Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 02/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-9 & 11-12 remain pending in the application and claims 2 & 10 remain cancelled by applicant wherein claims 1 & 9 are the only sole pending claims in independent form. Claims 1 & 9 were amended.
Claim Objections
4. As regards to claim 1, claim 1 (09/10/2025), lines 10-11 recited “at a measurement position apart from the diameter direction” which has been completely deleted, but should have been strike-through; lines 12-14 recited “wherein the measurement unit is disposed in parallel with the diameter direction or disposed to be inclined in a direction having a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction” which is still recited in the currently amended claims and underlined, but is not new; lines 15-16 recites “wherein the gas injecting unit comprises a purge gas injecting module which injects a purge gas” which is still recited in the currently amended claims and underlined, but is not new.
Applicant is reminded of proper amendment procedures. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. See MPEP 714.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozgun (US 20120227665, already of record).
The limitation "diameter direction" has been interpreted in light of the specification as follows: "The diameter direction may denote a direction which passes through the rotation shaft 2a. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 8, each of diameter lines RL passing through the rotation shaft 2a may be disposed in the diameter direction. In FIGS. 5 to 8, only four diameter lines RL extending in a radial direction with respect to the rotation shaft 2a is illustrated, but are not limited thereto and all diameter lines RL extending in the radial direction with respect to the rotation shaft 2a may be disposed in the diameter direction" (Spec., (Pg. 10, lines 4-11).
The term "inclined" has been interpreted in light of the specification and according to the generally accepted meaning of the term to mean "arranged in a particular position". Thus, the limitation "inclined in a direction" is interpreted to refer to the orientation of the measurement unit.
The limitation "the measurement unit is disposed in a measurement line which is spaced apart from the diameter direction and is disposed in parallel with the diameter direction or disposed to be inclined in a direction having a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction" in claim 1 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation and thus interpreted as either:
(1) "the measurement unit is disposed in a measurement line which is spaced apart from the diameter direction and is disposed in parallel with the diameter direction";
Or, alternatively,
(2) "the measurement unit is disposed to be inclined in a direction having a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction".
Regarding claim 1, Ozgun teaches a processing apparatus comprising:
a processing chamber 100 (chamber) providing a volume 108 (processing space) (para 0020; see for example Fig. 1);
a lid assembly 123 (lid) covering an upper portion of the processing chamber 100 (chamber) (para 0020; see for example Fig. 1);
a substrate carrier 112 (substrate supporting unit) supporting at least one substrate 140 and rotating about a support 150 (rotation shaft) (para 0020, 0028); and
a showerhead assembly 104 (gas injecting unit) disposed over a diameter direction with respect to the support 150 (rotation shaft) of the substrate carrier 112
(substrate supporting unit) to inject a processing gas (para 0022; see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun below).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun showing rotation shaft (150), diameter direction (DD) passing through shaft (150), and measurement position (X) seprated apart from the diameter direction (DD).
Ozgun further teaches a probe 193 (measurement unit) measuring a temperature of a substrate 140 supported by the substrate carrier 112 (substrate supporting unit) at
a measurement position separated apart from the diameter direction (para 0039, 0042), wherein
the probe 193 (measurement unit) is disposed in a measurement line (see fig 1, vertical line from top to bottom of 123 along 193) which is spaced apart from the diameter direction (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) and is disposed to be inclined in a vertical direction having an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction (see for example Fig. 1).
Ozgun further teaches that the showerhead assembly 104 (gas injecting unit) comprises a first gas injecting module which injects a first gas, a second gas injecting module which injects a second gas, and a purge gas injecting module (i.e. 104A, 104B, 104D & para 0024- "A purge gas (e.g., a nitrogen containing gas) may be delivered into the processing chamber 100 from the showerhead assembly 104") for injecting a purge gas, and
the probe 193 (measurement unit) comprises a measurement mechanism (para 0039, 0042) disposed over the showerhead assembly 104 (i.e., purge gas injecting module; see para 0024) and a measurement hole (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) formed in the showerhead assembly 104 (purge gas injecting module) and the measurement line (see fig 1, vertical line from top to bottom of 123 along 193) does not pass through the rotation shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above).
As mentioned above, the term "inclined" has been interpreted in light of the specification and according to the generally accepted meaning of the term to mean "arranged in a particular position".
Thus, the limitation "inclined in a direction" is interpreted to refer to the orientation of the measurement hole.
The limitation "purge injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction" in claim 3 is interpreted to refer to a subset of the purge injecting holes
previously recited in the claim; since the limitation "purge injecting holes" is not preceded by "said" or "the".
