DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
Applicant’s response, dated 11/26/2025 to a non-final Office Action, dated 09/18/2025, is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0408476, hereafter Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses (Figs 7, 10, 15, the embodiment of Fig. 15 is being considered) a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate [110] (shown in Fig. 7);
a light-emitting layer [OL] (see Fig. 7) located on the base substrate, and comprising a plurality of light-emitting structures [ED1],[ED2],[ED3] arranged at intervals;
an insulating material structure [160],[170],[70] (Fig. 7) located on a side of the light-emitting layer facing away from the base substrate [110], and comprising (Fig. 15) organic [160],[173] and inorganic layers [171a],[175a] arranged alternately;
a color conversion layer [330],[340].[350] (Fig. 7) located on a side of the insulating material structure facing away from the base substrate [110], and comprising a plurality of color conversion portions [330],[340],[350] with a shading (par. [0295]) portion [370] located between adjacent color conversion portions [330], [340], [350];
an auxiliary layer [1715] (Fig. 15, a particular embodiment of Figs 7 and 10, par. [0216]-[0220] for refractive coefficients of the layers) having an orthographic projection on the base substrate [110] covering an orthographic projection of the shading portion [370] on the base substrate [110], the auxiliary layer [1715] being in direct contact with adjacent organic [173] and inorganic [1713] layers in the insulating material structure, the auxiliary layer [1715] in direct contact with the inorganic layer [1713] being disposed on a [top] side of the inorganic layer [1713] facing away from the base substrate [110], such that light emitted by the light-emitting structures at an exit angle greater than a preset angle is totally reflected at an interface between the auxiliary layer and the inorganic layer (this limitation is a consequence of Snell’s law and is satisfied when the relationship for the refractive coefficients of the claim is fulfilled).
The limitation “the auxiliary layer [1715] having a refractive index n15 that is less than a refractive index of the organic layer [173] in direct contact with the auxiliary layer [1713] and less than a refractive index of the inorganic layer in direct contact with the auxiliary layer [1715]” is obvious over Chen because Chen discloses (par. [0219], [0182], refractive index of acrylic resin, a material for layer [173], is about 1.5, which is also the case for other disclosed materials. The refractive index of [173] is about 1.5) an overlapping range (MPEP, latest edition, 2144.05.I, and case law therein).
Regarding claims 2 and 19 (identical claims), Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi further discloses (Figs 7, 10, 15, see Fig.15) wherein the insulating material structure comprises an encapsulation layer [171a] (without the auxiliary layer [1715]), and the encapsulation layer comprises at least two inorganic layers [171a],[175a] and at least one organic layer [173]; and the auxiliary layer [1715] is located between the organic layer [173] of the encapsulation layer and the inorganic layer[171a] provided on a side of the organic layer [173] close to the base substrate [CE].
Regarding claim 4, Choi further discloses (Figs 7, 10,15) wherein
the auxiliary layer [1715] is located between adjacent organic [173] and inorganic [1713] layers in the insulating material structure [160],[170],[70]; and
the orthographic projection of the auxiliary layer [1715] on the base substrate [110] covers an orthographic projection of the color conversion layer [330],[340],[350] on the base substrate [110].
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi further discloses (Fig. 7) wherein the color conversion portions [330] ,[340], [350] correspond to the light-emitting structures [ED3], ED1], [ED2]one-to-one, and an orthographic projection of the color conversion portions [330], [340], [350] on the base substrate [110] covers an orthographic projection of the light-emitting structures [ED3], [ED1], [ED2] on the base substrate [110].
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi further discloses (Fig. 7, par. [0108]) wherein each of the light-emitting structures in the light-emitting layer emits blue light [LE]; and
the color conversion portion comprises: a red color conversion portion [340] comprising a red quantum dot [345] (par. [0311]-[0312]) and a light-scattering particle [343]; a green color conversion portion [350] comprising a green quantum dot [355](par. [0332]) and a light-scattering particle [353]; and a light-transmissive portion [330] comprising a light-scattering particle [333].
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi further discloses (Fig. 7) further comprising a filter layer [231],[233],[235] located on a side of the color conversion layer [330],[340],[350] facing away from the base substrate [110],
wherein the filter layer comprises a black matrix [260] and a plurality of filter portions [231],[233],[235], the plurality of filter portions correspond to the plurality of light-emitting structures [ED1],[ED2],[ED3] one-to-one, and the orthographic projection of the shading portion [370] on the base substrate [110] coincides with an orthographic projection of the black matrix [260] on the base substrate [110].
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses (Figs 7, 10, 15, the embodiment of Fig. 15 is being considered) a display apparatus comprising a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate [110] (shown in Fig. 7);
a light-emitting layer [OL] (see Fig. 7) located on the base substrate, and comprising a plurality of light-emitting structures [ED1],[ED2],[ED3] arranged at intervals;
an insulating material structure [160],[170],[70] (Fig. 7) located on a side of the light-emitting layer facing away from the base substrate [110], and comprising (Fig. 15) organic [160],[173] and inorganic layers [171a],[175a] arranged alternately;
a color conversion layer [330],[340].[350] (Fig. 7) located on a side of the insulating material structure facing away from the base substrate [110], and comprising a plurality of color conversion portions [340],[350] with a shading (par. [0295]) portion [260], [370] located between adjacent color conversion portions [340], [350]; and
an auxiliary layer [1715] (Fig. 15, a particular embodiment of Figs 7 and 10, par. [0216]-[0220], par. [0182] for refractive coefficients of the layers) having an orthographic projection on the base substrate [110] covering an orthographic projection of the shading portion [370] , [260] on the base substrate [110], the auxiliary layer [175] being in direct contact with adjacent organic [173] and inorganic [1713] layers in the insulating material structure, the auxiliary layer [1715] in direct contact with the inorganic layer [1713] being disposed on a [top] side of the inorganic layer [1713] facing away from the base substrate [110], such that light emitted by the light-emitting structures at an exit angle greater than a preset angle is totally reflected at an interface between the auxiliary layer and the inorganic layer (this limitation is a consequence of Snell’s law and is satisfied when the relationship for the refractive coefficients of the claim is fulfilled).
