Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended. Support for the amendment can be found in [p. 0018] of the specification. Claim 3 has been canceled. Claims 1 and 2 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 3-5, filed 07/09/2025, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanagawa et al (US 2014/0303330 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuya et al (JP 2012194309 A).
Tatsuya et al teaches a urethane-based optical film (prism sheet) [p. 0002, 0011]. Tatsuya teaches the preparation of a polyurethane prepolymer by reacting an aliphatic cyclic structure-containing polyol (A), an aliphatic cyclic structure-containing polyisocyanate (B), and the other active hydrogen-containing chain extender in the presence of a solvent [p. 0062]
Tatsuya et al teaches (A) is preferably an aliphatic cyclic structure-containing polycarbonate polyol[p. 0037] Tatsuya et al exemplifies the use of UC-100 as (A), which is the same polycarbonate polyol used by applicants [p. 0096-0099]. Tatsuya et al teaches it is preferable to use the aliphatic cyclic structure-containing polycarbonate polyol in combination with other active hydrogen-containing chain extenders, in order to form a prism sheet having excellent solvent resistance, heat resistance, and durability [p. 0037]. Tatsuya et al teaches examples of the other active hydrogen-containing chain extenders include polyhydric alcohols such as neopentyl glycol [p. 0038]. Tatsuya et al teaches it is preferable to use isophorone diisocyanate or 4,4'-dicyclohexylmethane diisocyanate for (B), and exemplifies the use of isophorone diisocyanate [p. 0041, 0096-0099].
Tatsuya et al is silent with respect to the glass transition temperature of the polyurethane prepolymer prepared from (A), (B), and the active hydrogen-containing chain extender. However, Tatsuya et al teaches embodiments that are substantially similar to the polyurethane prepolymer prepared by applicants (UC-100, IPDI, Neopentyl Glycol; p. 21 of instant specification). In light of this, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect embodiments of the polyurethane prepolymer of Tatsuya et al to have a glass transition temperature greater than 50 °C if measured under the same conditions.
Tatsuya et al teaches the urethane prepolymer is then reacted with an aliphatic cyclic structure-containing polyamine (C) and an acrylic compound (D) to produce an acrylic-modified urethane urea resin [p. 0062]. Tatsuya et al teaches the aliphatic cyclic structure-containing polyamine (C) is preferably used in an amount of 1 to 20 mass % based on the total mass of (A), (B), (C), and (D) [p. 0048]. Tatsuya et al teaches the (meth)acrylic compound (D) having an active hydrogen atom-containing group is used to introduce a (meth)acryloyl group into the acrylic-modified urethane urea resin, and has an active hydrogen atom-containing group capable of reacting with an isocyanate group [p. 0050]. Tatsuya et al teaches the acrylic compound (D) is preferably used in an amount of 0.05 to 10% by mass relative to the total mass of (A), (B), (C), and (D) [p. 0054]. Component (C) alone, (D) alone, or (C) and (D) in combination read over of Tatsuya et al read over the instantly claimed crosslinking agent (Y). Considering components (C) and (D) in combination, the total of components (C) and (D) taught by Tatsuya et al corresponds to 1 to 43 parts relative to 100 parts of the polyurethane prepolymer prepared from (A) and (B). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOLLEY GRACE HESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766