DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
08/06/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed 11/19/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 11 were amended and Claims 2, 4-5, 8, 10, 12, 14-15, 18 and 20 are cancelled. No new claims were added.
Priority
4. The instant application claims priority to the Provisional Application filed on 02/04/2020. And, PCT application filed on 371 of PCT/SG2021/050057 02/03/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 07/22/2022, IDS – 03/22/2024 and IDS- 05/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been
obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was
commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
9. Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11, 13, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (US Patent No: US-12022485-B2) hereinafter “Lee” and in view of Xu et. al. (US Pub No. US-11290226-B2) hereinafter “Xu”.
Regarding Claim 1,
First claim element,
Lee discloses, ‘A communications method for determining a transmission scheme according to at least one temporal parameter comprising: providing a communication device, a first transceiver, and a second transceiver;’ (Communication system and a method operating a terminal and a base station plurality of TRPs, Col 1. [0019]-[0025], Fig 13 and 14 illustrates communication with two transceiver TRP1 and TRP2; transmission scheme of one temporal parameter that can be interpreted as most significant for multi-TRP schemes that can include modulation schemes, uses FDM and TDM, Col 3. [0004], Col 18. [0029], [0045]; Determine by a combination of a modulation scheme (MCS) and a Redundancy version (RVs) scheduled by DCI Col. 19 [0017-0018]; A method of operating a terminal: perform procedure to access to a BS receive DCI including transmission configuration indicator (TCI) that is scheduled from a plurality of TRPs (i.e. first and second TRP/transceiver), Col. 2 [0010, 0014, 0025] );
Lee further discloses, ‘dynamically generating parameter based on at least channel conditions measured by the communication device,
wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises a pre-determined link sequence stored in the communication device, the pre-determined sequence with respect to measured channel conditions defining which of a first link or a second link is to be established over a series of time slots’;
When the PDSCH scheduled by DCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] TCI-PresentinDCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] enabled and activated TCI states in the scheduled CC or a DL BW, the UE uses a TCI-state according to the TCI field in the DCI in a detected PDCCH to determine PDSCH. Time offset between the reception measured/compared with threshold Col. 21 [0044-0047].
The temporal parameter time slot comprises switching sequence based on the measured channel conditions. Disclosure provide adequate details that how this was measured. The UE-BS CQI as illustrated in Fig. 6. And, CSI-RS resource in an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured for the UE-TCI, Col. 21 [0031], Table-5 and 6. The CSI-RS[Wingdings font/0xE0] slot [Wingdings font/0xE0] dynamically determined to the number of CSI-RS-ports/density. And, CDM-Type, and higher layer parameters (e.g., firstOFDMSymbolInTimeDomain, firstOFDMSymbolInTimeDomain2, etc.) Col. 26 [0012-0017].
Disclosure, to generate the temporal parameter, the TCI and establish connection/link are illustrated in Fig. 17 to Fig. 19; And, sequences:
The BS configures a TCI-state includes RS sets to the UE, the UE expect that PDSCHs are transmitted by different TRPs. And, dynamically activate/de-activate PDSCH Col. 46 [0006-0008]. Adapt transmission rate by switch between modulation schemes. Modify the transmission characteristics based on link quality and adapt channel-coding. Uses look-up tables 6 to 11 and the CSI-RS section 4.6.
Transmission scheme includes parameters, two TDM schemes variants are disclosed;
Scheme 3 TDM: TCI states within the single slot can be configured with non-overlapped time-resource allocations; each transmission occasion of TB: one TCI and one RV; in the single DCI-based multiple TRP applied to multiple occasion sequentially related to two TCIs Col. 53 [0041-0042, 0050];
Scheme 4 TDM: TCI states can be configured with different slots; RV/TCI can be the same or different Col. 53 [0063];
In the present disclosure, Multi-TRP based URLLC scheme compared with improved reliability, efficiency and specification impact Col. 54 [0005, 0008];
Above disclosure distinctly summarized:
Multi-TRP transmission scheme includes temporal: TDM in time domain uses the MCS sequence; predetermined sequence by DCI scheduling procedure and TCI to establish the connection between the UE and the TRP as shown in Fig. 17, step 1750 includes: at least one of plurality of TRPs by DCI in time domain. Can occur for one TRP as an example time slot t1 and to another TRP at t2 sequentially. As described: TCI states configured with K different slots.