The limitation “the auxiliary layer [1715] having a refractive index n15 that is less than a refractive index of the organic layer [173] in direct contact with the auxiliary layer [1715] and less than a refractive index of the inorganic layer in direct contact with the auxiliary layer [1715]” is obvious over Chen because Chen discloses (par. [0219], [0182], the refractive index of acrylic resin, a material for layer [173], is about 1.5, which is also the case for other disclosed materials. The refractive index of [173] is about 1.5) an overlapping range (MPEP, latest edition, 2144.05.I, and case law therein).
Claims 3, 5, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0408476, hereafter Choi, in view of Yim et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0013100, hereafter Yim.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic layer, an encapsulation organic layer located on the first inorganic layer, and a second inorganic layer located on the encapsulation organic layer, the first inorganic layer is in direct contact with the light-emitting structures, and the auxiliary layer is located between the first inorganic layer and the encapsulation organic layer.
However, Yim discloses (Figs 1-13) wherein the encapsulation layer [300] comprises a first inorganic layer [311], an encapsulation organic layer[321] located on the first inorganic layer [311], and a second inorganic layer [312] located on the encapsulation organic layer [321], the first inorganic layer [311] is in direct contact with the light-emitting structures [210],[230], and the auxiliary layer [331] is located between the first inorganic layer [311] and the encapsulation organic layer [321].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to replace the encapsulation layer stack of Choi with one of Yim, because Yim teaches (par. [0164]) that inclusion of refractive index control layer reduces light emitting deviations and thus improves light-emitting characteristics of the OLED device.
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi fails to explicitly disclose
wherein the refractive index of the auxiliary layer is less than or equal to 1.4. However, Yim discloses (par. [0118]-[0119], an overlapping range is disclosed by Yim) wherein the refractive index of the auxiliary layer is less than or equal to 1.4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to replace the encapsulation layer stack of Choi with one of Yim, because Yim teaches (par. [0164]) that inclusion of refractive index control layer reduces light emitting deviations and thus improves light-emitting characteristics of the OLED device.
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi fails to explicitly disclose wherein a material of the auxiliary layer comprises at least one of a metal fluoride, or a substituted or unsubstituted polyacrylate.
However, Yim discloses (par. [0120]) wherein a material of the auxiliary layer comprises at least one of a metal fluoride, or a substituted or unsubstituted polyacrylate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to replace the encapsulation layer stack of Choi with one of Yim, because Yim teaches (par. [0164]) that inclusion of refractive index control layer reduces light emitting deviations and thus improves light-emitting characteristics of the OLED device.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0408476, hereafter Choi, in view of Hatsumi et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0173174, hereafter Hatsumi.
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the organic layer in direct contact with the auxiliary layer is provided with one or more hollow portions, in which the auxiliary layer is disposed.
However, Hatsumi discloses (Fig. 13, par. [0249]) wherein the organic layer [159] in direct contact with the auxiliary layer [142], [143] is provided with one or more hollow portions [143], in which the auxiliary layer is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to include inert gas void in auxiliary layer as taught by Hatsumi, because such technique provides a layer with low effective refractive index, which improves display quality.
Regarding claim 7, Choi in view of Hatsumi discloses everything as applied above. Hatsumi further discloses wherein the organic layer [142] in direct contact with the auxiliary layer [143] is an adhesive layer, and the adhesive layer is in direct contact with the color conversion layer [158] (par. [0146]).
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Hatsumi discloses everything as applied above. Choi in view of Hatsumi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the orthographic projection of the auxiliary layer on the base substrate coincides with the orthographic projection of the shading portion on the base substrate.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art could optimize display quality and decrease color mixing by choosing different orthographic projections for the auxiliary layer and the shading portion since both layers shape light emitted by pixels.
(MPEP, 2144.05.II.A)
Regarding claim 9, Choi in view of Hatsumi discloses everything as applied above. Hatsumi further discloses (Fig. 13) wherein the auxiliary layer [143] and the adhesive layer [142] have a same thickness.
Regarding claim 10, Choi in view of Hatsumi discloses everything as applied above. Hatsumi further discloses (par. [0249]) wherein a material of the auxiliary layer comprises nitrogen or an inert gas.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0408476, hereafter Choi, in view of Meng et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0165270, hereafter Meng.
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses everything as applied above. Choi fails to explicitly disclose
wherein the auxiliary layer comprises a photonic crystal structure, which comprises a plurality of columnar structures arranged in an array.
However, Meng discloses (Figs 2-3) the use of a photonic crystal structure which comprises a plurality of columnar structures arranged in an array (Fig. 2) for display panel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to use the photonic crystal material of Meng, because Meng teaches (par. [0003]) that such structures improve chromatic reality of screens.
Regarding claim 13, Choi in view of Meng discloses everything as applied above. Meng further discloses (par. [0020]) wherein a first distance between centers of adjacent two of the columnar structures ranges from 100nm to 300nm.
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Meng discloses everything as applied above. Meng further discloses (par. [0020]) wherein a minimum distance between adjacent two of the columnar structures is a second distance, and a ratio of a difference between the first distance and the second distance to the first distance ranges from 0.2 to 0.8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see p.9, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to objection to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the abstract has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTOR V BARZYKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893