules 130a to 130d. At this time, the plasmatic third gas PG3 prevents the plasmatic first and second gases PG1 and PG2 from being mixed and reacting with each other in the middle of being distributed to the substrate W ([0135], therefore, the gas distribution module of Fig. 3 for the third inert gas is capable function as curtain/purge gas, reads into the claimed “a third gas injection unit for injecting a third purge gas into the third region; and a third purge gas supply source for supplying the third purge gas into the third gas injection unit”, the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed “wherein, the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the source gas into the first region to adsorb the source gas onto the substrate, and then inject the first purge gas into the first region to purge the source gas, the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the reactant gas into the second region to deposit a thin film onto the substrate, and then inject the second purge gas into the second region to purge the reactant gas, the third gas injection unit injects the third purge gas into the third region to separate the first and second regions” and “wherein the source gas is injectable into the first region by the first gas injection unit, and the reactant gas is injectable into the second region by the second gas injection unit”),
As plasma electrode of Fig. 3 is associated with each of the gas distribution module 130a-130d, it includes the claimed “wherein each of the first and second gas injection units comprises first and second electrodes of different electric potentials such that gas passing between the first and second electrodes turns into plasma, wherein the third purge gas is injectable in a plasma state, wherein the third gas injection unit comprises a third electrode unit for converting the third purge gas into plasma, wherein the third electrode unit is configured with a first electrode and a second electrode having an electric potential difference therebetween, and wherein plasma is generated by injecting the third purge gas into a region between the first electrode and the second electrode, and the third purge gas in the plasma state forms a curtain purge that divides the first region and the second region“.
‘078 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (a first gas injection unit for injecting a source gas) and a first purge gas (to the first and second wafers in the first region);
a first purge gas supply source for supplying the first purge gas to the first gas injection unit;
(a second gas injection unit for injecting a reactant gas) and a second purge gas (to the third and fourth wafers in the second region);
a second purge gas supply source for supplying the second purge gas to the second gas injection unit;
wherein,
the first purge gas purges the source gas remaining in the first region,
the second purge gas purges the reactant gas remaining in the second region,
(wherein the source gas) and the first purge gas (are injectable into the first region by the first gas injection unit, and the reactant gas and) the second purge gas (are injectable into the second region by the second gas injection unit);
‘036 is an analogous art in the field of Apparatus Of Time And Space Co-divided Atomic Layer Deposition (title), Space and time co-divided atomic layer deposition (ALD) apparatuses and methods are provided. Substrates are moved (e.g., rotated) among multiple reaction zones, each of which is exposed to only one ALD reactant. At the same time, reactants are pulsed in each reaction zone, with purging or other gas removal methods between pulses … thus permitting flexibility in pulsing (abstract). ‘036 teaches that With reference to FIG. 3, vapor is directed into reaction spaces 170, 180, 190, and 200 using gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201, respectively. Each of the gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 may be a cylindrical tube or, generally, any structure configured to convey gas. As an example, the gas line may be stainless steel gas tubes. Gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 are configured to accept gas (or vapor) from reactant lines 176, 186, 196, and 206 and purge gas lines 177, 187, 197, and 207. Thus, each reaction space communicates with a purge gas source and only one reactant source. Some reaction spaces may be used only for purging. Such reaction spaces may be configured with purge gas lines only, omitting reactant lines. In the illustrated embodiment, reactant lines 176, 186, 196 and 206 meet purge gas lines 177, 187, 197 and 207 at intersection points. In some embodiments, the intersection points are switches 178, 188, 198, and 208 that dictate which of the reactant or purge gas lines is permitted to communicate with the gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 ([0048]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added purge gas line of ‘036 to teach of the first gas distribution module 130a and the second gas distribution module 130c in Fig. 6 of ‘078, for the purpose of flexibility in pulsing, as taught by ‘036 (abstract).
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, 17, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘036 and ‘078, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘154.
‘078 further teaches some limitations of:
Claims 2-3: Fig. 3 shows the claimed “wherein the first gas injection unit comprises: a plurality of source gas injection holes for injecting the source gas” of claim 2 and “wherein the second gas injection unit comprises: a plurality of reactant gas injection holes for injecting the reactant gas”).
‘036 teaches that Each of the gas lines 171, 181, 191, and 201 may be a cylindrical tube or, generally, any structure configured to convey gas ([0048]) but is silent regarding how the reactant gas and purge gas are supplied and injected into various reaction spaces. The combination of ’036 and ‘078 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 2: and a plurality of first purge gas injection holes for injecting the first purge gas.
Claim 3: and a plurality of second purge gas injection holes for injecting the second purge gas.
‘154 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the showerhead with interleaving processing/reactive gas and purge gas holes of ‘154 as the gas distribution modules 130a and 130b in Fig. 6 of ‘078 in combination with ‘036, for the purpose of preventing deposition of an unwanted film around source-gas jetting orifices in a gas jetting surface, as taught by ‘154 ([0005]).
‘891 is one of the incorporated reference of ‘036 (col. 7, lines 2-3).