Resource allocation: A method of receiving DCI by a UE for scheduling a PDSCH includes: a first and a second codeword (CW) through a plurality of TRPs. And, predefined or pre-determined sequence schedule.
And, didn’t disclose, pre-determined ‘switching sequence’ and ‘consecutive’ time slots establishing the first or the second link;
Xu in the relevant discloses, a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising at least one configuration parameter indicating a time interval for switching between a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP over physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission occasions, wherein the time interval is selected from a plurality of time intervals (disclosure claim 1); The switching time intervals for TRPs is selected from a plurality of time intervals are predefined or predetermined.
And, receiving a downlink control information indicating a number of the PDSCH transmission occasions for transmission repetitions of a transport block (TB) (disclosure Claim 1);
A PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is transmitted from multiple TRPs with transmission switching in time domain. In an example, a TRP performs transmission switching for PDSCH during the K repetition transmissions across the K consecutive slots or mini-slots. The base station transmits a switching interval indication to the wireless device, Col. 55 [0061-0067].
FIG. 34 shows an example embodiment of switching interval indication for multiple TRP transmission. In an example, a switching interval may indicate an time interval, in the time domain, for switching PDSCH transmission among multiple TRPs Col. 56 [0001-0005].
Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of art before
the effective filing date of the claim invention steps of this claim element to modify the disclosure of Lee and with that of Xu and to come up of the claim invention;
Someone would be motivated to make an effort to include pre-determined switching sequence as part of transmission scheme for multiple TRP to the disclosure of Lee; This would reduce latency and increase throughput while connecting between the terminal and the TRPs. Motive not only to include transmission of multiple TRPs rather as part of connection establishment/re-establishment or handover or cell selection/re-selection transition between cells take reliable transmission of TRPs.
Lee provide strong motivation regarding the temporal parameter, TCI configured different slots. PDSCH scheduled by DCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] TCI-PresentinDCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] enabled and activated TCI-states. PDSCHs for different TRPs. Dynamically activate/de-activate PDSCH Col. 46 [0006-0008]. Adapt transmission rate by switch between modulation schemes. Modify the transmission characteristics based on link quality and adapt channel-coding as prior art claims. Uses look-up tables 6 to 11 and the CSI-RS section 4.6.
Would be obvious to take this effort either in a form of endeavor or even venture, as Xu distinctly discloses, the BS transmit multiple PDSCHs via multiple TRPs, as by a DCI comprising a switching interval indicator that is the time interval when PDSCH transmission for a transmission-block switches among the multiple TRPs. The embodiments may improve throughput and/or reliability of transmission from a base station to a wireless device.
Second claim element,
As disclosed above and further ‘establishing a first link between the communication device and the first transceiver during a first time slot based on the pre-determined link sequence;’ (Fig. 13, 14, 15 and 17 illustrates, establish connection/link, UE to TRP1 in a time slot shows in Fig. 8 i.e. one slot in a time domain and Fig. 9 shows a BS and a UE sequentially performs transmission in a slot in TTI; disclosure provide definition of time slot, duration in a time resource (e.g., an SF, slot, or TTI), Col 15. [0051]);
And didn’t disclose, predetermined ‘switching’ between the TRPs (disclosed above in first claim element); Motive to include would identical as disclosed above in first claim element.
Third claim element,
Lee discloses, ‘transmitting data from the communication device to the first transceiver under a first coding rate through the first link during the first time slot’ (The UE perform procedure in Fig. 16, PDCCH/PDSCH and transmit a PUCCH/PUSCH uses UL/DL procedure, Col. 14[0054-0057]. The NR uses DCI_format for the PUSCH/PDSCH. And, schedule a TB PUSCH Col. 18 [0057-0058].
