DETAILED ACTION
This Final office is a response to the papers filed on 04/07/2026
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Applicant's Remarks
With respect to the claims, the following are addressed:
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of the claims is maintained as previously cited under RAJASHEKAR et al. (WO 2019018679 A1). Because claims have been amended and changed the scope of the claims, the new ground of rejection that cited under prior arts has been applied and addressed the Applicant's arguments, please see the reason stated in the rejection above.
Because the prior art have been shown to disclose the limitations of the claims as cited below. The claims are rejected as cited above. This office action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RAJASHEKAR et al. (WO 2019018679 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rajashekar discloses:
A battery replacement system (see Fig. 10),
wherein the battery replacement system comprises: a walking channel, a battery replacement position is provided on the walking channel (see Fig. 10, see par [0115], As shown in the illustrated embodiment, batteries 120B on the charging stations 105 may be positioned on rollers 1002, and may be stacked horizontally…., The vehicle 102 or charging station 105 may then appropriately lock or unlock one or more of the outermost batteries 120B of the charging station 105 to the battery swapping system 114 vehicle 102 to affect the desired battery transaction…..[wherein the roller 1002 and the batteries movable backwards or forwards using a linear actuator 1004 are creating a walking channel], see par [0115]);
a battery replacement apparatus, the battery replacement apparatus is used for moving to the battery replacement position along the walking channel, so that the battery replacement apparatus can be aligned with an electric vehicle to complete removal or installation of a battery pack (see Fig. 10, see par [0115], As shown in the illustrated embodiment, batteries 120B on the charging stations 105 may be positioned on rollers 1002, and may be stacked horizontally…., The vehicle 102 or charging station 105 may then appropriately lock or unlock one or more of the outermost batteries 120B of the charging station 105 to the battery swapping system 114 vehicle 102 to affect the desired battery transaction…..[wherein charger station 105, 1004 and 1006 are parts of a replacement apparatus], see par [0115-0116], charging station 105 may then appropriately lock or unlock one or more of the outermost batteries 120B of the charging station 105 to the battery swapping system 114 vehicle 102 to affect the desired battery transaction…., The batteries 120B may be movable backwards or forwards using a linear actuator 1004. The height of each charging station 105 may be adjusted using vertical actuators 1006, [wherein the charger station 105 is movable in order to adjustment of the position of the batteries up or down, backward or forward which is to aligned with the electric vehicle to process the battery swap which is removal or installation of the battery pack. Therefore, the charger station replace the battery pack of the electric vehicle by means of its own movement] (see par [0114]).
Regarding claim 2, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the battery replacement position is provided with an alignment original point, the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an alignment sensor, or the battery replacement position is provided with an alignment sensor, the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an alignment origin, and the alignment sensor is used to detect whether the battery replacement apparatus has reached the alignment original point (see par [0043-0044], The vehicle 102 may include actuators for adjusting an angle of the field of view of the various proximity sensors 154. Based on the proximity data, the vehicle controller 1 18 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 102, or more particularly the battery swapping system 1 14 of the vehicle 102, is in alignment with a charging station 105…., see par [0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein an exchange position is provided on the walking channel, and the battery replacement apparatus is used to move to the exchange position along the walking channel, and the battery replacement apparatus is also used to exchange the battery pack to a battery compartment at the exchange position (see par [0116-0119], the swappable batteries 120A may be located behind sliding doors 1102, which may be opened to facilitate battery exchange….).
Regarding claim 4, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the exchange position is provided with an exchange original point, and the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an exchange sensor, or the exchange position is provided with an exchange sensor, and the replacement apparatus is provided with an exchange original point, and the exchange sensor is used for detecting whether the battery replacement apparatus has reached the exchange original point (see par [0038-0040], the swappable batteries 120A may be located behind a protective structure of the vehicle 102, such as a liftgate or sliding door. Responsive to the vehicle 102 moving within a predetermined distance of a charging station 105 of the charging hub 104, and/or to propelling to engage a charging station 105…).
Regarding claim 6, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the walking channel has a first waiting position, the first waiting position is located between the battery replacement position and the exchange position, and the battery replacement apparatus is used for stopping at the first waiting position; and/or, the walking channel has a second waiting position, the battery replacement position is located between the second waiting position and the exchange position, and the battery replacement apparatus is used for stopping at the second waiting position (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking…..).
