DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Withdrawal of Objections and Rejections
2. Applicant's response, filed 06/23/2026, has been fully considered.
In view of the amendment and remarks, the claim objections and the rejection of the following claims are withdrawn:
claims 16, 21-27, 36-37, 42, and 51-52 under 35 USC § 112(b);
claims 20-21, 36-37, 42 and 51-52 under 35 USC § 101;
claims 14 and 16-27 under 35 USC § 102 and
claim 15 under 35 USC § 103
The following rejections and/or objections are either maintained or newly applied for claims 14-19 and 22-27. They constitute the complete set applied to the instant application. Herein, "the previous Office action" refers to the Non-Final Rejection of 03/24/2025.
Status of the Claims
3. Claims 1-13, 20-21 and 28-64 are canceled.
Claims 14-19 and 22-27 are pending.
Claims 14, 18-19 and 24 are objected to.
Claims 14-19 and 22-27 are rejected.
Priority
4. This US Application 17/795,465 (07/26/2022) is a 371 of PCT/US21/16508 (02/04/2021) and claims benefit from US Application 62/970,480 (02/05/2020), as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 04/14/2023. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged; and the effective filing date of claims 14-19 and 22-27 is 02/05/2020.
Drawings
5. In the instant drawings filed 06/23/2026, Figs. 1-11 are executed in color. Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification. The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee. Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim objections
6. Claims 14, 18-19 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 14, the comma after (CVD) should be removed for proper grammar. Claim 24 repeats the issue above.
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 14-17 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 14-17 and 22-23) which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: claims 14-17 and 22-23: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims are found to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) and mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) as well as a law of nature or a natural phenomenon are as follows.
Mental processes, defined as concepts or steps practically performed in the human mind such as steps of observations, evaluations, judgments, analysis, opinions or organizing information include:
• “a) identifying a subject as having increased levels of at least one compound compared to control levels, wherein said at least one compound comprises phenylacetyl glutamine (PAG)” (claim 14).
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind (i.e. concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) or because the method only requires a user to manually determine action based on an added number. Under the BRI, the recited limitations are mental processes because a human mind is also sufficiently capable of evaluating data obtained to identify a subject as having increased levels of at least one compound compared to control levels.
Dependent claims 15-17 and 22-23 recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claim 14 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. For example, claim 15 recites further details about the identifying step; claims 16-17 recite further details about the subject as having increased levels of at least one compound; claims 22-23 recite further details about the said at least one compound.
The instant claims recite a natural correlation by correlating the measurement of an amount of a metabolite naturally found in the body with a treatment for increased levels of said metabolite. (see MPEP 2106.04(b).I).
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 14-17 and 22-23: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2).
Instant claim 14 recites additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
• "b) treating said subject with i) a first agent or procedure that treats cardiovascular disease (CVD), or heart failure” (claim 14).
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
Regarding the second consideration at MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2), the record, including for example the specification, does not yet clearly disclose an explanation of a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) states that the Examiners should keep in mind that in order to qualify as a "treatment" or "prophylaxis" limitation for purposes of this consideration, the claim limitation in question must affirmatively recite an action that effects a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Steps directed to "treating said subject" in claim 14 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because there are no additional limitations to indicate details of exactly how the judicial exception (identifying levels of a compound) is determining the details of how the treating step is applied. As such, the additional treatments do not provide a practical application because the treatment is not affected by the judicial exception.
Hence, these are mere insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)).
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 14-17 and 22-23: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
With respect to the instant claims, the prior art review to Jin (“The role of intestinal microbiota in cardiovascular disease." Journal of cellular and molecular medicine 23.4:2343-2350 (2019) - newly cited) discloses treating subjects that present high levels of PAG which were known as a strong and independent risk factor for CVD is routine, well-understood and conventional in the art. Said portions of the prior art are, for example, pg. 2346 col. 1 para. 2-3.
