DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected election, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/8/2025.
Species (i), (iii) to (vii) in claim 3 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 9/5/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 7 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-14 is/are pending with claim(s) 8-14 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 9/5/2025, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the prior art does not teach the claimed structure X wherein 'a' is an integer of 0 or 1,'b' is an integer of 2 or 3 and 'c' is an integer of 0 such that a+b+c = 3, 'd' is an integer from 0 to 2, as shown in Yamane’s Example 6.
In response, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments; and patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain; nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123). In this case, Yamane teaches a fluorine-containing organopolysiloxane represented by formula (A), which can be
as stated in the 103 rejection. This structure meets the claimed formula (1) containing the claimed X wherein a=0, c=0, d=0, and b=3.
Applicant argued that Yamane does not disclose that the inventive perfluoropolyether compound has solubility in saturated hydrocarbon solvents and provides a coating film with excellent water and oil repellency.
In response, the recited solubility and water and oil repellency of a coating film are not part of the claim. Even if they are incorporated as claim limitations, they are properties of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane et al (US 20070149746 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, Yamane teaches a fluorine-containing organopolysiloxane represented by formula (A)
SinR12n+2On-1
with examples of
wherein R1 may be the same with or different from each other and is a hydrogen atom or a monovalent organic group, n is an integer of from 2 to 40 [0046-0050].
One of the SiOSi bond is replaced with a bond represented by the following formula (iii):
Si-Q-Rf2-Q-Si (iii) [0054].
Therefore, the fluorine-containing organopolysiloxane (A) can have a structure of
At least two of the end-group R1 can be replaced with the following structure:
wherein R3 is an alkyl group (e.g., Me), y is an integer of from 1 to 5 and a is 2 or 3, X is a hydrolyzable group (e.g., OMe), a is 2 or 3 [0029-0030, 0052]. When y=2, R3 is Me, a=3, X=OMe, the above structure is C2H4-Si-(OMe)3 (the C2H4- reads on the claimed Q1 as specified in claim 4), and the fluorine-containing organopolysiloxane (A) can have a structure of
In the above structure, Rf2 is a divalent group containing a perfluoroether residue including formula (5)
wherein Y can be F, which may be different with each other, and r is an integer of from 2 to 6, d is an integer of from 1 to 3, each m and n is an integer of from 0 to 200 with m+n ranging from 2 to 200, s is an integer of from 0 to 6 [0069-0070]. When d=2, m=0, r=1, Rf2 of formula (5) becomes
-CF2O(CF2O)s(CF2CF2O)nCF2-
which is equivalent to the claimed PFPE of formula (3) specified in claim 2, with s corresponding to the claimed a1, n corresponding to the claimed b1.
Q is a divalent organic group including
-C(=O)NH-CH2CH2CH2- [0073],
which is equivalent to the claimed Z specified in claim 3.
When R1=Me, the fluorine-containing organopolysiloxane (A) becomes the claimed formula (1) containing the recited X of formula (2):
wherein the recited a=0, c=0, d=0, and b=3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the above structure as Yamane’s fluorine-containing organopolysiloxane (A), as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claims 5-6, since c=0, the claimed Q2 is not present. Since d=0, the claimed G is not present.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762