Regarding claim 3, Ozgun further teaches the showerhead assembly 104 (purge gas injecting module) comprises conduits 145 (purge injecting holes) injecting the purge gas (para 0022, 0024),
wherein the measurement hole (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) is disposed to be separated apart from (a subset of) purge injecting holes arranged (disposed) in parallel along the diameter direction, (the subset of purge injecting holes) among the conduits 145 (purge injecting holes) (see for example Fig. 1),
wherein the measurement hole (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) is disposed to be oriented (inclined) in a direction having an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction (see for example Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ozgun further teaches probe 193 (detector) detects a temperature distribution of substrate 140 by using temperature data obtained by the measurement mechanism (para 0039, 0042).
Ozgun further teaches system controller 101 comprising computer programming for controlling temperature based on position (para 0028-0029, 0031-0032, 0041-0043; see for example Fig. 1). Thus, the system controller 101 is capable of generating a noncircular detection image representing a temperature distribution of a substrate by using the temperature data and converting the noncircular detection image into a circular detection image corresponding to the substrate, since system controller 101
receives temperature measurement values and can be programmed to carry out the claimed operations (see MPEP 2114(IV)).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above, Ozgun does not explicitly teach generating and conversion modules.
Ozgun further teaches system controller 101 comprising computer programming for controlling temperature based on position (para 0028-0029, 0031-0032, 0041-0043; see for example Fig. 1). Thus, the system controller 101 is capable of calculating point- based coordinates of a substrate, converting the noncircular detection image into the circular detection image on the basis of the calculated coordinates, and calculating the point-based coordinates of a substrate by using at least one of a rotation speed of the substrate supporting unit, a shortest separation distance by which the measurement hole is apart from the diameter direction, an inner included angle between an inner connection line and a diameter line, an outer included angle between an outer connection line and the diameter line, and a middle included angle between a middle connection line and the diameter line, since system controller 101 receives temperature measurement values and can be programmed to carry out the claimed operations (see MPEP 2114(IV)).
The limitation "the measurement hole is disposed to be apart from injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction and to be inclined in a direction which is parallel to the diameter direction or has a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction" in claim 9 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation and thus
interpreted as either:
(1) "the measurement hole is disposed to be apart from injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction and formed along a measurement line which is disposed to be inclined in a direction which is parallel to the diameter direction";
Or, alternatively,
(2) "the measurement hole has a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction".
The limitation "some purge gas injecting holes among the plurality of purge gas injecting holes are disposed in a diameter direction with respect to a rotation shaft of a substrate supporting unit" in claim 9 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation to refer to the orientation of the arrangement of the purge gas injecting holes along the diameter direction.
(This interpretation is consistent with "purge injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction" in claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Ozgun teaches a purge gas injecting module (para 0024- "A purge gas (e.g., a nitrogen containing gas) may be delivered into the processing chamber 100 from the showerhead assembly 104"), comprising:
a showerhead assembly 104 (purge gas injecting body) comprising a plurality of conduits 145 (purge gas injecting holes) for injecting a purge gas into a chamber 100 where a processing process is performed on a substrate 140 (para 0020, 0022, 0024; see e.g., Fig. 1) and
a measurement hole (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) formed to pass through the showerhead assembly 104 (purge gas injecting body) at a position separated apart from the conduits 145 (purge gas injecting holes) (para 0039, 0042; see e.g., Fig. 1).
Ozgun further shows that among the plurality of conduits 145 (purge gas injecting holes), some purge gas injecting holes are arranged along (disposed) a diameter direction with respect to a support 150 (rotation shaft) of a substrate carrier 112 (substrate supporting unit) (see Fig. 1 of Ozgun- in other words, some purge gas injecting holes (145) are arranged along the diameter direction).
Ozgun further teaches the support 150 (rotation shaft) of substrate carrier 112 (substrate supporting unit) rotates in a state where the substrate carrier 112 (substrate supporting unit) supports a substrate 140 in the chamber 100 (chamber) (para 0020, 0028; see e.g., Fig. 1).
Ozgun further shows that the measurement hole has an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) and the measurement line (see fig 1, vertical line from top to bottom of 123 along 193) does not pass through the rotation shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Ozgun (US 20120227665, already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Mullins (US 20060272578, already of record).
As mentioned above, the term "inclined" has been interpreted in light of the specification and according to the generally accepted meaning of the term to mean "arranged in a particular position".