Regarding claim 7, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein there are two battery replacement apparatuses, and the two battery replacement apparatuses are a first battery replacement apparatus and a second battery replacement apparatus, a first track for the first battery replacement apparatus to walk on and a second track for the second battery replacement apparatus to walk on are arranged in the walking channel, the first track connects the battery compartment and the battery replacement position, and the second track connects the battery compartment and the battery replacement position; preferably, the first track and the second track are independent of each other, or the first track and the second track are the same track (see par [0053-0058], by providing multiple charging stations 105 at the charging hub 104, with at least one of the charging stations 105 having capacity to receive a discharged battery 120A from the vehicle 102 and at least one of the charging stations 105 including a charged battery 120B loadable into the vehicle 102…., to load one or more charged swappable batteries 120B onto the vehicle 102 from a charging station 105B of the charging hub 104, via propulsions towards and then away from the charging stations 105…..).
Regarding claim 8, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the second track is provided with a waiting positioning point and the second battery replacement apparatus is used to stop at the waiting positioning point when the first battery replacement apparatus stops at the battery replacement position (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking….., see par [0053-0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the walking channel has a waiting position, the battery replacement position is located between the waiting position and the exchange position, and the battery replacement apparatus is used for stopping at the waiting position (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking….., see par [0053-0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Rajashekar discloses:
A control method for the battery replacement system, the battery replacement system comprises a walking channel and a battery replacement apparatus (see Fig. 10, see par [0115], As shown in the illustrated embodiment, batteries 120B on the charging stations 105 may be positioned on rollers 1002, and may be stacked horizontally…., The vehicle 102 or charging station 105 may then appropriately lock or unlock one or more of the outermost batteries 120B of the charging station 105 to the battery swapping system 114 vehicle 102 to affect the desired battery transaction…..), and
the battery replacement apparatus is used for removal and installation of a battery pack of an electric vehicle (see Fig. 1 and 10, see par [0022], scalable solution for swapping batteries between an electrically powered vehicle 102 and a charging hub 104…), wherein the control method for the battery replacement system comprises the following steps:
when a battery removal or battery installation signal is received (see par [0067-0069], par [0081-0082], subsequent to the battery swapping system 1 14 being docked with the charging station 105 A, and in response to one or more signals received from the controllers 1 18, 158, one or more swappable batteries 120A….), controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move to the battery replacement position along the walking channel, so that the battery replacement apparatus can be aligned with an electric vehicle to complete removal or installation of a battery pack (see Fig. 10, see par [0115], As shown in the illustrated embodiment, batteries 120B on the charging stations 105 may be positioned on rollers 1002, and may be stacked horizontally…., The vehicle 102 or charging station 105 may then appropriately lock or unlock one or more of the outermost batteries 120B of the charging station 105 to the battery swapping system 114 vehicle 102 to affect the desired battery transaction…..[wherein charger station 105, 1004 and 1006 are parts of a replacement apparatus], see par [0115-0116], charging station 105 may then appropriately lock or unlock one or more of the outermost batteries 120B of the charging station 105 to the battery swapping system 114 vehicle 102 to affect the desired battery transaction…., The batteries 120B may be movable backwards or forwards using a linear actuator 1004. The height of each charging station 105 may be adjusted using vertical actuators 1006, [wherein the charger station 105 is movable in order to adjustment of the position of the batteries up or down, backward or forward which is to aligned with the electric vehicle to process the battery swap which is removal or installation of the battery pack. Therefore, the charger station replace the battery pack of the electric vehicle by means of its own movement] (see par [0114]).
Regarding claim 12, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the battery replacement position is provided with an alignment original point, the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an alignment sensor, or the battery replacement position is provided with an alignment sensor, and the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an alignment original point (see par [0043-0044], The vehicle 102 may include actuators for adjusting an angle of the field of view of the various proximity sensors 154. Based on the proximity data, the vehicle controller 1 18 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 102, or more particularly the battery swapping system 1 14 of the vehicle 102, is in alignment with a charging station 105…., see par [0046-0051]); when a battery removal or battery installation signal is received, controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move to the battery replacement position along the walking channel comprises the following steps: when the alignment sensor detects the alignment original point, controlling the battery replacement apparatus to stop moving (see par [0043-0047], The proximity sensors 154 of the vehicle 102 may be configured to detect objects proximate the vehicle 12, and to generate proximity data indicative of the position of the proximate objects relative to the vehicle 102, or more particularly to the battery swapping system 1 14…).