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a broad technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(h).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 14-17 and 22-23: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Response to applicant's remarks in regard to Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. ~ 101
8. The Remarks of 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below:
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 6 para. 1:
. Applicants respectfully submit that most of this rejection is moot due to claim cancellations. In regards to independent Claim 14, this claim has been amended by deleting everything except treating with a first agent or procedure that treats CVD or heart disease. Applicants respectfully submit that amended claims 14 has a tight nexus between identifying elevated PAO and treatment for CVD or heart disease as shown in Example 1 of the present application (as well as the use of a beta-blocker (beta-adrenergic blocking agent, in claim 18), to reverse the effects of elevated PAO). As such, Applicants submit that this rejection should be withdrawn.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive because, regarding the second consideration at MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2), the record, including for example the specification, does not yet clearly disclose an explanation of a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) states that the Examiners should keep in mind that in order to qualify as a "treatment" or "prophylaxis" limitation for purposes of this consideration, the claim limitation in question must affirmatively recite an action that effects a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Steps directed to "treating a sample/subject" do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because there are no additional limitations to indicate details of exactly how the judicial exception ("identifying levels of a compound") is determining the details of how the treating step is applied. As such, the additional treatments do not provide a practical application because the treatment is not affected by the judicial exception. Therefore, all embodiments of the invention do not include a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(l) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale,
or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
9. Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poesen ("Microbiota-derived phenylacetylglutamine associates with overall mortality and cardiovascular disease in patients with CKD." Journal of the American Society of Nephrology 27(11):3479-3487 (2016)- newly cited), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 24 recites:
a) obtaining a sample, wherein said sample is from a human subject who has cardiovascular disease or heart failure and
b) treating said sample under conditions such that a concentration of at least one compound is determined, wherein said at least one compound comprises phenylacetyl glutamine (PAG)
• Poesen teaches it as the identification of elevated serum levels of phenylacetylglutamine (PAG) in patients with chronic kidney disease which indicated strong risk for cardiovascular disease (pg. 3479 Abstract); wherein a higher number of cardiovascular events was observed in patients with elevated PAG (pg. 3481 col. 2 para. 1) and elevated PAG levels were compared to control levels (pg. 3481 Table 1); wherein the determination of serum PAG was performed in 200 patients (pg. 3480 col. 2 para. 2) (i.e. step (a)); wherein samples were prepared and quantified by ultraperformance liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry (i.e. step (b)) (pg. 3485 col. 2 para. 1). Here, “treating said sample under conditions such that a concentration of at least one compound is determined” is interpreted as applying steps to said sample to determine a concentration.
Claim 25 recites:
wherein said concentration of said PAG in said sample is determined by mass spectrometry
• Poesen teaches it as samples were prepared and quantified by ultraperformance liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry (pg. 3485 col. 2 para. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 14-16 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Poesen ("Microbiota-derived phenylacetylglutamine associates with overall mortality and cardiovascular disease in patients with CKD." Journal of the American Society of Nephrology 27(11):3479-3487 (2016)- newly cited) in view of Li ("Untargeted metabolomics identifies trimethyllysine, a TMAO-producing nutrient precursor, as a predictor of incident cardiovascular disease risk. JCI Insight. 2018; 3." DOI: https://doi. org/10.1172/jci. insight 99096 (2018) – newly cited), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 14 recites:
(a) identifying a subject as having increased levels of at least one compound compared to control levels, wherein said at least one compound comprises phenylacetylglutamine (PAG)
• Poesen teaches it as the identification of elevated serum levels of phenylacetylglutamine (PAG) in patients with chronic kidney disease which indicated strong risk for cardiovascular disease (pg. 3479 Abstract); wherein a higher number of cardiovascular events was observed in patients with elevated PAG (pg. 3481 col. 2 para. 1) and elevated PAG levels were compared to control levels (pg. 3481 Table 1).
b) treating said subject with i) a first agent or procedure that treats cardiovascular disease (CVD), or heart failure
• Poesen does not teach the recitation above. However, Li teaches a metabolomics approach for the investigation of cardiovascular disease where both N6-trimethyl-lysine and trimethylamine-n-oxide are metabolites for which elevated levels indicate risk of cardiovascular disease (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the baseline characteristics of patients with high burden of CVD risk factors or CAD and showing significant higher levels of TML and TMAO included treatment with β-blocker, aspirin, ACE inhibitors and statins (i.e. b) treating said subject with i) a first agent or procedure that treats cardiovascular disease (CVD), or heart failure) (pg. 3 para. 2 and pg. 6 Table 4).
Claim 15 recites:
wherein said identifying comprises receiving a report that said subject has increased PAG levels compared to a control
• Poesen teaches the identification of elevated serum levels of phenylacetylglutamine (PAG) in patients with chronic kidney disease which indicated strong risk for cardiovascular disease (pg. 3479 Abstract); wherein a higher number of cardiovascular events was observed in patients with elevated PAG (pg. 3481 col. 2 para. 1) and elevated PAG levels were reported as compared to control levels (pg. 3481 Table 1).
Claim 16 recites:
wherein said subject is chronic kidney disease (CKD) free and/or has diabetes
• Poesen does not teach the recitation above. However, Li teaches the baseline characteristics of patients with high burden of CVD risk factors or CAD and showing significant higher levels of metabolites indicators (pg. 3 para. 2); wherein the baseline characteristics of the validation cohort included presence of diabetes mellitus (pg. 6 Table 4).
