DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 10/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 01/21/2026, in which: claims 1, 3-4, 14, and 21 are amended; claim 13 is cancelled; new claim 22 is added; claims 7-8 and 14-20 stand withdrawn; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, and 21-22 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN Publication 114141826/Machine Translation Document of 11/08/2024) in view of Gai et al. (CN Publication 114361363/Machine Translation Document of 02/25/2025).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lin teaches a display panel (fig. 2, 100), comprising:
a substrate (11);
a driving circuit layer (12) disposed on the substrate, wherein an auxiliary electrode (Fd) is disposed in the driving circuit layer;
a common layer (15) disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the substrate; and
a cathode layer (16) disposed on a side of the common layer away from the driving circuit layer;
wherein the auxiliary electrode comprises a multi-layer stacking conductive structure (f1, f2, and f3), wherein the auxiliary electrode is provided with a strapping hole (12a and Ck), wherein the common layer is disconnected at the strapping hole (fig. 3, portion of 15 is disconnected in 12a near Ck), and wherein the cathode layer extends into the strapping hole (fig. 3, 16 extends past 15 in 12a near Ck) and in contact with a side of the conductive structure close to the substrate (fig. 3, 16 contacts f11 of f1);
wherein the auxiliary electrode comprises:
a first conductive structure (fig. 2, f3);
a second conductive structure (f3) disposed on a side of the first conductive structure close to the substrate; and
a third conductive structure (f1) disposed on a side of the second conductive structure close to the substrate;
wherein the strapping hole comprises a first opening (12a) disposed in the first conductive structure, a second opening (Ck) disposed in the second conductive structure.
Lin does not teach and a third opening disposed in the third conductive structurea portion of the cathode layer extends into the second opening and is in direct contact with the third conductive structure; wherein the common layer comprises two portions disconnected from each other, one of the two portions is in direct contact with a bottom of the third opening, a sidewall of the third opening, and a side of the third conductive structure away from the substrate, and another one of the two portions is in direct contact with a side of the first conductive structure away from the substrate.
Gai teaches and a third opening (see figure below) disposed in the third conductive structure (fig. 7, 131)
wherein the common layer (250) is disconnected at the first opening, and the cathode layer (230) is continuously arranged at the first opening and the second opening (fig. 7), and a portion of the cathode layer extends into the second opening and is in direct contact with the third conductive structure (fig. 7, 230 directly contacts portion of top surface of 131);
wherein the common layer comprises two portions disconnected from each other (see figure above), one of the two portions is in direct contact with a bottom of the third opening, a sidewall of the third opening, and a side of the third conductive structure away from the substrate (fig. 7, portion of 250 in third opening in contact with bottom of third opening, sidewall of third opening, and side of 131), and another one of the two portions is in direct contact with a side of the first conductive structure (133) away from the substrate (fig. 7, portion of 250 directly on top of 133 away from substrate 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display panel of Lin and the common layer of Gai in order for “the second electrode layer 230 formed by evaporation can extend along the first through hole to electrically connect with the auxiliary electrode 130” (Gai machine translation, page 9 paragraph 4).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Gai further teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein [[the]] a size of the first opening is smaller than a size of the second opening (see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display panel of Lin and the opening size of Gai per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Gai further teaches the display panel according to claim 3, wherein [[the]] a size of the third opening is smaller than the size of the second opening (see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display panel of Lin and the opening size of Gai per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Lin further teaches the display panel according to claim 4, wherein an inner periphery of the first conductive structure (fig. 3, f31 is protrusion portion of f3) protrudes from an inner periphery of the second conductive structure, and wherein an inner periphery of the third conductive structure (fig. 3, f11 is protrusion portion of f1) protrudes from the inner periphery of the second conductive structure.