In Fig. 17, 18 and Fig. 19 transmission from UE to BS establish connection uses higher layer RRC signaling, Col. 3 [0015] and uses plurality of TRPs to transmit data in a specified slots in a TTI, a time domain sequentially by TRP1 as shown Fig. 8, Fig. 9, 13 and 14; plurality TRPs include transport block TBS, TB and codeword having redundancy version information Col 2. [0027], [0034]; for modulation scheme and code rate see table 19 to 21; And, disclosure claim 1: “receiving the DCI for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including a first code word (CW) and a second CW”; Fig. 17 step 1760 transmitting data at one of plurality TRPs; each TB field in the DCI transmitted by the BS for scheduling may provide TB information (e.g., MCS, code rate, RV, etc.) for a signal transmitted from each TRP Col. 52 [0031-0034]; The modulation order and code rate for PDSCHs configured as shown Table 20; Further, BS can configure DCI field includes CW to obtain code rate in Table 25 and 26; );
Fourth claim element,
Lee discloses, ‘establishing the [[a]] second link between the communication device and the second transceiver during a second time slot’;’ (Fig. 20 illustrates transmit/receive first CW#1 between UE and TRP1 based on TBS and modulation scheme. See section 4.8 and 4.13 for codeword, modulation and code rate and table 19 to 21; Fig. 20 shows ack to determine the completion of the transmission. Fig. 21 to 23 illustrates the transmission of data plurality of TRPs based on the size of TBS, Col. 64 [0009] and UE transmits additional ack to BS in response receive the data and completion of transmission Col. 64 [0019]; )
Fig. 20 illustrates establishing connection between UE and TRP2 based on TBS and further Fig. 7, 8 and 9 though illustrations transmission time slot and can be derived TRPs transmission allocation to specific time slot; DCI included in a PDCCH for scheduling PDSCH#1 and/or PDSCH#2 received TRP#1 and TRP#2 for the PDSCH-TCI; the UE receive PDSCH #1 (or CW #0 or TB #1) and/or PDSCH #2 (or CW #1 or TB #2) transmitted from TRP #1 and/or TRP #2 Col. 51[0061-0065]; And, TCI states can be configured with different slots; RV/TCI can be the same/different, Col. 53 [0063]),
And didn’t explicitly disclose, ‘blocking the first link between the communication device and the first transceiver’ and while establish communication to second TRP ‘during a second time slot’;
Xu in the relevant art discloses, configuration parameter indicating a time interval for switching between a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP over physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission occasions, wherein the time interval is selected from a plurality of time intervals; And, the time interval comprises slot level interval for switching and OFDM symbol level switching (disclosure Claim 1 and claim 2). And, these are scheduled request or scheduling grant by DCI as shown in Fig. 5; In Fig. 31 multiple PDCCH can be scheduled respective PDSCH transmitted by TRP1 and TRP2 uses TCI; And in Fig. 34. shows switching interval indicator when PDSCH transmission for a transmission block switches among multiple TRPs (TRP1 to TRP2), Col. 57 [0025-0026];
In an example, A BS activate/deactivate one or more process, start/stop one or more timers of the one or more process; deactivate one or more Scell. In Fig. 39B, a BS transmit a MAC CE to a terminal to activate/deactivate switch interval Col. 9 [0017-0018, 0037]. Fig. 41 illustrates multiple TRPs switching interval in time slots.
Further to include disclosed above, ‘based on the pre-determined link switching sequence after the first link is blocked;’ (Lee, in Fig. 20 shows ack send to determine the completion of the transmission for TRP1 or TRP2)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of art before
the effective filing date of the claim invention steps of this claim element to combine the disclosure of Lee and with that of Xu and to come up of the claim invention to specifically mentions the transmission slot in time domain for multi-TRP transmission scheme; Someone would be motivated to switching time interval while use time slot to establish transmission between TRPs i.e. from TRP1 to TRP2. Disclosure of Lee includes scheduled of reception from one at least plurality of TRPs. When the scheduled to one TRP or TRP1 occurs at time slot t1 as part of continuation of transmission time slots between multiple TRPs the next transmission slot is scheduled for TRP2 that require to specifically identify the switching time interval and indicator as disclosed by Xu. While switches between the TRPs to achieve throughput and coordinated multipoint transmission.