Thus, the limitation "inclined in a direction" is interpreted to refer to the orientation of the measurement hole.
Regarding claim 4, Ozgun further shows a measurement hole at the measurement position apart from the diameter direction (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above), wherein one or more probes 193 (measurement mechanism) measures
temperature of substrate 140 passing through a region under the measurement hole (para 0039, 0042; Fig. 1).
Ozgun does not disclose a "plan view" showing the measurement hole is disposed parallel with the diameter direction or inclined in a direction at an angle with respect to the diameter direction.
However, Mullins teaches openings 5 (measurement holes), each opening 5 (measurement hole) disposed at a measurement position apart from a diameter direction with respect to a rotation shaft (implicit of "rotationally driven about the axis 12"; corresponding to central axis CA in Ozgun), the opening 5 (measurement hole) formed in a member 3 (gas injecting unit), the opening 5 (measurement hole) being disposed inclined in a (vertical) direction having an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction, for the benefit of flowing gas into the process chamber in a substantially uniformly distributed manner (para 0017-0019; Fig. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ozgun to include measurement holes, each measurement hole being disposed inclined in a vertical direction having an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction, as taught by Mullins, for the benefit of flowing gas into the process chamber in a substantially uniformly distributed manner.
Regarding claim 8, Ozgun further shows that the measurement hole is formed in lid assembly 123 (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above).
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozgun (US 20120227665, already of record) in view of Mullins (US 20060272578, already of
record) as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Hey (USP 4987856, already of record).
Regarding claim 7, the previous art combination above does not explicitly teach a plurality of injecting modules injecting the processing gas.
However, Hey teaches a plurality of gas dispensers 32 (injecting modules) injecting processing gas, for the benefit of optimizing uniform radial flow with the susceptor below (col. 3, lines 31-50; col. 4, lines 61-68 through col. 5, lines 1-7; see for example Fig. 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a plurality of injecting modules with the apparatus of the previous art combination above, as taught by Hey, for the benefit of optimizing uniform radial flow with the susceptor below.
8. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozgun (US 20120227665, already of record) and Mullins (US 20060272578, already of record) as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Obara (US 20160379897, already of record).
Regarding claim 11, the previous art combination above does not explicitly teach generating and conversion modules.
However, Obara further teaches a detector and control part 5 comprising a microcomputer for controlling temperature based on position (para 0031, 0069-0073; see for example Figs. 10A,B). Thus, the control part 5 is capable of generating a noncircular detection image representing a temperature distribution of a substrate by using the temperature data and converting the noncircular detection image into a circular detection image corresponding to the substrate, since control part 5 receives temperature measurement values and can be programmed to carry out the claimed operations (see MPEP 2114(IV)). In general, the transposition of process steps where the processes are equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin 128 USPQ 440 (PTO BdPatApp 1959).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microcomputer in the
apparatus of the previous art combination to carry out the claimed operations, for controlling temperature based on position.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above, the previous art combination above does not explicitly teach generating and conversion modules.
However, Obara further teaches a detector and control part 5 comprising a microcomputer for controlling temperature based on position (para 0031, 0069-0073; see for example Figs. 10A,B). Thus, the control part 5 is capable of calculating point- based coordinates of a substrate, converting the noncircular detection image into the circular detection image on the basis of the calculated coordinates, and calculating the point-based coordinates of a substrate by using at least one of a rotation speed of the substrate supporting unit, a shortest separation distance by which the measurement hole is apart from the diameter direction, an inner included angle between an inner connection line and a diameter line, an outer included angle between an outer connection line and the diameter line, and a middle included angle between a middle connection line and the diameter line, since control part 5 receives temperature measurement values and can be programmed to carry out the claimed operations (see MPEP 2114(IV)). In general, the transposition of process steps where the processes are equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin 128 USPQ 440 (PTO BdPatApp 1959).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microcomputer in the apparatus of the previous art combination to carry out the claimed operations, for controlling temperature based on position.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) Ozgun does not teach or suggest at least the above-emphasized features as now recited in amended claims 1 and 9. In the amended claims 1 and 9, the concept of a “measurement line” (see, e.g., measurement line AL in FIGS. 5-8) has been introduced, wherein the measurement unit (see, e.g., 5 in FIGS. 5-8) is disposed on said measurement line AL. See also paragraphs [0034] and [0039]. The measurement line AL is disposed in parallel with the diameter direction or disposed to be inclined in a direction having a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction, and further configured so that it does not pass through the rotation shaft 2a.