Claim 22 recites:
wherein said at least one compound further comprises N6-trimethyl-lysine (TML)
Claim 23 recites:
wherein said least one compound further comprises trimethylamine- n-oxide (TMAO)
• Poesen does not teach the recitation above. However, Li teaches a metabolomics approach for the investigation of cardiovascular disease where both N6-trimethyl-lysine (i.e. as in claim 22) and trimethylamine-n-oxide (i.e. as in claim 23) are metabolites for which elevated levels indicate risk of cardiovascular disease (pg. 1 Abstract).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 14-16 and 22-23, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Poesen in view of Li because all references disclose methods for investigating the metabolomics involved in cardiovascular diseases.
One of ordinary skill would arrive at the claimed invention because one of ordinary skill would be motivated by the treatment suggestion by Li to treat the elevated levels of PAG metabolites in Poesen to structurally identify plasma metabolite associated with cardiovascular disease (CVD) risks (pg. 3479 Abstract Li) and to discover new metabolites and pathways linked to pathophysiological processes and disease susceptibility (pg. 1 para. 1 Li).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the metabolomics analysis in cardiovascular diseases of Poesen to the methods by Li because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating the metabolomics involved in cardiovascular diseases.
11. Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Poesen and Li as applied to claim 14 above further in view of Ikegami ("Metabolomic analysis in heart failure." Circulation Journal 82.1:10-16 (2017 – newly cited), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 17 recites:
wherein said subject is a human having heart failure
Claim 18 recites:
wherein said first agent comprises a beta-adrenergic blocking agent
Claim 19 recites:
wherein said first agent comprises a beta-adrenergic blocking agent
• Neither Poesen or Li teach the recitations above. However, Ikegami teaches a method for metabolomic analysis in heart failure (i.e. as in claims 17) (pg. 10 Abstract); wherein heart failure patients are treated with metoprolol (i.e. as in claims 19) – a β1-adrenergic receptor blocker (i.e. as in claim 18) – to achieve cardioprotective effect through multiple pathways (pg. 11 col. 2 para. 1)
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 17-19, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Poesen and Li in view of Ikegami because all references disclose methods for investigating the metabolomics involved in cardiovascular diseases.
One of ordinary skill would arrive at the claimed invention because one of ordinary skill would be motivated by the treatment suggestion by Ikegami to treat the elevated levels of PAG metabolites in Poesen to find metabolites that may be candidate biomarkers for predicting cardiovascular events in the clinical setting and lead to breakthroughs in next-generation therapies for this disorder (pg. 14 col. 2 para. 1 Ikegami).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the metabolomics analysis in cardiovascular diseases of Poesen and Li to the methods by Ikegami because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating the metabolomics involved in cardiovascular diseases.
12. Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Poesen as applied to claim 24 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Li ("Untargeted metabolomics identifies trimethyllysine, a TMAO-producing nutrient precursor, as a predictor of incident cardiovascular disease risk. JCI Insight. 2018; 3." DOI: https://doi. org/10.1172/jci. insight 99096 (2018) – newly cited), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 26 recites:
wherein said at least one compound further comprises N6-trimethyl-lysine (TML)
Claim 27 recites:
wherein said least one compound further comprises trimethylamine- n-oxide (TMAO)
• Poesen does not teach the recitation above. However, Li teaches a metabolomics approach for the investigation of cardiovascular disease where both N6-trimethyl-lysine (i.e. as in claim 26) and trimethylamine-n-oxide (i.e. as in claim 27) are metabolites for which elevated levels indicate risk of cardiovascular disease (pg. 1 Abstract).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 26-27, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Poesen in view of Li because all references disclose methods for investigating the metabolomics involved in cardiovascular diseases.
One of ordinary skill would arrive at the claimed invention because one of ordinary skill would be motivated by the treatment suggestion by Li to treat the elevated levels of PAG metabolites in Poesen to structurally identify plasma metabolite associated with cardiovascular disease (CVD) risks (pg. 3479 Abstract Li) and to discover new metabolites and pathways linked to pathophysiological processes and disease susceptibility (pg. 1 para. 1 Li).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the metabolomics analysis in cardiovascular diseases of Poesen to the methods by Li because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating the metabolomics involved in cardiovascular diseases.
Response to applicant's remarks in regard to Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. ~ 102/103
13. The Remarks of 06/23/2026 have been fully considered and it is persuasive because the references cited no longer teach the amended recitations. However, the instant rejection above is newly stated and is necessitated by claim amendment.
Conclusion
14. No claims are allowed.
Claims 18-19 are free of 101 issues for providing a practical application under Step 2A Prong 2. Referring to the 101 analysis as organized in MPEP 2106, the 101 rejections are withdrawn at least in view of the analysis Step 2A, 2nd prong, 2nd consideration relating to applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2). The instant particular treatment is to the identifying the subject as having increased levels of PAG, which is associated with heart failure, cardiovascular disease and providing a specific treatment as recited in claims 18-19.
Claims 24-27 are free of 101 issues for no reciting a judicial exception in the parent claim 24 at step 2A Prong 1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/OLIVIA M. WISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1685