Fifth claim element,
Lee disclose, ‘ and transmitting the data from the communication device to the second transceiver under a second coding rate through the second link during the second time slot;’ (Fig. 20 identical disclosed above in fourth claim element, the first coding rate during first time slot).
Six claim element,
Lee discloses, ‘wherein the first time slot and the second time slot are non-overlapped, the first coding rate and the second coding rate are different, and the at least one temporal parameter is relevant to a mapping correlation defined by a table.’ (first and second time slot disclosed above and further Lee discloses Fig. 12 several scenario time and frequency resource allocation where scenario/case-4 illustrates PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1) transmitted from different TRPs (transmission and reception points) and don’t overlap each other; Table 25 illustrates mapping information RRC parameters to establish connection includes code rates using codewords (CW pairs associated RV) that is mapping correlation to be used for connection/link establishment as defined as temporal parameter; Xu discloses Fig. 41 transmission time slots;)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of art before
the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine the disclosure of Lee and with that of Xu to come up the claim invention mentioned above to more specifically show time slots for multi-TRP schemes having transmission as first and second code rates in a given size of TBS. Someone would show more specifically transmission of TRPs in a given time slot includes switching time interval at slots level between the TRPs; receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission includes: the first CW and the second CW through the plurality of TRPs, (disclosed by Lee claim 1); To further includes specific configuration switching time interval as part of determining transmission scheme for the TRPs.
Regarding Claim 3,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Lee discloses, ‘wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises transmission configuration indicator information (TCI) measured by the communication device.’ (The UE in the present disclosure perform an operation combining plurality of example of operation Col. 44 [0030-0032]. TCI-in-DCI activated/enabled measured to specific threshold determined based on the UE-capability,. The UE uses TCI in the DCI in a detected PDCCH and determine corresponding reception of the PDSCH based on threshold; determined based on the reported UE-capability Col. 20 [0029, 0037-0039]. And Fig. 17 and Fig. 18.).
Regarding Claim 6,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Lee discloses, ‘wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises downlink control information (DCI) from a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the communication device’ ( The communication device is configured with TCI and PDSCH to detect PDCCH with DCI for the communication device Col. 19 [0056-0058] and Fig. 13.)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Lee discloses, ‘wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises orders of redundant version (RV) sequence of downlink control information (DCI) from a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) if only one DCI is sent from the first transceiver and the second transceiver.’ (Disclosure include: TDM scheme 3, a single DCI based multiple TRPs (the first and the second TRP) for RV sequence applied to transmission occasion sequentially to two TCI states, RV indicated by DCI used to select one of RV sequency Col. 53 [0041, 0050-0054]; See section 5.1.4 method for configuring RV and Codeword; UE may be configured with a PDSCH and additionally receive PDCCH, Col. 51 [0041] Fig. 20 for TRP1 and TRP2, then receiving DCI, modulation and Codewords Fig. 21;)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘method of claim 7’ (disclosed above),
Lee discloses, ‘wherein an RV identity in the DCI represents two different or same RVs as one pair, a first element of the pair is applied for a first transmission configuration indicator information (TCI) state, and a second element of the pair is applied for a second TCI state.’ (Section 5.1.4. Method on Configuration between RV of CW #0 and RV of CW #1 and DCI configured in Table 24 where RV bits selected and table 25 and 26 showing RV pairs are different; in the configuration method of PDSCH repetition transmission mode in section 5.1.1, DCI transmitted/indicated by BS to UE configure two TCI states Col. 45 [0059] and BS implement TCI states #0 and #1 through the enable status of the CW for UE Col. 47 [0063]; that is shown in table 25 and 26 for RV pairs for two TCI states; TDM scheme 3: single DCI multiple TRPs sequentially for TCI, RVid by DCI to select one of RV sequences; TCI and RV can be same or different for transmission occasions Col. 53 [0054, 0058];)
Regarding Claim 11,
Lee discloses, ‘A communications system for determining a transmission scheme according to at least one temporal parameter comprising: a communication device;’ (communication system to establish connection between BS and UE as temporal parameter of transmission scheme of [Title] and [abstract]),