Rejecting claims 1 and 9, the Final Office Action asserts that Ozgun shows that the diameter direction DD can be formed variously around the rotation shaft 150, and that the probe 193 is spaced apart from at least one of these various diameter directions. However, amended claim 1 strictly limits the measurement line AL to a geometric arrangement where it is disposed in parallel with (or inclined relative to, as in amended claim 9) the diameter direction while simultaneously not passing through the rotation shaft 2a. Such a specific geometric configuration cannot be inferred from the drawings of Ozgun, which merely illustrate a vertical cross-section.
Moreover, while the gas injecting unit includes a first gas injecting module, a second gas injecting module, and a purge gas injecting module, the measurement unit is located specifically in the purge gas injecting module, rather than in the first or second gas injecting modules.
(b) Claims 3-8 & 11-12 depend from claim 1 & 9 and therefore, include all of the features recited in claims 1 or 9. As mentioned above, amended claims 1 & 9 are not rendered obvious based on the combination of Ozgun in view of Mullins, Hey or Obara.
10. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 1:
The limitation "diameter direction" has been interpreted in light of the specification as follows: "The diameter direction may denote a direction which passes through the rotation shaft 2a. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 5 to 8, each of diameter lines RL passing through the rotation shaft 2a may be disposed in the diameter direction. In FIGS. 5 to 8, only four diameter lines RL extending in a radial direction with respect to the rotation shaft 2a is illustrated, but are not limited thereto and all diameter lines RL extending in the radial direction with respect to the rotation shaft 2a may be disposed in the diameter direction" (Spec., (Pg. 10, lines 4-11).
The term "inclined" has been interpreted in light of the specification and according to the generally accepted meaning of the term to mean "arranged in a particular position". Thus, the limitation "inclined in a direction" is interpreted to refer to the orientation of the measurement unit.
The limitation "the measurement unit is disposed in a measurement line which is spaced apart from the diameter direction and is disposed in parallel with the diameter direction or disposed to be inclined in a direction having a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction" in claim 1 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation and thus interpreted as either:
(1) "the measurement unit is disposed in a measurement line which is spaced apart from the diameter direction and is disposed in parallel with the diameter direction";
Or, alternatively,
(2) "the measurement unit is disposed to be inclined in a direction having a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction".
Regarding claim 1, Ozgun teaches wherein the probe 193 (measurement unit) is disposed in a measurement line (see fig 1, vertical line from top to bottom of 123 along 193) which is spaced apart from the diameter direction (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) and is disposed to be inclined in a vertical direction having an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction (see for example Fig. 1).
Ozgun further teaches that the showerhead assembly 104 (gas injecting unit) comprises a first gas injecting module which injects a first gas, a second gas injecting module which injects a second gas, and a purge gas injecting module (i.e. 104A, 104B, 104D & para 0024- "A purge gas (e.g., a nitrogen containing gas) may be delivered into the processing chamber 100 from the showerhead assembly 104") for injecting a purge gas, and
the probe 193 (measurement unit) comprises a measurement mechanism (para 0039, 0042) disposed over the showerhead assembly 104 (i.e., purge gas injecting module; see para 0024) and a measurement hole (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) formed in the showerhead assembly 104 (purge gas injecting module) and the measurement line (see fig 1, vertical line from top to bottom of 123 along 193) does not pass through the rotation shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above).
As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 9:
The limitation "the measurement hole is disposed to be apart from injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction and to be inclined in a direction which is parallel to the diameter direction or has a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction" in claim 9 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation and thus
interpreted as either:
(1) "the measurement hole is disposed to be apart from injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction and formed along a measurement line which is disposed to be inclined in a direction which is parallel to the diameter direction";
Or, alternatively,
(2) "the measurement hole has a certain angle with respect to the diameter direction".
The limitation "some purge gas injecting holes among the plurality of purge gas injecting holes are disposed in a diameter direction with respect to a rotation shaft of a substrate supporting unit" in claim 9 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation to refer to the orientation of the arrangement of the purge gas injecting holes along the diameter direction.
(This interpretation is consistent with "purge injecting holes disposed in parallel along the diameter direction" in claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Ozgun shows that the measurement hole has an angle of 90° with respect to the diameter direction (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above) and the measurement line (see fig 1, vertical line from top to bottom of 123 along 193) does not pass through the rotation shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 of Ozgun above).
(b) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 1 are indeed satisfied. Claims 2, 4-6, 8, 10-14, 16-17 & 19-20 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717