Regarding claim 13, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein there is an exchange position on the walking channel; the control method for the battery replacement system further includes the following steps: when the battery replacement signal is received, controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move to the exchange position of the battery along the walking channel (see par [0043-0047], The proximity sensors 154 of the vehicle 102 may be configured to detect objects proximate the vehicle 12, and to generate proximity data indicative of the position of the proximate objects relative to the vehicle 102, or more particularly to the battery swapping system 1 14…).
Regarding claim 14, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein after the step that when a battery removal or battery installation signal is received, controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move to the battery replacement position along the walking channel, the following steps are further included: controlling the battery replacement apparatus to remove the battery pack from the electric vehicle; controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move from the battery replacement position to the exchange position (see par [0067-0068], a protective structure may exist between the swappable batteries 120A and each charging station 105 that needs to be removed before the swappable batteries 120A may be unloaded and the charged batteries….);
preferably, the exchange position is provided with an exchange original point, and the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an exchange sensor, or the exchange position is provided with an exchange sensor, and the battery replacement apparatus is provided with an exchange original point; controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move from the battery replacement position to the exchange position includes the following steps: when the exchange sensor detects the exchange original point, the battery replacement apparatus is controlled to stop moving (see par [0043-0047], The proximity sensors 154 of the vehicle 102 may be configured to detect objects proximate the vehicle 12, and to generate proximity data indicative of the position of the proximate objects relative to the vehicle 102, or more particularly to the battery swapping system 1 14…, see par [0048-0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the walking channel has a first waiting position, and the first waiting position is located between the battery replacement position and the exchange position; the control method for the battery replacement system further comprises: when a first waiting signal is received, controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move to the first waiting position along the walking channel (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking….., see par [0053-0058]); and/or, the walking channel has a second waiting position, and the battery replacement position is located between the second waiting position and the exchange position; the control method for the battery replacement system further comprises: when a second waiting signal is received, controlling the battery replacement apparatus to move to the second waiting position along the walking channel (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking….., see par [0053-0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein there are two battery replacement apparatuses, the two battery replacement apparatuses are a first battery replacement apparatus and a second battery replacement apparatus, and a first track for the first battery replacement apparatus to walk on and a second track for the second battery replacement apparatus to walk on are arranged in the walking channel (see par [0053-0058], by providing multiple charging stations 105 at the charging hub 104, with at least one of the charging stations 105 having capacity to receive a discharged battery 120A from the vehicle 102 and at least one of the charging stations 105 including a charged battery 120B loadable into the vehicle 102…., to load one or more charged swappable batteries 120B onto the vehicle 102 from a charging station 105B of the charging hub 104, via propulsions towards and then away from the charging stations 105….., see par [0051-0052]); the control method for the battery replacement system further comprises: when a removal signal is removed, controlling the first battery replacement apparatus to move to the battery replacement position along the first track to remove the battery pack, and controlling the second battery replacement apparatus to move to the exchange position along the second track to obtain the battery pack of the corresponding type; preferably, the first track and the second track are two different tracks, or, the first track and the second track are the same track (see par [0053-0058], by providing multiple charging stations 105 at the charging hub 104, with at least one of the charging stations 105 having capacity to receive a discharged battery 120A from the vehicle 102 and at least one of the charging stations 105 including a charged battery 120B loadable into the vehicle 102…., to load one or more charged swappable batteries 120B onto the vehicle 102 from a charging station 105B of the charging hub 104, via propulsions towards and then away from the charging stations 105….., see par [0051-0052]).
Regarding claim 18, Rajashekar discloses:
wherein the control method for the battery replacement system further comprises: when receiving a replacement signal, controlling the first battery replacement apparatus to drive to the exchange position; and/or, the walking channel has a waiting position, and the battery replacement position is located between the waiting position and the exchange position (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking….., see par [0053-0058]); the control method for the battery replacement system further comprises: when the second battery replacement apparatus finishes installing the battery pack, the first battery replacement apparatus and/or the second battery replacement apparatus are controlled to drive to a waiting position (see par [0051-0052], Responsive to determining the relative location, the station controller 158 may be configured to implement small adjustments to the position of the battery base 121B and any batteries 120B locked thereto to better align the charging station 105 with battery base 121 A and any batteries 120 A locked thereto for docking….., see par [0053-0058]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation as in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851