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘a first transceiver configured to communicate with the communication device; and a second transceiver configured to communicate with the communication device; wherein the at least one temporal parameter is dynamically generated based on at least channel conditions measured by the communication device, the at least one temporal parameter comprises a pre-determined link switching sequence with respect to measured channel condition stored in the communication device, the pre-determined link switching sequence defining which of a first link or a second link is to be established over a series of consecutive time slots, the first link between the communication device and the first transceiver is established during a first time slot based on the pre-determined link switching sequence, the communication device transmits data to the first transceiver under a first coding rate through the first link during the first time slot, the first link between the communication device and the first transceiver is blocked,’
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘the second link between the communication device and the second transceiver is established during a second time slot, based on the pre-determined link switching sequence after the first link is blocked, the communication device transmits data to the second transceiver under a second coding rate through the second link during the second time slot, and the first time slot and the second time slot are non-overlapped, the first coding rate and the second coding rate are different, and the at least one temporal parameter is relevant to a mapping correlation defined by a table.’
Regarding Claim 13,
‘system of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises transmission configuration indicator information (TCI) measured by the communication device.’
Regarding Claim 16,
‘system of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises downlink control information (DCI) from a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).’
Regarding Claim 17,
‘system of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises orders of redundant version (RV) sequence of downlink control information (DCI) from a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) if only one DCI is sent from the first transceiver and the second transceiver.’
Regarding Claim 19,
‘system of claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 9 disclosed above, ‘wherein an RV identity in the DCI represents two different or same RVs as one pair, a first element of the pair is applied for a first transmission configuration indicator information (TCI) state, and a second element of the pair is applied for a second TCI state.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. . Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Remarks/Arguments:
1. Amendments to claims:
To obviate the Examiner's rejections, independent claims 1 and 11 have been
amended to more clearly define the invention. Specifically, Claims 1 and 11 have been amended to recite that the "at least one temporal parameter" is "dynamically generated
based on at least channel conditions measured by the communication device", and that the "pre-determined link switching sequence" is "with respect to measured channel
conditions".
The amendments are fully supported by the original disclosure, for instance, by the descriptions of "The at least one temporal parameter can be dynamically changed by channel conditions...","...the at least one temporal parameter can include TCI measured by the communication device UE","...the at least one temporal parameter includes a pre-determined sequence", and "The pre-determined sequence can be regarded as a correlation mapping table saved in the communication device UE" in the specification. Claims 2, 4-5, 8, 10, 12, 14-15, 18, and 20 have been canceled. As all amendments draw support from the specification as originally filed, no new matter is introduced.
Allowance of the claim amendments is politely requested.
2. Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11, 13, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being
unpatentable over US 12,022,485 B2 (hereinafter, "Lee") and US 11,290,226 B2
(hereinafter, "Xu").
Response:
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The
Examiner's combination of the Lee reference and the Xu reference is respectfully submitted to be improper. The claims, as amended, now clearly recite a novel and
non-obvious method and system, as detailed below.
The Method and Advantages Recited in Amended Claim 1:
The communications method recited in amended claim 1 defines a process for enhancing reliability and resource efficiency in a multi-transceiver environment,
particularly one subject to blockage issues as described in the specification.
The method of the amended claim 1 comprises the novel feature of:
Dynamically generating the at least one temporal parameter based on at least channel
conditions measured by the communication device, wherein the at least one temporal
parameter comprises a pre-determined link switching sequence with respect to
measured channel conditions stored in the communication device, the pre-determined
link switching sequence defining which of a first link or a second link is to be established over a series of consecutive time slots;
Based on this dynamically generated sequence, the communication device establishes
the first link with the first transceiver during a first time slot and transmits data.
Subsequently, the method requires explicitly blocking the first link. Only after the first link is blocked, the communication device establishes the second link with the second transceiver in a subsequent, non-overlapping time slot, as directed by the sequence,
and transmits the data (i.e., the same data) again.