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Gai further teaches the display panel according to claim 5, wherein the first conductive structure comprises a first protrusion (see figure below) protruding from the inner periphery of the second conductive structure, wherein the third conductive structure comprises a second protrusion (see figure below) protruding from the inner periphery of the second conductive structure, wherein an undercut space (see figure below) is formed between the first protrusion, the second protrusion, and an inner sidewall of the second conductive structure, and wherein the cathode layer extends into the undercut space and is in contact with the second protrusion (see figure below, 230 extends into undercut space and is in contact with 132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display panel of Lin and the opening size of Gai per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Lin further teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the driving circuit layer comprises a source-drain electrode layer (fig. 2, SD), wherein the source-drain electrode layer comprises a source electrode (s) and a drain electrode (d), and wherein the auxiliary electrode is disposed on a side of the source-drain electrode layer away from the substrate (fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Lin further teaches the display panel according to claim 9, wherein the driving circuit layer comprises a protective layer (fig. 2, 127) and a planarization layer (128), wherein the protective layer is disposed on a side of the auxiliary electrode away from the substrate (fig. 2), and wherein the planarization layer is disposed on a side of the protective layer away from the auxiliary electrode (fig. 2);
wherein the driving circuit layer is provided with an auxiliary strapping hole (12a), and wherein the auxiliary strapping hole penetrates the planarization layer and the protective layer, and exposes the auxiliary electrode (fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Lin further teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a reactivity of the first conductive structure is weaker than an activity of the second conductive structure (machine translated document, page 6 paragraph 9, “the third conductive layer f3 of the activity is weaker than the second conductive layer f2 of the activity”), and wherein a reactivity of the third conductive structure is weaker than the activity of the second conductive structure (machine translated document, page 6 paragraph 9, “the first conductive layer f1 of the activity is weaker than the second conductive layer f2 of the activity”).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Lin further teaches the display panel according to claim 11, wherein the first conductive structure is made of a same material as the third conductive structure (machine translated document, page 6 paragraph 11, “the first conductive layer f1 and the third conductive layer f3 are made of the same material”), wherein a material of the first conductive structure comprises metal alloy (machine translated document, page 6 paragraph 11, “the material of the first conductive layer f1 comprises a metal alloy”), and wherein a material of the second conductive structure is made of metal (machine translated document, page 6 paragraph 11, “the material of the second conductive layer f2 is metal”).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Lin further teaches display panel according to claim 1, wherein [[a]] the portion of the cathode layer in direct contact with a surface of the side of the third conductive structure away from the substrate is spaced from the second conductive structure (fig. 12, portion of 16 near Ck in direct contact with f1 spaced apart from f2).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Lin further teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the thickness direction of the display panel, the portion of the cathode layer in direct contact with the side of the third conductive structure away from the substrate is spaced from the side of the first conductive structure close to the substrate (fig. 12, portion of 16 near Ck in direct contact with f1 spaced apart from bottom surface of f3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, and 21-22 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (Amendments).
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the instant Remarks: “In addition, referring to Fig. 7 in Gai, the common layer 250 (which is equivalent to the cathode layer 32 of the present application) is divided into two portions due to being disconnected at the second through hole. One portion of the common layer 250 is in direct contact with the bottom and a part of the sidewall of the opening in the first metal layer 131 (which is equivalent to the third conductive structure 213 of the present application), and the other portion of the common layer 250 is in direct contact with a side of the third metal layer 133 (which is equivalent to the first conductive structure 211 of the present application) away from the substrate. That is, in Gai, the common layer 250 is not in direct contact with the side of the first metal layer 131 away from the substrate. Therefore, Gai does not disclose the above- discussed limitation, nor does it teach, suggest, or motivate the above-discussed limitation to dispose the display panel of amended claim 1.”
However, as stated above, Gai teaches wherein the common layer (250 which is equivalent to common layer 31 of the present applications) comprises two portions disconnected from each other (see figure corresponding to claim 1 above), one of the two portions is in direct contact with a bottom of the third opening, a sidewall of the third opening, and a side of the third conductive structure away from the substrate (fig. 7, portion of 250 in third opening in contact with bottom of third opening, sidewall of third opening, and side of 131), and another one of the two portions is in direct contact with a side of the first conductive structure (133) away from the substrate (fig. 7, portion of 250 directly on top of 133 away from substrate 110). Therefore, Lin in view of Gai teaches or suggests the limitations of amended independent claim 1, and its respective dependent claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897