The combination of ‘036/’891, ‘078 and ‘154 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 6: when a purge gas contains constituent elements of a film material and a reactant gas contains the other constituent elements of the film material and the purge gas does not substantially react with the reactant gas, plasma may be preferably generated synchronously during the supply cycle of the purge gas (‘891, col. 5, lines 14-19), during purge gas supply in the gas supply cycle, the plasma power supply is switched in the order of off, on, and off, thereby is equivalent of supplying a purge gas, a reactant gas and a purge gas, respectively (col. 7, lines 63-66, includes the claimed “ wherein the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the first purge gas as plasma”).
Claim 8: by adopting the interleaving processing gas and purge gas holes of ‘154 to each of the gas distribution module 130a and 130c of ‘078 while keeping the plasma electrode of Fig. 3, the combined apparatus includes the claimed “wherein the second gas injection unit comprises a plurality of reactant gas injection holes for injecting the reactant gas and a plurality of second purge gas injection holes for injecting the second purge gas, the first gas injection unit and the second gas injection unit are configured to inject the source gas, the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas in order, the first gas injection unit is configured to inject the first purge gas as plasma, and the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma, the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”).
Claims 36-37: one or more of the reaction spaces may be configured to receive excited species (e.g., ions and radicals) from a remote plasma (or radical) generator (‘036, [0056], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein one of the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas is connected to a remote plasma generating device”).
Claim 4: when a purge gas contains constituent elements of a film material and a reactant gas contains the other constituent elements of the film material and the purge gas does not substantially react with the reactant gas, plasma may be preferably generated synchronously during the supply cycle of the purge gas (‘891, col. 5, lines 14-19), during purge gas supply in the gas supply cycle, the plasma power supply is switched in the order of off, on, and off, thereby is equivalent of supplying a purge gas, a reactant gas and a purge gas, respectively (col. 7, lines 63-66, includes the claimed “wherein the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”).
Claim 17: one or more of the reaction spaces may be configured to receive excited species (e.g., ions and radicals) from a remote plasma (or radical) generator (‘036, [0056], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein one of the first purge gas, the reactant gas, and the second purge gas is connected to a remote plasma generating device”).
Claim 9: The third gas distribution module 130c is supplied with the above-described second gas from the gas supply means and downward distributes the plasmatic second gas to the third gas distribution area (‘078, Fig. 6, [0128]), the second gas may consist of a reactant gas that reacts with the source gas to allow a thin film material contained in the source gas to be deposited on the substrate W. For example, the reactant gas may consist of at least one kind of gas among nitrogen (N2), oxygen (O), nitrogen dioxide (N2O), and ozone (O3) ([0082], the gas distribution module of Fig. 3 for the second gas reads into the clamed “wherein the second gas injection unit further comprises a treatment gas supply source connected to one of the reactant gas injection holes and the second purge gas injection holes”),
Claim 10: alternating reactant and purge gases in each chamber enable narrowing the pulse duration relative to wafer residence time for greater ALD recipe flexibility. (‘036, [0058], 5th sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the second purge gas, and then, inject a treatment gas as plasma”).
Claim 11: by adopting the interleaving processing gas and purge gas holes of ‘154 to each of the gas distribution module 130a and 130c of ‘078 while keeping the plasma electrode of Fig. 3, the combined apparatus includes the claimed “wherein
the second gas injection unit comprises a plurality of reactant gas injection holes for injecting the reactant gas, a plurality of second purge gas injection holes for injecting the second purge gas, and a treatment gas supply source connected to one of the reactant gas injection holes and the second purge gas injection holes, the first gas injection unit and the second gas injection unit are configured to inject the source gas, the first purge gas, the reactant gas, the second purge gas, and a treatment gas in order, the second gas injection unit is configured to inject the treatment gas as plasma, and the second gas injection unit is configured to inject one or more of the reactant gas and the second purge gas as plasma”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 over Park ‘036, Park ‘735, Subramani ‘626, and Yoon ‘940, Applicants argue that ‘940 is for post treating the already deposited film, while claim 1 indicates that plasma is generated by injecting the third purge gas into a region forming a curtain purge, dividing the first and second regions, see the 1st complete paragraph of page 2.
This argument is found not persuasive.
‘940 clearly teaches that Reactants M, B, and purge gas P can be plasma enhanced or thermally excited ([0038], 2nd last sentence).
‘940’s teaching of plasma enhanced purge gas is a time division of ALD. It would have been obvious to apply the plasma enhanced purge gas from the purge gas hole 160 of ‘036 as it is spatially division of ALD, which is alternatively further in view of ‘956.
The examiner further provides a new reference ‘078 that specifically teaches plasma enhanced purge gas distribution module 130b, 130d from Fig. 6 as curtain gas.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20090165715 cited in conclusion that ALD in time-wise (Fig. 1) or spatial separated apparatus (Fig. 5).
US 20100227059 is cited for multiple wafers for each reactive gas nozzle (BTBAS and O3 gas) (Fig. 2) and “with the gas curtains (or the partition walls) intervening between the first and the second reaction gases” ([0009]).
US 20140272185 is cited for post remote plasma treatment (Fig. 7).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716