The communications method recited in the amended claim 1 takes several advantages. For example, a distinguishing advantage, arising from the newly recited features, is true link adaptation. The method is not bound by a fixed or static switching pattern. Instead, by dynamically generating the sequence based on at least channel conditions measured, the communication device can create a customized switching schedule (e.g., as exemplified in FIG.3) that is optimized for the current channel environment. This adaptive scheduling, based on generating a sequence from measured conditions, is a distinction from the prior art.
Summary of the Prior Art:
The Examiner's combination relies on Lee and Xu. Both references are directed
to solving problems that arise from a signal combining paradigm, where the user
equipment (UE) must receive signals from multiple TRPs to decode a single transport
block (TB).
The Lee reference discloses a method for resolving Transport Block Size (TBS)
ambiguity when a UE is in a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) repetition
mode. This mode involves the UE receiving signals based on the same information from multiple TRPs concurrently. Lee's solution is a set of rules for the UE to select the parameters of one of the concurrently received codewords to calculate a single
TBS.
The Xu reference discloses a sequential transmission scheme. However, the
explicit technical purpose of Xu' s scheme is to transmit different repetitions (a "first
portion" and a "second portion") of the same transport block (TB) in sequential, non-overlapping time slots from different TRPs. The UE must receive both portions, asthefinalstepistodecodetheTBbasedonthefirstportionandthesecondportion.
The switching between TRPs follows afixed pattern (e.g., TRPO, TRP1, TRPO,
TRP1...) dictated by a statically configured "switching interval" (e.g., "1 slot" or "210 slots") provided by RRC signaling.
The Differences between Amended Claim 1 and the Prior Art:
The Examiner's combination of Lee and Xu fails because neither reference alone,
nor the combination thereof, teaches or suggests the features of the amended claim 1.
The fundamental distinction lies in Dynamically Generated Adaptive Selection (the
invention) versus Statically Configured Repetition Combining (the prior art).
The Examiner's rejection hinges on equating Xu' s switching interval with the
Applicant's pre-determined link switching sequence. This interpretation is respectfully10 suited to be improper, as it ignores the newly recited, distinguishing feature:
dynamically generating the at least one temporal parameter based on at least
channel conditions measured by the communication device...
Xu does not teach this feature. These switching interval in Xu is a static parameter.
It is a single value (e.g., "1 slot" or "2 slots") provided by a higher layer (RRC) before15 the transmission. the resulting switching sequence (e.g., TRPO, TRP1, TRPO, TRP1...)
is rigidly derived from this static value and is not based on, nor does it adapt to, any
real-time "channel conditions measured by the communication device". Xu's FIG.34
shows a static mapping table where a DCI field selects a pre-configured interval. It
does not show a generation of a sequence based on channel measurements.
In contrast, the amended claim 1 explicitly recites that the sequence itself is
dynamically generated based on the measured channel conditions.
This distinction leads to a fundamental difference in technical purpose and an unexpected result. The purpose of Xu's static switching is to mandatorily distribute portions of a TB for the sole purpose of combination. The UE must follow the rigid A,
B, A, B... pattern to acquire all portions, or decoding fails.
The purpose of the Applicant's invention of the amended claim 1 is adaptive
avoidance. The system measures the channels and then generates an optimized
sequence. In an extreme example, if the measured channel conditions show TRP2 is
blocked, the generated sequence can be [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], ensuring the entire data
is transmitted reliably via TRP1. This achieves the unexpected result of high
reliability by avoiding certain inefficient TRP combinations.
A Person of Ordinary Skill Would Not Have Been Motivated to Combine the Lee and Xu References:
The Examiner's combination of the Lee reference and the Xu reference is
improper because the references teach away from the invention recited in amended claim 1. Both the Lee and Xu references are directed to solving problems within a signal combination paradigm. Lee discloses a method to manage parallel data reception for concurrent combining. Xu discloses a method to manage sequential repetitions for mandatory combining. A person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA),
when combining these teachings, would only be motivated to further optimize such a
combining system. There is no suggestion in the references to abandon this
combination paradigm for the Applicant's sequential, "one-link-at-a-time" adaptive selection protocol.
