DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a non-final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 3, and 5-26 are pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 4 are cancelled. Claims 8-26 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 5 Mar. 2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 3-7 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chaumeil et al. (Nature Com.; published 2013), in view of McInnes et al. (Accounts Chem. Res.; published 1975) and Springsteen et al. (US 2020/0231527 A1; published 23 Jul. 2020), in further view of Cabella et al. (US 2015/0273086 A1; published 1 Oct. 2015) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaumeil et al. (Nature Com.; published 2013), in view of McInnes et al. (Accounts Chem. Res.; published 1975) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 9 Oct. 2025.
Claim(s) 3, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaumeil et al. (Nature Com.; published 2013), in view of McInnes et al. (Accounts Chem. Res.; published 1975), in further view of Cabella et al. (US 2015/0273086 A1; published 1 Oct. 2015) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 9 Oct. 2025.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that Chaumeil does not teach an enriched composition of 1-13C-5-12C-alpha ketoglutarate such that the 12C at instant Ca and Cd is of about 99.9% isotope abundance and 13C is about 99% to about 99.9% abundance. Chaumeil does not disclose or suggest incorporating into the same molecule a 13C atom to amplify MRI signal and a 12C atom to decrease MRI signal much less realize that such a combination could be used to improve imaging results. Nowhere does McInnes disclose or suggest incorporating into the same molecule a 13C atom to amplify MRI signal and a 12C atom to decrease MRI signal much less realize that such a combination could be used to improve imaging results.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 Feb. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Chaumeil teaches [1-13C]α-KG as a promising agent for the in vivo interrogation of IDH1 mutational status and activity and Chaumeil shows that [1-13C]α-KG can detect the production of hyperpolarized [1-13C]2-HG in lysates and orthotopic tumors of cells engineered to express mutant IDH1 but not in lysates or tumors of their isogenic counterparts engineered to express wild-type IDH1. Chaumeil teaches that the [1-13C]α-KG composition therein is contaminated with a [5-13C]α-KG originating from the 1.1% natural abundance of 13C at the 5 position. At pg. 3, Chaumeil teaches that given the ~1 ppm linewidth of the 184 ppm resonance in vivo and in light of our findings in cell extracts showing that [5-13C]α-KG and [1-13C]2-HG are only 0.1 ppm apart these two resonances could not be spectrally resolved. Chaumeil recognizes [5-13C]α-KG as a contaminant and Chaumeil provides reason and motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art to remove the [5-13C]α-KG contaminant from the [1-13C]α-KG composition to better detect the [1-13C]2-HG the indicative of mutant IDH1 tumors. McInnes teaches 12C enrichment as a means to eliminate 13C signals originating from the natural abundance. According to McInnes, metabolites obtained by this 13C-depletion method should in principle give 13C spectra containing resonances for only the 13C-labeled positions.
See Ex parte Stern, 13 USPQ2d 1379 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) where it was held that claims to interleukin-2 purified to homogeneity were held unpatentable over references which recognized the desirability of purifying interleukin-2 to homogeneity in view of a method which taught a method of purifying proteins to homogeneity wherein the prior art method was similar to the method disclosed by the applicants.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the composition of Chaumeil so that the [1-13C]α-KG composition is essentially pure 1-13C-5-12C-alpha ketoglutarate as taught by Chaumeil and McInnes because that essentially pure composition would have been expected to advantageously enable a more sensitive method of detecting mutant IDH tumors free of the [5-13C]α-KG that confounds [1-13C]2-HG detection.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618