Furthermore, even if a PHOSITA were to combine Lee and Xu, the combination
would still fail to teach the inventive concept of the amended claims. The inventive
step is not merely "switching" (which Xu teaches), but dynamically generating a10 customid sequence based on at least channel conditions measured to adapt to the
environment. Neither Lee nor Xu teaches or suggests this dynamic generation step.
Xu's RRC-configured switching interval is static and non-adaptive.
Consequently, bridging the conceptual divide between the static,
combination-centric schemes of the prior art and the Applicant's adaptive,
dynamic-generation protocol would have required an inventive step, not merely an
obvious combination of known elements.
Since the combined teachings of Lee and Xu fail to teach or suggest the features
of the amended claims, including the dynamic generation of the sequence based on
measured channel conditions, the amended claim 1 is patentable over the combination of Lee and Xu under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Likewise, the amended system claim 11, which
corresponds to the method of claim 1, is also patentable over the cited art. All claims depending on the amended claims 1 or 11 are therefore also patentable. Allowance of
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11, 13, 16-17, and 19 is politely requested.
Applicant respectfully requests that a timely Notice of Allowance be issued in this
case.
Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further the amended claims and provided relevant disclosures in the OA that covers the subject matters. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Lee”, and “Xu”.
Regarding the amendments, ‘dynamically generating the at least one temporal parameter based on at least channel conditions measured by the communication device, wherein the at least one temporal parameter comprises a pre-determined link switching sequence with respect to measured channel conditions stored in the communication device’;
The subject matter, temporal parameter the TCI on a time slot comprises switching sequence based on the measured channel conditions. The presented prior arts includes tech spec, adequate tech implementations that provide how this was measured. “Lee” discloses the UE-BS CQI as illustrated in Fig. 6. And, CSI-RS resource in an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured for the UE-TCI, Col. 21 [0031], Table-5 and 6. The CSI-RS[Wingdings font/0xE0] slot [Wingdings font/0xE0] dynamically determined to the number of CSI-RS ports/density. And, CDM-Type, and higher layer parameters (e.g., firstOFDMSymbolInTimeDomain, firstOFDMSymbolInTimeDomain2, etc.) Col. 26 [0012-0017]. Further augmented by the switch sequency from the disclosure of “Xu”.
Transmitting/receiving between the UE-TRPs, a PUSCH can be dynamically scheduled by UL-grant/PDCCH/CG-grant. Each exemplary operation can applied to UL/DL, PUSCH/PDSCH and TRP/BS by the UE therefore implementation applied interchangeably Lee, Col. 44 [0037-0039].
dynamically generate temporal parameter TCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] measured channel conditions [Wingdings font/0xE0] predetermined switching sequence [Wingdings font/0xE0] consecutive slots [Wingdings font/0xE0] to transmit data on the data channel. First/second link [Wingdings font/0xE0] first/second slot [Wingdings font/0xE0] defined by correlation table. Predetermine can be pre-configured and scheduled channel PDSCH.
Regarding the applicant remarks with respect to the first slot block while switches between the slots and most importantly, a viable combination of the presented prior arts very distinct, that identify the predetermine switching sequence. Examiner provided an aspiration/motivation identified a chronological sequence and motive to derive the claim invention.
Lee provide strong motivation regarding the temporal parameter, TCI configured different slots. PDSCH scheduled by DCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] TCI-DCI [Wingdings font/0xE0] enabled and activated TCI-states. PDSCHs for different TRPs. Dynamically activate/de-activate PDSCH Col. 46 [0006-0008]. Adapt transmission rate by switch between modulation schemes. Modify the transmission characteristics based on link quality and adapt channel-coding as prior art claims. Uses look-up tables 6 to 11 and the CSI-RS section 4.6.
Somone would motive and determination to take this effort either in a form of endeavor or even venture, as Xu distinctly discloses,
The UE transmit SRS to the BS for CSI to support UL-channel scheduling and/or link adaptation. And, the SRS transmitted by the UE allow the BS to estimate UL CSI and assign one or more RBs of good quality Col. 16 [0049-0053].
And, the BS transmit multiple PDSCHs via multiple TRPs, as by a DCI comprising a switching interval indicator that is the time interval when PDSCH transmission for a transmission-block switches among the multiple TRPs Col. 57 [0025-0027], Fig. 34 and 35. This would improve throughput and/or reliability of transmission from a base station to a wireless device.
While in the last OA, Examiner precisely presented the Claim subject matter including the findings from the disclosures in contrast what has been claimed and in addition to the amendments regarding dynamically generate the parameter and measured channel conditions already explained above.
Most important subject matter reiterated for clarity, “Determining a Transmission scheme of TRPs (a first and a second transceiver) comprises at least one temporal parameter”. That method/system further parameterized by the dependent claims, 1) TCI, 2) DCI from PDCCH, and 3) sequence of RVs of DCI from a PDCCH. These can be implemented by procedural techniques and derived from the presented prior arts:
Lee disclosure not only provide high-level predetermined sequence of transmission scheme rather through execution/procedural technological implementations/disclosures that illustrates how the determination of transmission scheme is performed through three dimensional domain multiplexing schemes: a spatial SDM spatial multiplexing gain, a frequency FDM and the TDM that mostly relevant to the claim subject matter as frequency resource allocation are sequentially synchronized to establish communication between the TRPs in transmission time slots. Also, channel conditions CSI-RS in slots dynamically determined by the number of CSI-RS ports/density/CDM in OFDM-symbol-time-domain.
Lee (US12022485B2) though discloses predetermined sequence as these are scheduled and configured by the BS uses temporal parameter TCI and PDCCH channel by DCI yet explicitly didn’t disclose predetermined switching sequence of transmission with an time interval that distinctly covers the subject matter switching link from the first TRP to the second TRP. Though the claim uses switching link yet these are switching symbols modulation schemes in a sequential timely ordered when configured in time slots. And, Xu (US11290226B2) in the relevant art distinctly recites in their claims: “configuration parameter indicating a time interval for switching between a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP over physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission occasions, wherein the time interval is selected from a plurality of time intervals; receiving a downlink control information indicating a number of the PDSCH transmission occasions;”
Further, regarding blocking first slot and establish second link in second slots, though applicant’s uses term ‘block’ that contemplates reserving and allocate resources, a transmission slot at specific point of time. More specific, switches between modulation schemes transmission slots at time switching time interval.
Disclosure of Lee includes: establish connection between UE and BS and include data transmit/receive scheduled for at least one from the plurality of TRPs. That implicitly includes can establish between UE and one TRP at first time slots occasion while the next connection can occur to the second TRP based on acknowledgement, Lee Fig. 17 to Fig. 21 includes the procedure to perform.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Haghighat et al, Title: “METHODS AND APPARATUS OF MULTI - TRANSMIT / RECEIVE POINT TRANSMISSION”;
Lee et. al Title: “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR RECEIVING DOWNLINK CONTROL INFORMATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”;
Muruganathan et. al. Title: “FREQUENCY-DOMAIN RESOURCE ALLOCATION FOR MULTI-SOURCE TRANSMISSION”;
NTT DOCOMO, INC Title: “ENHANCEMENTS ON MULTI-TRP/PANEL TRANSMISSION”, Agenda Item: 7.2.8.2 Document for: Discussion and Decision; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97 R1-1906224, May 13th — 17th, 2019 (Year: 2019);
Roh et al, Title: “METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING CHANNEL QUALITY INFORMATION BASED ON DIFFERENTIAL SCHEME”;
Gong et al, Title: “METHOD AND DEVICES FOR MULTIPLE TRANSMIT RECEIVE POINT COOPERATION FOR RELIABLE COMMUNICATION”
Striling et al, Title: “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR MULTI-USER FULL DUPLEX LINK ADAPTATION”;
Remaining citation in PTO-892 and NPL included in previous OA.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466